Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, “a cold-side heat exchanger” and “a hot-side heat exchanger” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if they are of the “at least one cold-side heat exchanger” and the “at least one hot-side heat exchanger”.
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 are indefinite by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN108826468A) in view of Yajima (US20130306124A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peng teaches a cooling system, comprising:
one or more thermoelectric (TE) modules (Figure 3: 6),
one or more desiccant wheels, wherein the one or more desiccant wheels are capable of rotating (Figure 2, Figure 3: 4); wherein the cooling system is configured to direct air over both the TE modules and the desiccant wheels (Figure 3).
Peng does not disclose the particulars of the thermoelectric modules.
However, Yajima discloses a TE module comprising at least one semiconductor element located between two ceramic plates (Figure 6: 121 between 11-12, which can be ceramic, ¶215); wherein the ceramic plates further comprise one or more electrodes (Figure 6: 31-32, ¶258); and one or more heat exchangers wherein the one or more heat exchangers are in contact with at least one ceramic plate, wherein the one or more heat exchangers comprise at least one cold-side heat exchanger and at least one hot-side heat exchanger (¶215), where heat is transferred from a cold-side heat exchanger to a hot-side heat exchanger (see Figure 6B, ¶265, the heat exchangers can be defined as such to accord with the claim) to increase heat exchange efficiency (¶215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the TE modules of Peng as at least one semiconductor element between two ceramic plates, where the ceramic plates comprise further comprise one or more electrodes, wherein each ceramic plate has a heat exchanger thereon, i.e. a cold-side and a hot-side heat exchanger, where heat transfers from the cold-side exchanger to the hot-side exchanger, in order to increase heat exchange efficiency of the TE modules.
Regarding claim 2, Peng teaches all of the limitations of the cooling system of claim 1 wherein the ceramic plates comprise a material selected from the group consisting of hexagonal boron nitride, aluminum oxide (¶215 of Yajima) and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
The at least one semiconductor element is bonded to at least one of the one or more electrodes (see Figure 6: 121 and 31/32 of Yajima)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN108826468A) in view of Yajima (US20130306124A1), further in view of Maeshima (US20130269744A1).
Regarding claim 3, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach the particulars of claim 3.
However, Maeshima discloses that it is known to utilize Bi2Te2.7Se0.3 within the semiconductor element (¶45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Bi2Te2.7Se0.3 within the semiconductor element of Peng as modified in order to provide a reliable semiconductor element.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN108826468A) in view of Yajima (US20130306124A1), further in view of Kawahara (CN109210646A).
Regarding claim 5, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the particulars of claim 5.
However, it is known to utilize microporous ceramic foam in the construction of desiccant wheels (Kawahara, see at least the Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize microporous ceramic foam in the desiccant wheel of Peng in order to provide good structure and adequate adsorption of humidity.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN108826468A) in view of Yajima (US20130306124A1), further in view of Moffitt (US20070163279A1).
Regarding claim 6, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the particulars of claim 6.
However, it is known to utilize zeolite in the construction of desiccant wheels to adsorb moisture from the air (Moffitt, ¶32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize zeolite in construction the desiccant wheel of Peng in order to provide adequate moisture adsorption.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN108826468A) in view of Yajima (US20130306124A1), further in view of Matsui (US20090025408A1), further in view of Fischer (US20090042071A1).
Regarding claim 7, Peng teaches a cooling system, comprising:
one or more thermoelectric (TE) modules (Figure 3: 6),
one or more desiccant heat exchangers, wherein the exchangers are capable of rotating (Figure 2, Figure 3: 4); wherein the cooling system is configured to direct air over both the TE modules and the desiccant heat exchangers (Figure 3).
Peng does not disclose the particulars of the thermoelectric modules.
However, Yajima discloses a TE module comprising at least one semiconductor element located between two ceramic plates (Figure 6: 121 between 11-12, which can be ceramic, ¶215); wherein the ceramic plates further comprise one or more electrodes (Figure 6: 31-32, ¶258); and one or more heat exchangers wherein the one or more heat exchangers are in contact with at least one ceramic plate, wherein the one or more heat exchangers comprise at least one cold-side heat exchanger and at least one hot-side heat exchanger (¶215), where heat is transferred from a cold-side heat exchanger to a hot-side heat exchanger (see Figure 6B, ¶265, the heat exchangers can be defined as such to accord with the claim) to increase heat exchange efficiency (¶215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the TE modules of Peng as at least one semiconductor element between two ceramic plates, where the ceramic plates comprise further comprise one or more electrodes, wherein each ceramic plate has a heat exchanger thereon, i.e. a cold-side and a hot-side heat exchanger, where heat transfers from the cold-side exchanger to the hot-side exchanger, in order to increase heat exchange efficiency of the TE modules.
Peng does not disclose wherein the desiccant heat exchanger is one or more solid desiccant coated heat exchangers coated in microporous metal foam, microporous ceramic foam, metal plate fins with millimeter spacing, or combinations thereof.
However, in desiccant aided cooling systems it is known to utilize one or more desiccant coated heat exchangers for adsorbing or desorbing moisture from the air in order to control humidity (Matsui, Figures 5A-B, ¶50, ¶92-93).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize one or more desiccant coated heat exchangers as taught by Matsui in the system of Peng in order to efficiently adsorb or desorb moisture from the air stream.
Furthermore, it is known to utilize microporous metal foam as the substrate of heat exchangers (Fischer, ¶27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize metal foam in the substrate of a desiccant heat exchanger of Peng in order to provide enhanced heat exchange.
Regarding claim 8, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of the cooling system of claim 1 wherein the ceramic plates comprise a material selected from the group consisting of hexagonal boron nitride, aluminum oxide (¶215 of Yajima) and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 7, wherein
The at least one semiconductor element is bonded to at least one of the one or more electrodes (see Figure 6: 121 and 31/32 of Yajima).
Regarding claim 11, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of The cooling system of claim 7 wherein the one or more substrates comprise metal foam (see rejection of claim 7).
Regarding claim 12, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of The cooling system of claim 7 wherein the desiccant for the DCHX is selected from the group consisting of mesoporous silica particles, silica aerogels, zeolite (¶50 of Matsui), carbon-based materials, hygroscopic salts, and combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN108826468A) in view of Yajima (US20130306124A1), further in view of Maeshima (US20130269744A1).
Regarding claim 9, Peng as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 but does not teach the particulars of claim 9.
However, Maeshima discloses that it is known to utilize Bi2Te2.7Se0.3 within the semiconductor element (¶45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Bi2Te2.7Se0.3 within the semiconductor element of Peng as modified in order to provide a reliable semiconductor element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the TE module of Yajima is not capable of regulating atmospheric temperature. However, the TE module of Yajima has a “hot side” and a “cold side”, as is typical of a TE module. Any of the hot or cold side would be capable of regulating atmospheric temperature because it could either heat or cool air.
Applicant further argues that Yajima’s temperature control device is not described as a TE module. However, a Peltier device is a TE module.
Applicant’s argument that altering Peng’s TE module to have a structure as disclosed by Yajima would render Peng unsatisfactory for its intended purpose is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129