DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 6/12/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 3, 14 and 20 are amended, claim 2 is canceled, and claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending.
Claim objections have been withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to specification objection has been fully considered and is persuasive, therefore specification objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive, therefore claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. (US 20130190009 A1, and Johansson hereinafter), in view of Manolakos et al (US 20230108914 A1 and Manolakos hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Johansson teaches a positioning measurement method performed by a terminal (Figure 5), comprising:
receiving priority configuration information sent by a network-side device, wherein the priority configuration information comprises priority information (Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0009 and 0044; a UE receives an MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration having one or more location options, and each location option is associated with a priority. Examiner asserts the priority configuration/information is received by the UE from a network-side device. Paragraph 0044; the network sends an MDT location request to a UE. In step 511, the UE receives the MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration. The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order); and
measuring a positioning signal based on the priority information (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE performs location measurements, reporting, and logging);
wherein
the priority information is configured for positioning signal resource sets, wherein an order of the positioning signal resource sets in the positioning signal resource set indicates priorities of the positioning resource set (Figures 17-19 and Paragraphs 0059, 0061 and 0063; Figures 17-19 illustrate different embodiments for determining a priority order of various positioning objective. The available positioning signal resource sets including Wi-Fi signals used in WiFi positioning, LTE signals used in LTE OTDOA positioning, satellite systems/signals used in GNSS positioning [These signals are disclosed in Paragraph 0057. Examiner asserts that these signals are interpreted as positioning signal resource sets]. These signals are prioritized based on the positioning objective. For example, in Figure 17, when the positioning objective is response time, the available signal resource sets of WiFi signals used in Wi-Fi location procedure, cellular signals used in LTE OTDOA location procedure, and satellite signals used in GNSS location procedure are ranked in order. Whereas in Figure 18, a different positioning objective wherein accuracy is the objective, the available positioning resource sets [such as Wi-Fi, cellular and satellite signals] are arranged in different priority order);
or,
wherein
the priority information is configured for transmission and reception points (TRPs) by configuring a TRP list, wherein an order of the TRPs in the TRP list indicates priorities of the TRPs (Examiner asserts that since this limitation is an exclusive OR to the above limitation, therefore this limitation has been met); and
a positioning signal transmitted from one of the TRPs with a higher priority is preferentially measured over a positioning signal transmitted from another of the TRPs with a lower priority (Examiner asserts that since this limitation is an exclusive OR to the above limitation, therefore this limitation has been met).
Johansson does not explicitly teach configuring a positioning signal resource set list; and a positioning signal transmitted at one of the positioning signal resource sets with a higher priority is preferentially measured over a positioning signal transmitted at another of the positioning resource sets with a lower priority. In an analogous art, Manolakos teaches configuring a positioning signal resource set list (Paragraph 0083; the server 400 sends a PRS [Positioning Reference Signals] configuration message 622 to the UE 500. The PRS configuration message 622 may include, for example, scheduled timing of periodic PRS, periodicity, information element type, one or more explicit priority indications, search window information (e.g., duration, start time, end time)); and a positioning signal transmitted at one of the positioning signal resource sets with a higher priority is preferentially measured over a positioning signal transmitted at another of the positioning resource sets with a lower priority (Paragraph 0083; the UE 500 may process PRS according to the determined priority, e.g., making measurements, determining positioning information, producing and/or transmitting SRS for positioning, etc., and providing positioning information 642 as appropriate to the server 400). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson and Manolakos because it would be useful for various applications to obtain locations of mobile devices (Manolakos, Paragraph0003).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein after measuring the positioning signal (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE performs location measurements, reporting, and logging), the method further comprises: reporting positioning information based on the priority information (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE performs location measurements, reporting, and logging based on the received location options with priority information), and the positioning information is positioning information associated with the positioning signal (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; UE measures location based on the available location options, such as UE GNSS, OTDOA, and/or C-PLANE LCS in prioritized order), a priority order of the measuring the positioning signal is consistent with a priority order of reporting the positioning information (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE checks feasibly for first location option, and if successful, MDT features [of UE] started according to the received configuration – measurements, reporting and logging. Examiner asserts that for example if UE GNSS is chosen first and successful, then the location information obtained using UE GNSS is reported/logged first, thus the priority order of measuring positioning signal is the same as priority order of reporting the positioning information. Further, when check is unsuccessful, then the UE optionally indicates to the network that no location option could be supported, and/or the UE just applies best effort location information collection. Paragraph 0046; parameters are provided in the MDT location request, e.g., for periodic location, periodicity would typically be given or deduced from the parameters in MDT location request).
In addition, Manolakos also teaches the above limitations (Paragraph 0083; he UE 500 may process PRS according to the determined priority, e.g., making measurements, determining positioning information (e.g., one or more ranges, a location, etc.), producing and/or transmitting SRS for positioning, etc., and providing positioning information 642 as appropriate to the server 400). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson and Manolakos because it would be useful for various applications to obtain locations of mobile devices (Manolakos, Paragraph0003).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein the priority information is configured for at least one of the following target objects: a positioning mode; a type of reported positioning information; a type of a positioning measurement quantity; a positioning frequency layer; or a positioning signal resource (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order), wherein in a case that the priority information is configured for the positioning signal resource set and/or the positioning signal resource, the priority information comprises at least one of the following priority rules: prioritizing based on a type of the positioning signal; prioritizing based on whether the positioning signal is within a measurement time window; prioritizing based on whether the positioning signal is within a measurement gap time window; prioritizing based on whether the positioning signal has an associated spatial reference signal; prioritizing based on whether the positioning signal has an associated quasi-co-location reference signal; prioritizing based on a measurement quality of the positioning signal; or prioritizing based on priorities/a priority of the positioning signal resource and/or the positioning signal resource set indicated by the network-side device (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; In step 501, the network sends an MDT location request to a UE. In step 511, the UE receives the MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration. The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order. Figure 18 and Paragraphs 0061 and 0062; priority order is based on measurement accuracy [thus measurement quality] of positioning signal).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein after measuring the positioning signal, the method further comprises: reporting positioning information corresponding to a target object for which the priority information is configured, based on at least one reporting mode, wherein the reporting mode comprises: aperiodic reporting, periodic reporting, semi-persistent reporting, event-triggered reporting, immediate reporting, early fix reporting, and non-connected state reporting (Paragraph 0035; for immediate MDT, measurements are performed by the UEs in CONNECTED state for E-UTRA. The collected information is either measured directly in the network or measured in the UE and reported to the network immediately as it becomes available. Figure 7 and Paragraph 0046; parameters for MO-LR may be hardcoded or provided in the MDT location request, e.g., for periodic location, periodicity would typically be given or deduced from parameters in MDT location request).
Further, Manolakos also teaches the above limitations (Paragraph 0089; prioritization unit 550 may be configured to determine priority of PRS processing based on timing behavior of the PRS. For example, the DL PRS may be sent by the TRP 300, and/or UL PRS may be sent by the UE 500, aperiodically (e.g., on demand), semi-persistently, or periodically and such time behavior may be indicated in the PRS configuration message 622. The UE 500 may be configured to give DL PRS higher processing priority (e.g., than data, CSI-RS, or control signaling) in response to transmission of the DL PRS being aperiodic, i.e., the DL PRS being configured as aperiodic DL PRS. The UE 500 may be configured to give DL PRS lower priority than data, CSI-RS, or control signaling where transmission of the DL PRS is semi-persistent or periodic (i.e., to give the data, CSI-RS, and control signaling higher priority where transmission of the DL PRS is semi-persistent or periodic). Similarly, the UE 500 may be configured to give higher priority to UL PRS sent aperiodically than to data and/or another type of signaling, and to give lower priority to UL PRS sent semi-persistently or periodically than to data and/or another type of signaling). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson and Manolakos because it would be useful for various applications to obtain locations of mobile devices (Manolakos, Paragraph0003).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein the priority information comprises a priority of the reporting mode, and the priority of the reporting mode comprises at least one of the following: a priority of the aperiodic reporting is higher than a priority of the periodic reporting; a priority of the aperiodic reporting is higher than a priority of the semi-persistent reporting; a priority of the aperiodic reporting is higher than a priority of the immediate reporting; a priority of the aperiodic reporting is higher than a priority of the early fix reporting; a priority of the semi-persistent reporting is higher than a priority of the periodic reporting; or a priority of the early fix reporting is higher than a priority of the immediate reporting, or wherein the priority information comprises a priority of reporting the positioning information and a priority of the reporting mode, and the reporting positioning information corresponding to a target object for which the priority information is configured, based on at least one reporting mode comprises: reporting the positioning information corresponding to the target object for which the priority information is configured, based on a first reporting mode, wherein a priority of the first reporting mode matches a priority of the positioning information (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; MDT feature received from network comprises MDT configuration including MDT measurements, reporting and logging, therefore the priority information included in the received MDT feature also include the priority of reporting and logging. Paragraph 0035; for immediate MDT, measurements are performed by the UEs in CONNECTED state for E-UTRA. The collected information is either measured directly in the network or measured in the UE and reported to the network immediately as it becomes available. For logged MDT, measurements are performed and logged by the UEs in IDLE state for E-UTRA. The UEs may report the collected and logged information to the network at a later point of time. Paragraph 0007; maximize the reuse of existing positioning functionality that ties together the current MDT best effort location concept, the on-demand/requested location concept, and the enhanced best effort location. Paragraph 0046; parameters are provided in the MDT location request, e.g., for periodic location, periodicity would typically be given or deduced from the parameters in MDT location request. Johansson teaches all of the claimed invention except the specific order of the priority. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a desired order based on objective of the positioning request such as illustrated in Figures 17-19, because Applicant has not disclosed that specific order provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with any reasonable priority order because based on different objective a different ordering is expected. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Johansson to obtain the invention as specified in this claim).
Further, Manolakos also teaches the above limitations (Paragraph 0089; prioritization unit 550 may be configured to determine priority of PRS processing based on timing behavior of the PRS. The UE 500 may be configured to give DL PRS higher processing priority (e.g., than data, CSI-RS, or control signaling) in response to transmission of the DL PRS being aperiodic, i.e., the DL PRS being configured as aperiodic DL PRS. The UE 500 may be configured to give DL PRS lower priority than data, CSI-RS, or control signaling where transmission of the DL PRS is semi-persistent or periodic (i.e., to give the data, CSI-RS, and control signaling higher priority where transmission of the DL PRS is semi-persistent or periodic)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson and Manolakos because it would be useful for various applications to obtain locations of mobile devices (Manolakos, Paragraph0003).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein the priority information comprises a priority of the positioning signal, and the measuring a positioning signal based on the priority information comprises: in a case that a first positioning signal is unavailable, measuring a second positioning signal, wherein a priority of the second positioning signal is lower than a priority of the first positioning signal, or the priority information comprises a priority of reporting the positioning information, and after measuring the positioning signal, the method further comprises: in a case that first positioning information is unavailable, reporting second positioning information, wherein a priority of the second positioning information is lower than a priority of the first positioning information (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE receives the MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration. The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order. UE check feasibility for first location option (e.g., GNSS) is unsuccessful, the UE checks feasibility for the second option (e.g., OTDOA). If the check is successful, the UE determines location acquisition and MDT feature is started according to received MDT configuration including MDT measurements, reporting and logging).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 7, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches further comprising: reporting a reason correspond to the first positioning signal is unavailable to the network-side device, or reporting a reason correspond to the first positioning information is unavailable to the network-side device (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; when the UE checks feasibility for all location option has failed, the network receives a response that indicates the failure of the MDT location request).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein the priority information comprises a measurement priority of the positioning signal, and the measuring a positioning signal based on the priority information comprises at least one of the following: performing a first operation, wherein the first operation is: measuring a positioning signal with a measurement priority higher than a first preset priority (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE receives the MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration. The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order. In step 512, the UE checks feasibility for the first location option (e.g., UE GNSS). If the UE supports GNSS, then the UE determines that location acquisition is controlled according to the successfully checked UE GNSS in step 516. In step 517, MDT feature is started according to received MDT configuration including MDT measurements, reporting and logging. On the other hand, if the UE does not support GNSS, then the UE checks feasibility for the second location option (e.g., OTDOA) in step 513. If the check is successful, then the UE goes to steps 516 and 517); or performing a second operation, wherein the second operation is: not measuring a positioning signal with a measurement priority not higher than a second preset priority (Examiner asserts this limitation is in alternative OR format, since the rejection has been met for the limitation above, the rejection for the claim has been met).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein the priority information comprises a priority of reporting the positioning information, and after measuring the positioning signal, the method further comprises at last one of the following: performing a third operation, wherein the third operation is: reporting positioning information with a priority higher than a third preset priority; or performing a fourth operation, wherein the fourth operation is: not reporting positioning information with a priority not higher than a fourth preset priority (Paragraph 0035; for immediate MDT, measurements are performed by the UEs in CONNECTED state for E-UTRA. The collected information is either measured directly in the network or measured in the UE and reported to the network immediately as it becomes available. For logged MDT, measurements are performed and logged by the UEs in IDLE state for E-UTRA. The UEs may report the collected and logged information to the network at a later time).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein before the obtaining priority information of positioning, the method further comprises: reporting priority information of positioning that is expected by the terminal to the network-side device (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; the UE receives the MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration. The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0048; RAN 902 performs feasibility check for the location options in priority order, for example, if the requested location options can be supported by UE 901 (e.g., UE GNSS), then RAN 902 forwards the request to UE 901).
Regarding claim 14, Johansson teaches a positioning measurement method performed by a network-side device (Figure 9), comprising:
sending priority configuration information to a terminal, wherein the priority configuration information comprises priority information of positioning (Figure 9 and Paragraphs 0009 and 0048; a UE or an eNB receives an MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration having one or more location options, and each location option is associated with a priority. Examiner asserts the priority configuration/information is received by the UE from a network-side device. Paragraph 0048; RAN 902 receives an MDT location request from the core or OAM network 903. The MDT location request contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) C-PLANE LCS, 2) UTDOA, and 3) E-CID. In step 912, RAN 902 performs feasibility check for the location options in priority order. RAN 902 forwards the request to UE 901 in step 915. Upon receiving the request, in step 921, UE 901 performs feasibility check for the requested options. If successful, then location is controlled according to the successfully checked option (step 923). In step 931, MDT feature is started according to received configuration for MDT measurements, reporting, and logging with location information. Paragraph 0044; the network sends an MDT location request to a UE. In step 511, the UE receives the MDT location request comprises an MDT location option configuration. The MDT location option configuration contains multiple location options. For example, the location options are 1) UE GNSS, 2) OTDOA, and 3) C-PLANE LCS in a prioritized order), and the priority information is used to measure a positioning signal (Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0009 and 0044; the UE or eNB determines a first location option based on the MDT location option configuration and initiates positioning for MDT measurements);
wherein
the priority information is configured for positioning signal resource sets, wherein an order of the positioning signal resource sets indicates priorities of the positioning resource sets (Figures 17-19 and Paragraphs 0059, 0061 and 0063; Figures 17-19 illustrate different embodiments for determining a priority order of various positioning objective. The available positioning signal resource sets including Wi-Fi signals used in WiFi positioning, LTE signals used in LTE OTDOA positioning, satellite systems/signals used in GNSS positioning [These signals are disclosed in Paragraph 0057. Examiner asserts that these signals are interpreted as positioning signal resource sets]. These signals are prioritized based on the positioning objective. For example, in Figure 17, when the positioning objective is response time, the available signal resource sets of WiFi signals used in Wi-Fi location procedure, cellular signals used in LTE OTDOA location procedure, and satellite signals used in GNSS location procedure are ranked in order. Whereas in Figure 18, a different positioning objective wherein accuracy is the objective, the available positioning resource sets [such as Wi-Fi, cellular and satellite signals] are arranged in different priority order);
or
wherein
the priority information is configured for transmission and reception points (TRPs) by configuring a TRP list, wherein an order of the TRPs in the TRP list indicates priorities of the TRPs (Examiner asserts that since this limitation is an exclusive OR to the above limitation, therefore this limitation has been met); and
a positioning signal transmitted from one of the TRPs with a higher priority is preferentially measured over a positioning signal transmitted from another of the TRPs with a lower priority (Examiner asserts that since this limitation is an exclusive OR to the above limitation, therefore this limitation has been met).
Johansson does not explicitly teach configuring a positioning signal resource set list; and a positioning signal transmitted at one of the positioning signal resource sets with a higher priority is preferentially measured over a positioning signal transmitted at another of the positioning resource sets with a lower priority. In an analogous art, Manolakos teaches configuring a positioning signal resource set list (Paragraph 0083; the server 400 sends a PRS [Positioning Reference Signals] configuration message 622 to the UE 500. The PRS configuration message 622 may include, for example, scheduled timing of periodic PRS, periodicity, information element type, one or more explicit priority indications, search window information (e.g., duration, start time, end time)); and a positioning signal transmitted at one of the positioning signal resource sets with a higher priority is preferentially measured over a positioning signal transmitted at another of the positioning resource sets with a lower priority (Paragraph 0083; the UE 500 may process PRS according to the determined priority, e.g., making measurements, determining positioning information, producing and/or transmitting SRS for positioning, etc., and providing positioning information 642 as appropriate to the server 400). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson and Manolakos because it would be useful for various applications to obtain locations of mobile devices (Manolakos, Paragraph0003).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 14, as described above. Claim 15 recites similar features as claim 4, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 14, as described above. Claim 16 recites similar features as claim 5, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 16, as described above. Claim 17 recites similar features as claim 6, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 16, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches wherein the terminal is configured with a plurality of reporting modes, the priority information comprises a priority of reporting the positioning information and a priority of the reporting mode, and the priority of the reporting mode for reporting the positioning information matches the priority of the positioning information (Paragraph 0035; for immediate MDT, measurements are performed by the UEs in CONNECTED state for E-UTRA. The collected information is either measured directly in the network or measured in the UE and reported to the network immediately as it becomes available. For logged MDT, measurements are performed and logged by the UEs in IDLE state for E-UTRA. The UEs may report the collected and logged information to the network at a later point of time. Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; MDT feature is started according to received MDT configuration including MDT measurements, reporting and logging).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 14, as described above. Claim 19 recites similar features as claim 13, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites similar features as claims 1 and 14, but in alternative format (either claim 1 or claim 14), therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1 or claim 14. Further, Johansson teaches an electronic device (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0044; UE), comprising:
a processor (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0041; controller); and
a memory storing a program or an instruction that is executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform functions (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0041; computer readable medium that have programming codes for determining how to acquire location information).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Manolakos, as applied to claims above, further in view of Hao et al. (US 20210120442 A1, and Hao hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Johansson and Manolakos teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Johansson teaches after measuring the positioning signal (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; when UE check feasibility for location option is successful, the UE performs location measurement according to received MDT configuration that indicates priority order of the location options), the method further comprises: reporting, based on the priority information, the positioning information (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0044; when UE check feasibility for location option is successful, the UE performs location measurement according to received MDT configuration that indicates priority order of the location options, and the UE further performs reporting [the measured location] and logging after measuring).
The combination of Johansson and Manolakos does not explicitly teach in a case that a resource required for all the positioning information exceeds an uplink resource, reporting part of the positioning information that can be carried in the uplink resource. In an analogous art, Hao teaches in a case that a resource required for all the positioning information exceeds an uplink resource, reporting part of the positioning information that can be carried in the uplink resource (Paragraphs 0010 and 0045; a UE may include determining that one or more uplink reference signal resources, of a plurality of uplink reference signal resources, are to be preempted; and based at least in part on the determination, selectively: canceling transmission of an uplink reference signal, or transmitting the uplink reference signal based at least in part on at least a portion of the plurality of uplink reference signal resources. Figure 3C and Paragraph 0063; when not all CMR resources are preempted and the remaining resources are sufficient for channel measurement, then the UE may determine and transmit the measurement report according to valid CMR resources of the UE. Figure 5 and Paragraph 0076; the UE may transmit the measurement report based at least in part on at least a portion of the plurality of measurement reference resources). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson, Manolakos and Hao because there exists a need for further improvements in LTE and NR technologies, and more particularly related to techniques and apparatuses for channel state determination or reference signaling with traffic preemption (Hao, Paragraphs 0002 and 0005).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Johansson/Manolakos/Hao teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, as described above. Further, Hao teaches wherein after the reporting, based on the priority information, part of the positioning information that can be carried in the uplink resource (Paragraphs 0010 and 0045; a UE may include determining that one or more uplink reference signal resources, of a plurality of uplink reference signal resources, are to be preempted; and based at least in part on the determination, selectively: canceling transmission of an uplink reference signal, or transmitting the uplink reference signal based at least in part on at least a portion of the plurality of uplink reference signal resources. Figure 3C and Paragraph 0063; when not all CMR resources are preempted and the remaining resources are sufficient for channel measurement, then the UE may determine and transmit the measurement report according to valid CMR resources of the UE. Figure 5 and Paragraph 0076; the UE may transmit the measurement report based at least in part on at least a portion of the plurality of measurement reference resources), the method further comprises: performing any of the following operations on unreported positioning information: delaying reporting the unreported positioning information; reporting the unreported positioning information based on an indication of the network-side device; and canceling reporting the unreported positioning information (Paragraphs 0010 and 0045; based at least in part on the determination, selectively: canceling transmission of an uplink reference signal. Figure 5 and Paragraph 0076; the UE may selectively cancel transmission of a measurement report or transmit the measurement report based at least in part on the determination of block 510. In some aspects, the UE may cancel transmission of the measurement report). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johansson, Manolakos and Hao because there exists a need for further improvements in LTE and NR technologies, and more particularly related to techniques and apparatuses for channel state determination or reference signaling with traffic preemption (Hao, Paragraphs 0002 and 0005).
Pertinent Reference
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al. (US 20180332430 A1) discloses a UE configured to receive assistance data and use the assistance data to acquire signals for use in determining location of the mobile device, with the assistance data including information such as to listen for the signals based on indications of priority included in the assistance data, and/or may interpret the assistance data to determine the listen order, e.g., prioritizing frequencies in the separate frequency band for listening before frequencies in the dedicated frequency band.
Bitra (US 20180035251 A1) discloses an apparatus receiving positioning assistance data identifying a grouping of wireless transmitters comprising a candidate plurality of groups of the wireless transmitters transmitting a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRS) to be acquired at a mobile device positioning measurements, and performing the one or more positioning measurements based, at least in part, on a decreasing order of priority of the candidate plurality of groups specified via a GDOP priority list communicated via the positioning assistance data by the location server.
Papadimitriou et al. (US 6385458 B1) discloses takes a location request, and, with a precision that is dependent on an assigned priority level, estimates the location of a mobile phone.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647