DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on October 30, 2025 for the application filed October 25, 2022. Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, and 17 are currently amended. Claims 2 and 10 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karapantelakis et al. (WO2023117157A1) in view of Xue et al. (US2023/0041572A1), Zhao et al. (US20250254709A1), Kung et al. (US2023/0171788A1), Huang et al. (US2022/0173829A1), and Yoon et al. (WO2022154639A1).
Regarding claim 1, Karapantelakis teaches an information handling system within a broadcast system, the information handling system comprising: a memory to store multicast broadcast service (MBS) link adaption (LA) configurations; and a processor to communicate with the memory, the processor to receive the MBS LA configurations (Page 12, lines 16-24: The method 500c may further comprise, in step 553, obtaining historic CQI measurement reports from the first wireless device and, in step 556, aggregating the historic CQI measurement reports into the reference CQI measurement report set. For example, a memory of the first wireless device or the first RAN node may store previously reported CQI measurement reports. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 554, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between the first RAN node and the first wireless device. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 555, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between a neighbour RAN node and the first wireless device. Page 30, lines 29-34: Figure 9 is a block diagram illustrating an example verification node 900 which may implement the method 400 and/or 500, as illustrated in Figures 4 and 5a-5f, according to examples of the present disclosure, for example on receipt of suitable instructions from a computer program 950. Referring to Figure 9, the verification node 900 comprises a processor or processing circuitry 902, and may comprise a memory 904 and interfaces 906. Page 6, lines 13-18: First UE 320a may be attached to RAN node 310a, and RAN node 310, in a first step, may broadcast reference signals 301a that are received by the first UE 320a. The first UE 320a uses the received reference signals to perform a CQI measurement. As will be described in more detail below, the RAN node 310a or the first UE 320a may initiate the CQI measurement process in response to a trigger, such as, upon completion of a handover operation.)
based on the MBS LA configurations, transmit a channel quality indications (CQI) report request to a sidelink information handling system that is external to the information handling system; receive a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system (Page 6, lines 20-28: In a second step 302a, first UE 320a may subsequently transmit a request to one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a, and receive one or more neighbour CQI measurement reports from the one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a. As described above, through D2D sidelink communication or short range wireless communication, the first UE 320 may discover the neighbour UEs 322a, 324a with similar characteristics to the first UE 320. As further described above and will be described in more detail below, the first UE 320 may select more relevant neighbour CQI measurement reports from the set reported by the one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a, for example based on a filtering or pruning procedure.)
wherein the CQI report request is transmitted to the sidelink information handling system that is geolocated via a sidelink (Page 6, lines 20-28: In a second step 302a, first UE 320a may subsequently transmit a request to one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a, and receive one or more neighbour CQI measurement reports from the one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a. As described above, through D2D sidelink communication or short range wireless communication, the first UE 320 may discover the neighbour UEs 322a, 324a with similar characteristics to the first UE 320. As further described above and will be described in more detail below, the first UE 320 may select more relevant neighbour CQI measurement reports from the set reported by the one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a, for example based on a filtering or pruning procedure. Page 5, lines 13-19: Furthermore, the ‘neighbour’ wireless devices may be located relatively close to the first wireless device such that the first wireless device and ‘neighbour’ wireless devices are within the same geographic area. There may further be low path loss between the first wireless device and the ‘neighbour’ wireless devices. In one example, the ‘neighbour’ wireless devices may be identified, such that they can communicate with the first wireless device using device-to-device (D2D) sidelink communication or short-range wireless communication technology, such as Bluetooth (RTM).)
wherein the sidelink information handling system and the information handling system are geolocated when both of the sidelink information handling system and the information handling system receive a MBS payload (Page 11, lines 22-20: Referring now to Figure 5b the method 500b illustrates process steps that may be performed when the verification node is instantiated in the first RAN node. In such examples, the step 530b of identifying at least one neighbour wireless device to the first wireless device may comprise, in step 531 , identifying, as the at least one neighbour wireless device, wireless devices that are using a beam that is adjacent to the beam used by the first wireless device for transmitting the first CQI measurement report. For example, a neighbour wireless device may be identified as a wireless device that is communicating with the first RAN node on a beam which is adjacent the beam used for transmitting the reference signal to the first wireless device. Page 12, lines 16-24: The method 500c may further comprise, in step 553, obtaining historic CQI measurement reports from the first wireless device and, in step 556, aggregating the historic CQI measurement reports into the reference CQI measurement report set. For example, a memory of the first wireless device or the first RAN node may store previously reported CQI measurement reports. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 554, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between the first RAN node and the first wireless device. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 555, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between a neighbour RAN node and the first wireless device.)
apply CQI filtering to the received first CQI report and a second CQI report of the information handling system; in response to the CQI filtering being applied, provide a LA group filtered CQI report to a radio access network (RAN) node (Page 6, lines 30-36; Page 7, line 1: In some examples, the UE may obtain neighbour CQI measurements before performing its own CQI measurement. In such examples, once the first UE 320a has received (and filtered if appropriate) the neighbour CQI measurement reports, in step 303a the first UE 320a performs a CQI measurement. In other examples, the first UE 320a may perform the CQI measurement upon receipt of the reference signal transmitted from the RAN node 310a, and obtain neighbour CQI measurements after performing its own measurement. The first UE 320a further aggregates the neighbour CQI measurement reports into a reference CQI measurement report set. Page 17, lines 19-26: First UE 610 may, in step 643, trim or filter the received neighbour CQI measurement reports, for example based on a cut-off time or a time window as described with reference to step 552 above. In one example, the first UE may filter the received neighbour CQI measurement reports such that only reports that are at most 1 minute, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes etc. old are considered for subsequent analysis. By performing such filtering, the CQI measurement reports used for further analysis may present a more relevant representation of the current state of the network conditions relative to the first RAN node. Page 7, lines 7-8: Depending on the outcome of the verification, in step 304a, the first UE 320a transmits a CQI measurement report to the first RAN node 310a.)
receive a RAN modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level (Page 1, lines 12-19: A CQI is a metric sent by a wireless device, such as a User Equipment (UE), to a Radio Access Network (RAN) Node, such as an evolved node B (eNB) or 5G node B (gNB), to which the UE is attached. The CQI is used by the RAN node for scheduling downlink data traffic from the RAN node to the UE. The RAN node performs this scheduling by selecting a downlink transmission rate for the downlink traffic based on a CQI measurement reported to the RAN node from the UE. The selected downlink transmission rate may generally comprise the selection of a suitable modulation and coding scheme (MCS) value, based on the reported CQI measurement. Page 10, lines 7-18: In other examples, the verification node may be instantiated in the RAN node, and the Radio Access Network operation may comprise the RAN node selecting an MCS value for transmission of data to the first wireless device on the first downlink channel. If the CQI measurement is verified as reliable, the RAN node may configure this operation by selecting the MCS value that corresponds to the reported CQI measurement value. In other examples, if the verification node is instantiated in the RAN node and the CQI measurement is considered unreliable following verification, the RAN node may configure selection of an MCS value by selecting the MCS value based on the reference CQI measurement report set, or by transmitting a new reference signal to the first wireless device for a new CQI measurement, or by incrementing or otherwise adjusting the unreliable CQI measurement with refence to the reference CQI measurement report set before selecting a suitable MCS value.)
Karapantelakis does not explicitly teach to receive a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold.
However, Xue teaches to receive a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold (Abstract: Apparatus, methods, and computer-readable media for facilitating opportunistic CSI for sidelink communication are disclosed herein. An example method for wireless communication at a responding sidelink UE includes receiving, from an initiating sidelink UE, a request to provide CSI feedback to the initiating sidelink UE. The example method also includes transmitting, to the initiating sidelink UE, a CSI report based on the transmission. Paragraph [0133]: The delta CQI thresholds information 914 may include one or more thresholds to use to indicate the change in CQI. For example, the responding sidelink UE may transmit a first value when the change in CQI is greater than a first threshold, may transmit a second value when the change in CQI is less than the first threshold, and may transmit a third value when there is no change in CQI. In some examples, the delta CQI thresholds information 914 may include a first threshold and a second threshold. For example, the responding sidelink UE may transmit a first value when the change in CQI is greater than the first threshold, may transmit a second value when the change in CQI is less than the second threshold, and may transmit a third value otherwise. Paragraph [0158]: In some examples, the occurrence of the report transmission event may include detecting a change in a measurement between a first CSI sample and a second CSI sample. Paragraph [0163]: In some examples, the second wireless device 804 may be configured to transmit the CSI report 830 after detecting a change in a measurement between a first CSI sample and a second CSI sample. For example, the first CSI sample may include a first CQI associated with a beam and the second CSI sample may include a second CQI associated with the beam. In such examples, when the change from the first CQI to the second CQI is greater than a threshold, the second wireless device 804 may detect the occurrence of a report transmission event (e.g., at 824). The second wireless device 804 may then proceed to transmit the CSI report 830.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold, as taught by Xue in the system of Karapantelakis, so that communication performance can be improved by increasing throughput and improving spectral efficiency while communicating via sidelink (Xue: Paragraphs [0041], [0174]).
The combination of Karapantelakis and Xue does not explicitly teach receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam.
However, Zhao teaches to receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam (Abstract: A base station or multicast UEs of a wireless communication network may enhance reporting of the channel state information of a link between the base station and the UE and adaptation of the link for multicast beamforming. Paragraph [0003]: In one operating scenario, the base station may use beamforming to provide signaling and data simultaneously in time to multiple UEs by transmitting a common beam to the multiple UEs. Paragraph [0004]: Disclosed are techniques for the UE and the base station to enhance UE reporting of the channel state information of the downlink and adaptation of the link for multicast beamforming used to provide multicast PTM or concurrent multicast and unicast service. The disclosed techniques may also be applicable to 5G beamforming multicast and broadcast service (MBS) or 5G beamforming side-link group-cast service. Paragraph [0021]: Methods and systems are disclosed for enhancements to multicast beamforming to support PTM multicast service, concurrent multicast and unicast service, MBS, or group side-link service at the physical layer. A base station or multicast UEs of a wireless communication network may apply the disclosed techniques to enhance reporting of the channel state information of a link between the base station and the UE and adaptation of the link for multicast beamforming to support the provisioning of service in PTM multicast, concurrent multicast and unicast, MBS, or group side-link configurations. Paragraph [0033]: Base station 102A and other similar base stations (such as base stations 102B . . . 102N) operating according to the same or a different cellular communication standard may thus be provided as a network of cells, which may provide continuous or nearly continuous overlapping service to UEs 106A-N and similar devices over a geographic area via one or more cellular communication standards. Paragraph [0105]: The operations may also include the UE measuring channel characteristics of a downlink beam from the communication network to generate channel measurements based on the configuration information. The operations may further include the UE reporting the channel measurements to the communication network to enable the communication network to adapt the downlink beam as a multicast beam to provide multicast service to the UE and other UEs of a multicast group. The UE may then receive the multicast beam from the communication network to receive the multicast service. Paragraph [0107]: In one aspect, the configuration information may include a channel quality threshold. The channel measurements reported to the communication network may include an indication of whether the channel characteristics of the downlink beam measured by the UE meet the channel quality threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam, as taught by Zhao in the combined system of Karapantelakis and Xue, so that the base station can provide signaling and data simultaneously in time to multiple UEs by transmitting a common beam to the multiple UEs, and enhance multicast beamforming to support multicast service, MBS, or group side-link service (Zhao: Paragraphs [0003], [0004], [0021], [0033], [0105], [0107]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, and Zhao does not explicitly teach determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node.
However, Kung teaches determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node (Paragraph [0195]: The beam report could be associated with a periodic beam report (e.g., periodic Channel State Information (CSI) reporting configured by the network). Additionally and/or alternatively, the beam report could be associated with an aperiodic beam report (triggered or indicated by the network via a network signaling). Paragraph [0196]: Additionally and/or alternatively, the UE could trigger or transmit a beam report in response to a beam quality of a (activated) beam is lower than (or equal to) a threshold. Paragraph [0315]: The beam quality could be associated with channel quality of a channel associated with the UE. The beam quality could be associated with a RSRP and/or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) and/or Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) and/or SINR associated with the beam. Paragraph [0316]: The beam report could be CSI reporting.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, and Zhao, so that the beam report associated with CSI can be transmitted in response to the beam quality being lower than a threshold (Kung: Paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0315], [0316]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, and Kung does not explicitly teach to transmit the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system.
However, Huang teaches to transmit the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system (Paragraph [0121]: That is, the network device further configures, for the terminal device by using RRC signaling, an MCS table used to send downlink data, and notifies, with reference to downlink control information (DCI), the terminal device of a used MCS index, where the MCS index is used to identify a row in the MCS table. The terminal device may learn of, based on the indicated MCS index and MCS table, an MCS parameter used by the network device to send the data, so that the terminal device correctly receives the data. Paragraph [0205]: S260: The first terminal device sends MCS table indication information to the second terminal device, where the MCS table indication information indicates a modulation and coding scheme MCS table corresponding to data sent by the first terminal device to the second terminal device. Correspondingly, the second terminal device receives the MCS table indication information. Paragraph [0208]: In S260, the first terminal device may send the MCS table indication information, where the MCS table indication information indicates the MCS table corresponding to the data sent by the first terminal device to the second terminal device. For example, it is assumed that there are a total of three MCS tables in V2X:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, and Kung so that the second terminal device or information handling system can perform reliable data transmission using the MCS parameters provided by the first terminal device or information handling system (Huang: Paragraph [0212]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier.
However, Yoon teaches wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier (Page 7 Paragraph 3: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, there is provided a method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a group common resource from a base station; receiving downlink control information (DCI) from the base station based on the configuration information; checking whether a group common radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) is used for scrambling of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) attached to the DCI; and determining a code rate and a modulation order based on group common modulation and coding scheme (MCS) related information when the group common RNTI is used. Page 7 Paragraph 4: In addition, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, in a method performed by a base station in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting configuration information for a group common resource to a terminal; transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal based on the configuration information; and transmitting data based on the DCI. When a group common radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) is used for scrambling of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) attached to the DCI, the MCS included in the DCI ( It is characterized in that the modulation and coding scheme index is determined based on group common modulation and coding scheme (MCS) related information. Page 7 Paragraph 7: According to the present disclosure, when data is transmitted to a plurality of terminals through a common PDSCH and a unicast PDSCH in a communication system, the present disclosure provides a configuration method for the PDSCHs, thereby enabling more efficient data transmission/reception.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier, as taught by Yoon in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Huang, so that the group common identifier can be used by the terminal for more efficient data transmission and reception (Yoon: Page 7 Paragraphs 3, 4, 7).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the information handling system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN MCS level is associated with a next MBS transmission to be received by the information handling system.
However, Huang teaches wherein the RAN MCS level is associated with a next MBS transmission to be received by the information handling system (Paragraph [0165]: Alternatively, even if the first terminal device and the second terminal device are in the coverage of the network device, and the network device can configure the CQI table by using RRC signaling, a prerequisite for this manner to be effective is that the first terminal device or the second terminal device reports the CSI measurement report of the sidelink between the first terminal device and the second terminal device to the network device, and the network device configures, based on the CSI measurement result, an MCS table and an MCS for a to-be-transmitted data packet (in a next transmission).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RAN MCS level is associated with a next MBS transmission to be received by the information handling system, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Yoon so that based on the channel quality the proper MSC parameters can be selected for reliable data transmission (Huang: Paragraph [0165]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the information handling system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Karapantelakis further teaches wherein the processor further to receive a strongest sidelink coverage from the sidelink information handling system (Page 11, lines 23-30: In such examples, the step 530b of identifying at least one neighbour wireless device to the first wireless device may comprise, in step 531 , identifying, as the at least one neighbour wireless device, wireless devices that are using a beam that is adjacent to the beam used by the first wireless device for transmitting the first CQI measurement report. For example, a neighbour wireless device may be identified as a wireless device that is communicating with the first RAN node on a beam which is adjacent the beam used for transmitting the reference signal to the first wireless device.)
Regarding claim 9, Karapantelakis teaches a method comprising: receiving, by an information handling system, multicast broadcast service (MBS) link adaption (LA) configurations; based on the MBS LA configurations, transmitting a channel quality indications (CQI) report request to a sidelink information handling system that is external to the information handling system; receiving a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system; wherein the CQI report request is transmitted to the sidelink information handling system that is geolocated via a sidelink, wherein the sidelink information handling system and the information handling system are geolocated when both of the sidelink information handling system and the information ;handling system receive a MBS payload applying CQI filtering to the received first CQI report and a second CQI report of the information handling system; and in response to the CQI filtering being applied, providing a LA group filtered CQI report to a radio access network (RAN) node; receiving a RAN modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level (see rejection for claim 1).
Karapantelakis does not explicitly teach receiving a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold.
However, Xue teaches receiving a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving a first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold, as taught by Xue in the system of Karapantelakis, so that communication performance can be improved by increasing throughput and improving spectral efficiency while communicating via sidelink (Xue: Paragraphs [0041], [0174]).
The combination of Karapantelakis and Xue does not explicitly teach receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam.
However, Zhao teaches to receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam, as taught by Zhao in the combined system of Karapantelakis and Xue, so that the base station can provide signaling and data simultaneously in time to multiple UEs by transmitting a common beam to the multiple UEs, and enhance multicast beamforming to support multicast service, MBS, or group side-link service (Zhao: Paragraphs [0003], [0004], [0021], [0033], [0105], [0107]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, and Zhao does not explicitly teach determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node.
However, Kung teaches determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, and Zhao, so that the beam report associated with CSI can be transmitted in response to the beam quality being lower than a threshold (Kung: Paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0315], [0316]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, and Kung does not explicitly teach transmitting the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system.
However, Huang teaches transmitting the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, and Kung so that the second terminal device or information handling system can perform reliable data transmission using the MCS parameters provided by the first terminal device or information handling system (Huang: Paragraph [0212]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier.
However, Yoon teaches wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier, as taught by Yoon in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Huang, so that the group common identifier can be used by the terminal for more efficient data transmission and reception (Yoon: Page 7 Paragraphs 3, 4, 7).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN MCS level is associated with a next MBS transmission to be received by the information handling system.
However, Huang teaches wherein the RAN MCS level is associated with a next MBS transmission to be received by the information handling system (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RAN MCS level is associated with a next MBS transmission to be received by the information handling system, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Yoon so that based on the channel quality the proper MSC parameters can be selected for reliable data transmission (Huang: Paragraph [0165]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the method of claim 9 further comprising (see rejection for claim 9);
Karapantelakis further teaches receiving a strongest sidelink coverage from the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 17, Karapantelakis teaches a method comprising: receiving, by an information handling system, multicast broadcast service (MBS) link adaption (LA) configurations; storing the MBS LA configurations in the information handling system (Page 12, lines 16-24: The method 500c may further comprise, in step 553, obtaining historic CQI measurement reports from the first wireless device and, in step 556, aggregating the historic CQI measurement reports into the reference CQI measurement report set. For example, a memory of the first wireless device or the first RAN node may store previously reported CQI measurement reports. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 554, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between the first RAN node and the first wireless device. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 555, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between a neighbour RAN node and the first wireless device. Page 30, lines 29-34: Figure 9 is a block diagram illustrating an example verification node 900 which may implement the method 400 and/or 500, as illustrated in Figures 4 and 5a-5f, according to examples of the present disclosure, for example on receipt of suitable instructions from a computer program 950. Referring to Figure 9, the verification node 900 comprises a processor or processing circuitry 902, and may comprise a memory 904 and interfaces 906. Page 6, lines 13-18: First UE 320a may be attached to RAN node 310a, and RAN node 310, in a first step, may broadcast reference signals 301a that are received by the first UE 320a. The first UE 320a uses the received reference signals to perform a CQI measurement. As will be described in more detail below, the RAN node 310a or the first UE 320a may initiate the CQI measurement process in response to a trigger, such as, upon completion of a handover operation.)
based on the MBS LA configurations, transmitting a channel quality indications (CQI) report request to a geolocated information handling system via a sidelink; receiving a first CQI report from the geolocated information handling system via the sidelink wherein the geolocated information handling system is external to the information handling system, wherein the CQI report is received based on the geolocated information handling system having a highest sidelink coverage reference signal received power level with the information handling system (Page 6, lines 20-28: In a second step 302a, first UE 320a may subsequently transmit a request to one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a, and receive one or more neighbour CQI measurement reports from the one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a. As described above, through D2D sidelink communication or short range wireless communication, the first UE 320 may discover the neighbour UEs 322a, 324a with similar characteristics to the first UE 320. As further described above and will be described in more detail below, the first UE 320 may select more relevant neighbour CQI measurement reports from the set reported by the one or more neighbour UEs 322a, 324a, for example based on a filtering or pruning procedure. Page 5, lines 13-19: Furthermore, the ‘neighbour’ wireless devices may be located relatively close to the first wireless device such that the first wireless device and ‘neighbour’ wireless devices are within the same geographic area. There may further be low path loss between the first wireless device and the ‘neighbour’ wireless devices. In one example, the ‘neighbour’ wireless devices may be identified, such that they can communicate with the first wireless device using device-to-device (D2D) sidelink communication or short-range wireless communication technology, such as Bluetooth (RTM). Page 11, lines 23-30: In such examples, the step 530b of identifying at least one neighbour wireless device to the first wireless device may comprise, in step 531 , identifying, as the at least one neighbour wireless device, wireless devices that are using a beam that is adjacent to the beam used by the first wireless device for transmitting the first CQI measurement report. For example, a neighbour wireless device may be identified as a wireless device that is communicating with the first RAN node on a beam which is adjacent the beam used for transmitting the reference signal to the first wireless device.)
wherein the geolocated information handling system and the information handling system are geolocated when both of the geolocated information handling system and the information handling system receive a MBS payload (Page 11, lines 22-20: Referring now to Figure 5b the method 500b illustrates process steps that may be performed when the verification node is instantiated in the first RAN node. In such examples, the step 530b of identifying at least one neighbour wireless device to the first wireless device may comprise, in step 531 , identifying, as the at least one neighbour wireless device, wireless devices that are using a beam that is adjacent to the beam used by the first wireless device for transmitting the first CQI measurement report. For example, a neighbour wireless device may be identified as a wireless device that is communicating with the first RAN node on a beam which is adjacent the beam used for transmitting the reference signal to the first wireless device. Page 12, lines 16-24: The method 500c may further comprise, in step 553, obtaining historic CQI measurement reports from the first wireless device and, in step 556, aggregating the historic CQI measurement reports into the reference CQI measurement report set. For example, a memory of the first wireless device or the first RAN node may store previously reported CQI measurement reports. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 554, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between the first RAN node and the first wireless device. The historic CQI measurement reports may comprise, in step 555, one or more CQI measurement values for a downlink channel between a neighbour RAN node and the first wireless device.)
applying CQI filtering to the received first CQI report and a second CQI report of the information handling system; in response to the CQI filtering being applied, providing an LA group filtered CQI report to a radio access network node (Page 6, lines 30-36; Page 7, line 1: In some examples, the UE may obtain neighbour CQI measurements before performing its own CQI measurement. In such examples, once the first UE 320a has received (and filtered if appropriate) the neighbour CQI measurement reports, in step 303a the first UE 320a performs a CQI measurement. In other examples, the first UE 320a may perform the CQI measurement upon receipt of the reference signal transmitted from the RAN node 310a, and obtain neighbour CQI measurements after performing its own measurement. The first UE 320a further aggregates the neighbour CQI measurement reports into a reference CQI measurement report set. Page 17, lines 19-26: First UE 610 may, in step 643, trim or filter the received neighbour CQI measurement reports, for example based on a cut-off time or a time window as described with reference to step 552 above. In one example, the first UE may filter the received neighbour CQI measurement reports such that only reports that are at most 1 minute, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes etc. old are considered for subsequent analysis. By performing such filtering, the CQI measurement reports used for further analysis may present a more relevant representation of the current state of the network conditions relative to the first RAN node. Page 7, lines 7-8: Depending on the outcome of the verification, in step 304a, the first UE 320a transmits a CQI measurement report to the first RAN node 310a.)
receiving a RAN modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level (see rejection for claim 1);
Karapantelakis does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI report is received based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold.
However, Xue teaches wherein the CQI report is received based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI report is received based on a change in CQI of the sidelink information handling system being greater than a CQI change threshold, as taught by Xue in the system of Karapantelakis, so that communication performance can be improved by increasing throughput and improving spectral efficiency while communicating via sidelink (Xue: Paragraphs [0041], [0174]).
The combination of Karapantelakis and Xue does not explicitly teach receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam.
However, Zhao teaches to receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam (Abstract: A base station or multicast UEs of a wireless communication network may enhance reporting of the channel state information of a link between the base station and the UE and adaptation of the link for multicast beamforming. Paragraph [0003]: In one operating scenario, the base station may use beamforming to provide signaling and data simultaneously in time to multiple UEs by transmitting a common beam to the multiple UEs. Paragraph [0004]: Disclosed are techniques for the UE and the base station to enhance UE reporting of the channel state information of the downlink and adaptation of the link for multicast beamforming used to provide multicast PTM or concurrent multicast and unicast service. The disclosed techniques may also be applicable to 5G beamforming multicast and broadcast service (MBS) or 5G beamforming side-link group-cast service. Paragraph [0021]: Methods and systems are disclosed for enhancements to multicast beamforming to support PTM multicast service, concurrent multicast and unicast service, MBS, or group side-link service at the physical layer. A base station or multicast UEs of a wireless communication network may apply the disclosed techniques to enhance reporting of the channel state information of a link between the base station and the UE and adaptation of the link for multicast beamforming to support the provisioning of service in PTM multicast, concurrent multicast and unicast, MBS, or group side-link configurations. Paragraph [0033]: Base station 102A and other similar base stations (such as base stations 102B . . . 102N) operating according to the same or a different cellular communication standard may thus be provided as a network of cells, which may provide continuous or nearly continuous overlapping service to UEs 106A-N and similar devices over a geographic area via one or more cellular communication standards. Paragraph [0105]: The operations may also include the UE measuring channel characteristics of a downlink beam from the communication network to generate channel measurements based on the configuration information. The operations may further include the UE reporting the channel measurements to the communication network to enable the communication network to adapt the downlink beam as a multicast beam to provide multicast service to the UE and other UEs of a multicast group. The UE may then receive the multicast beam from the communication network to receive the multicast service. Paragraph [0107]: In one aspect, the configuration information may include a channel quality threshold. The channel measurements reported to the communication network may include an indication of whether the channel characteristics of the downlink beam measured by the UE meet the channel quality threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a MBS payload from a same downlink beam of a plurality of available downlink beams; coverage level of the same downlink beam, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the same downlink beam, as taught by Zhao in the combined system of Karapantelakis and Xue, so that the base station can provide signaling and data simultaneously in time to multiple UEs by transmitting a common beam to the multiple UEs, and enhance multicast beamforming to support multicast service, MBS, or group side-link service (Zhao: Paragraphs [0003], [0004], [0021], [0033], [0105], [0107]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, and Zhao does not explicitly teach determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node.
However, Kung teaches determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining whether a coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, wherein the coverage level is determined based on a dB level of the downlink beam and in response to the coverage level of the downlink beam is below a threshold coverage level, provide a report to a radio access network (RAN) node, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, and Zhao, so that the beam report associated with CSI can be transmitted in response to the beam quality being lower than a threshold (Kung: Paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0315], [0316]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, and Kung does not explicitly teach transmitting the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system.
However, Huang teaches transmitting the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, and Kung so that the second terminal device or information handling system can perform reliable data transmission using the MCS parameters provided by the first terminal device or information handling system (Huang: Paragraph [0212]).
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier.
However, Yoon teaches wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier, as taught by Yoon in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, and Huang, so that the group common identifier can be used by the terminal for more efficient data transmission and reception (Yoon: Page 7 Paragraphs 3, 4, 7).
Claims 6, 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karapantelakis et al. (WO2023117157A1) in view of Xue et al. (US2023/0041572A1), Zhao et al. (US20250254709A1), Kung et al. (US2023/0171788A1), Huang et al. (US2022/0173829A1), Yoon et al. (WO2022154639A1), and further in view of Gulati et al. (US2021/0083820A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the information handling system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI filtering includes the processor to select a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system.
However, Gulati teaches wherein the CQI filtering includes the processor to select a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system (Paragraph [0051]: Aspects of the present disclosure address various potential challenges presented when considering sidelink CSI reporting. For example, one potential challenge is how to link the CSI (report) transmission (from a receiver UE or Rx UE) to the CSI-RS transmission from the transmitter UE (Tx UE that transmitted the CSI-RS). The PSSCH data transmissions from the Tx UE and the Rx UE are typically not linked and may depend on their respective traffic and transmit data rate requirements that are not required to be same between the Tx/Rx UEs (or forward/backward links). Paragraph [0052]: This potential challenge may be illustrated by considering an example where the Tx UE sends 2 (re)transmissions, each with CSI-RS, that are sent before a PSSCH transmission from the receiver UE that include the CSI feedback. In this scenario, it may not be clear how the Rx UE indicates the CSI-RS transmission instance for which this CSI was evaluated or whether it generated CSI based on both CSI-RS instances (e.g., whether reported metrics such as CQI and/or RI are taken as an average or other function, such as a minimum/maximum). Paragraph [0072]: In some cases, CQI signaled in the CSI feedback may be calculated as the mean CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances. In some cases, CQI signaled may be calculated as a minimum CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances or as a maximum CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances. In some cases, CQI signaled may be calculated as a given statistic (as configured, e.g., 75th percentile) for CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI filtering includes the processor to select a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Gulati in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon, so that a CQI value based on the lowest/worst value can be generated based on the multiple CQI values (Gulati: Paragraphs [0051], [0052]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the information handling system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI filtering includes the processor to average the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system.
However, Gulati teaches wherein the CQI filtering includes the processor to average the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system (Paragraph [0051]: Aspects of the present disclosure address various potential challenges presented when considering sidelink CSI reporting. For example, one potential challenge is how to link the CSI (report) transmission (from a receiver UE or Rx UE) to the CSI-RS transmission from the transmitter UE (Tx UE that transmitted the CSI-RS). The PSSCH data transmissions from the Tx UE and the Rx UE are typically not linked and may depend on their respective traffic and transmit data rate requirements that are not required to be same between the Tx/Rx UEs (or forward/backward links). Paragraph [0052]: This potential challenge may be illustrated by considering an example where the Tx UE sends 2 (re)transmissions, each with CSI-RS, that are sent before a PSSCH transmission from the receiver UE that include the CSI feedback. In this scenario, it may not be clear how the Rx UE indicates the CSI-RS transmission instance for which this CSI was evaluated or whether it generated CSI based on both CSI-RS instances (e.g., whether reported metrics such as CQI and/or RI are taken as an average or other function, such as a minimum/maximum). Paragraph [0072]: In some cases, CQI signaled in the CSI feedback may be calculated as the mean CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances. In some cases, CQI signaled may be calculated as a minimum CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances or as a maximum CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances. In some cases, CQI signaled may be calculated as a given statistic (as configured, e.g., 75th percentile) for CQI estimated over the CSI-RS instances.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI filtering includes the processor to average the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Gulati in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon, so that an average CQI value can be generated based on the multiple CQI values (Gulati: Paragraphs [0051], [0052]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, Yoon and Gulati teaches the information handling system of claim 7 (see rejection for claim 7);
Karapantelakis further teaches wherein the first CQI is associated with a first communication link between the information handling system and the RAN node over one of a plurality of available downlink beams, and the second CQI is associated with a second communication link between the sidelink information handling system and the RAN node over the one of the available downlink beams (Page 11, lines 23-30: In such examples, the step 530b of identifying at least one neighbour wireless device to the first wireless device may comprise, in step 531 , identifying, as the at least one neighbour wireless device, wireless devices that are using a beam that is adjacent to the beam used by the first wireless device for transmitting the first CQI measurement report. For example, a neighbour wireless device may be identified as a wireless device that is communicating with the first RAN node on a beam which is adjacent the beam used for transmitting the reference signal to the first wireless device. Page 18, lines 33-35; Page 19, lines 1-2: In step 731, the first RAN node identifies the neighbour UE 720 by identifying a UE that is communicating with the first RAN node 730 on a beam which is adjacent to the beam used for transmitting the reference signal to the first UE 710, as further described above with respect to step 531. The first RAN node 730 may thus leverage beamforming to identify the neighbour UE 720.)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI filtering includes selecting a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system.
However, Gulati teaches wherein the CQI filtering includes selecting a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI filtering includes selecting a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Gulati in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon, so that a CQI value based on the lowest/worst value can be generated based on the multiple CQI values (Gulati: Paragraphs [0051], [0052]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI filtering includes averaging the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system.
However, Gulati teaches wherein the CQI filtering includes averaging the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI filtering includes averaging the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Gulati in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon, so that an average CQI value can be generated based on the multiple CQI values (Gulati: Paragraphs [0051], [0052]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, Yoon, and Gulati teaches the method of claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Karapantelakis further teaches wherein the first CQI is associated with a first communication link between the information handling system and the RAN node over one of a plurality of available downlink beams, and the second CQI is associated with a second communication link between the sidelink information handling system and the RAN node over the one of the available downlink beams (see rejection for claim 8).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI filtering includes selecting a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system.
However, Gulati teaches wherein the CQI filtering includes selecting a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI filtering includes selecting a worst case CQI between the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report of the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Gulati in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon, so that a CQI value based on the lowest/worst value can be generated based on the multiple CQI values (Gulati: Paragraphs [0051], [0052]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the CQI filtering includes averaging the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system.
However, Gulati teaches wherein the CQI filtering includes averaging the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CQI filtering includes averaging the second CQI report of the information handling system and the first CQI report from the sidelink information handling system, as taught by Gulati in the combined system of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon, so that an average CQI value can be generated based on the multiple CQI values (Gulati: Paragraphs [0051], [0052]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, Yoon, and Gulati teaches the method of claim 19 (see rejection for claim 19);
Karapantelakis further teaches wherein the first CQI is associated with a first communication link between the information handling system and the radio access network node over one of a plurality of available downlink beams, and the second CQI is associated with a second communication link between the sidelink information handling system and the radio access network node over the one of the available downlink beams (see rejection for claim 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 30, 2025 with respect to claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Karapantelakis et al. (WO 2023117157A1) in view of Xue et al. (US 2023/0041572A1), Zhao et al. (US2025/0254709A1), and Kung et al. (US2023/0171788A1); claims 2, 3, 10 and 11 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Karapantelakis in view of Xue, Zhao, Kung, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0173829); claims 6, 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Karapantelakis in view of Xue, Zhao, Kung, and further in view of Gulati et al. (US 2021/0083820) have been fully considered.
Amended Independent claim 1 recites “receive a RAN modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level: and transmit the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system, wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier to the sidelink information handling system.” Karapantelakis teaches receiving a RAN modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level. Karapantelakis teaches that the RAN node performs scheduling by selecting a downlink transmission rate for the downlink traffic based on a CQI measurement reported to the RAN node from the UE. The selected downlink transmission rate may generally comprise the selection of a suitable modulation and coding scheme (MCS) value. Huang teaches transmitting the RAN MCS level to the sidelink information handling system. Huang teaches that the terminal device obtains based on the indicated MCS index and MCS table, an MCS parameter used by the network device to send the data. The first terminal device sends MCS table indication information to the second terminal device, where the MCS table indication information indicates a modulation and coding scheme MCS table corresponding to data sent by the first terminal device to the second terminal device. Correspondingly, the second terminal device receives the MCS table indication information. Yoon et al. (WO2022154639A1) teaches wherein the RAN MCS level is scrambled with a configured group-common LA identifier. Yoon teaches receiving configuration information for a group common resource from a base station, checking whether a group common radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) is used for scrambling of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) attached to the DCI; and determining a code rate and a modulation order based on group common modulation and coding scheme (MCS) related information when the group common RNTI is used. Yoon teaches that the MCS is scrambled with a group common RNTI configured by the RAN, which is used to determine the MCS.
The combination of Karapantelakis, Xue, Zhao, Kung, Huang, and Yoon teaches amended independent claim 1, and also amended independent claims 9 and 17 which also recite features similar to claim 1. Dependent claims 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-16, 18-20 are also taught by a combination of the cited references.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461