Amendments submitted 4/28/25 have been entered.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by Hoek US 2018/0162266 and alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hoek in view of Weber US 11,117,510.
In regard to claim 1, Hoek teaches a light bar configured to receive a light source 100, the light bar having a first fastener receiving channel and a second fastener receiving channel capable of receiving fasteners to secure the light bar to a projector (as shown in fig. 3), a bracket assembly 12 configured to receive the light bar, a gap being defined by a first end and a second end of the bracket assembly through which light is configured to be emitted by the light source (see fig. 3) and wherein the gap is extending continuously along an entire length of the bracket assembly (note: a gap is formed by sides of the base member 12 thru which light passes).
Regarding fasteners for first fastener receiving channel and a second fastener receiving channel, these elements are shown in fig. 3 but not expressly labelled. Alternatively, Weber provides fasteners F for connecting the light bar to a projector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide fasteners in the channels of Hoek such as taught by Weber. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include fasteners in the channels shown by Hoek in order to securely mount the device in its intended location.
In regard to claim 2, Hoek teaches the bracket assembly includes a first bracket member and a second bracket member, the first bracket member including a first fastener opening and the second bracket member including a second fastener opening, the first and second fastener openings being configured to receive a first fastener 16 to secure the second bracket member to the first bracket member.
In regard to claim 3, Hoek teaches the first bracket member 12 includes a first portion configured to receive the first fastener receiving channel (see corner portion).
In regard to claim 4, Hoek teaches, wherein the second bracket member includes a second portion configured to receive the second fastener receiving channel (see 72).
In regard to claim 5, Hoek teaches wherein the first bracket member includes a third fastener opening configured to receive a second fastener to secure the bracket assembly to a vehicle body structure of the vehicle (see fastener 16 engaging 12 and 20).
In regard to claim 6, Hoek teaches the first end of the bracket assembly is an outboard-most end of the first bracket member 12, an inner surface of the first end of the bracket assembly being angled downwardly and in an inboard direction of the vehicle (see fig. 3)
In regard to claim 8, Hoek teaches the gap between the first and second ends of the bracket assembly extends in a lateral direction of the vehicle (see gap formed by top right and bottom left of bracket 12).
In regard to claim 9, Hoek teaches a first face defined by an inboard-most end of the first bracket member is substantially flush with a second fac
In regard to claim 10, Hoek teaches the first portion of the first bracket member is disposed in a vehicle outboard direction of the second portion of the second bracket member (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 11, Hoek teaches first and second longitudinal axes of the first and second fastener openings are substantially parallel to a third longitudinal axis of the third fastener opening (fig. 3).
In regard to claim 12, Hoek teaches the bracket assembly 12 does not extend around an entirety of the outer surface of the light bar.
Claim(s) 13-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoek in view of Weber.
In regard to claim 13, Hoek teaches a vehicle body structure; and a light assembly connected to the vehicle body structure, the light assembly including a light bar configured to receive a light source 100, the light bar having a first fastener receiving channel and a second fastener receiving channel capable of receiving fasteners to secure the light bar to a projector (as shown in fig. 3), a bracket assembly 12 configured to receive the light bar, a gap being defined by a first end and a second end of the bracket assembly through which light is configured to be emitted by the light source (see fig. 3,note: a gap is formed by sides of the base member 12 thru which light passes).
Hoek lacks the teaching of a projector connected to the light bar, the projector including a second light source configured to emit light;
Weber teaches a light bar with a projector 30 attached to a light bar 28.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a projector in Hoek such as taught by Weber. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide a projector in order to enhance the visual display and aesthetic appeal of the lighting device.
and a bracket assembly connected to the light bar, a gap being defined by a first end and a second end of the bracket assembly through which the light is configured to be emitted by the first light source.
In regard to claim 14, Hoek teaches the bracket assembly includes a first bracket member and a second bracket member, the first bracket member including a first fastener opening and the second bracket member including a second fastener opening, the first and second fastener openings being configured to receive a first fastener 16 to secure the second bracket member to the first bracket member.
In regard to claim 15, Hoek and Weber provide for the light bar including a first fastener receiving channel and a second fastener receiving channel configured to receive second and third fasteners to secure the light bar to a projector; the first bracket member includes a first portion configured to receive the first fastener receiving channel; and the second bracket member includes a second portion configured to receive the second fastener receiving channel (see Hoek fig. 3 and Weber fig. 4) .
In regard to claim 16, Hoek provides for the first end of the bracket assembly is an outboard-most end of the first bracket member, an inner surface of the first end of the bracket assembly being angled downwardly and in an inboard direction of the vehicle (see 12 in Hoek fig. 3).
In regard to claim 18, Hoek provides for the gap between the first and second ends of the bracket assembly 12 extends in a lateral direction of the vehicle.
In regard to claim 19, Hoek provides for the first portion of the first bracket member is disposed in a vehicle outboard direction of the second portion of the second bracket member (Hoek fig. 3).
In regard to claim 20, Hoek teaches the bracket assembly 12 does not extend around an entirety of the outer surface of the light bar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has failed to distinguish the invention over the prior art of record. It is noted that a gap exists in Hoek’s bracket assembly (between sides of base elements 12). The applicant is respectfully reminded that, while it might be evident, by comparing the patented structure of prior art with the instant specification and drawings, that the claimed invention is different from the Prior Art made of record, that is not the test for patentability. Rather, it is the language of the claims what defines the meets and bounds of the instant invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim the prior art fails to show or fairly suggest in combination the second end of the bracket assembly being an outboard-most end of the second bracket member, an inner surface of the second end of the bracket assembly being angled downwardly and in an outboard direction of the vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20110211362, US 8235568, US 6416209, US 6866406 teach related lighting assemblies for vehicles.
/JULIE A BANNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875