DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 03/19/2026. Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 17, and 20-25 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/19/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 8, and 17 have been amended. Claims 2-6, 9, 11-16, and 18-19 are canceled; Claims 5, 11, 12, 14-16 were previously cancelled. New claims 21-25 are added. Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 17, and 20-25 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 9-11 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Taherzadeh fails to teach or suggest Feature (i) on pg. 8, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of Claim 1. Claim 1 does not require the configuration information to include any specific field, control information, parameter name, or standalone value expressly labeled as an RTT offset value. Rather, the claim only requires that the configuration information be used to configure a window length of a time window for random access and to configure a first RTT offset value.
Taherzadeh discloses receiving higher-layer signaling including gNodeB type information and rar-WindowLength at step 210 of Fig. 2. The rar-WindowLength is used to determine the length of the RAR window, while the gNodeB type/NTN-related information is used in the Fig. 2 procedure to determine whether the gNodeB is non-terrestrial and to proceed with determining the minimum RTT and additional time offset for the RAR window at steps 220 and 230. Further, Para. [0092] explains that the WTRU determines the RAR window length at step 240 and then sets the RAR window by adding the time offset to the default beginning with the identified length at step 250.
Thus, Applicant’s focus on step 240 alone improperly isolates one step from the surrounding Fig. 2 procedure. When Taherzadeh is read as a whole, the received higher-layer signaling is used in the overall process to configure both the RAR window length and the RTT-based timing offset.
In conclusion, Taherzadeh teaches Feature (i) on pg. 8 on Applicant Remarks.
Further, the references of Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0314889) and Shrestha et al. (US 2021/0281520), cited but not relied upon, are noted as further background evidence that RTT, round trip delay, propagation delay, and related timing-offset information were known to be provided or configured by network signaling in NTN timing procedures.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 11-12 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Taherzadeh fails to teach or suggest Feature (ii) described on pg. 8 of Applicant Remarks, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Regarding Feature (ii), item (1) – Applicant argues that Taherzadeh does not determine a difference between the RTT estimate value and the first RTT offset value as the start time offset value. However, Claim 1 does not require the prior art to disclose the claimed determination using a particular equation, parameter name, or identical terminology. Taherzadeh discloses that the WTRU may determine a large portion of the minimum RTT, and that the gNodeB may signal the remaining part of the minimum RTT after deducting a value/portion. This disclosure reasonably corresponds to determining an RTT-related value based on a difference between RTT-related values. Taherzadeh further uses this RTT-related determination to establish an additional time offset applied to the beginning of the RAR window, Thus, Para. [0094-0095] reasonably support the claimed determination of the start time offset value as a difference between the RTT estimate value and the first RTT offset value.
Regarding Feature (ii), item (2) – Applicant also argues that Taherzadeh does not determine the difference using an RTT offset value configured in the configuration information. However, Claim 1 does not require the configuration information to transmit the first RTT offset value itself, or to include a particular RTT-offset field or control information. Rather, the claim recites that the configuration information is used to configure the first RTT offset value. In Taherzadeh, the higher-layer signaling received in Fig. 2 step 210 is used in determining whether the WTRU follows the NTN-specific procedure for determining the minimum RTT and additional time offset, rather than proceeding with default PRACK/RACH operations. Accordingly, the received configuration information is used in the process by which the RTT-based start time offset is determined.
In conclusion, Taherzadeh teaches Feature (ii) on pg. 8 described on pg. 8 of Applicant Remarks.
Further, Koorapaty (US 2006/0029031), cited but not relied upon, is further noted as background evidence that difference-based timing calculations were known in the art. In particular, Koorapaty discloses estimating a receive timing value, determining a propagation delay value, and setting a transmission timing using a subtraction/difference relationship between the estimated timing value and the propagation delay value.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 8 and 17 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to independent Claim(s) 8 and 17 and the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 17, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taherzadeh et al. (US 2020/0413451, previously presented), Taherzadeh hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Taherzadeh teaches wireless communication method, comprising (Figs. 2,4,6-8)
receiving, by a terminal device, configuration information sent by a network device (Fig. 2, step 210; Para. [0091] - FIG. 2 is a flow chart illustrating an example WTRU procedure 200 for adjusting a random access response window based on an implicitly configured time offset. In this example, in element 210, a WTRU receives higher layer signaling including a gNodeB type and a random access response window length (e.g., a “rar-WindowLength” parameter) in a SIB message. The WTRU may determine whether the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network; See Also Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0119]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120),
wherein the configuration information is used to configure a window length of a time window for random access and to configure a first Round Trip Time (RTT) offset value (Fig. 2, Steps 220-240; Para. [0092] - On a condition 215 that the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network, the WTRU may determine a minimum RTT in element 220. The WTRU may determine the time offset for the RAR window in element 230. The WTRU may determine a length of the RAR window based on the “rar-WindowLength” parameter and a non-terrestrial based table in element 240. The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble in element 245. The WTRU may set the RAR window, e.g., by adding the time offset to a default beginning and with the identified length in element 250. The WTRU may monitor a downlink control channel (e.g., type-0 PDCCH) on monitoring occasions inside the response window in element 260. It is noted that the various elements of FIG. 4, as in other figures, can be performed in a different order where appropriate. For example, elements 220, 230, and 240 could be performed after transmitting the PRACH preamble of element 245 in some embodiments; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
Examiner’s Note: RAR is defined as “random access response” in Taherzadeh Para. [0083].
wherein the configuration information is carried in broadcast information, or the configuration information is carried in Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Para. [0082] - After estimating the maximum round-trip time, e.g., from parameters known to the gNodeB, such as the distance from Earth and the minimum angle of elevation, the gNodeB may configure the length of the PRACH response window as “rar-WindowLength” through higher layer signaling, e.g., in a SIB message, with a maximum value of the expected RTT (e.g., 600 ms); Para. [0091] - FIG. 2 is a flow chart illustrating an example WTRU procedure 200 for adjusting a random access response window based on an implicitly configured time offset. In this example, in element 210, a WTRU receives higher layer signaling including a gNodeB type and a random access response window length (e.g., a “rar-WindowLength” parameter) in a SIB message. The WTRU may determine whether the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network.; See also Paras. [0085, 0089, 0094, 0099; 0103; 0113]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
The examiner interprets a SIB message as a type of broadcast RRC signaling.
determining, by the terminal device, a start time of the time window according to the first RTT offset value (Fig. 7, steps 720 and 750; Para. [0119] - In element 710, the WTRU receives random access response (RAR) configuration information. In element 720, the WTRU determines a time offset for a RAR window, based on a minimum round trip time (RTT) between the WTRU and a non-terrestrial network device. In element 730, the WTRU determines a length of the RAR window. In element 740, the WTRU transmits a PRACH preamble to the non-terrestrial network device. In element 750, the WTRU monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the non-terrestrial network device during the RAR window based on the time offset and the length of the RAR window. It is noted that the various elements of FIG. 7, as in other figures, can be performed in a different order where appropriate. For example, elements 710, 720, 730 could be performed after transmitting the PRACH preamble of element 740 in some embodiments; Fig. 8, elements 830 and 840; Para. [0120] - FIG. 8 is a timeline 800 illustrating example RACH timing for NTN applications. Timeline 800 illustrates example PRACH communications between a WTRU and an non-terrestrial gNB, which is usable with various devices and techniques discussed herein. For example, the example communications of timeline 800 could represent communications between first WTRU 320 and gNB 310 as shown and described with respect to FIG. 3. In timeline 800, the WTRU transmits a PRACH preamble at time 810. In a terrestrial network, or by default (for example, according to present NR specifications), the WTRU would begin attempting to detect a RAR response (e.g., from a gNB) to the PRACH preamble at default RAR window start time 820. In this example however, time offset 830 is added to start time 820 to yield a NTN RAR window start time 840. Time offset 830 is calculated, e.g., as discussed herein, to compensate for the minimum RTT (e.g., corresponding to elevation angle 380) between the WTRU and the non-terrestrial gNB. The WTRU continues to attempt to detect the RAR response during RAR window 850. The length 860 of RAR window 850 is calculated, e.g., as discussed herein, based on the difference between the minimum RTT (e.g., corresponding to elevation angle 380) and the maximum RTT (e.g., corresponding to elevation angle 370) between the WTRU and the non-terrestrial gNB; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]),
wherein determining, by the terminal device, the start time of the time window according to the first RTT offset value comprises: determining, by the terminal device, a start time offset value of the time window according to a signal transmission RTT estimate value between the terminal device and a network device and the first RTT offset value (Paras. [0094-0095] - [0094] In some implementations, a time offset for the beginning of the PRACH response window may be adjusted based on explicit signaling, e.g., in a SIB message. For example, a gNodeB, based on its distance to Earth, its footprint, and elevation angle, may estimate the minimum RTT for the WTRUs in its associated footprint. The gNodeB may send an estimate of the minimum RTT to the WTRUs by higher layer signaling, for example in a SIB message. The remaining ambiguity of the RTT is at most equal to a quantization for the signaled minimum RTT plus the maximum round trip variation for the footprint of the satellite beam. [0095] To lower the signaling overhead without sacrificing the quantization resolution, this explicit signaling approach may be combined with the implicit approach. The WTRU may determine a large portion of the minimum RTT based on the non-terrestrial gNodeB (or bent pipe) similar to Table 4. The gNodeB, after estimating the more exact minimum RTT, may signal the remaining part of it to the WTRU by higher layer signaling, for example by deducting the value that is already defined in a specification table and implicitly available to the WTRU; See also Para. [0104-0105]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]).
In Taherzadeh Para. [0094-0095] teaches the claimed start time offset determination by disclosing that the PRACH response window timing may be adjusted based on RTT-related signaling. In particular, the WTRU’s signal transmission RTT estimate corresponds to the portion of the minimum RTT determined by the WTRU, and the claimed first RTT offset value corresponds to the remaining RTT portions signaled by the gNodeB, such that the WTRU determines the start time offset based on the relationship/difference between these RTT values.
wherein determining, by the terminal device, the start time offset value of the time window according to the signal transmission RTT estimate value between the terminal device and the network device and the first RTT offset value comprises:
determining, by the terminal device, a difference between the RTT estimate value and the first RTT offset value as the start time offset value of the time window (Paras. [0094-0095]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]).
wherein the time window is a random access response time window in a four-step random access (Fig. 2, steps 245 and 260; Fig. 7, step 740 and 750; Para. [0119] - In element 740, the WTRU transmits a PRACH preamble to the non-terrestrial network device. In element 750, the WTRU monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the non-terrestrial network device during the RAR window based on the time offset and the length of the RAR window; Fig. 8, steps 810 and 850; Para. [0120] - FIG. 8 is a timeline 800 illustrating example RACH timing for NTN applications. Timeline 800 illustrates example PRACH communications between a WTRU and an non-terrestrial gNB, which is usable with various devices and techniques discussed herein. For example, the example communications of timeline 800 could represent communications between first WTRU 320 and gNB 310 as shown and described with respect to FIG. 3. In timeline 800, the WTRU transmits a PRACH preamble at time 810. In a terrestrial network, or by default (for example, according to present NR specifications), the WTRU would begin attempting to detect a RAR response (e.g., from a gNB) to the PRACH preamble at default RAR window start time 820. In this example however, time offset 830 is added to start time 820 to yield a NTN RAR window start time 840. Time offset 830 is calculated, e.g., as discussed herein, to compensate for the minimum RTT (e.g., corresponding to elevation angle 380) between the WTRU and the non-terrestrial gNB. The WTRU continues to attempt to detect the RAR response during RAR window 850. The length 860 of RAR window 850 is calculated, e.g., as discussed herein, based on the difference between the minimum RTT (e.g., corresponding to elevation angle 380) and the maximum RTT (e.g., corresponding to elevation angle 370) between the WTRU and the non-terrestrial gNB; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]).
The examiner interprets the PRACH transmission by the WTRU that is followed by the WTRU waiting for a RAR response from the base station during the RAR window as a four-step random access procedure.
wherein the method further comprises:
after the terminal device sends a first message Msgl of the four-step random access (Fig. 2, step 245; Para. [0092] - …The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble in element 245…; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]),
The Examiner interprets a PRACH preamble as a MSG1.
starting, by the terminal device, the time window at the first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource position after the start time offset value of the time window, and monitoring a random access response during the time window (Fig. 2, steps 250 and 260; Paras. [0092-0093] - [0092] On a condition 215 that the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network, the WTRU may determine a minimum RTT in element 220. The WTRU may determine the time offset for the RAR window in element 230. The WTRU may determine a length of the RAR window based on the “rar-WindowLength” parameter and a non-terrestrial based table in element 240. The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble in element 245. The WTRU may set the RAR window, e.g., by adding the time offset to a default beginning and with the identified length in element 250. The WTRU may monitor a downlink control channel (e.g., type-0 PDCCH) on monitoring occasions inside the response window in element 260. It is noted that the various elements of FIG. 4, as in other figures, can be performed in a different order where appropriate. For example, elements 220, 230, and 240 could be performed after transmitting the PRACH preamble of element 245 in some embodiments. [0093] On a condition 215 that the gNodeB is not in a non-terrestrial network, the WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble in element 270. The WTRU may set the PRACH response window with a default beginning and the length equal to the “rar-WindowLength” parameter in element 280. The WTRU may monitor a type-0 PDCCH on the monitoring occasions inside the response window in element 290; Fig. 7. Steps 740 and 750; Para. [0119] - [0119] In element 710, the WTRU receives random access response (RAR) configuration information. In element 720, the WTRU determines a time offset for a RAR window, based on a minimum round trip time (RTT) between the WTRU and a non-terrestrial network device. In element 730, the WTRU determines a length of the RAR window. In element 740, the WTRU transmits a PRACH preamble to the non-terrestrial network device. In element 750, the WTRU monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the non-terrestrial network device during the RAR window based on the time offset and the length of the RAR window. It is noted that the various elements of FIG. 7, as in other figures, can be performed in a different order where appropriate. For example, elements 710, 720, 730 could be performed after transmitting the PRACH preamble of element 740 in some embodiments; See also Paras. [0071-0072]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
Regarding Claim 8, Taherzadeh teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: (Figs. 2,4,6-8)
sending, by a network device, configuration information to a terminal device (Fig. 2, step 210; Para. [0091] - FIG. 2 is a flow chart illustrating an example WTRU procedure 200 for adjusting a random access response window based on an implicitly configured time offset. In this example, in element 210, a WTRU receives higher layer signaling including a gNodeB type and a random access response window length (e.g., a “rar-WindowLength” parameter) in a SIB message. The WTRU may determine whether the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network.; Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0119] - In element 710, the WTRU receives random access response (RAR) configuration information. In element 720, the WTRU determines a time offset for a RAR window, based on a minimum round trip time (RTT) between the WTRU and a non-terrestrial network device. In element 730, the WTRU determines a length of the RAR window. In element 740, the WTRU transmits a PRACH preamble to the non-terrestrial network device. In element 750, the WTRU monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the non-terrestrial network device during the RAR window based on the time offset and the length of the RAR window. It is noted that the various elements of FIG. 7, as in other figures, can be performed in a different order where appropriate. For example, elements 710, 720, 730 could be performed after transmitting the PRACH preamble of element 740 in some embodiments; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]),
wherein the configuration information is used to configure a window length of a time window for random access and to configure a first Round Trip Time (RTT) offset value (Fig. 2, 240; Para. [0092] - On a condition 215 that the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network, the WTRU may determine a minimum RTT in element 220. The WTRU may determine the time offset for the RAR window in element 230. The WTRU may determine a length of the RAR window based on the “rar-WindowLength” parameter and a non-terrestrial based table in element 240. The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble in element 245. The WTRU may set the RAR window, e.g., by adding the time offset to a default beginning and with the identified length in element 250. The WTRU may monitor a downlink control channel (e.g., type-0 PDCCH) on monitoring occasions inside the response window in element 260. It is noted that the various elements of FIG. 4, as in other figures, can be performed in a different order where appropriate. For example, elements 220, 230, and 240 could be performed after transmitting the PRACH preamble of element 245 in some embodiments; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120])
wherein the configuration information is carried in broadcast information, or the configuration information is carried in Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Para. [0082]; See also Paras. [0085, 0089, 0094, 0099; 0103; 0113]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
sending, by the network device, configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a duration of a four-step random access contention resolution timer and to configure the first RTT offset value, which is used for determining a second RTT offset value for the timer (Fig. 2, 240; Para. [0092]; Para. [0104-0105]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]),
determining, by the network device, a start time offset value of the time window according to a signal transmission RTT estimate value between the network device and the terminal device determined by the terminal device and the first RTT offset value (Paras. [0094-0095]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120])
wherein determining, by the network device, the start time offset value of the time window according to the signal transmission RTT estimate value and the first RTT offset value, comprises:
determining, by the network device, a difference between the RTT estimate value and the first RTT offset value as the start time offset value of the time window (Paras. [0094-0095]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]).
wherein the time window is a random access response time window in a four-step random access (Fig. 2, steps 245 and 260; Fig. 7, step 740 and 750; Para. [0119]; Para. [0120]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the network device, a random access response during the time window, so that the terminal device starts the time window at the first physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, resource position after the start time offset value of the time window and monitors a random access response during the time window (Fig. 2, steps 250 and 260; Paras. [0092-0093]; Para. [0119]; See also Paras. [0071-0072]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
Regarding Claim 17, Taherzadeh teaches a terminal device, comprising (Fig. 1B; Paras. [0030-0039])
one or more processors (Fig. 1B, element 118; Paras. [0031, 0035-0039]),
and memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the terminal device to (Fig. 1B, elements 130 and 132; Paras. [0030, 0035, 0121]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]):
receive configuration information sent by a network device (Fig. 2, step 210; Para. [0091]; See Also Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0119]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120),
wherein the configuration information is used to configure a window length of a time window for random access and to configure a first Round Trip Time (RTT) offset value (Fig. 2, Steps 220-240; Para. [0092]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
wherein the configuration information is carried in broadcast information, or the configuration information is carried in Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Para. [0082]; Para. [0091]; See also Paras. [0085, 0089, 0094, 0099; 0103; 0113]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
determine a start time of the time window according to the first RTT offset value (Fig. 7, steps 720 and 750; Para. [0119]; Fig. 8, elements 830 and 840; Para. [0120]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]),
wherein when the plurality of programs executed by the one or more processors, the terminal is caused to: determine a start time offset value of the time window according to a signal transmission RTT estimate value between the terminal device and the network device and the first RTT offset value (Paras. [0094-0095]; See also Para. [0104-0105]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]);
wherein when the plurality of programs executed by the one or more processors, the terminal is caused to: determine a difference between the RTT estimate value and the first RTT offset value as the start time offset value of the time window (Paras. [0094-0095]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120]);
wherein the time window is a random access response time window in a four-step random access (Fig. 2, steps 245 and 260; Fig. 7, step 740 and 750; Para. [0119]; Para. [0120]).
wherein when the plurality of programs executed by the one or more processors, the terminal is further caused to: after the terminal device sends a first message Msgl of the four-step random access, start the time window at the first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource position after the start time offset value of the time window, and monitoring a random access response during the time window (Fig. 2, steps 250 and 260; Paras. [0092-0093]; Para. [0119]; See also Paras. [0071-0072]; Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0095]; Fig. 3, Para. [0096-0105]; Fig. 4, Para. [0106-0111]; Fig. 5, Para. [0112], Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 7, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120).
Regarding Claims 7 and 24, Taherzadeh teaches Claims 1 and 8.
Taherzadeh also teaches
wherein the method is applied to a Non-Terrestrial communication Network (NTN) (Fig. 2, step 215; Para. [0092] - On a condition 215 that the gNodeB is in a non-terrestrial network, the WTRU may determine a minimum RTT in element 220; See also Paras. [0113, 0120] and Fig. 8).
Regarding Claims 10, 21, and 25, Taherzadeh teaches Claims 1, 8, and 17.
Taherzadeh also teaches
wherein the first RTT offset value is determined according to at least one of: a cell radius or a positioning accuracy of the terminal device (Para. [0077] - For a non-terrestrial gNodeB, a round-trip time (RTT) to a WTRU may be much larger than a RTT in a terrestrial network. RTT may be estimated as, or based on, the distance between a gNodeB and a WTRU, divided by the speed of the light. The distance between a gNodeB and a WTRU may be estimated by the distance of the non-terrestrial gNodeB from Earth and the angle of elevation. A non-terrestrial gNodeB, may estimate the maximum and the minimum distance to a WTRU and the maximum and the minimum RTT based on its distance from Earth and the footprint of its beam on Earth; See also Paras. [0089, 0097]).
Regarding Claims 20, 22, and 23, Taherzadeh teaches Claims 1, 8, and 17.
Taherzadeh also teaches
wherein in response to the configuration information being carried in RRC signaling, the configuration information is RRC reconfiguration information or RRC release information (Para. [0094] - In some implementations, a time offset for the beginning of the PRACH response window may be adjusted based on explicit signaling, e.g., in a SIB message. For example, a gNodeB, based on its distance to Earth, its footprint, and elevation angle, may estimate the minimum RTT for the WTRUs in its associated footprint. The gNodeB may send an estimate of the minimum RTT to the WTRUs by higher layer signaling, for example in a SIB message. The remaining ambiguity of the RTT is at most equal to a quantization for the signaled minimum RTT plus the maximum round trip variation for the footprint of the satellite beam; See Also Fig. 2, Para. [0091-0092]; Para. [0072, 0074,0094-0095]; Fig. 7).
Taherzadeh’s higher-layer/SIB signaling is interpreted as RRC-level configuration signaling for the PRACH/RAR procedure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0314889), Figs. 8, 9, 18-27 and associated paragraphs.
Shrestha et al. (US 2021/0281520), Figs. 4, 5, 14-18 and associated paragraphs.
Koorapaty (US 2006/0029031), Fig. 2 and associated paragraphs.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468