DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 7 which recites, “corresponding size”, it is not clear what does corresponding mean and how much the size of the metal oxide nanoparticles has to be in order for it to be corresponding size, Examiner did not find any explanation of this term in the specification, clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807).
Regarding claims 1-3, Zempetti discloses a light emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and an emissive layer between the first and the second electrodes. The emissive layer comprises a first plurality of quantum dots having hole transporting ligands, and a second plurality of quantum dots having electron transporting ligands, where at least one of the first and the second plurality of quantum dots is incorporated in a matrix (abstract). Fig. 1 discloses substrate 110 made of glass (para 0055), first electrode 120 is deposited directly on the substrate (para 0056). The second electrode 160 in bottom-emitting devices is a reflective electrode. Typical materials used for the second electrode 160 include metals, such as calcium, aluminium or silver (cathodes for direct structures) and copper, silver, gold or platinum (anodes for inverted structures) (para 0059). The first charge transport layer (CTL) 130 deposited on the first electrode 120 in direct structures is a hole transport layer (para 0060). The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062). An EML 140 is inserted between the first electrode 120 and the second electrode 160 (para 0058). Based on figure 1, 110 corresponds to substrate, 120 corresponds to first electrode, 130 corresponds to hole transport layer, 140 corresponds to emissive layer, 150 corresponds to electron transport layer, 160 corresponds to second electrode layer.
Zempetti discloses e emissive layer comprising: a first plurality of quantum dots having hole transporting ligands (claim 1) and the second CTL 150 may include metal oxides such as ZnO (para 0062) and where it would be obvious that quantum dots would intrinsically be soluble in a first solvent having a first polarity and where ZnO is metal oxide identical to the one used by the applicant in the specification, so it would be obvious that zinc oxide particles would intrinsically be soluble in a second solvent having a second polarity lower than first polarity.
However, Zempetti fails to disclose that the metal oxide particles are nanoparticles having a size of 3-20 nm.
Whereas, Ku discloses composition for forming a hole transport layer and to a semitransparent organic solar cell comprising the same (abstract). Ku discloses translucent organic solar cell according to an embodiment of the present invention has an inverted structure, comprising: a substrate; A lower electrode formed on the substrate; An electron transport layer formed on the lower electrode; A photoactive layer formed on the electron transport layer; A hole transport layer formed on the photoactive layer (page 8, para 1). The electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material, and the metal oxide may include titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and metal oxide included in the electron transport layer may have an average particle diameter of less than 10 nm (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form zinc oxide particles of Zempetti having an average diameter of less than 10 nm as taught by Ku motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency by increasing electron transport capability.
Regarding claim 4, with respect to the metal oxide nanoparticles being deposited from a solution process selected from spin coating, spray coating etc. Any difference imparted by product by process limitations would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made because where the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art the burden of proof is shifted to the applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct not the examiner to show the same process of making, see In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324, In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 and MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 6, Zempetti discloses second CTL 150 that is electron transporting. The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062).
Regarding claims 7-8, Zempetti discloses second CTL 150 that is electron transporting. The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062). Whereas, Ku discloses the electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material, and the metal oxide may include titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and metal oxide included in the electron transport layer may have an average particle diameter of less than 10 nm (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form zinc oxide particles in the multiple layers of Zempetti in increasing size having an average diameter of less than 10 nm as taught by Ku motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency by increasing electron transport capability.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Zempetti fails to disclose that the electron transport layer further comprises at least one of a dispersant, a stabilizer or an additive to increase chemical stability of the electron transport layer and which comprises nonmetal atoms.
Whereas, Ku discloses composition for forming a hole transport layer and to a semitransparent organic solar cell comprising the same (abstract). Ku discloses translucent organic solar cell according to an embodiment of the present invention has an inverted structure, comprising: a substrate; A lower electrode formed on the substrate; An electron transport layer formed on the lower electrode; A photoactive layer formed on the electron transport layer; A hole transport layer formed on the photoactive layer (page 8, para 1). The electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material and the organic material may be polyethyleneimine (PEI), ethoxylated polyethylenimine (PEIE), or the like (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include polyethyleneimine as taught by Ku in the electron transport layer of Zempetti motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency by increasing electron transport capability and to have high charge density.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Boardman et al. (US 2021/0151629).
Regarding claim 4, Zempetti fails to disclose the metal oxide nanoparticles being deposited from a solution process selected from spin coating, spray coating.
Whereas, Boardman discloses LED 400 includes a top electrode 404, an emissive layer (EML) 405, a hole transport layer (HTL) 406, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 407. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The nanoparticles 408 are electrically conductive (para 0032). The nanoparticles 408 may be deposited by solution process techniques, such as spin coating, slot-dye coating, ink-jet printing, or gravure printing (para 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form metal oxide nanoparticles of Zempetti in view of Ku using deposited solution process such as spin coating, ink jet printing as taught by Boardman motivated by the desire to form thin and uniform layer.
Regarding claim 5, Zempetti in view of Ku discloses average diameter of metal oxide nanoparticles is a range of less than 10 nm and fails to disclose the size of quantum dots.
Whereas, Boardman discloses LED 400 includes a top electrode 404, an emissive layer (EML) 405, a hole transport layer (HTL) 406, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 407. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The nanoparticles 408 are electrically conductive (para 0032).The emissive layer includes one of light-emitting organic materials or quantum dot nanoparticles (para 0020). Boardman discloses QLED 500 may include nanoparticles 508 in the top electrode 504 that are characterized by a larger diameter 513 as compared to a smaller diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), ETL 407, and the EML 405. For example, the diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), i.e., ETL 407, and the EML 405 may be between 1 nm and 20 nm (para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form quantum dots of Zempetti having an average size of 11-20 nm as taught by Boardman motivated by the desire to have improved film formation and stability.
Based on the teaching of Ku which discloses metal oxide nanoparticle having an average size of less than 10 nm and Boardman discloses quantum dots having an average size of 10-20 nm as disclosed above, it meets the limitation of metal oxide nanoparticles are equal or smaller than quantum dots in size.
Regarding claims 9-13, Zempetti discloses second CTL 150 that is electron transporting. The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062). The second CTL 150 may include metal oxides such as ZnO, Mg.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, Al.sub.xZn.sub.1-xO where 0≤x≤1, Ga.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, amorphous titanium oxide, TiO.sub.2 and ZrO.sub.2. In implementations where the second CTL 150 includes more than one layer, each layer may be made of a different material (para 0062).
Whereas, Ku discloses the electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material, and the metal oxide may include titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and metal oxide included in the electron transport layer may have an average particle diameter of less than 10 nm (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
However, Zempetti in view of Ku discloses average diameter of metal oxide nanoparticles is a range of less than 10 nm and fails to disclose the size of quantum dots.
Whereas, Boardman discloses LED 400 includes a top electrode 404, an emissive layer (EML) 405, a hole transport layer (HTL) 406, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 407. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The nanoparticles 408 are electrically conductive (para 0032).The emissive layer includes one of light-emitting organic materials or quantum dot nanoparticles (para 0020). Boardman discloses QLED 500 may include nanoparticles 508 in the top electrode 504 that are characterized by a larger diameter 513 as compared to a smaller diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), ETL 407, and the EML 405. For example, the diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), i.e., ETL 407, and the EML 405 may be between 1 nm and 20 nm (para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form quantum dots of Zempetti having an average size of 11-20 nm as taught by Boardman motivated by the desire to have improved film formation and stability.
Based on the teaching of Ku which discloses metal oxide nanoparticle having an average size of less than 10 nm and Boardman discloses quantum dots having an average size of 10-20 nm as disclosed above, it meets the limitation of metal oxide nanoparticles are equal or smaller than quantum dots in size and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form ETL layer comprising ZnO and another layer comprising one of Mg.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, Al.sub.xZn.sub.1-xO where 0≤x≤1, Ga.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, amorphous titanium oxide, TiO.sub.2 and ZrO.sub.2 to form a layer having a third polarity greater than the second polarity.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Tanpo et al. (JP 2007-043109).
Regarding claim 14, Zempetti in view of Ku fails to disclose that the second polarity is less than 0.5.
Whereas, Tanpo discloses a ZnO device such as a ZnO light emitting device (page 1). The zinc oxide has a polarity of zero (page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form zinc oxide nanoparticles of Zempetti in view of Ku having a polarity of zero as taught by Tanpo motivated by the desire to form light emitting device that have low loss and long life.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sakai et al. (US 2022/0344599).
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Zempetti fails to disclose that the electron transport layer further comprises at least one of a dispersant, a stabilizer or an additive comprising a plurality of compounds having combination of metal, semimetal and non-metal atoms and has insulating properties.
Whereas, Sakai discloses electron transporting material for organic electroluminescent elements comprising such a novel metal complex. The present invention more specifically relates to an electron. transporting material that can be formed by a wet process in production of an organic electroluminescent element having a multilayer structure, the electron transporting material having excellent electron injection properties, electron transport properties, and durability (para 0001). Sakai discloses in order to make elements including a metal alkoxide added for the purpose of achieving a further driving voltage and a longer lifetime, also prepared were liquid materials for forming an electron transport layer including a metal alkoxide as a dopant. The liquid materials for forming an electron transport layer including a metal alkoxide (which would have insulated properties) added each were prepared by adding a metal alkoxide solution to the solution of a metal complex (para 0361).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include metal alkoxide as taught by Sakai in the electron transport layer of Zempetti motivated by the desire to have excellent electron injection properties, electron transport properties, and durability.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Chen (CN 110330517), Yabe et al. (JP 2013-136467) and Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807).
Regarding claims 1-3, Zempetti discloses a light emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and an emissive layer between the first and the second electrodes. The emissive layer comprises a first plurality of quantum dots having hole transporting ligands, and a second plurality of quantum dots having electron transporting ligands, where at least one of the first and the second plurality of quantum dots is incorporated in a matrix (abstract). Fig. 1 discloses substrate 110 made of glass (para 0055), first electrode 120 is deposited directly on the substrate (para 0056). The second electrode 160 in bottom-emitting devices is a reflective electrode. Typical materials used for the second electrode 160 include metals, such as calcium, aluminium or silver (cathodes for direct structures) and copper, silver, gold or platinum (anodes for inverted structures) (para 0059). The first charge transport layer (CTL) 130 deposited on the first electrode 120 in direct structures is a hole transport layer (para 0060). The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062). An EML 140 is inserted between the first electrode 120 and the second electrode 160 (para 0058). Based on figure 1, 110 corresponds to substrate, 120 corresponds to first electrode, 130 corresponds to hole transport layer, 140 corresponds to emissive layer, 150 corresponds to electron transport layer, 160 corresponds to second electrode layer. Zempetti discloses e emissive layer comprising: a first plurality of quantum dots having hole transporting ligands (claim 1) and the second CTL 150 may include metal oxides such as ZnO (para 0062).
However, Zempetti fails to disclose that the metal oxide particles are nanoparticles having a size of 3-20 nm and quantum dots soluble in a first solvent having a first polarity and metal oxide particles soluble in second solvent having a second polarity lower than the first polarity.
Whereas, Chen discloses a stable alcohol-soluble quantum dot (page 3, para 1). Chen discloses alcohol-soluble quantum dot, comprising a quantum point main body and ligand connected on the surface of the quantum dot body, ligand comprises alcohol soluble and the surface of the quantum dot body connected with alcohol soluble ligand to obtain alcohol-soluble quantum dot, hydroxyl or alcohol-soluble ligand methylamino alcohol-soluble quantum dot of large polarity, so that good solubility in the polar solvent, and the polymer precursor (such as epoxy resin, acrylic, polyurethane, etc.) currently used in good dispersibility (page 6, para 8).
Whereas, Yabe discloses a method for producing a structure composed of inorganic oxide nanoparticles (page 1, para 1). Yabe discloses the water-soluble organic solvent used in this embodiment has the effect of reducing the polarity of the aqueous solvent by mixing with water, and the inorganic oxidation by changing the mutual relationship between the dispersed inorganic oxide nanoparticles and the solvent. It becomes possible to control the dispersibility of the product nanoparticles (page 4, para 1).
Whereas, Ku discloses composition for forming a hole transport layer and to a semitransparent organic solar cell comprising the same (abstract). Ku discloses translucent organic solar cell according to an embodiment of the present invention has an inverted structure, comprising: a substrate; A lower electrode formed on the substrate; An electron transport layer formed on the lower electrode; A photoactive layer formed on the electron transport layer; A hole transport layer formed on the photoactive layer (page 8, para 1). The electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material, and the metal oxide may include titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and metal oxide included in the electron transport layer may have an average particle diameter of less than 10 nm (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form zinc oxide particles of Zempetti having an average diameter of less than 10 nm as taught by Ku motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency by increasing electron transport capability and to form quantum dots of Zempetti soluble in a solvent having high polarity as taught by Chen and to form metal oxide particles of Zempetti soluble in a solvent having low polarity as taught by Yabe motivated by the desire to have controlled and good dispersiblity.
Regarding claim 4, with respect to the metal oxide nanoparticles being deposited from a solution process selected from spin coating, spray coating etc. Any difference imparted by product by process limitations would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made because where the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art the burden of proof is shifted to the applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct not the examiner to show the same process of making, see In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324, In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 and MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 6, Zempetti discloses second CTL 150 that is electron transporting. The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062).
Regarding claims 7-8, Zempetti discloses second CTL 150 that is electron transporting. The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062). Whereas, Ku discloses the electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material, and the metal oxide may include titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and metal oxide included in the electron transport layer may have an average particle diameter of less than 10 nm (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form zinc oxide particles in the multiple layers of Zempetti in increasing size having an average diameter of less than 10 nm as taught by Ku motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency by increasing electron transport capability.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Zempetti fails to disclose that the electron transport layer further comprises at least one of a dispersant, a stabilizer or an additive to increase chemical stability of the electron transport layer and which comprises nonmetal atoms.
Whereas, Ku discloses composition for forming a hole transport layer and to a semitransparent organic solar cell comprising the same (abstract). Ku discloses translucent organic solar cell according to an embodiment of the present invention has an inverted structure, comprising: a substrate; A lower electrode formed on the substrate; An electron transport layer formed on the lower electrode; A photoactive layer formed on the electron transport layer; A hole transport layer formed on the photoactive layer (page 8, para 1). The electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material and the organic material may be polyethyleneimine (PEI), ethoxylated polyethylenimine (PEIE), or the like (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include polyethyleneimine as taught by Ku in the electron transport layer of Zempetti motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency by increasing electron transport capability and to have high charge density.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Chen (CN 110330517), Yabe et al. (JP 2013-136467) and Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Boardman et al. (US 2021/0151629).
Regarding claim 4, Zempetti fails to disclose the metal oxide nanoparticles being deposited from a solution process selected from spin coating, spray coating.
Whereas, Boardman discloses LED 400 includes a top electrode 404, an emissive layer (EML) 405, a hole transport layer (HTL) 406, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 407. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The nanoparticles 408 are electrically conductive (para 0032). The nanoparticles 408 may be deposited by solution process techniques, such as spin coating, slot-dye coating, ink-jet printing, or gravure printing (para 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form metal oxide nanoparticles of Zempetti in view of Ku using deposited solution process such as spin coating, ink jet printing as taught by Boardman motivated by the desire to form thin and uniform layer.
Regarding claim 5, Zempetti in view of Ku discloses average diameter of metal oxide nanoparticles is a range of less than 10 nm and fails to disclose the size of quantum dots.
Whereas, Boardman discloses LED 400 includes a top electrode 404, an emissive layer (EML) 405, a hole transport layer (HTL) 406, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 407. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The nanoparticles 408 are electrically conductive (para 0032).The emissive layer includes one of light-emitting organic materials or quantum dot nanoparticles (para 0020). Boardman discloses QLED 500 may include nanoparticles 508 in the top electrode 504 that are characterized by a larger diameter 513 as compared to a smaller diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), ETL 407, and the EML 405. For example, the diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), i.e., ETL 407, and the EML 405 may be between 1 nm and 20 nm (para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form quantum dots of Zempetti having an average size of 11-20 nm as taught by Boardman motivated by the desire to have improved film formation and stability.
Based on the teaching of Ku which discloses metal oxide nanoparticle having an average size of less than 10 nm and Boardman discloses quantum dots having an average size of 10-20 nm as disclosed above, it meets the limitation of metal oxide nanoparticles are equal or smaller than quantum dots in size.
Regarding claims 9-13, Zempetti discloses second CTL 150 that is electron transporting. The second CTL 150 may include one or more layers and may be made from any suitable materials that are optimized to transport electrons to the EML 140 (para 0062). The second CTL 150 may include metal oxides such as ZnO, Mg.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, Al.sub.xZn.sub.1-xO where 0≤x≤1, Ga.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, amorphous titanium oxide, TiO.sub.2 and ZrO.sub.2. In implementations where the second CTL 150 includes more than one layer, each layer may be made of a different material (para 0062).
Whereas, Ku discloses the electron transport layer is located on the above-described lower electrode, and serves to increase the efficiency of the organic solar cell by increasing electron transport capability. In addition, it is possible to prevent the photoactive layer from being affected by blocking oxygen and moisture introduced from the outside. The electron transport layer may be formed of a metal oxide and an organic material, and the metal oxide may include titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and metal oxide included in the electron transport layer may have an average particle diameter of less than 10 nm (page 8, para 8-10 and page 9, para 1).
However, Zempetti in view of Ku discloses average diameter of metal oxide nanoparticles is a range of less than 10 nm and fails to disclose the size of quantum dots.
Whereas, Boardman discloses LED 400 includes a top electrode 404, an emissive layer (EML) 405, a hole transport layer (HTL) 406, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 407. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The top electrode 404 of the QLED 400 includes one or more layers of nanoparticles 408. The nanoparticles 408 are electrically conductive (para 0032).The emissive layer includes one of light-emitting organic materials or quantum dot nanoparticles (para 0020). Boardman discloses QLED 500 may include nanoparticles 508 in the top electrode 504 that are characterized by a larger diameter 513 as compared to a smaller diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), ETL 407, and the EML 405. For example, the diameter 512 of the nanoparticles 410, 411 of the CTL(s), i.e., ETL 407, and the EML 405 may be between 1 nm and 20 nm (para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form quantum dots of Zempetti having an average size of 11-20 nm as taught by Boardman motivated by the desire to have improved film formation and stability.
Based on the teaching of Ku which discloses metal oxide nanoparticle having an average size of less than 10 nm and Boardman discloses quantum dots having an average size of 10-20 nm as disclosed above, it meets the limitation of metal oxide nanoparticles are equal or smaller than quantum dots in size and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form ETL layer comprising ZnO and another layer comprising one of Mg.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, Al.sub.xZn.sub.1-xO where 0≤x≤1, Ga.sub.xZn.sub.1−xO where 0≤x≤1, amorphous titanium oxide, TiO.sub.2 and ZrO.sub.2 to form a layer having a third polarity greater than the second polarity.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Chen (CN 110330517), Yabe et al. (JP 2013-136467) and Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Tanpo et al. (JP 2007-043109).
Regarding claim 14, Zempetti in view of Yabe fails to disclose that the second polarity is less than 0.5.
Whereas, Tanpo discloses a ZnO device such as a ZnO light emitting device (page 1). The zinc oxide has a polarity of zero (page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form zinc oxide nanoparticles of Zempetti in view of Ku and Yabe having a polarity of zero as taught by Tanpo motivated by the desire to form light emitting device that have low loss and long life.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zempetti et al. (US 2021/0328165) in view of Chen (CN 110330517), Yabe et al. (JP 2013-136467) and Ku et al. (KR 2020/0145807) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sakai et al. (US 2022/0344599).
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Zempetti fails to disclose that the electron transport layer further comprises at least one of a dispersant, a stabilizer or an additive comprising a plurality of compounds having combination of metal, semimetal and non-metal atoms and has insulating properties.
Whereas, Sakai discloses electron transporting material for organic electroluminescent elements comprising such a novel metal complex. The present invention more specifically relates to an electron. transporting material that can be formed by a wet process in production of an organic electroluminescent element having a multilayer structure, the electron transporting material having excellent electron injection properties, electron transport properties, and durability (para 0001). Sakai discloses in order to make elements including a metal alkoxide added for the purpose of achieving a further driving voltage and a longer lifetime, also prepared were liquid materials for forming an electron transport layer including a metal alkoxide as a dopant. The liquid materials for forming an electron transport layer including a metal alkoxide (which would have insulated properties) added each were prepared by adding a metal alkoxide solution to the solution of a metal complex (para 0361).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include metal alkoxide as taught by Sakai in the electron transport layer of Zempetti motivated by the desire to have excellent electron injection properties, electron transport properties, and durability.
Conclusion
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788