1. This office action, in response to request for continued examination (RCE) and the amendment filed 1/16/2026, is a non-final office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 1/16/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
3. A restriction to original presentation is stated below. Newly added claim 12 is directed to a transmitter. Claims 6, 9 and 11 are directed to a receiver. Claim 12 is withdrawn.
4. A new rejection to claims 6, 9 and 11 under 35 USC 112a is stated below. The clams have been amended to include new matter.
5. New rejections of the clams 6, 9 and 11 under 35 USC 103 are stated below. Applicant’s remarks on pages 5-7 state the previously cited references do not disclose the newly added limitation of claims 6, 9 and 11. The newly added limitation is addressed in the rejections stated below.
Election/Restrictions
6. Newly submitted claim 12 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The invention of claims 6, 9 and 11 correspond to a terminal comprising a receiver classified in H04B 7/08. The invention of claim 12 corresponds to a transmission system classified in H04B 7/068.
Inventions I and II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the receiver of claims 6, 9 and 11 and he transmitter of claim 12 may be usable together but are separately usable. As shown in the board decision rendered on 11/20/2025, other types of transmission systems can be utilized to provided signals to be received by the receiver of claims 6, 9 and 11. In pages 6-7 of the board decision rendered 11/20/2025, the decision states “Although Appellant insists that the recitations of receiving information ‘from one same transmitter’ in claims 6 and 11 are functional limitations, Appellant provides no persuasive argument or evidence that these recitations set forth well-defined boundaries of the clamed receiver or reception method.” “In particular, Appellant offers no persuasive reasoning that the source of the information in any way affects the structure, operation or functionality of the claimed receiver or method of reception. Rather, on this record, we agree with the Examiner that the claimed receiver and method of reception are indifferent to the source of the data received.” The subcombination has separate utility such as the receiver and method of reception are indifferent to the source of the data received. This receiver and method of reception does not require the transmission system of claim 12. Also, the transmission system of claim 12 could transmit a signal to receivers other than the receiver of claims 6, 9 and 11.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation of to detect whether the first data is the same as the second data recited in each of these claims does not appear to be described in the specification as originally filed. Applicant’s remarks have not provided information regarding where support for this newly added limitation is recited in the specification. The only citation for the term detect is found in paragraph 0695, which recites the receiver performs frequency synchronization, time synchronization, channel estimation, signal detection, etc., using this symbol. This paragraph does not recite a receiver configured to detect whether the first data is the same as the second data. The examiner cannot find support for the amendment to claims 6, 9 and 11. Applicant must provide reference to where, in the originally filed specification, the receiver detects whether the first data is the same as the second data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uddenfeldt (US 5,327,577) in view of Lee et al (US 2012/0309419).
Regarding claim 6, Uddenfeldt discloses a terminal (Column 14, lines 34-66: mobile radio) comprising:
at least one antenna (Column 14, lines 34-66: mobile radio. A radio signal is received via an antenna.); and
a receiver coupled to the at least one antenna to receive, from one same transmitter (The transmitter transmitting the signal to be received by the receiver of the recited terminal is not a component of the recited terminal. The transmitter transmitting signals to be received by the recited terminal does not limit the terminal to a particular structure and, therefore, does not limit the claim in terms of scope.), first data and second data in a first resource and a second resource, respectively, the first data being the same as the second data (Column 14, lines 34-66: it is also preferably in this case as well that the transmission of message information is stated from the base transmitter to which responsibility is to be handed over, before transmission of the same information is terminated from the base transmitter from which responsibility is to be handed over. Column 6, lines 66-68: Message information, e. g., speech or data that the mobile radio exchange towards a mobile in a cell. Column 5, lines 55-63: the signals are digitally modulated with selective digital message information to the individual mobiles in the cell. The radio signals may also be digitally modulated with general control information common to all mobiles. The control information is an option that may or may not be used. In addition, the data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.), and
at least one processor configured to perform a reception process on the first data and the second data in the first resource and the second resource, respectively, (Column 4, lines 44-49: Uddenfeldt discloses a cellular mobile radio system shown in figure 1 has mobile and base stations. Message information is transmitted digitally to and from the mobiles. The mobiles comprise means for receiving and processing the received signals. Therefore, the mobiles comprise at least one processor configured to perform a reception process on the received data.); wherein
in a first mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first frequency channel and a second frequency channel, respectively (column 14, lines 33-66: it is then preferable in such a system to select the different channels sch that during a transition period the mobile can receive the transmission from the different base transmitters essentially without their mutually obstructing each other.),
in a second mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first time slot and a second time slot (Column 14, lines 33-66: this means that the base transmitters transmit in different time slots.), respectively, and
the first data and the second data do not include control information (Column 6, lines 66-68: Message information, e. g., speech or data that the mobile radio exchange towards a mobile in a cell. Column 5, lines 55-63: the signals are digitally modulated with selective digital message information to the individual mobiles in the cell. The radio signals may also be digitally modulated with general control information common to all mobiles. The control information is an option that may or may not be used. In addition, the data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.).
Uddenfeldt does not disclose a receiver to detect whether the first data is the same as the second data.
Lee discloses a method for reporting a change in a cell in which a terminal is located as stated in paragraph 0007. Lee discloses a method, which is performed in a terminal, comparing a first cell identifier (ID) of the first cell with a second cell ID of the second cell and transmitting the cell change indication information to a network when the result of the comparison shows that the first cell ID does not match the second cell ID as stated in paragraph 0009. Lee discloses receiving multiple signals, each comprising a cell ID and detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data. When the first data is not the same as the second data, a transmission to the network indicating the difference is conducted. Verifying the location of mobile terminal is advantageous. This is useful during handoff to ensure the cell being utilized is an appropriate cell or the best cell to be utilized. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lee into the receiver of Uddenfeldt.
Regarding claim 11, Uddenfeldt discloses a reception method comprising:
Receiving, from one same transmitter (The transmitter transmitting the signal to be received by the receiver of the recited terminal is not a component of the recited terminal. The transmitter transmitting signals to be received by the recited terminal does not limit the terminal to a particular structure or require steps to be performed and, therefore, does not limit the claim in terms of scope.), first data and second data in a first resource and a second resource, respectively, the first data being the same as the second data (Column 14, lines 34-66: it is also preferably in this case as well that the transmission of message information is stated from the base transmitter to which responsibility is to be handed over, before transmission of the same information is terminated from the base transmitter from which responsibility is to be handed over. Column 6, lines 66-68: Message information, e. g., speech or data that the mobile radio exchange towards a mobile in a cell. Column 5, lines 55-63: the signals are digitally modulated with selective digital message information to the individual mobiles in the cell. The radio signals may also be digitally modulated with general control information common to all mobiles. The control information is an option that may or may not be used. In addition, the data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.), and
Performing a reception process on the first data and the second data in the first resource and the second resource, respectively, (Column 4, lines 44-49: Uddenfeldt discloses a cellular mobile radio system shown in figure 1 has mobile and base stations. Message information is transmitted digitally to and from the mobiles. The mobiles comprise means for receiving and processing the received signals. Therefore, the mobiles comprise at least one processor configured to perform a reception process on the received data.); wherein
in a first mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first frequency channel and a second frequency channel, respectively, (column 14, lines 33-66: it is then preferable in such a system to select the different channels sch that during a transition period the mobile can receive the transmission from the different base transmitters essentially without their mutually obstructing each other.);
in a second mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first time slot and a second time slot, respectively, (Column 14, lines 33-66: this means that the base transmitters transmit in different time slots.) and
each of the first data and the second data do not include control information (Column 6, lines 66-68: Message information, e. g., speech or data that the mobile radio exchange towards a mobile in a cell. Column 5, lines 55-63: the signals are digitally modulated with selective digital message information to the individual mobiles in the cell. The radio signals may also be digitally modulated with general control information common to all mobiles. The control information is an option that may or may not be used. In addition, the data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.).
Uddenfeldt does not disclose a reception method for detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data.
Lee discloses a method for reporting a change in a cell in which a terminal is located as stated in paragraph 0007. Lee discloses a method, which is performed in a terminal, comparing a first cell identifier (ID) of the first cell with a second cell ID of the second cell and transmitting the cell change indication information to a network when the result of the comparison shows that the first cell ID does not match the second cell ID as stated in paragraph 0009. Lee discloses receiving multiple signals, each comprising a cell ID and detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data. When the first data is not the same as the second data, a transmission to the network indicating the difference is conducted. Verifying the location of mobile terminal is advantageous. This is useful during handoff to ensure the cell being utilized is an appropriate cell or the best cell to be utilized. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lee into the reception method of Uddenfeldt.
8. Claims 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2018/0249471) in view of Lee et al (US 2012/0309419).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Wang discloses a terminal (figure 4: terminal 121) and computer readable medium (Figure 12 and Paragraph 0090: Wireless device with processor and memory module.) comprising:
at least one antenna (Paragraph 0037: furthermore, the first and second wireless devices 121, 122 may e.g. be any kind of wireless device such as a mobile phone, a cellular phone etc. These devices inherently comprise at least one antenna.); and
a receiver coupled to the at least one antenna to receive, from one same transmitter (The transmitter transmitting the signal to be received by the receiver of the recited terminal is not a component of the recited terminal. The transmitter transmitting signals to be received by the recited terminal does not limit the terminal to a particular structure or require steps to be performed and, therefore, does not limit the claim in terms of scope.), first data and second data in a first resource and a second resource (Figure 4 shows the communication between the multiple base stations and the mobile station near the border of each of the plurality of cells. Figure 4 shows an overlap area that is inside the communication of both base stations. Paragraph 0012: the wireless communication network comprises at least a first and a second AP, having overlapping cells using contention based transmission resources on the same frequency. The network node controls the first AP to transmit information indicating that wireless devices served by the first AP are not to contend for the contention based transmission resources, when the second AP is transmitting a Null Data Packet (NDP). Then the network node controls the second AP to transmit a NDP.), respectively, the first data being the same as the second data (The data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.), and
at least one processor configured to perform a reception process on the first data and the second data in the first resource and the second resource, respectively, (Figure 12 and Paragraph 0090: Wireless device with processor and memory module.); wherein
in a first mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first frequency channel and a second frequency channel, respectively (Paragraph 0003: In order to avoid interference in wireless communication networks using contention based transmissions on the same frequency, different frequencies or channels, should be assigned to neighboring or nearby BSSs. Paragraph 0002: A Basic Serving Set (BSS) comprises an Access point (AP) and a number of stations (STA) located within a certain coverage area or cell being served by the AP.),
in a second mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first time slot and a second time slot (Paragraph 0012: the wireless communication network comprises at least a first and a second AP, having overlapping cells using contention based transmission resources on the same frequency. The network node controls the first AP to transmit information indicating that wireless devices served by the first AP are not to contend for the contention based transmission resources, when the second AP is transmitting a Null Data Packet (NDP). Then the network node controls the second AP to transmit a NDP.), respectively, and
the first data and the second data do not include control information (The data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.).
Wang does not disclose a receiver to detect whether the first data is the same as the second data.
Lee discloses a method for reporting a change in a cell in which a terminal is located as stated in paragraph 0007. Lee discloses a method, which is performed in a terminal, comparing a first cell identifier (ID) of the first cell with a second cell ID of the second cell and transmitting the cell change indication information to a network when the result of the comparison shows that the first cell ID does not match the second cell ID as stated in paragraph 0009. Lee discloses receiving multiple signals, each comprising a cell ID and detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data. When the first data is not the same as the second data, a transmission to the network indicating the difference is conducted. Verifying the location of mobile terminal is advantageous. This is useful during handoff to ensure the cell being utilized is an appropriate cell or the best cell to be utilized. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lee into the receiver of Wang
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses a reception method comprising:
Receiving, from one same transmitter (The transmitter transmitting the signal to be received by the receiver of the recited terminal is not a component of the recited terminal. The transmitter transmitting signals to be received by the recited terminal does not limit the terminal to a particular structure or require steps to be performed and, therefore, does not limit the claim in terms of scope.), first data and second data in a first resource and a second resource, respectively, (Figure 4 shows the communication between the multiple base stations and the mobile station near the border of each of the plurality of cells. Figure 4 shows an overlap area that is inside the communication of both base stations. Paragraph 0012: the wireless communication network comprises at least a first and a second AP, having overlapping cells using contention based transmission resources on the same frequency. The network node controls the first AP to transmit information indicating that wireless devices served by the first AP are not to contend for the contention based transmission resources, when the second AP is transmitting a Null Data Packet (NDP). Then the network node controls the second AP to transmit a NDP.) the first data being the same as the second data (The data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.), and
performing a reception process on the first data and the second data in the first resource and the second resource, respectively, (Figure 12 and Paragraph 0090: Wireless device with processor and memory module.); wherein
in a first mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first frequency channel and a second frequency channel, respectively (Paragraph 0003: In order to avoid interference in wireless communication networks using contention based transmissions on the same frequency, different frequencies or channels, should be assigned to neighboring or nearby BSSs. Paragraph 0002: A Basic Serving Set (BSS) comprises an Access point (AP) and a number of stations (STA) located within a certain coverage area or cell being served by the AP.),
in a second mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first time slot and a second time slot, respectively, (Paragraph 0012: the wireless communication network comprises at least a first and a second AP, having overlapping cells using contention based transmission resources on the same frequency. The network node controls the first AP to transmit information indicating that wireless devices served by the first AP are not to contend for the contention based transmission resources, when the second AP is transmitting a Null Data Packet (NDP). Then the network node controls the second AP to transmit a NDP.) and
the first data and the second data do not include control information (The data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.).
Wang does not disclose a reception method for detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data.
Lee discloses a method for reporting a change in a cell in which a terminal is located as stated in paragraph 0007. Lee discloses a method, which is performed in a terminal, comparing a first cell identifier (ID) of the first cell with a second cell ID of the second cell and transmitting the cell change indication information to a network when the result of the comparison shows that the first cell ID does not match the second cell ID as stated in paragraph 0009. Lee discloses receiving multiple signals, each comprising a cell ID and detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data. When the first data is not the same as the second data, a transmission to the network indicating the difference is conducted. Verifying the location of mobile terminal is advantageous. This is useful during handoff to ensure the cell being utilized is an appropriate cell or the best cell to be utilized. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lee into the reception method of Wang.
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uddenfeldt (US 5,327,577) in view of Lee et al (US 2012/0309419) further in view of Yang et al (US 2013/0265981).
Regarding claim 9, Uddenfeldt discloses a terminal (Column 14, lines 34-66: mobile radio) comprising:
at least one antenna (Column 14, lines 34-66: mobile radio. A radio signal is received via an antenna.); and
a receiver coupled to the at least one antenna to receive, from one same transmitter (The transmitter transmitting the signal to be received by the receiver of the recited terminal is not a component of the recited terminal. The transmitter transmitting signals to be received by the recited terminal does not limit the terminal to a particular structure or require steps to be performed and, therefore, does not limit the claim in terms of scope.), first data and second data in a first resource and a second resource, respectively, the first data being the same as the second data (Column 14, lines 34-66: it is also preferably in this case as well that the transmission of message information is stated from the base transmitter to which responsibility is to be handed over, before transmission of the same information is terminated from the base transmitter from which responsibility is to be handed over. Column 6, lines 66-68: Message information, e. g., speech or data that the mobile radio exchange towards a mobile in a cell. Column 5, lines 55-63: the signals are digitally modulated with selective digital message information to the individual mobiles in the cell. The radio signals may also be digitally modulated with general control information common to all mobiles. The control information is an option that may or may not be used. In addition, the data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.), and
at least one processor configured to perform a reception process on the first data and the second data in the first resource and the second resource, respectively, (Column 4, lines 44-49: Uddenfeldt discloses a cellular mobile radio system shown in figure 1 has mobile and base stations. Message information is transmitted digitally to and from the mobiles. The mobiles comprise means for receiving and processing the received signals. Therefore, the mobiles comprise at least one processor configured to perform a reception process on the received data.); wherein
in a first mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first frequency channel and a second frequency channel, respectively (column 14, lines 33-66: it is then preferable in such a system to select the different channels sch that during a transition period the mobile can receive the transmission from the different base transmitters essentially without their mutually obstructing each other.),
in a second mode, the first resource and the second resource are a first time slot and a second time slot (Column 14, lines 33-66: this means that the base transmitters transmit in different time slots.), respectively, and
the first data and the second data do not include control information (Column 6, lines 66-68: Message information, e. g., speech or data that the mobile radio exchange towards a mobile in a cell. Column 5, lines 55-63: the signals are digitally modulated with selective digital message information to the individual mobiles in the cell. The radio signals may also be digitally modulated with general control information common to all mobiles. The control information is an option that may or may not be used. In addition, the data content that is to be received by the receiver does not limit the receiver to a particular structure and does not require the receiver to carry out specific steps. The recited receiver does not control what data content is transmitted to this receiver for reception.).
Uddenfeldt does not disclose a receiver to detect whether the first data is the same as the second data.
Lee discloses a method for reporting a change in a cell in which a terminal is located as stated in paragraph 0007. Lee discloses a method, which is performed in a terminal, comparing a first cell identifier (ID) of the first cell with a second cell ID of the second cell and transmitting the cell change indication information to a network when the result of the comparison shows that the first cell ID does not match the second cell ID as stated in paragraph 0009. Lee discloses receiving multiple signals, each comprising a cell ID and detecting whether the first data is the same as the second data. When the first data is not the same as the second data, a transmission to the network indicating the difference is conducted. Verifying the location of mobile terminal is advantageous. This is useful during handoff to ensure the cell being utilized is an appropriate cell or the best cell to be utilized. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lee into the receiver of Uddenfeldt.
The combination of Uddenfeldt and Lee does not disclose a computer readable medium that causes the terminal to receive the transmitted signal.
Yang discloses the communication system shown in figure 6 comprising the wireless device 604. The wireless device 604 is a mobile station. Yang discloses a wireless device 810 may include a wireless transceiver 812 coupled to antenna 818 and to a processor 814. Processor 814 may couple to a memory 816 as stated in paragraph 0109. The memory will cause a process to be executed by the processor. The processor and memory will reduce the size and cost of the terminal. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Yang in the terminal of the combination of Uddenfeldt and Lee.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 2/22/2026