DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
Presented amendments and arguments filed on October 14, 2025 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on July 14, 2025 have been made of record. Claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 15 and 19 have been amended. Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s amendments to the claims and presented arguments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed July 14, 2025. Accordingly, the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments see pages 10 – 13 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-10 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2013/0294500 A1) in view of Oh et al., (US 2016/0381383 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner' s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on page 11 that “an SPS ID is not equivalent to an SPS. An SPS ID may allow a decoder to look up an SPS, but it does not "carry" the SPS or its decoding parameters”. The Examiner agrees. However, WANG clearly teaches the group of pictures (GOP) can consist of only one video frame as described in Par. [0047], A video sequence typically includes a series of video frames or pictures. A group of pictures (GOP) generally comprises a series of one (i.e. only one video frame) or more of the video pictures. WANG further teaches in Par. [0074], video encoder 20 may be configured to encode an indication of whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream (i.e. as illustrated in Fig. 4, the bitstream consists of GOP1 and GOP2). The indication may be generated by video encoder 20 in order to notify a video decoder (i.e. signaling in a manner) of whether an update of a stored parameter set (i.e. the serving SPS) can occur and in Par. [0075] the indication may comprise a single indication of whether any of the parameter sets for a portion of a bitstream, e.g., a coded video sequence or a GOP (i.e. consisting of only one video sample), can be updated. WANG further teaches in Par. [0169], Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream from video encoder 20 with one or more coded video sequences including multiple access units representing coded video slices and coded parameter sets. Video decoder 30 decodes a flag defined to indicate whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of the bitstream, such as one of the coded video sequences. The flag may be included in a SPS NAL unit included in at least one access unit (i.e. for example, the only one video frame Pic9) of the coded video sequence See Fig. 5. As previously described by WANG in Par. [0108], Each of the access units includes one or more network abstraction layer (NAL) units and a non-VCL NAL unit may contain delimiter data or a parameter set, such as a VPS, SPS or PPS. Accordingly, since the video sequence 120 is interpreted to be a video sample and it has only one frame, then the access unit of Pic9 for example, will carry the SPS. Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure, WANG teaches the limitations as claimed.
Applicant further argues on page 11 that “the SPS ID itself does not include the transform mode parameter that is in the serving SPS”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). WANG is not relied upon for teaching SPS comprising a transform mode parameter. As noted in the Office Action, WANG teaches in Par. [0088], A sequence parameter set (SPS) includes syntax elements that are expected to remain unchanged for pictures within a sequence of pictures (e.g., picture order, number of reference pictures, and picture size), but does not specifically teach the sequence parameter set comprises a transform mode. However, Oh is relied for teaching this limitation in Par. [0024]. It would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the SPS comprises a transform mode as taught by Oh in invention of WANG in order to define the smallest size of coding unit and maximum split depth information, smallest size of transform unit and maximum transform depth information, and the transform depth information different in intra prediction and in inter prediction (See Oh, Par. [0030]). Accordingly, WANG in view of Oh teaches the limitation as claimed.
Applicant further argues on page 11 that “The amended independent claims explicitly require that each video sample carries a serving SPS for decoding. This language is unambiguous: the actual SPS structure must be present within each video sample, not merely referenced by an SPS ID”. While the Examiner agrees with this statement, given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure, WANG teaches this limitation as claimed. As discussed above, WANG clearly teaches in Par. [0047], A group of pictures (GOP) generally comprises a series of one (i.e. only one video frame) or more of the video pictures, in Par. [0074], video encoder 20 may be configured to encode an indication of whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream. The indication may be generated by video encoder 20 in order to notify a video decoder of whether an update of a stored parameter set (i.e. the serving SPS) can occur, in Par. [0075] the indication may comprise a single indication of whether any of the parameter sets for a portion of a bitstream, e.g., a coded video sequence or a GOP (i.e. consisting of only one video sample), can be updated, in Par. [0108], Each of the access units includes one or more network abstraction layer (NAL) units and a non-VCL NAL unit may contain delimiter data or a parameter set, such as a VPS, SPS or PPS, and further in Par. [0169], Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream from video encoder 20 with one or more coded video sequences including multiple access units representing coded video slices and coded parameter sets. Video decoder 30 decodes a flag defined to indicate whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of the bitstream, such as one of the coded video sequences. The flag may be included in a SPS NAL unit included in at least one access unit of the coded video sequence, see Fig. 5. WANG further teaches in Par. [0056], Video decoder 30 may be configured to decode the indication to determine whether an update of a stored parameter set (i.e. the serving SPS) can occur without performing a content comparison between the stored parameter set and a new parameter set of the same type with the same identification value. When a parameter set update occurs, video decoder 30 stores a current parameter set with a given identification value to replace a previous parameter set of the same type and having the same identification value. The portion of the bitstream to which the indication applies may be a coded video sequence of the bitstream or a GOP in the coded video sequence of the bitstream. Accordingly, Wang in view of OH teaches the limitation as claimed.
Applicant further argues on page 12 that “To correctly reject claim 1, Wang would have to affirmatively disclose that every video sample itself carries a real SPS. Wang does not contain such a teaching”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure, WANG teaches each GOP can consist of only one video frame (See Par. [0047]). WANG further teaches stored parameter set in a portion of the bitstream (See Par. [0056], [0074], [0075]). WANG further teaches the access unit for Pic9 carries the serving SPS and a flag indicating whether to update the SPS or not (See Par. [0168], [0169]). In other words, each GOP if interpreted to have only one video frame has stored parameter set (i.e. carries the serving SPS) in the access unit. Accordingly, given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure, WANG teaches this limitation as claimed. While WANG does not specifically teach transform mode parameter, Oh is relied upon for teaching the limitation. Therefore, the combination of WANG in view of Oh teaches limitation as claimed in claim 1.
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 10 and 12 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2013/0294500 A1) referred to as WANG hereinafter, in view of Oh et al., (US 2016/0381383 A1) referred to as Oh hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, WANG teaches a method for video processing (Fig. 6), the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream (Fig. 3, encoded video bitstream) comprising at least two video samples (Par. [0056], The portion of the bitstream may be a coded video sequence of the bitstream or a GOP (i.e. at least two video sample) in the coded video sequence of the bitstream. Also Fig. 4, Par. [0047], A video sequence typically includes a series of video frames or pictures. A group of pictures (GOP) (i.e. at least two video sample) generally comprises a series of one or more of the video pictures), the at least two video samples comprising a current video sample and a previous video sample (Par. [0017], FIG. 4, video sequence 100 includes GOP.sub.1 (i.e. previous video sample) and GOP.sub.2 (i.e. current video sample), where pictures Pic.sub.1-Pic.sub.5 are included in GOP.sub.1 and pictures Pic.sub.6-Pic.sub.10 are included in GOP.sub.2), wherein each video sample is formed by only one video frame (Par. [0047], A video sequence typically includes a series of video frames or pictures. A group of pictures (GOP) generally comprises a series of one (i.e. only one video frame) or more of the video pictures), wherein the each video sample carries 1) a serving sequence parameter set (SPS) (Fig. 4, Par. [0074], video encoder 20 may be configured to encode an indication of whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream. The indication may be generated by video encoder 20 in order to notify a video decoder (i.e. for decoding) of whether an update of a stored parameter set can occur. Par. [0075] the indication may comprise a single indication of whether any of the parameter sets for a portion of a bitstream, e.g., a coded video sequence or a GOP (i.e. each video sample), can be updated. The indication may be a syntax element, such as a flag, included in sequence parameter set (SPS) NAL units (i.e. serving SPS) in the bitstream) for decoding the each video sample (Par. [0168] FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating an operation of determining whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream); and 2) a signaling indicating a manner for determining the serving SPS (Par. [0169], Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream from video encoder 20 with one or more coded video sequences including multiple access units (i.e. multiple video samples) representing coded video slices and coded parameter sets. Video decoder 30 decodes a flag defined to indicate (i.e. signaling) whether a parameter set update can occur (i.e. manner for determining) in a portion of the bitstream, such as one of the coded video sequences (130). The flag may be included in a SPS NAL unit included in at least one access unit (i.e. included in the only one video frame) of the coded video sequence See Fig. 5 (since the video sequence 120 is interpreted to be a video sample and it has only one frame, then the access unit will carry the SPS);
determining the serving SPS parameter set for the current video sample (Par. [0169] Video decoder 30 decodes a flag defined to indicate whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of the bitstream, such as one of the coded video sequences (130). In another example, the flag may be included in a SPS NAL unit included in at least one access unit (i.e. current video sample) of the coded video sequence) as being one of following types:
a previous SPS already parsed from the bitstream and used for decoding the previous video sample (Par. [0171] Video decoder 30 then decodes a first parameter set of a particular type with a particular ID value from a parameter set NAL unit included in one of the access units of the coded video sequence (132). When the flag indicates that no parameter set update can occur in the coded video sequence for the particular type of parameter set (NO branch of 134), video decoder 30 activates the first parameter set (i.e. parse and use from previous sample) for the entire portion of the bitstream, i.e., the coded video sequence in this example (Step 136));
a current SPS encapsulated in the current video sample (Par. [0172] When the flag indicates that a parameter set update can occur in the coded video sequence for the particular type of parameter set (YES branch of 134), video decoder 30 activates the first parameter set (Step 138). Video decoder 30 then decodes a second parameter set of the same type and with the same ID value as the first parameter set from a parameter set NAL unit included in one of the access units of the coded video sequence (Step 140)); and
an SPS in a list of candidate SPSs (Par. [0131] In the particular case of SPS parameter sets, when the same SPS ID is referred to by the splicing point picture and by the picture immediately preceding the splicing point, and actually two different SPSs (i.e. list of candidate SPSs) are used, then, in the spliced bitstream, the SPS with the particular SPS ID referred to by the picture immediately preceding the splicing point is effectively updated by the SPS referred to by the splicing point picture.); and
decoding the current video sample (Par. Par. [0168] FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating an operation of determining whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream. The illustrated operation is described as being performed by video decoder 30 from FIG. 3 based on an indication generated by video encoder 20 from FIG. 2) based on the serving SPS for the current video sample and the determined type of the serving SPS (Par. [0168] FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating an operation of determining whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream. Par. [0169], the flag may be included in a SPS NAL unit included in at least one access unit of the coded video sequence. Par [0171] Video decoder 30 then decodes a first parameter set of a particular type with a particular ID value from a parameter set NAL unit included in one of the access units of the coded video sequence (132)).
While WANG teaches in Par. [0088], A sequence parameter set (SPS) includes syntax elements that are expected to remain unchanged for pictures within a sequence of pictures (e.g., picture order, number of reference pictures, and picture size), WANG does not specifically teach the sequence parameter set comprises a transform mode. Therefore, WANG fails to explicitly teach the serving SPS comprises a transform mode.
However, Oh teaches wherein the serving SPS comprises a transform mode (Par. [0024], a transform unit may be comprised of one or more prediction units. The maximum size of the prediction unit is defined in a sequence parameter set (SPS), and the transform unit may be divided into a form of a recursive quad tree (i.e. transform mode). The maximum sizes of the prediction unit in intra prediction and inter prediction are contained the SPS.).
References WANG and Oh are considered to be analogous art because they video coding methods and systems. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the SPS comprises a transform mode as taught by Oh in invention of WANG in order to define the smallest size of coding unit and maximum split depth information, smallest size of transform unit and maximum transform depth information, and the transform depth information different in intra prediction and in inter prediction (See Oh, Par. [0030]).
Regarding Claim 2, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein the SPS comprises at least one of following parameters: a profile (Par. [0102], indication may be a requirement in a profile definition); a level value (Par. [0075], The indication may be a bitstream-level indication); a tier value (Par. [0126], a VPS includes syntax elements that describe overall characteristics of the coded video sequences, including profile, tier, and level information); a bit-depth (Par. [0041], Syntax data associated with a coded bitstream may define a maximum number of times a tree block may be split, referred to as a maximum CU depth); a picture width; a picture height (Par. [0088], A sequence parameter set (SPS) includes syntax elements that are expected to remain unchanged for pictures within a sequence of pictures (e.g., picture order, number of reference pictures, and picture size) (i.e. width and height)); and an entropy coding mode (Par. [0088], syntax elements that may change from picture-to-picture within a sequence (e.g., entropy coding mode, quantization parameters, and bit depth)).
Regarding Claim 3, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises:
extracting from the bitstream, an SPS existence flag indicating whether the current video sample encapsulates the current SPS (Par. [0077], video encoder 20 may be configured to encode an indication for each CRA picture of whether performing random access to a bitstream from the CRA access unit requires fetching (i.e. extracting) of parameter sets from previous access units. The indication may be generated by video encoder 20 in order to notify a video decoder whether parameter sets included in previous access units are needed to perform random access from a particular CRA access unit. Par. [0078] the indication may comprise a syntax element, such as a flag (i.e. existence flag), included in a NAL unit payload, e.g., a SPS, SEI or access unit delimiter NAL unit payload, or a NAL unit header included in an access unit for each CRA picture in the bitstream); and
in response to the SPS existence flag indicating that the current video sample encapsulates the current SPS: extracting from the bitstream, a location information of the current SPS; parsing the bitstream based on the location information, to obtain the current SPS; and determining the current SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0090], when a parameter set of a particular type with a particular parameter set ID value (i.e. location information) has different content than a previous parameter set (in bitstream order or decoding order) of the same type with the same ID value, the particular type of parameter set with that particular ID value may be updated. When a parameter set update occurs, video decoder 30 stores the current parameter set with the given ID value to replace the previous parameter set of the same type and having the same ID value).
Regarding Claim 4, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 3. WANG further teaches further comprising: in response to the SPS existence flag indicating that the current video sample does not encapsulate the current SPS, determining the previous SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0097], the flag may indicate whether any parameter set can be updated in the portion of the bitstream. When the flag is equal to 0, no parameter set shall be updated and video decoder 30 does not perform content comparisons between the parameter sets of the same type and with the same parameter set ID values).
Regarding Claim 5, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein:
the each one video sample encapsulates an SPS (Par. [0169], the flag may be included in a SPS NAL unit included in at least one access unit of the coded video sequence);
the SPS encapsulated in the current video sample is the current SPS (Par. [0056], Video decoder 30 may be configured to decode the indication to determine whether an update of a stored parameter set (i.e. current SPS) can occur without performing a content comparison between the stored parameter set and a new parameter set of the same type with the same identification value); and
determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises:
extracting from the bitstream, a SPS update status flag indicating whether the serving SPS is updated from the previous SPS used for decoding the previous video sample (Par. [0057], the indication may comprise a syntax element, such as a flag, in the bitstream that indicates whether any parameter set of any type can be updated in a portion of a bitstream);
in response to the SPS update status flag indicating the serving SPS being updated from the previous SPS, determining the current SPS as the serving SPS (Par. [0057], when a flag indicates (i.e. update status flag) that a parameter set update can occur, video decoder 30 may automatically activate a new parameter set (i.e. update) and deactivate a stored parameter set of a given type, or may determine whether to update the stored parameter, e.g., by performing a content comparison); and
in response to the SPS update status flag indicating the serving SPS not being updated from the previous SPS, ignoring and skipping parsing the current SPS in the current video sample, and determining the previous SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0097], When the flag is equal to 0, no parameter set shall be updated and video decoder 30 does not perform (i.e. ignoring and skipping) content comparisons between the parameter sets of the same type and with the same parameter set ID values. When the flag is equal to 0, the content comparisons are not necessary because video decoder 30 may operate as if the parameter sets of the same type and with the same ID values have the same content).
Regarding Claim 6, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein the current SPS is encapsulated in the current video sample (Par. [0058], Video decoder 30 may be configured to decode the indication to determine whether parameter sets included in previous access units are needed to perform random access from a particular CRA (clean random access) picture. In some cases, the indication may comprise a syntax element, such as a flag, included in a NAL unit payload included in an access unit for each CRA picture in the bitstream) in response to the current video sample being a start point of a random access request (Par. [0105], This feature is enabled by inserting random access pictures or random access points in regular intervals into the video bitstream. An instantaneous decoder refresh (IDR) picture can be used for random access. An IDR picture starts a coded video sequence and always cleans the decoded picture buffer (DPB), so pictures following the IDR picture in decoding order cannot use pictures decoded prior to the IDR picture for reference. Par. [0147], the indication for an IDR picture or a CRA picture may be signaled using a particular type of SPS (e.g., with a distinct NAL unit type) where the SPS may be the first NAL unit of the access unit or the first NAL unit after the access unit delimiter NAL unit, if present in the access unit).
Regarding Claim 7, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 6. WANG further teaches wherein determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises: in response to the current video sample being a start point of a random access request (Par. [0105], This feature is enabled by inserting random access pictures or random access points in regular intervals into the video bitstream. An instantaneous decoder refresh (IDR) picture can be used for random access. An IDR picture starts a coded video sequence and always cleans the decoded picture buffer (DPB), so pictures following the IDR picture in decoding order cannot use pictures decoded prior to the IDR picture for reference), determining the current SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0142], Issues and proposed techniques related to activating new parameter sets at IDR pictures. Activate a new parameter set of each type associated with the splicing point picture without comparing the parameter set content).
Regarding Claim 8, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches further comprising:
storing the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0094], When the indicator indicates that the parameter set update cannot occur in the portion of the bitstream, video decoder 30 stores and activates only a first parameter set with a particular ID value for the entire portion of the bitstream, Par. [0095] When the indicator indicates that a parameter set update can occur in the portion of the bitstream, video decoder 30 stores and activates a first parameter set with a particular ID value, but may update the stored first parameter set using a second parameter set of the same type with the same ID value to replace the stored first parameter set);
receiving a next video sample following the current video sample from the bitstream (Par. [0169] Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream from video encoder 20 with one or more coded video sequences including multiple access units representing coded video slices and coded parameter sets);
determining that the serving SPS for the next video sample is not updated from the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0097], the flag may indicate whether any parameter set can be updated in the portion of the bitstream, when the flag is equal to 0, no parameter set shall be updated and video decoder 30 does not perform content comparisons between the parameter sets of the same type and with the same parameter set ID values); and
decoding the next video sample based on the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0097], When the flag is equal to 0, the content comparisons are not necessary because video decoder 30 may operate as if the parameter sets of the same type and with the same ID values have the same content).
Regarding Claim 9, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein: before receiving the bitstream comprising the at least one video sample (Par. [0074], video encoder 20 may be configured to encode an indication of whether a parameter set update can occur in a portion of a bitstream. The indication may be generated by video encoder 20 in order to notify a video decoder of whether an update of a stored parameter set can occur), the method further comprises receiving from the bitstream, the list of candidate SPSs (Par. [0092] Bitstreams typically use a few parameter sets of each type, e.g., a few SPSs (i.e. list of candidates)); and determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises: extracting from the bitstream, an SPS identifier associated with the current video sample and identifying an SPS in the list of candidate SPSs; and determining the SPS in the list of candidate SPSs identified by the SPS identifier as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0074], In this way, based on the indication (i.e. extracting from bitstream), the video decoder first determines whether a parameter set update is even allowed in the portion of the bitstream (i.e. identifying the SPS) before determining whether to actually perform an update, e.g., by performing a content comparison (i.e. determining the SPS) between a stored active parameter set and a new parameter set of the same type with the same identification value).
Regarding Claim 10, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein: the current video sample encapsulates the current SPS; the method further comprises determining whether that the current SPS is in the list of candidate SPSs (Par. [0057], the indication may comprise a syntax element, such as a flag, in the bitstream that indicates whether any parameter set of any type can be updated in a portion of a bitstream (i.e. whether current SPS in list). In another case, the indication may comprise several different flags in the bitstream, each of which indicates whether a parameter set of a particular type can be updated in the portion of the bitstream); and determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises: in response to the current SPS not being in the list of candidate SPSs: parsing the current video sample to obtain the current SPS; adding the current SPS to the list of candidate SPSs; and determining the current SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0057], when a flag indicates that a parameter set update can occur (i.e. current SPS not in the list), video decoder 30 may automatically activate a new parameter set and deactivate a stored parameter set of a given type, or may determine whether to update the stored parameter, e.g., by performing a content comparison); and in response to the current SPS being in the list of candidate SPSs: looking up the current SPS from the list of candidate SPSs; and determining the current SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0057], when a flag indicates that a parameter set update cannot occur, video decoder 30 may store and activate a single parameter set of a given type for the entire portion of the bitstream. Upon receiving a subsequent parameter set of the same type and having a same identification value (i.e. current SPS in the list) as the initial parameter set, video decoder 30 can ignore the subsequent parameter set).
Claims 12 – 18 are drawn to the corresponding method claimed in Claims 1 and 3 – 8, respectively. Therefore, apparatus claims 12 – 18 correspond to method claims 1 and 3 – 8, respectively and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above. Claim 12 further recites the device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions (See WANG Par. [0011], the device comprising a memory configured to store video data, and one or more processors configured to code an indicator).
Claims 19 and 20 are drawn to the corresponding method claimed in Claims 1 and 3, respectively. Therefore, non-transitory storage medium claims 19 and 20 correspond to method Claims 1 and 3, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2013/0294500 A1) in view of Oh (US 2016/0381383 A1), and in further view of SAMUELSSON et al., (US 2017/0094276 A1) referred to as SAMUELSSON hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, WANG in view of Oh teaches claim 1. WANG in view of Oh fails to explicitly teach wherein determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises: extracting from the bitstream, an SPS length indicator associated with the current video sample and indicating a length of the current SPS encapsulated in the current video sample; in response to the length of the current SPS indicated by the SPS length indicator being 0, determining the serving SPS to be the previous SPS used for decoding the previous video sample; and in response to the length of the SPS indicated by the SPS length indicator not being 0: extracting from the bitstream, a location information of the current SPS; parsing the bitstream to obtain the current SPS based on the location information; and determining the current SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample.
However, SAMUELSSON teaches wherein determining the serving SPS for the current video sample comprises:
extracting from the bitstream, an SPS length indicator associated with the current video sample and indicating a length of the current SPS encapsulated in the current video sample (Par. [0006], The total length of a parameter set is known by the decoder through the syntax element NumBytesInRBSP, typically provided by the system layer, so the decoder will have no problems in detecting where the extension field end);
in response to the length of the current SPS indicated by the SPS length indicator being 0, determining the serving SPS to be the previous SPS used for decoding the previous video sample (Par. [0178], No extension is signaled by signaling a zero extension length); and
in response to the length of the SPS indicated by the SPS length indicator not being 0:
extracting from the bitstream, a location information of the current SPS (Par. [0074], A sequence parameter set (SPS) comprises control information valid for an entire video sequence or stream. HEVC also uses so called a Video Parameter Set (VPS). In such a case, the length indicator 23 could be present (i.e. extracted) in any of these parameter sets, such as in the APS, VPS, PPS or SPS applicable to the present slice. In such a case, the slice header 21 preferably comprises a parameter set identifier 26 enabling identification of the relevant parameter set that carries the length indicator 23. The decoder could then use this parameter set identifier 26 in order to identify the correct parameter set (i.e. location information) and then parse the length indicator 23 from the identified parameter set (i.e. not 0). The parameter set identifier 26 could directly identify the parameter set, such as an APS identifier or a PPS identifier. In an alternative approach the parameter set identifier 26 identifies a parameter set that in turn comprises another parameter set identifier to another parameter set that carries the length indicator 23. For instance, the slice header 21 could comprise a PPS identifier to a PPS that is applicable to the present slice. This PPS may in turn comprise an SPS identifier to an SPS that is applicable to the PPS and the present slice and where this SPS comprises the length indicator 23);
parsing the bitstream to obtain the current SPS based on the location information (Par. [0135] (c) The decoder parses and decodes the slice data 25 starting with the first bit that follows after the parsing of slice_header_extension_length number of bits (at the bit position where the parsing in step b ended); and
determining the current SPS as the serving SPS for the current video sample (Par. [0074], the length indicator 23 could be present in any of these parameter sets, such as in the APS, VPS, PPS or SPS applicable to the present slice).
References WANG, Oh and SAMUELSSON are considered to be analogous art because they video coding methods and systems. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify a SPS length indicator as taught by SAMUELSSON in inventions of WANG and Oh. This modification would provide more flexibility by including the length indictor directly in the slice headers which allows for the size or length of the extension field to differ between different slices without referring to a parameter set in order to parse the length indicator (See SAMUELSSON, Par. [0076]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425