Applicant’s Amendment dated June 18, 2025 has been carefully considered, but is non-persuasive. The specification has been amended to provide antecedent basis for the limitations in claims 1, 8, 16, 19, and 21-24, as set forth in the most recent prior Office Action. The claims have been amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Correction of these matters is noted with appreciation.
Applicant has argued with regard to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 which rely on Cousins et al. 2019/0285085, that amended claims 1 and 8 recite that the upstream set of vanes and downstream set of vanes comprise curved vanes, while in Cousins et al., the upstream and downstream sets of vanes for the diffuser are disclosed as being straight vanes.
It is agreed that Cousins et al. is silent as to the upstream set of vanes and downstream set of vanes comprise curved vanes. However GB 695,948 teaches this feature, as set forth in detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaraman et al. 2017/0363024 in view of Kim et al. 2020/0006997 and Sawada et al. 2018/0156233 and Agrawal et al. 2013/0129488 and United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A.
Sivaraman et al. discloses a multistage compressor substantially as claimed, comprising: a first compressor stage 4, wherein the first compressor stage includes an impeller 4 and a diffuser shown generally at 25 having exit channels between adjacent vanes 25; a second compressor stage 5 downstream of the first compressor stage; a motor section 11 between the first compressor stage and the second compressor stage, the motor section including a housing 15 defining a longitudinal axis and a motor formed by 21, 22 within the housing, a space between the motor and the housing establishing a flow path for fluid to flow from the first compressor stage to the second compressor stage, and wherein the first compressor stage directs fluid from the exit channels to enter into the space along a trajectory that is at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and a plurality of ribs 23 within the space (claim 1).
The plurality of ribs at least partially extend between an interior of the housing and an exterior of the motor such that the plurality of ribs support the motor within the housing (claim 5).
The plurality of ribs are equally spaced from each other in a circumferential direction, as is visually apparent in figures 1 and 3 (claim 6).
The motor includes a rotor that rotates about the longitudinal axis (claim 7).
Open flow path areas are between adjacent ribs, and one diffuser vane 25 is associated with each open flow path area (claim 23).
However, Sivaraman et al. does not disclose that the plurality of ribs include a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the plurality of ribs that changes a direction of fluid flow within the space such that the fluid flows downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing; and wherein the plurality of ribs include a first portion and a second portion that is downstream of the first portion, and wherein the first portion has the curvature and the second portion is parallel to the longitudinal axis, and wherein a length of the first portion is greater than a length of the second portion (claim 1), does not disclose that the first portions of the plurality of ribs have a first segment situated at the oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 3), and does not disclose that the curvature of the first portion is configured to provide a smooth transition between the first segment and a terminal segment of the second portion (claim 4).
Sivaraman et al. also does not disclose that the adjacent vanes comprise an upstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes (claim 1), does not disclose that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 19), does not disclose that vanes from the impeller direct fluid flow toward upstream facing surfaces of the upstream set of curved vanes of the diffuser along a first trajectory that is at a first oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and wherein fluid flow exiting the exit channels is directed along a second trajectory that is at a second oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 21), does not disclose that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a circumferential direction (claim 22), and does not disclose that one vane from the upstream set of curved vanes is associated with one vane from the downstream set of curved vanes to form a plurality of vane pairs, wherein one vane pair is associated with each open flow path area, and wherein the first portions of the plurality of ribs, and the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction (claim 23).
Kim et al. 2020/0006997 shows a centrifugal compressor (paragraph [0057], for example) and motor assembly having a centrifugal impeller 6 and a motor 1, 14 with a plurality of ribs 11 which include a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the ribs that changes a direction of fluid flow within a space S2 between the motor and a housing 7 such that the fluid flows downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the housing, the plurality of ribs respectively include a first portion 12 and a second portion 13, the second portion being downstream of the first portion, the first portion having the curvature, the second portion being parallel to the longitudinal axis, with the first portions of the ribs having a first segment situated at the oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, the curvature of the first portion configured to provide a smooth transition between the first segment and a terminal segment of the second portion, with a direction change of fluid within the space using the plurality of ribs within the space, the ribs formed such that the ribs include the curvature along at least a portion of a length of the ribs, and directing fluid flow downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the housing. The arrangement is provided for the purposes of minimizing a generation of a vortex within the space and rapidly dissipating generated heat into the fluid. Note paragraphs [0065], [0088], and [0089], for example.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the multistage compressor of Sivaraman et al. such that the plurality of ribs include a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the plurality of ribs that changes a direction of fluid flow within the space such that the fluid flows downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing; and wherein the plurality of ribs include a first portion and a second portion that is downstream of the first portion, and wherein the first portion has the curvature and the second portion is parallel to the longitudinal axis (claim 1), such that the first portions of the plurality of ribs have a first segment situated at the oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 3), and such that the curvature of the first portion is configured to provide a smooth transition between the first segment and a terminal segment of the second portion (claim 4), as taught by Kim et al. 2020/0006997, for the purposes of minimizing a generation of a vortex within the space and rapidly dissipating generated heat into the fluid.
The modified compressor of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter except for a length of the first portion is greater than a length of the second portion (claim 1).
Sawada et al. shows a blower 1 having an impeller 70 with a motor 10 surrounded by a housing 61, the housing defining a longitudinal axis, the motor formed within the housing, a space generally shown at 87 between the motor and the housing establishing a flow path for fluid to flow downstream from the impeller, the impeller directing fluid to enter into the space along a trajectory that is at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and a plurality of ribs each formed by 67a, 67b within the space, a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the ribs changes a direction of fluid flow within the space between the motor and the housing such that the fluid flows downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing, the plurality of ribs respectively include a first portion 67b and a second portion 67a, the second portion being downstream of the first portion, the first portion having the curvature, the second portion being parallel to the longitudinal axis, a length of the first portion being greater than a length of the second portion. The arrangement is provided for the purpose of reorienting the air flowing in the space 87 while providing more efficient cooling for the motor.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified multistage compressor of Sivaraman et al. such that a length of the first portion is greater than a length of the second portion, as taught by Sawada et al, for the purpose of reorienting the air flowing in the space while providing more efficient cooling for the motor. Although Sawada et al. is directed towards a blower, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the applicability of the teachings of Sawada et al. to the modified compressor and method of Sivaraman et al., as both relate to centrifugal impellers directing cooling air through the space between the motor and the housing, and as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way was held to be an obvious extension of the prior art teachings, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The modified compressor of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter except for the first ends of the plurality of ribs are spaced from downstream ends of the adjacent vanes of the diffuser (claim 1).
Agrawal et al. shows a compressor having a first compressor stage including an impeller 32 and a diffuser formed by vanes 38 having exit channels between adjacent vanes, and a plurality of ribs 40 including a first portion extending from an upstream first end (the left hand side of vanes 40) and a second portion extending to a second end (the right hand side of vanes 40), the first ends of the plurality of ribs being spaced from downstream ends of the adjacent vanes 38 of the diffuser, as an alternative arrangement which provides for improved fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of gas flow through a space between a motor 22 and a housing 12.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified multistage compressor of Sivaraman et al. such that the first ends of the plurality of ribs are spaced from downstream ends of the adjacent vanes of the diffuser, as taught by Agrawal et al., as an alternative arrangement which provides for improved fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of gas flow through the space between the motor and the housing.
The modified compressor of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter except for the adjacent vanes comprise an upstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes (claim 1), except for vanes from the impeller direct fluid flow toward upstream facing surfaces of the upstream set of curved vanes of the diffuser along a first trajectory that is at a first oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and wherein fluid flow exiting the exit channels is directed along a second trajectory that is at a second oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 21), and except for one vane from the upstream set of vanes is associated with one vane from the downstream set of vanes to form a plurality of vane pairs, and wherein one vane pair is associated with each open flow path area, and wherein the first portions of the plurality of ribs, and the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction (claim 23).
United Kingdom Patent Published Specification 695948A (figures 1-2) shows a compressor (not numbered) having an impeller B2, wherein downstream of the impeller, there is a diffuser D, D1 having adjacent vanes which comprise an upstream set of curved vanes D3 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about a longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes D4 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes, and vanes B6 from the impeller direct fluid flow toward upstream facing surfaces of the upstream set of curved vanes of the diffuser along a first trajectory that is at a first oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and wherein fluid flow exiting the exit channels is directed along a second trajectory that is at a second oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, one vane from the upstream set of curved vanes is associated with one vane from the downstream set of curved vanes to form a plurality of vane pairs, wherein the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction, as an arrangement for converting kinetic energy represented by a tangential or circumferential component of gas passing through the curved vanes into pressure energy.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified multistage compressor of Sivaraman et al. such that the adjacent vanes comprise an upstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes (claim 1), such that vanes from the impeller direct fluid flow toward upstream facing surfaces of the upstream set of curved vanes of the diffuser along a first trajectory that is at a first oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and wherein fluid flow exiting the exit channels is directed along a second trajectory that is at a second oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 21), and such that one vane from the upstream set of curved vanes is associated with one vane from the downstream set of curved vanes to form a plurality of vane pairs, wherein one vane pair is associated with each open flow path area, and the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction (claim 23), as taught by United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A, as an arrangement for converting kinetic energy represented by a tangential or circumferential component of gas passing through the curved vanes into pressure energy.
Note that applying the teachings of United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A to the modified compressor of Sivaraman et al. would result in the first portions of the plurality of ribs, and the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction, as United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A teaches that successive curved vanes D3, D4, and D5 are all curved facing a common direction (claim 23).
Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaraman et al. 2017/0363024 and Kim et al. 2020/0006997 and Sawada et al. 2018/0156233 and Agrawal et al. 2013/0129488 and United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cousins et al. 2019/0285058.
The modified compressor of Sivaraman shows all of the claimed subject matter, including spaces between adjacent ribs establish flow channels for the fluid to flow into and through the space (claim 19), but does not show that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 19), and does not show that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a circumferential direction (claim 22).
Cousins et al. shows a compressor 10 having an impeller 46, wherein downstream of the impeller, there is a diffuser 72 having adjacent vanes which comprise an upstream set of vanes 82 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about a longitudinal axis and a downstream set of vanes 84 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes, the downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis, the downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes in a circumferential direction, as a diffuser arrangement which reduces a Mach number of the fluid flow through the diffuser.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified multistage compressor of Sivaraman et al. such that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 19), and such that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a circumferential direction (claim 22), as taught by Cousins et al., as a diffuser arrangement which reduces a Mach number of the fluid flow through the diffuser.
Claims 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaraman et al. 2017/0363024 in view of United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A and Kim et al. 2020/0006997 and Sawada et al. 2018/0156233 and Agrawal et al. 2013/0129488.
Sivaraman et al. discloses a method of controlling fluid flow in a multistage compressor substantially as claimed, including a first compressor stage 4, a second compressor stage 5 downstream of the first compressor stage, a housing 15 between the first compressor stage and the second compressor stage, and a motor formed by 21, 21 in the housing, and wherein the first compressor stage includes an impeller 4 and a diffuser shown generally at 25 having exit channels between adjacent vanes 25, the method comprising: directing fluid from the exit channels of the first compressor stage into a space between the housing and the motor along a trajectory that is at an oblique angle relative to a longitudinal axis of the housing; and a plurality of ribs 23 within the space (claim 8).
The plurality of ribs at least partially extend between an interior of the housing and an exterior of the motor such that the plurality of ribs support the motor within the housing (claim 12).
The plurality of ribs are equally spaced from each other in a circumferential direction, as is visually apparent in figures 1 and 3 (claim 13).
The motor includes a rotor that rotates about the longitudinal axis (claim 14).
The method includes providing open flow path areas between adjacent ribs (claim 24).
However, Sivaraman et al. does not disclose that the adjacent vanes comprise an upstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes (claim 8),
United Kingdom Patent Published Specification 695948A (figures 1-2) shows a compressor (not numbered) having an impeller B2, wherein downstream of the impeller, there is a diffuser D, D1 having adjacent vanes which comprise an upstream set of curved vanes D3 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about a longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes D4 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes, and vanes B6 from the impeller direct fluid flow toward upstream facing surfaces of the upstream set of curved vanes of the diffuser along a first trajectory that is at a first oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and wherein fluid flow exiting the exit channels is directed along a second trajectory that is at a second oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, one vane from the upstream set of curved vanes is associated with one vane from the downstream set of curved vanes to form a plurality of vane pairs, wherein the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction, as an arrangement for converting kinetic energy represented by a tangential or circumferential component of gas passing through the curved vanes into pressure energy.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the method of Sivaraman et al. such that the adjacent vanes comprise an upstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis and a downstream set of curved vanes that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes (claim 8), as taught by as taught by United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A, as an arrangement for converting kinetic energy represented by a tangential or circumferential component of gas passing through the curved vanes into pressure energy.
However, the modified method of Sivaraman et al. does not show changing a direction of fluid within the space using a plurality of ribs within the space that include a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the plurality of ribs, and wherein the plurality of ribs include a first portion and a second portion that is downstream of the first portion, and wherein the first portion has the curvature and the second portion is parallel to the longitudinal axis, and wherein a length of the first portion is greater than a length of the second portion; and directing fluid flow downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing (claim 8), does not show that the first portions of the plurality of ribs have a first segment situated at the oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 10), and does not show that the curvature of the first portion is configured to provide a smooth transition between the first segment and a terminal segment of the second portion (claim 11).
Kim et al. 2020/0006997 shows a centrifugal compressor (paragraph [0057], for example) and motor assembly having a centrifugal impeller 6 and a motor 1, 14 with a plurality of ribs 11 which include a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the ribs that changes a direction of fluid flow within a space S2 between the motor and a housing 7 such that the fluid flows downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the housing, the plurality of ribs respectively include a first portion 12 and a second portion 13, the second portion being downstream of the first portion, the first portion having the curvature, the second portion being parallel to the longitudinal axis, with the first portions of the ribs having a first segment situated at the oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, the curvature of the first portion configured to provide a smooth transition between the first segment and a terminal segment of the second portion, with a direction change of fluid within the space using the plurality of ribs within the space, the ribs formed such that the ribs include the curvature along at least a portion of a length of the ribs, and directing fluid flow downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the housing. The arrangement is provided for the purposes of minimizing a generation of a vortex within the space and rapidly dissipating generated heat into the fluid. Note paragraphs [0065], [0088], and [0089], for example.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified method of Sivaraman et al. such that it includes changing a direction of fluid within the space using a plurality of ribs within the space that include a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the plurality of ribs, and wherein the plurality of ribs include a first portion and a second portion that is downstream of the first portion, and wherein the first portion has the curvature and the second portion is parallel to the longitudinal axis, and directing fluid flow downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing (claim 8), such that the first portions of the plurality of ribs have a first segment situated at the oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 10), and such that the curvature of the first portion is configured to provide a smooth transition between the first segment and a terminal segment of the second portion (claim 11), as taught by Kim et al. 2020/0006997, for the purposes of minimizing a generation of a vortex within the space and rapidly dissipating generated heat into the fluid.
The modified method of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter except for a length of the first portion is greater than a length of the second portion (claim 8).
Sawada et al. shows a blower 1 having an impeller 70 with a motor 10 surrounded by a housing 61, the housing defining a longitudinal axis, the motor formed within the housing, a space generally shown at 87 between the motor and the housing establishing a flow path for fluid to flow downstream from the impeller, the impeller directing fluid to enter into the space along a trajectory that is at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and a plurality of ribs each formed by 67a, 67b within the space, a curvature along at least a portion of a length of the ribs changes a direction of fluid flow within the space between the motor and the housing such that the fluid flows downstream of the curvature in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing, the plurality of ribs respectively include a first portion 67b and a second portion 67a, the second portion being downstream of the first portion, the first portion having the curvature, the second portion being parallel to the longitudinal axis, a length of the first portion being greater than a length of the second portion. The arrangement is provided for the purpose of reorienting the air flowing in the space 87 while providing more efficient cooling for the motor.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified method of Sivaraman et al. such that a length of the first portion is greater than a length of the second portion, as taught by Sawada et al, for the purpose of reorienting the air flowing in the space while providing more efficient cooling for the motor. Although Sawada et al. is directed towards a blower, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the applicability of the teachings of Sawada et al. to the modified compressor and method of Sivaraman et al., as both relate to centrifugal impellers directing cooling air through the space between the motor and the housing, and as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way was held to be an obvious extension of the prior art teachings, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The modified method of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter except for the first ends of the plurality of ribs are spaced from downstream ends of the adjacent vanes of the diffuser (claim 8).
Agrawal et al. shows a compressor having a first compressor stage including an impeller 32 and a diffuser formed by vanes 38 having exit channels between adjacent vanes, and a plurality of ribs 40 including a first portion extending from an upstream first end (the left hand side of vanes 40) and a second portion extending to a second end (the right hand side of vanes 40), the first ends of the plurality of ribs being spaced from downstream ends of the adjacent vanes 38 of the diffuser, as an alternative arrangement which provides for improved fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of gas flow through a space between a motor 22 and a housing 12.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified method of Sivaraman et al. such that the first ends of the plurality of ribs are spaced from downstream ends of the adjacent vanes of the diffuser, as taught by Agrawal et al., as an alternative arrangement which provides for improved fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of gas flow through the space between the motor and the housing.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaraman et al. 2017/0363024 and United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A and Kim et al. 2020/0006997 and Sawada et al. 2018/0156233 and Agrawal et al. 2013/0129488 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cousins et al. 2019/0285085.
The modified method of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter including establishing flow channels between adjacent ribs that receive flow from the exit channels formed between the adjacent vanes of the diffuser, but does not show that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 16).
Cousins et al. shows a compressor 10 having an impeller 46, wherein downstream of the impeller, there is a diffuser 72 having adjacent vanes which comprise an upstream set of vanes 82 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about a longitudinal axis and a downstream set of vanes 84 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes, the downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis, the downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes in a circumferential direction, as a diffuser arrangement which reduces a Mach number of the fluid flow through the diffuser.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the method of Sivaraman et al. such that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis, as taught by Cousins et al., as a diffuser arrangement which reduces a Mach number of the fluid flow through the diffuser.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaraman et al. 2017/0363024 and United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A and Kim et al. 2020/0006997 and Sawada et al. 2018/0156233 and Agrawal et al. 2013/0129488 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cousins et al. 2019/0285085.
The modified method of Sivaraman et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter including wherein one vane from the upstream set of curved vanes is associated with one vane from the downstream set of curved vanes to form a plurality of vane pairs, and including associating one vane pair with each open flow path area between adjacent ribs, wherein the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction, and directing fluid flow from vanes of the impeller toward upstream facing surfaces of the upstream set of curved vanes of the diffuser along a first trajectory that is at a first oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis, and directing fluid flow exiting the exit channels along a second trajectory that is at a second oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (claim 24).
However, the modified method of Sivaraman et al. does not show the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a circumferential direction.
Cousins et al. shows a compressor 10 having an impeller 46, wherein downstream of the impeller, there is a diffuser 72 having adjacent vanes which comprise an upstream set of vanes 82 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about a longitudinal axis and a downstream set of vanes 84 that are circumferentially spaced apart from each other about the longitudinal axis, and wherein downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes are spaced apart from upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes, the downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes overlap the upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis, the downstream ends of the upstream set of vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of vanes in a circumferential direction, as a diffuser arrangement which reduces a Mach number of the fluid flow through the diffuser.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the method of Sivaraman et al. such that the downstream ends of the upstream set of curved vanes are in an overlapping relationship with the upstream ends of the downstream set of curved vanes in a circumferential direction, as taught by Cousins et al., as a diffuser arrangement which reduces a Mach number of the fluid flow through the diffuser.
Note that applying the teachings of United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A to the modified compressor of Sivaraman et al. would result in the first portions of the plurality of ribs, and the upstream set of curved vanes and downstream set of curved vanes, are curved facing a common direction, as United Kingdom Published Specification 695948A teaches that successive curved vanes D3, D4, and D5 are all curved facing a common direction (claim 24).
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher Verdier/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745