DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites a “first portion” and a “second portion.” These appear to correspond to the portions defined in the last indent of claim 1 (their positions and thickness seem to be the same), but this is not clear. Does Applicant intend to define additional portions?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker (WO 2021/021162).
Regarding claim 1, Parker discloses a spreader (126 including 132 for instance) for a passenger seat, the spreader comprising a body (main portions) comprising a forward end and an aft end (toward and front and rear, respectively, of a seat cushion for instance), wherein the body defines a first roller support rail (of 132) defined on a first side of the body between the forward end and the aft end (see Figure 1), the first roller support rail being monolithic with the body (the connection is viewed as “monolithic” at least as they form a single structure), the body comprises a non-uniform thickness along a length of the body between the forward end and the aft end (see Figures 2, which shows sections of differing thickness), the body further defines a forward aperture for receiving a forward base frame tube for the passenger seat and an after aperture for receiving an aft base frame tube (forward and aft apertures for receiving tubes 110; see at least Figure 1) for the passenger seat; the first roller support rail comprises a rail surface recessed into the body relative to a side surface of the body (the recess forming 134 is arranged such), and the first roller support rail comprises a receiving area with an opening defined in a top surface of the body (151 and/or 153 form receiving areas with openings arranged in this manner). Parker further at least generally discloses a second roller support rail (see paragraphs 34-36 for instance) but may not disclose it on the same spreader body or clearly disclose a “monolithic” structure in the manner Applicant intends. Regarding the second roller support rail, duplication and rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide rails in Parker’s device as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and convenience for various users. Regarding the structure, making components integral requires only routine skill in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the rail formed as claimed based on normal variation to improve structural characteristics, manufacture, or safety for various users. Regarding the last indent of the claim, Parker discloses differing thickness as explained above as well as the roller support rail apparently defining a maximum thickness but may not disclose the specific thickness locations as claimed. Changes in size and shape of components require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide thicknesses in Parker’s device as claimed based on normal variation to improve structural characteristics, manufacture, or safety for various users.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Parker, modified as described, discloses the body comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, wherein the upper portion is configured to support an armrest for the passenger seat (armrest 106 is supported in this manner at least indirectly), and wherein the roller support rails are defined on the lower portion of the body, wherein the lower portion comprises a top side and a bottom side, and wherein the roller support rails are defined at the top side (see figures; additional rails would match the arrangement of those shown).
Regarding claim 8, Parker further discloses the body defines an aperture between the forward aperture and the aft aperture (see Figure 1); the first roller support rail and the second roller support rail are each positioned on opposing sides of the body and extend longitudinally between the forward aperture and the aft aperture (at least generally and/or in part as modified above); the body further comprises an upper portion configured to support an armrest and a lower portion in which the first roller support rail and the second roller support rail are defined (see again Figure 1; armrest 106 is supported in this manner at least indirectly); and the body includes a first portion, forward of the roller support rails, having a thickness less than a second portion, aft of the roller support rails, and wherein the second portion includes the roller support rails (as modified above at least as best understood).
Regarding claim 11, Parker further discloses the at least one roller support rail is a structural reinforcement of a main load path on the spreader when the spreader is provided with the passenger seat (it would operate as such).
Regarding claim 13, Parker further discloses the receiving area of the support rails is elongated in a forward and aft direction, and wherein an end of the receiving area is between the opening and the aft end of the body (the area could be defined in such manner).
Regarding claim 15, Parker renders obvious a passenger seat comprising the spreader of claim 1 and an armrest (106) attached to the spreader (at least indirectly). Parker may not explicitly disclose a pivotable connection. Such are old and well-known in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide such an armrest connection in Parker’s device to improve comfort and convenience for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Parker is non-analogous art and that Parker does not disclose dimensions as claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that Parker is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Parker is in the field of the inventor’s endeavor (i.e. providing seat supports for aircraft) and is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem (i.e. providing a robust arrangement for seat movement). Moreover, it is noted that contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Parker’s arrangement is part of a spreader as in the invention. Parker’s component 126 is referred to as a seat frame spreader (see at least paragraph 23).
Regarding the assertion that Parker does not disclose the claimed dimensions, this has been acknowledged in the rejection. Parker does clearly show a non-uniform thickness (if not explicit recitation of dimensions) much as in the invention as explained in the rejection. Moreover, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, the rejection provides an articulated reason for modifying the device as suggested. That is, one of ordinary skill would readily understand that making components integral or altering their size and shape can improve structural characteristics, manufacture, or safety, all of which are beneficial for various users.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636