DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 02/11/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior rejections to claims 11-15 and 17-20 under 35 USC § 112. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 4-15, and 17-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-11, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed et al. (US 2020/0187133), hereinafter "Syed" in view of Al-Mufti et al. (US 2022/0346030), hereinafter “Al-Mufti”.
Regarding claim 1, Syed teaches:
A computer-implemented method for managing output power of one or more radio units serving a private communications network (see Syed, Fig. 10D, par. [0135], lines 9-11: The SAS manages the CBSD power transmit levels so as to efficiently utilize the available frequency spectrum while minimizing interference between various devices), the method comprising:
obtaining, by an output power management device, network status including output power status of the one or more radio units and spectrum information (see Syed, par. [0043], lines 24-31: Among the Spectrum Access System functions as defined in the Amendment of the Commission's Rules with Regard to Commercial Operations in the 3550-3650 MHz Band released Apr. 21, 2015 are that: it determines the available frequencies at a given geographic location and assign them to CBSDs; it determines the maximum permissible transmission power level for CBSDs at a given location and communicates that information to the CBSDs, and see Syed, Fig. 9, par. [0102], lines 1-8: The power management component 908 determines the power transmission levels for CBSDs managed by the SAS and in some embodiments are sub-components of the resource allocation component 926. The spectrum management component 924 is configured to manage the allocation of frequency spectrum in the CBRS network including frequency bandwidth allocated to CBSDs managed by the SAS);
obtaining, by the output power management device, one or more constraints applicable to output power of the one or more radio units, in accordance with the spectrum information, wherein a constraint for a first frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands indicates an output power limit different than a constraint for a second frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands (see Syed, par. [0043], lines 24-31: Among the Spectrum Access System functions as defined in the Amendment of the Commission's Rules with Regard to Commercial Operations in the 3550-3650 MHz Band released Apr. 21, 2015 are that: it determines the available frequencies at a given geographic location and assign them to CBSDs; it determines the maximum permissible transmission power level for CBSDs at a given location and communicates that information to the CBSDs, and see Syed, Fig. 9, item 904, par. [0101], lines 17-21: The message generator component 904 is configured to generate messages for transmission to CBSD devices, e.g., resource allocations messages including frequency bandwidth allocated to a CBSD and transmission power allocations for the CBSD; in this case, multiple available frequencies are determined and allocated to the radio devices. An individual allocation of frequency bandwidth and transmission power is allocated (corresponding to distinct output power constraints for distinct frequency bands));
determining, by the output power management device, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy based, at least in part, on the output power status and the spectrum information, subject to the one or more constraints (see Syed, Fig. 10D, item 1074, par. [0135], lines 1-11: In step 1074, the SAS generates a power change command, e.g., a power down command or a power up command. The power change command may be, and in some embodiments does, provide a transmit power level to which a CBSD device is to change its transmit power level to while in some other embodiments it identifies an amount of transmit power by which the CBSD needs to decreases its power transmit level or increase its power transmit level. The SAS manages the CBSD power transmit levels so as to efficiently utilize the available frequency spectrum while minimizing interference between various devices, and see Syed, par. [0102], lines 1-3: The power management component 908 determines the power transmission levels for CBSDs managed by the SAS); and
implementing particularized radio unit output power control based, at least in part, on the output power strategy (see Syed, Fig. 10D, item 1076, par. [0136], lines 1-2: In step 1076, the SAS transmits the generated power change command to the first CBSD).
However, Syed does not teach:
wherein the spectrum information indicating a plurality of frequency bands, the plurality of frequency bands including frequency bands currently utilized by the one or more radio units and frequency bands able to be utilized by the one or more radio units;
obtaining, by the output power management device, performance requirements including network payload requirements of the private communications network;
selecting, by the output power management device, one or more criteria for determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy, from a list of criteria including at least: minimizing an overall output power of the one or more radio units, minimizing an anticipated quantity of output power changes within a period of time, and minimizing output power distribution differences among the one or more radio units;
determining, by the output power management device, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy for the one or more radio units to satisfy the performance requirements based on the one or more criteria, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy including, for each radio unit of the one or more radio units, separate output power control instructions for frequency bands currently utilized by the radio unit and frequency bands able to be used by the radio unit;
Al-Mufti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the spectrum information indicating a plurality of frequency bands, the plurality of frequency bands including frequency bands currently utilized by the one or more radio units and frequency bands able to be utilized by the one or more radio units (see Al-Mufti, par. [0074]: In block 220D, at least one network graph is generated. Optionally, if interference groups are determined, a network graph is generated for each interference group. The network graph comprises nodes. One or more sets of two nodes of the network graph may be connected by an edge. Each node comprises one or more GAA CBSDs operating in the same frequency spectrum of shared spectrum. The GAA CBSD(s) comprising nodes of the network graph may be controlled by the SAS 102 or the other SAS(s) 106 (i.e., peer SAS(s)). Each node is assigned a color. Each color, and thus each node, is assigned a frequency spectrum in the shared spectrum. Nodes of the same color are not necessarily allocated the same frequency spectrum, e.g., when a network graph comprises two or more separate connected sets; however, nodes of a connected set and having the same color are allocated the same frequency spectrum; in this case, determining interference groups for different groups of nodes corresponds to determining spectrum information of frequency bands currently used by a set of nodes and frequency bands used by other nodes (i.e. frequency bands able to be utilized but not currently utilized));
obtaining, by the output power management device, performance requirements including network payload requirements of the private communications network (see Al-Mufti, par. [0062]: the new CBSD 103 provides data (or registration data) about the new CBSD 103 in the registration request that upon its receipt by the SAS 102 is stored in the SAS database 102A-2, and see par. [0063]: the data may include the new CBSD's minimum acceptable transmit power (or minimum transmit power); if the new CBSD were to operate at less than it minimum acceptable transmit power, then for example its coverage area would be impractically small, or it would be unable to communicate with another fixed wireless access CBSD; in this case, minimum acceptable transmit power is required for being able to communicate (i.e. required for sending payloads), corresponding to the minimum acceptable transmit power being a network payload requirement);
selecting, by the output power management device, one or more criteria for determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy, from a list of criteria including at least: minimizing an overall output power of the one or more radio units, minimizing an anticipated quantity of output power changes within a period of time, and minimizing output power distribution differences among the one or more radio units (see Al-Mufti, par. [0079]: In block 228C, an indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power for each identified protection point (PP) is determined. This may be referred to as protection point sounding. Optionally, the indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power may be an average transmit adjustment power (ATAP), an aggregate transmit adjustment power (AggTAP), and/or an average transmit adjustment power ratio (ATAP-R) used to characterize an aggregate reduction of transmission power of GAA CBSD(s) (comprising node(s) of a connected set) that are geographically located in a neighborhood of a protection point. ATAP and AggTAP may be used if all GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, e.g., are either category A or B. If the GAA CBSDs have different maximum operating transmit power levels, e.g., comprising category A and B, then ATAP-R must be used. However, even if all the GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, then ATAP-R may also be used; in this case, determining an indicum of aggregate reduction of transmission power corresponds to selecting criteria for minimizing overall output power or minimizing output power distribution differences);
determining, by the output power management device, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy for the one or more radio units to satisfy the performance requirements based on the one or more criteria, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy including, for each radio unit of the one or more radio units, separate output power control instructions for frequency bands currently utilized by the radio unit and frequency bands able to be used by the radio unit (see Al-Mufti, par. [0074]: In block 220D, at least one network graph is generated. Optionally, if interference groups are determined, a network graph is generated for each interference group. The network graph comprises nodes. One or more sets of two nodes of the network graph may be connected by an edge. Each node comprises one or more GAA CBSDs operating in the same frequency spectrum of shared spectrum. The GAA CBSD(s) comprising nodes of the network graph may be controlled by the SAS 102 or the other SAS(s) 106 (i.e., peer SAS(s)). Each node is assigned a color. Each color, and thus each node, is assigned a frequency spectrum in the shared spectrum. Nodes of the same color are not necessarily allocated the same frequency spectrum, e.g., when a network graph comprises two or more separate connected sets; however, nodes of a connected set and having the same color are allocated the same frequency spectrum, and see par. [0079]: If it is determined that there is at least one such protection point (optionally for an interference group), then, in block 228B, each protection point, whose neighborhood encompasses a geographic location of at least one GAA CBSD, of a node of a network graph (optionally of the interference group), is identified. In block 228C, an indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power for each identified protection point (PP) is determined. This may be referred to as protection point sounding. Optionally, the indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power may be an average transmit adjustment power (ATAP), an aggregate transmit adjustment power (AggTAP), and/or an average transmit adjustment power ratio (ATAP-R) used to characterize an aggregate reduction of transmission power of GAA CBSD(s) (comprising node(s) of a connected set) that are geographically located in a neighborhood of a protection point. ATAP and AggTAP may be used if all GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, e.g., are either category A or B. If the GAA CBSDs have different maximum operating transmit power levels, e.g., comprising category A and B, then ATAP-R must be used. However, even if all the GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, then ATAP-R may also be used, and see par. [0068]: The SC-planned 102A-1 will determine a frequency spectrum allocation and optionally determine a maximum transmit power for registered CBSD(s), that may, or may not, be below a minimum useable transmit power level. Minimum useable transmit power means a transmit power of a CBSD that is provides a coverage area of a minimum range or radius; in this case, output power control is performed per protection point or interference group (i.e. per frequency spectrum), corresponding to separate power control for frequency bands currently used and able to be used. Power control is performed based on minimum useable transmit power (i.e. network payload requirements) and indicum of aggregate reduction of transmission power (i.e. criteria));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Syed with the particular spectrum information, performance requirements, selecting criteria, and output control based on performance requirements and criteria of Al-Mufti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing computational efficiency (see Al-Mufti, par. [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the method. Syed further teaches:
wherein the obtaining of the network status and spectrum information is performed in real-time (see Syed, par. [0043], lines 24-31: Among the Spectrum Access System functions as defined in the Amendment of the Commission's Rules with Regard to Commercial Operations in the 3550-3650 MHz Band released Apr. 21, 2015 are that: it determines the available frequencies at a given geographic location and assign them to CBSDs; it determines the maximum permissible transmission power level for CBSDs at a given location and communicates that information to the CBSDs, and see Syed, Fig. 10D, item 1074, par. [0135], lines 1-11: In step 1074, the SAS generates a power change command, e.g., a power down command or a power up command. The power change command may be, and in some embodiments does, provide a transmit power level to which a CBSD device is to change its transmit power level to while in some other embodiments it identifies an amount of transmit power by which the CBSD needs to decreases its power transmit level or increase its power transmit level. The SAS manages the CBSD power transmit levels so as to efficiently utilize the available frequency spectrum while minimizing interference between various devices, and see Syed, Fig. 9, par. [0102], lines 1-8: The power management component 908 determines the power transmission levels for CBSDs managed by the SAS and in some embodiments are sub-components of the resource allocation component 926. The spectrum management component 924 is configured to manage the allocation of frequency spectrum in the CBRS network including frequency bandwidth allocated to CBSDs managed by the SAS; in this case, Syed teaches that the SAS determines power transmission levels and allocation of frequency spectrum for generating power change commands as part of the method (corresponding to real-time)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the method. Syed further teaches:
wherein the determining of the output power strategy is further based on an optimization to minimize overall output power of the one or more radio units (see Syed, Fig. 2, item 224, par. [0058], lines 1-6: In step 224, the SAS 204 generates and transmits a power headroom threshold value message 226 which includes a power headroom threshold value to be used in managing CBSD power transmission level adjustments or changes, e.g., in response to power down commands from the SAS 204, and see Syed, par. [0018], lines 7-18: receive from an SAS, at the CBSD, one or more of i) a power headroom threshold value used to identify cell edge user equipment devices (UEs) or ii) a channel quality indicator threshold value used to identify cell edge user equipment devices (UEs); and receive a power down command from the SAS; identify based on one or more of the received power headroom threshold value and the received channel quality indicator threshold value cell edge UEs being serviced by the CBSD; and decrease transmit power of the CBSD by an estimated amount of transmit power required to support the identified cell edge UEs; in this case, Syed teaches a power headroom threshold value (corresponding to an optimization) is used to decrease overall transmit power in order to support cell edges of the network).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the method. Syed further teaches the method further comprising:
receiving, from a spectrum management device, updated spectrum information indicating another plurality of frequency bands to be utilized by the one or more radio units (see Syed, Fig. 1, item 105, par. [0048], lines 4-10: ESC system 105 is coupled to SAS 1 106 and SAS 2 107 via communications links 182 and 184. The ESC system is used, for among other things, to detect, sense Navy radar operations in CBRS operation within 3550-3650 MHz near the coasts and provide notifications over the communications links to SAS 1 106 and SAS 2 107, and see Syed, par. [0065], lines 13-15: the SAS 204 as part of managing the frequency spectrum may have received a message that there is naval activity to occur in the proximity of the CBSD 202); and
determining the output power strategy based further on the updated spectrum information (see Syed, par. [0065], lines 13-17: the SAS 204 as part of managing the frequency spectrum may have received a message that there is naval activity to occur in the proximity of the CBSD 202 and needs to reduce the CBSD 202 power transmission level to ensure that it does not interfere with navy transmissions).
Regarding claims 11, 18, Syed teaches:
A radio unit output power management device for a private communications network (see Syed, Fig. 6, par. [0090], lines 1-2: FIG. 6 is a drawing of an exemplary Spectrum Access System (SAS) device 600), or a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing contents that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform actions (see Syed, par. [0205], lines 1-6: Some embodiments are directed to a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium, e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising code for causing a computer, or multiple computers, to implement various functions, steps, acts and/or operations, e.g. one or more steps described above, and see Syed, par. [0205], lines 17-20: some embodiments are directed to a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium, e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising code for causing a computer, or multiple computers, to implement various functions, steps, acts and/or operations, e.g. one or more steps described above), the radio unit output power management device comprising:
at least one memory that stores computer executable instructions (see Syed, Fig. 6, item 612, par. [0090], lines 21-23: Memory 612 includes an assembly of component 614, e.g., an assembly of software components, and data/information 616); and
at least one processor that executes the computer executable instructions to cause actions to be performed (see Syed, Fig. 6, item 606, par. [0099], lines 4-10: In embodiments where the assembly of components 900 is stored in the memory 612, the memory 612 is a computer program product comprising a computer readable medium comprising code, e.g., individual code for each component, for causing at least one computer, e.g., processor 606, to implement the functions to which the components correspond, and see Syed, Fig. 9, par. [0098], lines 20-25: all or some of the components may be implemented in software and stored in the memory 612 of the SAS 600, with the components controlling operation of SAS 600 to implement the functions corresponding to the components when the components are executed by a processor e.g., processor 606), the actions including:
obtaining network status including output power status of a plurality of radio units and spectrum information (see Syed, par. [0043], lines 24-31: Among the Spectrum Access System functions as defined in the Amendment of the Commission's Rules with Regard to Commercial Operations in the 3550-3650 MHz Band released Apr. 21, 2015 are that: it determines the available frequencies at a given geographic location and assign them to CBSDs; it determines the maximum permissible transmission power level for CBSDs at a given location and communicates that information to the CBSDs, and see Syed, Fig. 9, par. [0102], lines 1-8: The power management component 908 determines the power transmission levels for CBSDs managed by the SAS and in some embodiments are sub-components of the resource allocation component 926. The spectrum management component 924 is configured to manage the allocation of frequency spectrum in the CBRS network including frequency bandwidth allocated to CBSDs managed by the SAS);
determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy based, at least in part, on the output power status and spectrum information, subject to one or more constraints applicable to output power of the plurality of radio units in accordance with the spectrum information (see Syed, Fig. 10D, item 1074, par. [0135], lines 1-11: In step 1074, the SAS generates a power change command, e.g., a power down command or a power up command. The power change command may be, and in some embodiments does, provide a transmit power level to which a CBSD device is to change its transmit power level to while in some other embodiments it identifies an amount of transmit power by which the CBSD needs to decreases its power transmit level or increase its power transmit level. The SAS manages the CBSD power transmit levels so as to efficiently utilize the available frequency spectrum while minimizing interference between various devices, and see Syed, par. [0102], lines 1-3: The power management component 908 determines the power transmission levels for CBSDs managed by the SAS, and see Syed, Fig. 2, item 224, par. [0058], lines 1-6: In step 224, the SAS 204 generates and transmits a power headroom threshold value message 226 which includes a power headroom threshold value to be used in managing CBSD power transmission level adjustments or changes, e.g., in response to power down commands from the SAS 204, and see Syed, par. [0018], lines 7-18: receive from an SAS, at the CBSD, one or more of i) a power headroom threshold value used to identify cell edge user equipment devices (UEs) or ii) a channel quality indicator threshold value used to identify cell edge user equipment devices (UEs); and receive a power down command from the SAS; identify based on one or more of the received power headroom threshold value and the received channel quality indicator threshold value cell edge UEs being serviced by the CBSD; and decrease transmit power of the CBSD by an estimated amount of transmit power required to support the identified cell edge UEs, and par. [0105]: The resource allocation component 926 is configured to allocate resources including for example frequency bandwidth allocations and/or transmission power allocations for CBSDs managed by the SAS; in this case, power is managed by the SAS based on transmission power levels for CBSDs (corresponding to output power status), utilization of the frequency spectrum, and a power headroom threshold value (corresponding to an optimization to minimize overall output power). This threshold value may be sent to a plurality of CBSDs (i.e. radio units), or one CBSD in the case of there being one radio unit. In this case, a headroom threshold value for one device would minimize overall output power of the system, as reducing power for one device in the system without changing power of other devices is one way in which to minimize overall power); and
implementing particularized radio unit output power control based, at least in part, on the output power strategy (see Syed, Fig. 10D, item 1076, par. [0136], lines 1-2: In step 1076, the SAS transmits the generated power change command to the first CBSD).
However, Syed does not teach:
wherein the spectrum information indicating a plurality of frequency bands, the plurality of frequency bands including frequency bands currently utilized by the plurality of radio units and frequency bands able to be utilized, but not currently utilized, by the plurality of radio units;
obtaining performance requirements of the private communications network;
selecting one or more criteria for determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy, the one or more criteria causing the dynamically-optimized output power strategy to: minimize an overall output power of the plurality of radio units, minimize an anticipated quantity of output power changes within a period of time, or minimize output power distribution differences among the plurality of radio units;
determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy for the plurality of radio units to satisfy the performance requirements based on the selected one or more criteria, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy including, for each radio unit of the plurality of radio units, separate output power control instructions for frequency bands currently utilized by the radio unit and frequency bands able to be used by the radio unit;
Al-Mufti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the spectrum information indicating a plurality of frequency bands, the plurality of frequency bands including frequency bands currently utilized by the plurality of radio units and frequency bands able to be utilized, but not currently utilized, by the plurality of radio units (see Al-Mufti, par. [0074]: In block 220D, at least one network graph is generated. Optionally, if interference groups are determined, a network graph is generated for each interference group. The network graph comprises nodes. One or more sets of two nodes of the network graph may be connected by an edge. Each node comprises one or more GAA CBSDs operating in the same frequency spectrum of shared spectrum. The GAA CBSD(s) comprising nodes of the network graph may be controlled by the SAS 102 or the other SAS(s) 106 (i.e., peer SAS(s)). Each node is assigned a color. Each color, and thus each node, is assigned a frequency spectrum in the shared spectrum. Nodes of the same color are not necessarily allocated the same frequency spectrum, e.g., when a network graph comprises two or more separate connected sets; however, nodes of a connected set and having the same color are allocated the same frequency spectrum; in this case, determining interference groups for different groups of nodes corresponds to determining spectrum information of frequency bands currently used by a set of nodes and frequency bands used by other nodes (i.e. frequency bands able to be utilized but not currently utilized));
obtaining performance requirements of the private communications network (see Al-Mufti, par. [0062]: the new CBSD 103 provides data (or registration data) about the new CBSD 103 in the registration request that upon its receipt by the SAS 102 is stored in the SAS database 102A-2, and see par. [0063]: the data may include the new CBSD's minimum acceptable transmit power (or minimum transmit power); if the new CBSD were to operate at less than it minimum acceptable transmit power, then for example its coverage area would be impractically small, or it would be unable to communicate with another fixed wireless access CBSD; in this case, the minimum acceptable transmit power corresponds to a performance requirement);
selecting one or more criteria for determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy, the one or more criteria causing the dynamically-optimized output power strategy to: minimize an overall output power of the plurality of radio units, minimize an anticipated quantity of output power changes within a period of time, or minimize output power distribution differences among the plurality of radio units (see Al-Mufti, par. [0079]: In block 228C, an indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power for each identified protection point (PP) is determined. This may be referred to as protection point sounding. Optionally, the indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power may be an average transmit adjustment power (ATAP), an aggregate transmit adjustment power (AggTAP), and/or an average transmit adjustment power ratio (ATAP-R) used to characterize an aggregate reduction of transmission power of GAA CBSD(s) (comprising node(s) of a connected set) that are geographically located in a neighborhood of a protection point. ATAP and AggTAP may be used if all GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, e.g., are either category A or B. If the GAA CBSDs have different maximum operating transmit power levels, e.g., comprising category A and B, then ATAP-R must be used. However, even if all the GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, then ATAP-R may also be used; in this case, determining an indicum of aggregate reduction of transmission power corresponds to selecting criteria for minimizing overall output power or minimizing output power distribution differences);
determining a dynamically-optimized output power strategy for the plurality of radio units to satisfy the performance requirements based on the selected one or more criteria, the dynamically-optimized output power strategy including, for each radio unit of the plurality of radio units, separate output power control instructions for frequency bands currently utilized by the radio unit and frequency bands able to be used by the radio unit (see Al-Mufti, par. [0074]: In block 220D, at least one network graph is generated. Optionally, if interference groups are determined, a network graph is generated for each interference group. The network graph comprises nodes. One or more sets of two nodes of the network graph may be connected by an edge. Each node comprises one or more GAA CBSDs operating in the same frequency spectrum of shared spectrum. The GAA CBSD(s) comprising nodes of the network graph may be controlled by the SAS 102 or the other SAS(s) 106 (i.e., peer SAS(s)). Each node is assigned a color. Each color, and thus each node, is assigned a frequency spectrum in the shared spectrum. Nodes of the same color are not necessarily allocated the same frequency spectrum, e.g., when a network graph comprises two or more separate connected sets; however, nodes of a connected set and having the same color are allocated the same frequency spectrum, and see par. [0079]: If it is determined that there is at least one such protection point (optionally for an interference group), then, in block 228B, each protection point, whose neighborhood encompasses a geographic location of at least one GAA CBSD, of a node of a network graph (optionally of the interference group), is identified. In block 228C, an indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power for each identified protection point (PP) is determined. This may be referred to as protection point sounding. Optionally, the indicium of aggregate reduction of transmission power may be an average transmit adjustment power (ATAP), an aggregate transmit adjustment power (AggTAP), and/or an average transmit adjustment power ratio (ATAP-R) used to characterize an aggregate reduction of transmission power of GAA CBSD(s) (comprising node(s) of a connected set) that are geographically located in a neighborhood of a protection point. ATAP and AggTAP may be used if all GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, e.g., are either category A or B. If the GAA CBSDs have different maximum operating transmit power levels, e.g., comprising category A and B, then ATAP-R must be used. However, even if all the GAA CBSD(s) have the same maximum operating transmit power, then ATAP-R may also be used, and see par. [0068]: The SC-planned 102A-1 will determine a frequency spectrum allocation and optionally determine a maximum transmit power for registered CBSD(s), that may, or may not, be below a minimum useable transmit power level. Minimum useable transmit power means a transmit power of a CBSD that is provides a coverage area of a minimum range or radius; in this case, output power control is performed per protection point or interference group (i.e. per frequency spectrum), corresponding to separate power control for frequency bands currently used and able to be used. Power control is performed based on minimum useable transmit power (i.e. network payload requirements) and indicum of aggregate reduction of transmission power (i.e. criteria));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the radio unit output power management device or non-transitory computer-readable medium of Syed with the particular spectrum information, performance requirements, selecting criteria, and output control based on performance requirements and criteria of Al-Mufti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing computational efficiency (see Al-Mufti, par. [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the device. Syed further teaches the device further comprising:
receiving, from a spectrum management device, updated spectrum information indicating another plurality of frequency bands to be utilized by the plurality of radio units (see Syed, Fig. 1, item 105, par. [0048], lines 4-10: ESC system 105 is coupled to SAS 1 106 and SAS 2 107 via communications links 182 and 184. The ESC system is used, for among other things, to detect, sense Navy radar operations in CBRS operation within 3550-3650 MHz near the coasts and provide notifications over the communications links to SAS 1 106 and SAS 2 107, and see Syed, par. [0065], lines 13-15: the SAS 204 as part of managing the frequency spectrum may have received a message that there is naval activity to occur in the proximity of the CBSD 202); and
determining the output power strategy based further on the updated spectrum information (see Syed, par. [0065], lines 13-17: the SAS 204 as part of managing the frequency spectrum may have received a message that there is naval activity to occur in the proximity of the CBSD 202 and needs to reduce the CBSD 202 power transmission level to ensure that it does not interfere with navy transmissions).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Syed further teaches:
wherein the spectrum information is received from an external device different from any of the plurality of radio units (see Syed, Fig. 1, item 105, par. [0048], lines 4-10: ESC system 105 is coupled to SAS 1 106 and SAS 2 107 via communications links 182 and 184. The ESC system is used, for among other things, to detect, sense Navy radar operations in CBRS operation within 3550-3650 MHz near the coasts and provide notifications over the communications links to SAS 1 106 and SAS 2 107, and see Syed, par. [0065], lines 13-15: the SAS 204 as part of managing the frequency spectrum may have received a message that there is naval activity to occur in the proximity of the CBSD 202).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed in view of Al-Mufti as applied to claims 1, 4, 9-11, 17-18, and 20 above, and further in view of Sheriff et al. (US 11,696,319), hereinafter "Sheriff".
Regarding claims 2, 12, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the method or radio unit output power management device.
However, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti does not teach:
wherein the performance requirements include one or more estimated or anticipated network requirements.
Sheriff, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the performance requirements include one or more estimated or anticipated network requirements (see Sheriff, col. 7, lines 30-32: The CBRS network 100 can also include a digital network architecture center (DNA-C) 108 configured to manage the CBRS APs 104A-D in addition to the SAS 110, and see Sheriff, col. 7, lines 35-42: the DNA-C 108 can monitor performance of the CBRS APs 104A-D and associated UEs 102 to detect when interference is present. In some examples, the DNA-C 108 can determine different parameters to assign to one or more of the CBRS APs 104A-D when interference is detected, and dynamically re-assign the operational parameters of the CBRS APs 104A-D to minimize and/or eliminate the detected interference; in this case, Sheriff teaches that interference (corresponding to a performance requirement) is monitored and detected (corresponding to estimated)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the performance requirements of the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti with the performance requirement being an estimated network requirement of Sheriff with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing interference in the network (see Sheriff, col. 5, lines 12-15).
Claims 5, 7-8, 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed in view of Al-Mufti, as applied to claims 1, 4, 9-11, 17-18, and 20 above, and further in view of Sevindik et al. (US 11,483,715), hereinafter "Sevindik".
Regarding claims 5, 13, 19, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the method or radio unit output power management device or non-transitory computer readable medium.
However, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti does not teach:
wherein the plurality of frequency bands includes one or more licensed frequency bands and one or more unlicensed frequency bands.
Sevindik, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the plurality of frequency bands includes one or more licensed frequency bands and one or more unlicensed frequency bands (see Sevindik, Fig. 8, item 809, col. 28, lines 6-12: At step 809, the SASe 402 determines interference for the participating CBSDe devices 406. This determination may be (i) estimated, such as based on path loss modeling for the known spatial relationships between the various CBSDe devices (including distance between them, presence of topological or other features, extant transmit power levels and frequencies, etc.), and see Sevindik, col. 26, line 65-col. 27, line 2: Various methods and embodiments thereof for cluster-based interference management and load balancing via unlicensed or quasi-licensed (e.g., CBRS GAA or PAL) spectrum according to the present disclosure are now described with respect to FIGS. 7-9A; in this case, Sevindik teaches that licensed or unlicensed bands can be used for the power management method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the plurality of frequency bands of the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti with the frequency bands including licensed and unlicensed bands of Sevindik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of mitigating interference and supporting load-balancing across different frequency bands (see Sevindik, col. 7, line 62-col. 8, line 2).
Regarding claims 7, 15, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti and further in view of Sevindik, teaches the method or radio unit output power management device.
The combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti does not teach, but Sevindik teaches:
wherein the one or more unlicensed frequency bands include one or more Wi-Fi frequency bands (see Sevindik, col. 40, lines 62-64: Additional unlicensed, licensed, or quasi-licensed air interfaces may also be used within the CBSDe, including e.g., Wi-Fi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the plurality of frequency bands of the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti with the unlicensed band being a Wi-Fi band of Sevindik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of mitigating interference and supporting load-balancing across different frequency bands (see Sevindik, col. 7, line 62-col. 8, line 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti teaches the method.
However, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti does not teach:
wherein the one or more radio units include at least one access point device capable of wirelessly communicating in one or more licensed frequency bands and one or more unlicensed frequency bands.
Sevindik, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more radio units include at least one access point device capable of wirelessly communicating in one or more licensed frequency bands and one or more unlicensed frequency bands (see Sevindik, col. 5, lines 21-24: CBSDs (Citizens Broadband Radio Service Devices—in effect, wireless access points) 206 (FIG. 2) can only operate under authority of a centralized Spectrum Access System (SAS) 202, and see Sevindik, Fig. 8, item 809, col. 28, lines 6-12: At step 809, the SASe 402 determines interference for the participating CBSDe devices 406. This determination may be (i) estimated, such as based on path loss modeling for the known spatial relationships between the various CBSDe devices (including distance between them, presence of topological or other features, extant transmit power levels and frequencies, etc.), and see Sevindik, col. 26, line 65-col. 27, line 2: Various methods and embodiments thereof for cluster-based interference management and load balancing via unlicensed or quasi-licensed (e.g., CBRS GAA or PAL) spectrum according to the present disclosure are now described with respect to FIGS. 7-9A; in this case, Sevindik teaches performing a power management method with CBSDs (corresponding to access points) across licensed or unlicensed spectrums).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the radio units of the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti with the radio units including access points communicating in licensed and unlicensed bands of Sevindik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of mitigating interference and supporting load-balancing across different frequency bands (see Sevindik, col. 7, line 62-col. 8, line 2).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed in view of Al-Mufti, and further in view of Sevindik, as applied to claims 5, 7-8, 13, 15, and 19 above, and further in view of “What Is CBRS? How It Works & Why Your Enterprise Should Care.”, published 24 March, 2021, hereinafter "Celona".
Regarding claims 6, 14, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti, and further in view of Sevindik, teaches the method or radio unit output power management device.
However, the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti, and further in view of Sevindik, does not teach:
wherein the one or more licensed frequency bands include at least one of Citizens Band Radio Service (CBRS) Band n48 or New Radio (NR) Band n77.
Celona, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more licensed frequency bands include at least one of Citizens Band Radio Service (CBRS) Band n48 or New Radio (NR) Band n77 (see Celona, page 1, “What is CBRS?”, lines 1-2: Citizens Broadband Radio Service is a band (band 48) of radio frequency spectra, and see Celona, page 3, “Is CBRS Unlicensed?”, lines 1-2: CBRS is “lightly licensed” since it’s either licensed or unlicensed depending on the user’s tier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the licensed frequency bands of the combination of Syed in view of Al-Mufti, and further in view of Sevindik, with the licensed band being a CBRS band n48 of Celona with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing wider coverage in variable conditions (see Celona, page 4, “Why does CBRS matter to your organization?”, line 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hannan et al. (US 2022/0272701) teaches techniques for planning frequency spectrum and power allocated to transmission points of a radio network that is controlled by a spectrum access system and shares spectrum with incumbents and/or other secondary users (e.g., external radio(s)).
Panje et al. (US 2022/0104146) teaches a network controller device initiates coordinated power control for a mesh network and implement a power conservation mode using the coordinated power control.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419