DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed 23 June 2026 has been received and considered for examination. Claims 1-14 are presently pending and being examined herein.
3. All rejections from the previous Office action are maintained, restated for convenience below with arguments following.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) in view of Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1).
6. Regarding claim 1, Lichtblau discloses a control device (controller, pars 0011-0013 and 0016-0018) for controlling a lighting system (controller provides a control signal to…drive UVC lamps 54, par 0017) with a sanitizing function (ultraviolet radiation sanitation system, Abstract, par 0004), comprising:
a printed circuit board (microprocessor based controller typically contained on a control board, par 0012) connectable to at least one lamp of the lighting system (controller provides a control signal to…drive UVC lamps 54, par 0017) provided with at least one sanitizing source (one or more UVC lamps generate sanitizing radiation, par 0004);
at least one presence sensor (one or more motion detectors…detected motion which would occur by the presence of a person, par 0004) connected to the board by a communication system (motion detector 24 provides signals to controller 44, par 0017); and
at least one amperometric sensor (current sensor 46, pars 0017-0018) configured to measure a respective current in the at least one sanitizing source (controller 44 monitors the current to each of the electronic ballasts, as sensed by current sensor 46, pars 0018 and 0021-0022);
wherein the printed circuit board is configured to disable the at least one sanitizing source (controller will turn off the UVC lamps, par 0018) when the at least one presence sensor detects a presence of one or more users (one or more motion detectors are provided to shut off the system in the presence of detected motion which would occur by the presence of a person, pars 0004 and 0016).
7. Lichtblau teaches undercurrent control, as monitored current is compared by the controller with a reference i.e. threshold value and if below the reference value, the controller shuts down the system (par 0021). Accordingly, the monitored current must be greater than or equal to the reference value for the sanitizing source to remain on. Lichtblau also considers error conditions (controller shuts down the system and causes indication of an error condition on display 18 and/or annunciator 20, par 0021) but defines such a malfunction in terms of undercurrent. As such, Lichtblau does not teach wherein the printed circuit board is configured to reduce or disable the at least one sanitizing source when a malfunction is detected in the communication system, the malfunction being a loss of communication between the printed circuit board and the at least one presence sensor, and the at least one amperometric sensor detects a current in the at least one sanitizing source greater than the threshold value.
8. Tenhumberg teaches an analogous system that controls ultraviolet light based on the function of a presence sensor (Abstract, pars 0075-0086). The controller is configured to disable the light source upon determining an error condition (par 0100), the error condition being exemplified as when the sensor does not detect an emulator signal from a correct functioning presence sensor (pars 0098-0100; PIR sensor, par 0028), reading upon the claimed malfunction as a loss of signal communication with the emulator part of the presence sensor. This error condition shutdown is advantageous because it eliminates UV exposure risk in the event of a malfunctioning presence sensor (pars 0094-0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further configure the control device of Lichtblau when the current in the at least one sanitizing source is greater than the threshold value i.e. has not been shut down as taught by Lichtblau, to disable the sanitizing source when a loss of communication is detected between the printed circuit board and the at least one presence sensor as taught by Tenhumberg. Doing so would predictably provide the same benefit of eliminating UV exposure risk in the event of a malfunctioning presence sensor by disabling the UV source when such a malfunction is detected and the monitored current exceeds the threshold, i.e., when the UV source is on per the control arrangement of Lichtblau (par 0021).
9. Regarding claim 2, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 1, comprising at least one visual signaling LED (motion sensors can be associated with one or more LEDs 21 on the control panel to usually indicate when motion has been detected, Lichtblau par 0016) and/or a sound signal (audio alarm can also be provided by annunciator 20, Lichtblau par 0016);
and wherein the printed circuit board is configured to activate the at least one visual signaling LED and/or the sound signal (controller 44…provides visual and audio signals to indicate the operating conditions of the system, Lichtblau par 0022) when the at least one sanitizing source is active (visual and/or audible indications can be provided by LED 21 and annunciator 20 to warn of a low battery condition, Lichtblau par 0020; during operation, Lichtblau pars 0021-0022).
10. Regarding claim 4, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board comprises: a supply input for connection to a power supply (batteries 40 and 42 provide DC power to a control processor, Lichtblau par 0017); a sensor input connected to the presence sensor (motion detector 24 provides signals i.e. a sensor input to controller 44, Lichtblau par 0017); an outer sensors input for connection to further sensors (embodiments can use a single motion sensor or multiple ones, Lichtblau par 0016); a current measurement input for measuring the current in the sanitizing source (microprocessor includes an analog to digital converter which monitors the current to the ballasts, Lichtblau par 0022); a transformer input for connection to an amperometric transformer (controller provides a control signal to DC to DC converter 50, Lichtblau par 0017) for measuring the primary current in a driver (current from the converter is monitored, Lichtblau par 0021; ballasts are driven by direct current from the batteries and converter, Lichtblau par 0021).
11. Regarding claim 6, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein the communication system is a wireless communication system communicating with a remote device (communication between the remote control 34 and the controller can be wireless, Lichtblau par 0013), on which a dedicated application is loaded providing a user interface with the control device (remote control typically contains the same controls and indicators as on the control panel 16, Lichtblau par 0013; control panel 16 includes a display, an error message indicator, and a control switch, Lichtblau par 0012).
12. Regarding claim 7, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is configured (the controller 44 governs…control signals from the start switch and motion detectors, Lichtblau par 0022) to switch on the at least one sanitizing source following a switch-on command (activation of the system by pushing the start switch 22, Lichtblau par 0017) sent by a user via a remote device (remote control typically contains the same controls and indicators as on the control panel, Lichtblau par 0013; control panel 16 includes start switch 22, Lichtblau FIG. 1A) or a switch (control switch…actuated to start a decontamination cycle, Lichtblau par 0012), only if no users are detected by the at least one presence sensor (if the system is activated when a person is present, the system, in response to a signal from one or more of the motion detectors, will shut down, Lichtblau par 0016).
13. Regarding claim 10, Lichtblau teaches a control method (controller 44 with operating steps listed in pars 0011-0013, 0016-0018, 0020-0022) for controlling a lighting system (controller provides a control signal to…drive UVC lamps 54, par 0017) with a sanitizing function (ultraviolet radiation sanitation system, Abstract, par 0004) having at least one lamp (one or more UVC lamps on ballasts, par 0010-0011) provided with at least one sanitizing source (typically low pressure high output mercury or amalgam UVC generating lamps, par 0010); the control method comprising steps of:
detecting a presence of at least one user in an environment in which the lighting system is installed by means of at least one presence sensor (one or more motion detectors…detected motion which would occur by the presence of a person, par 0004) connected via a communication system (motion detector 24 provides signals to controller 44, par 0017) to a control device (motion detector 24 provides signals to controller 44, par 0017);
monitoring, using at least one amperometric sensor (current sensor 46, pars 0017-0018), a current in the at least one sanitizing source (monitors current to each of the ballasts, par 0018; ballasts connected to lamps, par 0011);
disabling the at least one sanitizing source (controller will turn off the UVC lamps, par 0018) when the at least one presence sensor detects the presence of the at least one user (one or more motion detectors are provided to shut off the system in the presence of detected motion which would occur by the presence of a person, par 0004);
Lichtblau teaches undercurrent control, as monitored current is compared by the controller with a reference i.e. threshold value and if below the reference value, the controller shuts down the system (par 0021). Accordingly, the monitored current must be greater than or equal to the reference value for the sanitizing source to remain on. Lichtblau also considers error conditions (controller shuts down the system and causes indication of an error condition on display 18 and/or annunciator 20, par 0021) but defines such a malfunction in terms of undercurrent. As such, Lichtblau does not teach reducing or disabling the at least one sanitizing source when a malfunction is detected in the communication system, the malfunction being a loss of communication between the printed circuit board and the at least one presence sensor, and the at least one amperometric sensor detects a current in the at least one sanitizing source greater than the threshold value.
Tenhumberg teaches an analogous system and method of controlling ultraviolet light based on the function of a presence sensor (Abstract, pars 0075-0086). The controller is configured to disable the light source upon determining an error condition (par 0100), the error condition being exemplified as when the sensor does not detect an emulator signal from a correct functioning presence sensor (pars 0098-0100; PIR sensor, par 0028), reading upon the claimed malfunction as a loss of signal communication with the emulator part of the presence sensor. This error condition shutdown is advantageous because it eliminates UV exposure risk in the event of a malfunctioning presence sensor (pars 0094-0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include within the control method of Lichtblau when the current in the at least one sanitizing source is greater than the threshold value i.e. has not been shut down as taught by Lichtblau, disabling the sanitizing source when a loss of communication is detected between the printed circuit board and the at least one presence sensor as taught by Tenhumberg. Doing so would predictably provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, the same benefit of eliminating UV exposure risk in the event of a malfunctioning presence sensor by disabling the UV source when such a malfunction is detected and the monitored current exceeds the threshold, i.e., when the UV source is on per the control arrangement of Lichtblau (par 0021). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
14. Regarding claim 11, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control method according to claim 10, further comprising a step of emitting a luminous and/or sound alarm (visual and/or audible indications can be provided by LED 21 and annunciator 20 to warn of a low battery condition, Lichtblau par 0020) when the at least one sanitizing source is active (controller monitors operating parameters which include voltage of each battery, and provides visual and audio signals, Lichtblau par 0022).
15. Regarding claim 13, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control method according to claim 10, wherein the control device switches on the at least one sanitizing source (the controller 44 governs…control signals from the start switch and motion detectors, Lichtblau par 0022) following a switch-on command (activation of the system by pushing the start switch 22, Lichtblau par 0017) sent by a user via a remote device (user remote control typically contains the same controls and indicators as on the control panel, Lichtblau par 0013; control panel 16 includes start switch 22, Lichtblau FIG. 1A) or a switch (control switch…actuated to start a decontamination cycle, Lichtblau par 0012), only if no users are detected by the at least one presence sensor (if the system is activated when a person is present, the system, in response to a signal from one or more of the motion detectors, will shut down, Lichtblau par 0016).
16. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) and Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramanand et al (US 20200161069 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is configured to measure a current in the at least one sanitizing source (controller 44 monitors the current to each of the electronic ballasts to insure that all of the lamps are operating properly, Lichtblau par 0018) by means of the at least one amperometric sensor (current sensor 46, Lichtblau pars 0017-0018). Lichtblau teaches undercurrent protection using the threshold discussed above for claim 1, thus Lichtblau does not teach if the measured current is lower than the threshold value, the control device does not operate on the sanitizing source nor if the measured current is higher than the threshold value, the control device sends a command for reducing or switching off the power of that sanitizing source to bring the sanitizing source back to a pre-sanitization operation mode nor if the measured current still remains higher than the threshold value, the control device cuts off the power to the sanitizing source.
Ramanand teaches an analogous control system for pulsed ultraviolet devices such as UV lamps (Abstract, pars 0002 and 0040-0041) including a current sensor electrically coupled to the circuit breaker and the pulse generator (par 0079) wherein the controller may send digital signals (par 0073) i.e., commands to adjust the input current to being below a cut-off input current i.e., a pre-sanitization operating state or starting level (pars 0044 and 0070) or interrupt the input current upon exceeding a cut-off setting (par 0079). This mechanism is taught in addition to a low current threshold such that the lighting device is operational between the two thresholds (pars 0081 and 0083).
Ramanand teaches if the measured current is lower than the threshold value, the control device does not operate on the sanitizing source (currents below the cut-off current do not trip to turn off the light, Ramanand pars 0081-0082); if the measured current is higher than the threshold value, the control device sends a command for reducing or switching off the power of that sanitizing source (configure the pulsed-output signal 212 to adjust the input current for being below a cut-off input current, Ramanand pars 0044 and 0070) to bring the sanitizing source back to a pre-sanitization operation mode (input current is being held below the cut-off current for the operational period, Ramanand par 0089); and if the measured current still remains higher than the threshold value, the control device cuts off the power to the sanitizing source (exceed the cut-off current and trip the circuit breaker 204, Ramanand par 0076). Ramanand teaches that this circuit breaking feature is for electrical safety (par 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further configure the control device of Lichtblau to execute the control sequences taught above by Ramanand, namely if the measured current is lower than the threshold value, the control device does not operate on the sanitizing source; if the measured current is higher than the threshold value, the control device sends a command for reducing or switching off the power of that sanitizing source to bring the sanitizing source back to a pre-sanitization operation mode; and if the measured current still remains higher than the threshold value, the control device cuts off the power to the sanitizing source, the threshold value representing a boundary between a safe current value and a high current value as taught by Ramanand. Doing so would predictably provide the same circuit breaking capability taught by Ramanand as beneficial for electrical safety, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
17. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) and Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Brien et al (US 20180286198 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein controller 44 i.e., the printed circuit board has electrical and/or signal connections to the display (Lichtblau FIG. 2, display 18) with the visual signaling LED (one or more LEDs 21 on the control panel, Lichtblau par 0016), the sound signal (Lichtblau FIG. 2, annunciator 20), the DC-DC converter to the ballasts i.e., a driver of the sanitizing source (Lichtblau FIG. 2), and various other components. The combination does not teach that these connections would comprise relay contact outputs.
O’Brien teaches an occupancy sensor-driven lighting control system (Title, Abstract) comprising a first relay contact output for connection to the at least one visual signaling LED (lighting relay K1, par 0042; relay switch comprises two contacts to activate LED 134 to emit light, par 0038), a second relay contact output for connection to the sound signal (isolation relay K2 activates an alarm signal, par 0043); a third relay contact output (isolation relay K2, par 0043; relay comprises first and second contact, par 0031); a fourth relay contact output for connection in series to a driver of the at least one sanitizing source (lighting relay K1 attaches light fixture to AC power, par 0042). O’Brien teaches that the use of relays enables control of a higher voltage source using a lower DC control voltage (par 0031)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include as the connections to the visual signaling LED, the sound annunciator, the driver of the sanitizing source, and other outputs in the control device of modified Lichtblau relay contact outputs as taught by O’Brien. Doing so would predictably enable the controller to effectively switch the components on or off using low voltage control signals, as the relays would function in the same manner taught by O’Brien (par 0049). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Examiner notes that the limitation “to indicate sanitization in progress” describes an intended use of the relay, thus carries no patentable weight without further structural definition of this output. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, see MPEP 2114(II). Further, the use of four relay contacts in itself does not carry patentable weight, as mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
18. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) and Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Baarman (US 20210052757 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control device according to claim 7, wherein the board is configured to switch on the at least one sanitizing source with respect to various inputs including motion and current sensors (Lichtblau par 0017, FIG. 2). Lichtblau further teaches that upon this consent to activate the system, lamps are turned on for a predetermined period of time governed by a timer within the processor (Lichtblau par 0017). The combination does not teach that the board is configured to provide this consent after a preset exit time.
Baarman teaches an ultraviolet disinfection and control system (Abstract, par 0072) used to disinfect by illuminating surfaces that humans frequently touch (FIGS. 12-13) wherein after a user touch has been terminated the system will wait a reasonable time to assure the user is clear and then restart the requisite UV-C dose (pars 0109 and 0111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device configuration of modified Lichtblau to provide consent to activate the UV source after a preset exit time as taught by Baarman. Doing so would predictably provide the same benefit of giving the user time to vacate the exposure area, enabling protection of the user from harmful UV radiation (Baarman pars 0109 and 0111).
19. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) and Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winslow et al (US 20200206373 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches a lighting system (ultraviolet radiation sanitation system, Lichtblau Abstract, par 0004) comprising at least one UV source (UVC lamps, Lichtblau pars 0004 and 0010-0011) and a control device connected to said sources (microprocessor based controller 44, Lichtblau par 0012, FIG. 2) characterized in that the control device is a control device according to claim 1, see above. The combination does not teach that the lighting source would comprise at least one light source emitting substantially white visible light or at least one violet light source with sanitizing capability.
Winslow teaches a disinfecting light source and associated control system (Abstract) that adjust illumination parameters based on sensors including a motion sensor (pars 0043-0044). Winslow teaches that a UV light, violet light, or white light comprising a certain proportion of disinfecting light may be used to treat a room by illumination (par 0031), and that disinfecting light may be used alone or in combination with white light to safely disinfect a variety of listed appliances (par 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the UVC lamps in the control device of modified Lichtblau with a substantially white visible light, a violet source, and a UV lamp as taught by Winslow. Doing so would predictably enable controlled emission of a wider range of disinfecting wavelengths, providing the same safe disinfection capability as taught by Winslow (pars 0030-0032). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
20. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) and Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ramanand et al (US 20200161069 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control method according to claim 10, further comprising steps of: measuring the respective current in the corresponding sanitizing source (controller 44 monitors the current to each of the electronic ballasts to insure that all of the lamps are operating properly, Lichtblau par 0018) by means of the respective amperometric sensor (current sensor 46, Lichtblau pars 0017-0018). Lichtblau teaches undercurrent protection using the threshold discussed above for claim 10, thus Lichtblau does not teach the sequence wherein if the measured current is lower than the threshold value, an operation of the at least one sanitizing source is not changed; if the measured current is higher than the threshold value, a command for reducing or switching off power of the at least one sanitizing source is sent to bring the sanitizing source back to a pre-sanitization operation mode; and if the measured current still remains higher than the threshold value, the power to the at least one sanitizing source is cut off.
Ramanand teaches an analogous control system/method for operating pulsed ultraviolet devices such as UV lamps (Abstract, pars 0002 and 0040-0041) including a current sensor electrically coupled to the circuit breaker and the pulse generator (par 0079) wherein the controller may send digital signals (par 0073) i.e., commands to adjust the input current to being below a cut-off input current i.e., a pre-sanitization operating state or starting level (pars 0044 and 0070) or interrupt the input current upon exceeding a cut-off setting (par 0079). This mechanism is taught in addition to a low current threshold such that the lighting device is operational between the two thresholds (pars 0081 and 0083).
Ramanand teaches if the measured current is lower than the threshold value, the control device does not operate on the sanitizing source (currents below the cut-off current do not trip to turn off the light, Ramanand pars 0081-0082); if the measured current is higher than the threshold value, the control device sends a command for reducing or switching off the power of that sanitizing source (configure the pulsed-output signal 212 to adjust the input current for being below a cut-off input current, Ramanand pars 0044 and 0070) to bring the sanitizing source back to a pre-sanitization operation mode (input current is being held below the cut-off current for the operational period, Ramanand par 0089); and if the measured current still remains higher than the threshold value, the control device cuts off the power to the sanitizing source (exceed the cut-off current and trip the circuit breaker 204, Ramanand par 0076). Ramanand teaches that this circuit breaking feature is for electrical safety (par 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include within the control method of modified Lichtblau an execution of the control sequences taught above by Ramanand, namely if the measured current is lower than the threshold value, an operation of the at least one sanitizing source is not changed; if the measured current is higher than the threshold value, a command for reducing or switching off power of the at least one sanitizing source is sent to bring the sanitizing source back to a pre-sanitization operation mode; and if the measured current still remains higher than the threshold value, the power to the at least one sanitizing source is cut off, the threshold value representing a boundary between a safe current value and a high current value as taught by Ramanand. Doing so would predictably provide the same circuit breaking capability taught by Ramanand as beneficial for electrical safety, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
21. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichtblau (US 20160339133 A1) and Tenhumberg (US 20240009339 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Baarman (US 20210052757 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lichtblau as modified by Tenhumberg teaches the control method according to claim 13, wherein the switching on of the at least one sanitizing source is provided by the controller with respect to various inputs including motion and current sensors (Lichtblau par 0017, FIG. 2, 44). Lichtblau further teaches that upon this consent to activate the system, lamps are turned on for a predetermined period of time governed by a timer within the processor (Lichtblau par 0017). The combination does not teach that this consent would be provided after a preset exit time.
Baarman teaches an ultraviolet disinfection and control system (Abstract, par 0072) used to disinfect by illuminating surfaces that humans frequently touch (FIGS. 12-13) wherein after a user touch has been terminated the system will wait a reasonable time to assure the user is clear and then resume or start the requisite UV-C dose (pars 0109 and 0111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device configuration of Lichtblau to provide consent to activate the UV source after a preset exit time as taught by Baarman. Doing so would predictably provide the same benefit of giving the user time to vacate the exposure area, enabling protection of the user from harmful UV radiation (Baarman pars 0109 and 0111).
Response to Arguments
22. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 23 June 2026 pages 6-14, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts regarding independent claims 1 and 10 that Tenhumberg merely teaches a separate emulator signal that validates the functioning of a presence sensor and thus does not teach the claimed malfunction condition in the communication system. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Present claim 1 defines the communication system as a signal connection means between the printed circuit board and the presence sensor, and defines the malfunction as “a loss of communication between the printed circuit board and the at least one presence sensor”. The teaching of Tenhumberg relied upon for the rejection involves an analogous controller to the printed circuit board of Lichtblau determining an error condition in a presence sensor by failing to verify an emulator signal (pars 0098 and 0100), similarly responding to this error condition by disabling the ultraviolet light source (par 0100). The controller controls the emulator device to transmit the emulator signal (par 0098), thus a failure of the presence sensor to receive the emulator signal represents a loss of signal communication in the communication loop between the controller and the presence sensor. Further, if for the sake of argument Applicant wishes to define the communication system more narrowly as a one-way signal communication from the presence sensor to the printed circuit board, a failure of the presence sensor of Tenhumberg to communicate the receipt of the emulator signal would trigger the exact same response, as correct functioning would not be verified (par 0098) and the same error signal would be generated to disable the light source (par 0100). Whether the failure occurs in signal transmission from the controller to the presence sensor via the emulator device or in subsequent communication from the presence sensor back to the controller, the response from the system of Tenhumberg is the same, to shut the ultraviolet light off for safety (pars 0095 and 0098).
In response to applicant’s argument that incorporating Tenhumberg into Lichtblau would not be a simple substitution and therefore would not be obvious, the Examiner clarifies that it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). A person having ordinary skill in the art could readily have envisioned a combination of the base device of Lichtblau with the emulator device and necessary control connections to run the emulator device of Tenhumberg, with each element merely performing the same function as it does separately, and would have recognized that the combination would predictably provide the same beneficial safety shutdown in the event of malfunctioning communication with the presence sensor.
23. Regarding Applicant’s arguments about alleged deficiencies of Lichtblau with respect to claims 1 and 10, see pages 9-12 of Remarks, namely that Lichtblau only teaches undercurrent protection and thus does not teach the claimed shutoff condition when the measured current is above a threshold. While Examiner understands the difference between Applicant’s overcurrent protection mechanism and the operation of Lichtblau, claim 1 requires only that the printed circuit board be configured to disable/reduce the sanitizing source when two conditions are met: the malfunction is detected and the amperometric sensor detects a current greater than the threshold value. Lichtblau defines a threshold value in the power/current as the lower operating limit (par 0021); therefore, disabling the sanitizing source would entail reducing a power below this threshold value, and normal operation would satisfy the condition of a current greater than the threshold value. As discussed above, modification in view of Tenhumberg would provide the malfunction response to fully read upon the claim. The method of claim 10 requires the same two conditions and is rejected by the same logic. Examiner notes that the overcurrent shutdown mechanism argued by Applicant is addressed in dependent claims 3 and 12, as the teachings of Ramanand resolve the alleged deficiencies by teaching an analogous UV lighting device with both an overcurrent shutoff and a lower acceptable current threshold (Ramanand par 0076), which as combined with the device of Lichtblau as previously modified by Tenhumberg would still satisfy the two conditions for shutdown, since the threshold is still defined as a safe current level below overcurrent (as suggested by Ramanand e.g., par 0076) and above undercurrent (as mandated by Lichtblau, par 0021).
Conclusion
24. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758