DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 drawn to a method of preparing an animal model for Alzheimer’s disease in the reply filed on 011/26/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0142927, filed on 10/25/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 10/25/2022 and 02/27/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are under examination.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
In view of the applicant’s amendments filed 05/19/2025 the rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cook et al (Human Molecular Genetics, 2015). Rejections maintained.
Regarding claim 1, Cook teaches an animal model which comprises injecting a human mutant tau expression vector and an adenovirus into a mouse (page 6199, Results left column) to produce a more versatile animal model of Alzheimer’s disease(page 6198, abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Cook teaches the AAV1 (adeno-associated virus serotype 1) vector encodes human mutant P301L-tau protein(page 6198, abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Cook teaches the disease model is a mouse (page 6199, Results, left column).
Regarding claim 9, Cook teaches a high level of human Tau expression of human mutant Tau protein and the model developed teaches neuroinflammation with microgliosis and astrocytosis (page 6199, Results, left column). Cook teaches the overexpression of mutant Tau was further investigated(page 6199, Results, right column).
Regarding claim 10, Cook teaches that several markers of Tau pathology are apparent after 6 months. Cook teaches that the mutant tau leads to the accumulation and deposition of hyperphosphorylated and abnormally folded tau species in NFT (neurofibrillary fibers). Cook teaches the mice recapitulate human tauopathies, including mature tangles, neuropil threads and dystrophic neurites. Cook teaches that there were also prominent gliosis, behavioral changes and synaptic abnormalities(page 6205, right column).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (Human Molecular Genetics, 2015) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, and 9-10 above, and further in view of Griffin et al (Gene Therapy, 2019) and Shannon et al (J. Anat. 2007). Rejections maintained.
Regarding claim 4, Cook teaches the adenovirus vector comprises under the control of the cytomegalovirus enhancer/chicken β-actin promoter. The adenovirus vector of Cook does not teach a GFAP promoter. Griffin teaches a GFAP promotor has been shown to result in robust transduction of AAV in astrocytes (page 207, left column). Griffin further teaches AAV expression under the CAG promoter showed largely astrocytic transduction in the brains of non-human mammals, however a GFAP promoter increased astrocyte targeting to over 88% (page 198, right column).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to replace the promotor of Cook with the promoter of Griffin in order to have robust transduction in the neurons of interest. There would be reasonable expectation of success, because Griffin teaches efficient induction of AAV in astrocytes with a GFAP promoter.
Cook teaches the Tau was tagged with V5 which would allow for antibody tagging, however cook does not teach a reporter protein for confirming whether or not astrogliosis is induced. However, reporter proteins like GFP or YFP are commonly used in the art. Griffin teaches AAV vectors that target astrocytes (page 198, abstract). Griffin further teaches a dYFP reporter protein controlled by a GFAP promoter to track transduction into astrocytes(page 198, abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Griffin a dYFP reporter protein controlled by a GFAP promoter, to the AAV vector expressing mutant Tau of Cook. One would have been motivated to introduce a fluorescent protein for tracking of cell dynamics, including number and morphology as taught by Shannon(page 684, abstract). One would expect a reasonable expectation of success because reporter proteins are commonly used in various applications of biological methods, the AAV viral vector of Griffin includes a GFAP promoter to target astrocytes, and the AAV1-GFP control of Cook did not indicate any problems. The control of Cook verified that AAV1 infection and/or GFP overexpression alone are not sufficient to drive the deposition of ubiquitin within aggregates(page 6199, right column).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (Human Molecular Genetics, 2015) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, and 9-10 above, and further in view of Tsutajima (Plos One, 2019). Rejections maintained.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Cook teaches the vector and adenovirus is introduced to the brain via an injection of the cerebral spinal fluid. Cook teaches that the mutant Tau accumulates in the hippocampus as represented by the CA1 field (page 6202, Figure 3). Cook does not teach the injection directly into the CA1 and dentate gyrus (DG) of the hippocampus or the use of stereotaxic methods. Tsutajima teaches a method of injecting viral vectors directly into a mouse hippocampal CA1 pyramidal cell layer using a stereotaxic injection system (page 1, abstract).However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the delivery of AAV1 encoding human mutant P301L-tau of Cook and the direct injection into the hippocampus of Tsutajima. The combination of approaches would allow the predictable result of an accurate injection of the AAV1 vector into the hippocampus to study the mutant Tau and the molecular mechanisms of targeted brain areas relative to Alzheimer’s disease. This would be desirable as the hippocampus has been studied as one of the most sensitive areas for this disease as taught by Tsutajima (page 1, left column). The combination of AAV1 encoding human mutant P301L-tau of Cook and the direct injection into the hippocampus of Tsutajima would have a predictable result because Tsutajima is also injecting viral vectors into a mouse. Tsutajima has reported their developed approach is two times more efficient as compared to a regular injection with regard to accuracy (page 11, left column).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (Human Molecular Genetics, 2015) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, and 9-10 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (Med Res Rev. 2020). Rejections maintained.
Regarding claim 8, Cook teaches the disease model is a mouse (page 6199, Results, left column). Cook does not teach that the mouse model is an APP/PS1 mouse. Zhang teaches Alzheimer’s disease is often split into categories, only 5% of the AD cases are fAD, which might be caused by autosomal mutations in β‐amyloid precursor protein (APP), presenilin 1 (PS1), and/or PS2.3 covered by the current mouse model (page 431, abstract). Zhang further teaches nearly 95% of patients with AD are classified as sAD, which are caused by a combination of genetic factors and environmental risk factors therefore the drugs developed for familial AD are not as effective(pages 431&432, abstract, final paragraph). The fAD models could only mimic limited aspects of AD pathology in human, but not the pathological features, such as neuronal loss and, perhaps most importantly, NFT development(page 433, final paragraph).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the AAV1 encoding human mutant P301L-tau of Cook which causes NFT development(page 6205, right column) with the current fAD mouse model APP/PS1 of Zhang et al. to follow a composited model which is a model combining two or more factors to stimulate AD pathological changes (page 440, Composited AD Model). There would be a reasonable expectation of success because the combination approach would supply the disease model with more pathological changes to mimic AD including NFTs and amyloid-β (Aβ) deposition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Cook et al. is silent to the injection of a human mutant protein expression vector and adenovirus into an animal other than a human. Applicant further argues that the expression vector and adenovirus are injected separately. However, the claims do not require separate injections into the animal. The claims read on injecting both the adenovirus and tau expression vector which could be injected as a combination or in any form as long as the animal receives both. Cook et al. teach the injection of a human mutant tau expression vector, which encompasses an adeno-associated virus (page 6198, abstract). Therefore, both an adenovirus and a human tau protein expression vector are injected into the animal. Furthermore Cook et al. teach injection of an AAV control vector in order to determine the baseline inflammation caused by the AAV injection as it is known that AAV can cause inflammation (page 6199, left column).
The combination of the prior art would provide an improved animal model as provided by the motivation cited in the rejections. The prior art cited in rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 make obvious the combination claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635