Response to Arguments
Regarding double patenting:
After review of amended claim language in both instant application and reference application 17/973,491 the claims of the applications no longer overlap in scope. examiner hereby withdraws provisional double patenting rejection.
Regarding first argument:
Applicant argues in substance that previous 101 rejection has been overcome by removing conditional statements from claim language.
Examiner agrees and hereby withdraws previous 101 rejection, however claims are still subject to a 101 rejection as outlined below.
Regarding second argument:
Applicant argues that amended claims overcome previous 102 and 103 rejections.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-5 and 11-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the presence of a processor, absent a non-transitory computer readable medium, is paramount to an abstract idea. The claims, as currently written, are directed to said abstract idea and fail to meaningfully limit the abstract idea through a practical application.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies noted above and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the M resource sets" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as all references to “M resource sets” have been amended in parent claim to read “a plurality of resource sets”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumura (US 20240306015 A1) hereafter Matsumura.
Regarding Claim 1:
Matsumura discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communications,([¶0358] For example, a base station, a user terminal, and so on according to one embodiment of the present disclosure may function as a computer that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure.) the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured ([¶0361] Each function of the base station 10 and the user terminals 20 is implemented, for example, by allowing certain software (programs) to be read on hardware such as the processor 1001 and the memory 1002, and by allowing the processor 1001 to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus 1004 and control at least one of reading and writing of data in the memory 1002 and the storage 1003.) to: select a first resource set group from a plurality of resource sets, wherein any two resource sets from the plurality of resource sets overlap in a time window, and wherein the first resource set group comprises a first resource set, and wherein any resource set from the plurality of resource sets is associated with one spatial state or two spatial states, select a second resource set from the plurality of resource sets, wherein the second resource set is different from the first resource set, monitor a first-type channel in the first resource set group in the time window, and determine that the second resource set belongs to the first resource set group based on one of: ([¶0065] A MAC CE may select (activate) one or more (for example, a plurality of) TCI states (sets) for each of UL and DL channels. The MAC CE may activate two sets of TCI states. [¶0045] a plurality of PDSCHs (multiple PDSCHs) transmitted by NCJT may be defined as PDSCHs partially or fully overlapping with each other in relation to at least one of time and frequency domains. In other words, a first PDSCH from a first TRP and a second PDSCH from a second TRP may overlap with each other in at least one of time and frequency resources.[¶0110] For L.sub.max=4, the UE selects, in order starting from the lowest monitoring periodicity, N.sub.RLM RSS provided for an active TCI state for PDCCH reception in a plurality of CORESETs associated with a plurality of search space sets. If more than one CORESET is associated with a plurality of search space sets having the same monitoring periodicity, the UE determines a CORESET order starting from the highest CORESET index.) for the second resource set associated with one spatial state, determining that a spatial state associated with the second resource set is configured with same properties for a first Quasi- Colocation (QCL) Type as a target spatial state associated with the first resource set, for the second resource set associated with two spatial states, determining that comprises a default spatial state of the two spatial states associated with the second resource set is configured with same properties for the first QCL Type as the target spatial state, or for the second resource set associated with two spatial states, determining that one of the two spatial states associated with the second resource set is configured with same properties for the first QCL Type as the target spatial state. ([¶0124] Here, QCL is an indicator indicating statistical properties of the channel. For example, when a certain signal/channel and another signal/channel are in a relationship of QCL, it may be indicated that it is assumable that at least one of Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, a delay spread, and a spatial parameter (for example, a spatial reception parameter (spatial Rx parameter)) is the same (the relationship of QCL is satisfied in at least one of these) between such a plurality of different signals/channels. [¶0402] In the present disclosure, the terms such as “precoding,” a “precoder,” a “weight (precoding weight),” “quasi-co-location (QCL),” a “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” a “spatial relation,” a “spatial domain filter,” a “transmit power,” “phase rotation,” an “antenna port,” an “antenna port group,” a “layer,” “the number of layers,” a “rank,” a “resource,” a “resource set,” a “resource group,” a “beam,” a “beam width,” a “beam angular degree,” an “antenna,” an “antenna element,” a “panel,” and so on can be used interchangeably. [¶0417] In addition, “judging (determining)” as used herein may be interpreted to mean making “judgments (determinations)” about resolving, selecting, choosing, establishing, comparing, and so on. In other words, “judging (determining)” may be interpreted to mean making “judgments (determinations)” about some action.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein each resource set is from the plurality of resource sets is associated with a search space set, and wherein a first search space set is associated with a given resource set, and wherein the first search space set and a second search space set are linked, ([¶0236] FIG. 4 shows an example of the per-TRP BFD-RS configuration. This BFD-RS configuration may be applied to both single DCI-based multi-TRP and multi-DCI-based multi-TRP. In this example, CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1, CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1, and TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2. TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1. Furthermore, BFD-RS set #1 including BFD-RS #a to be QCLed with TCI state #A for CORESET #1 is configured, and BFD-RS set #2 including BFD-RS #b to be QCLed with TCI state #B for CORESET #2 and BFD-RS #c to be QCLed with TCI state #C for CORESET #2 is configured. BFD-RS set #1 may be associated with TRP #1. BFD-RS set #2 may be associated with TRP #2. In this case, BFD-RSs are BFD-RS #a, BFD-RS #b, and BFD-RS #c. [¶0050] In order to support intra-cell (having the same cell ID) and inter-cell (having different cell IDs) multi-TRP transmissions based on multiple PDCCHs, in RRC configuration information for linking a plurality of pairs of PDCCHs and PDSCHs having multiple TRPs, one control resource set (CORESET) in PDCCH configuration information (PDCCH-Config) may correspond to one TRP.) and wherein the given resource set is associated with a fifth spatial state, and wherein the fifth spatial state is used for configuring a QCL relationship between at least one Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) port for a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) being transmitted in the second search space set and one or two reference signals. ([¶0039] For the PDCCH and the PDSCH, a QCL type A RS may always be configured, and a QCL type D RS may be configured additionally. It is difficult to estimate a Doppler shift, a delay, and the like by using DMRS one-shot reception, and thus the QCL type A RS is used for improvement in channel estimation accuracy. The QCL type D RS is used for receive beam determination in DMRS reception.[¶0040] For example, TRS 1-1, TRS 1-2, TRS 1-3, and TRS 1-4 are transmitted, and TRS 1-1 is notified as a QCL type C/D RS by a TCI state for the PDSCH. The TCI state is notified, thereby allowing the UE to use, for reception of a DMRS for the PDSCH/channel estimation, information obtained from a result of past periodic reception/measurement of TRS 1-1. In this case, a QCL source for the PDSCH is TRS 1-1, and a QCL target is the DMRS for the PDSCH. [¶0311] One search space may correspond to a PDCCH candidate corresponding to one or more aggregation levels. One or more search spaces may be referred to as a “search space set.” Note that a “search space,” a “search space set,” a “search space configuration,” a “search space set configuration,” a “CORESET,” a “CORESET configuration” and so on of the present disclosure may be interchangeably interpreted.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein the second resource set is associated with a first spatial state and a second spatial state, and wherein the UE is configured with a first higher-layer parameter associated with a first parameter value set, ([¶0060] RRC may configure a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pools) for both of the DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be a QCL type A/D RS. As the QCL type A/D RS, an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS may be configured. A MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. DCI may indicate at least one of a plurality of activated TCI states. [¶0065] A MAC CE may select (activate) one or more (for example, a plurality of) TCI states (sets) for each of UL and DL channels. The MAC CE may activate two sets of TCI states. ) comprising at least one parameter value, and wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of search space sets, comprising a third search space set and a fourth search space set, and wherein a PDCCH candidate in the third search space set is linked to and overlaps in time domain with a PDCCH candidate in the fourth search space,([¶0045] a plurality of PDSCHs (multiple PDSCHs) transmitted by NCJT may be defined as PDSCHs partially or fully overlapping with each other in relation to at least one of time and frequency domains. In other words, a first PDSCH from a first TRP and a second PDSCH from a second TRP may overlap with each other in at least one of time and frequency resources.) and wherein the first higher-layer parameter or the PDCCH candidate are used to select the default spatial or one of the two spatial states associated with the second resource set for determining that the second resource set belongs to the first resource set group. ([¶0061] Default beams for the UL and DL may be unified by MAC CE-based beam management (MAC CE-level beam indication). The default beams may be unified with a default UL beam (spatial relation) by updating a default TCI state for a PDSCH.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive first information, wherein the first information is used to determine that the second resource set belongs to the first resource set group. ([¶0092] In one CC/DL BWP or in one set of CCs/BWPs, the UE receives an activation command for mapping up to 8 TCI states to code points of a DCI field (TCI field). When one set of TCI state IDs is activated for one set of CCs/DL BWPs, then an applicable CC list is determined by a CC indicated in the activation command, and the same set of TCI states is applied to all DL BWPs in the indicated CC. Only if a plurality of different values of CORESET pool indices (CORESETPoolIndex) in a CORESET information element (ControlResourceSet) are not provided for the UE, and at least one TCI code point mapped to two TCI states is not provided for the UE, one set of TCI state IDs can be activated for one set of CCs/DL BWPs.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein the first resource set is associated with a third spatial state and a fourth spatial state, and wherein the target spatial state is a default spatial state of the third spatial state and the fourth spatial state, or, the target spatial state is any spatial state of the third spatial state and the fourth spatial state. ([¶0061] Default beams for the UL and DL may be unified by MAC CE-based beam management (MAC CE-level beam indication). The default beams may be unified with a default UL beam (spatial relation) by updating a default TCI state for a PDSCH. [¶0065] A MAC CE may select (activate) one or more (for example, a plurality of) TCI states (sets) for each of UL and DL channels. The MAC CE may activate two sets of TCI states.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Matsumura discloses:
A method ([¶0001] a radio communication method) in a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the method comprising: selecting a first resource set group from a plurality of resource sets, wherein any two resource sets from the plurality of resource sets overlap in a time window, and wherein the first resource set group comprises a first resource set, and wherein any resource set from the plurality of resource sets is associated with one spatial state or two spatial states, selecting a second resource set from the plurality of resource sets, wherein the second resource set is different from the first resource set; monitoring a first-type channel in the first resource set group in the time window; and determining that the second resource set belongs to the first resource set group based on one of: ([¶0065] A MAC CE may select (activate) one or more (for example, a plurality of) TCI states (sets) for each of UL and DL channels. The MAC CE may activate two sets of TCI states. [¶0045] a plurality of PDSCHs (multiple PDSCHs) transmitted by NCJT may be defined as PDSCHs partially or fully overlapping with each other in relation to at least one of time and frequency domains. In other words, a first PDSCH from a first TRP and a second PDSCH from a second TRP may overlap with each other in at least one of time and frequency resources.[¶0110] For L.sub.max=4, the UE selects, in order starting from the lowest monitoring periodicity, N.sub.RLM RSS provided for an active TCI state for PDCCH reception in a plurality of CORESETs associated with a plurality of search space sets. If more than one CORESET is associated with a plurality of search space sets having the same monitoring periodicity, the UE determines a CORESET order starting from the highest CORESET index.) for the second resource set associated with one spatial state, determining that a spatial state associated with the second resource set is configured with same properties for a first Quasi- Colocation (QCL) Type as a target spatial state associated with the first resource set, and for the second resource set associated with two spatial states, determining that a default spatial state of the two spatial states associated with the second resource set is configured with same properties for the first QCL Type as the target spatial state, or for the second resource set associated with two spatial states, determining that one of the two spatial states associated with the second resource set is configured with same properties for the first QCL Type as the target spatial state.
Regarding Claim 12:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein each resource set from the M resource sets is associated with a search space set, and wherein a first search space set is associated with a given resource set, and wherein the first search space set and a second search space set are linked, ([¶0236] FIG. 4 shows an example of the per-TRP BFD-RS configuration. This BFD-RS configuration may be applied to both single DCI-based multi-TRP and multi-DCI-based multi-TRP. In this example, CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1, CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1, and TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2. TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1. Furthermore, BFD-RS set #1 including BFD-RS #a to be QCLed with TCI state #A for CORESET #1 is configured, and BFD-RS set #2 including BFD-RS #b to be QCLed with TCI state #B for CORESET #2 and BFD-RS #c to be QCLed with TCI state #C for CORESET #2 is configured. BFD-RS set #1 may be associated with TRP #1. BFD-RS set #2 may be associated with TRP #2. In this case, BFD-RSs are BFD-RS #a, BFD-RS #b, and BFD-RS #c. [¶0050] In order to support intra-cell (having the same cell ID) and inter-cell (having different cell IDs) multi-TRP transmissions based on multiple PDCCHs, in RRC configuration information for linking a plurality of pairs of PDCCHs and PDSCHs having multiple TRPs, one control resource set (CORESET) in PDCCH configuration information (PDCCH-Config) may correspond to one TRP.) and wherein the given resource set is associated with a fifth spatial state, and wherein the fifth spatial state is used for configuring a QCL relationship between at least one Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS} port for a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) being transmitted in the second search space set and one or two reference signals. ([¶0039] For the PDCCH and the PDSCH, a QCL type A RS may always be configured, and a QCL type D RS may be configured additionally. It is difficult to estimate a Doppler shift, a delay, and the like by using DMRS one-shot reception, and thus the QCL type A RS is used for improvement in channel estimation accuracy. The QCL type D RS is used for receive beam determination in DMRS reception.[¶0040] For example, TRS 1-1, TRS 1-2, TRS 1-3, and TRS 1-4 are transmitted, and TRS 1-1 is notified as a QCL type C/D RS by a TCI state for the PDSCH. The TCI state is notified, thereby allowing the UE to use, for reception of a DMRS for the PDSCH/channel estimation, information obtained from a result of past periodic reception/measurement of TRS 1-1. In this case, a QCL source for the PDSCH is TRS 1-1, and a QCL target is the DMRS for the PDSCH. [¶0311] One search space may correspond to a PDCCH candidate corresponding to one or more aggregation levels. One or more search spaces may be referred to as a “search space set.” Note that a “search space,” a “search space set,” a “search space configuration,” a “search space set configuration,” a “CORESET,” a “CORESET configuration” and so on of the present disclosure may be interchangeably interpreted.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein the second resource set is associated with a first spatial state and a second spatial state, and wherein the UE is configured with a first higher-layer parameter associated with a first parameter value set([¶0060] RRC may configure a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pools) for both of the DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be a QCL type A/D RS. As the QCL type A/D RS, an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS may be configured. A MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. DCI may indicate at least one of a plurality of activated TCI states. [¶0065] A MAC CE may select (activate) one or more (for example, a plurality of) TCI states (sets) for each of UL and DL channels. The MAC CE may activate two sets of TCI states. ) comprising at least one parameter value, and wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of search space sets, comprising a third search space set and a fourth search space set, and wherein a PDCCH candidate in the third search space set is linked to and overlaps in time domain with a PDCCH candidate in the fourth search space, ([¶0045] a plurality of PDSCHs (multiple PDSCHs) transmitted by NCJT may be defined as PDSCHs partially or fully overlapping with each other in relation to at least one of time and frequency domains. In other words, a first PDSCH from a first TRP and a second PDSCH from a second TRP may overlap with each other in at least one of time and frequency resources.) and wherein the first higher-layer parameter or the PDCCH candidate are used to select the default spatial state or one of the two spatial states associated with the second resource set for determining that the second resource set belongs to the first resource set group. ([¶0061] Default beams for the UL and DL may be unified by MAC CE-based beam management (MAC CE-level beam indication). The default beams may be unified with a default UL beam (spatial relation) by updating a default TCI state for a PDSCH.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
comprising: receiving first information, wherein the first information is used to determine that the second resource set belongs to the first resource set group. ([¶0092] In one CC/DL BWP or in one set of CCs/BWPs, the UE receives an activation command for mapping up to 8 TCI states to code points of a DCI field (TCI field). When one set of TCI state IDs is activated for one set of CCs/DL BWPs, then an applicable CC list is determined by a CC indicated in the activation command, and the same set of TCI states is applied to all DL BWPs in the indicated CC. Only if a plurality of different values of CORESET pool indices (CORESETPoolIndex) in a CORESET information element (ControlResourceSet) are not provided for the UE, and at least one TCI code point mapped to two TCI states is not provided for the UE, one set of TCI state IDs can be activated for one set of CCs/DL BWPs.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Matsumura discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Matsumura discloses:
wherein the first resource set is associated with a third spatial state and a fourth spatial state, and wherein the target spatial state is a default spatial state of the third spatial state and the fourth spatial state, or, the target spatial state is any spatial state of the third spatial state and the fourth spatial state. ([¶0061] Default beams for the UL and DL may be unified by MAC CE-based beam management (MAC CE-level beam indication). The default beams may be unified with a default UL beam (spatial relation) by updating a default TCI state for a PDSCH. [¶0065] A MAC CE may select (activate) one or more (for example, a plurality of) TCI states (sets) for each of UL and DL channels. The MAC CE may activate two sets of TCI states.)
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463