DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A and Sub-Species A(1) (Figs. 3A-3C along with Fig. 5) in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Regarding claims 15-18:
Applicant’s claims 15 and 17 recite “wherein the electrode tabs are drawn out through an identical partition wall among the plurality of partition walls, and extend along one surface of an inner portion inside the battery case” and “wherein the at least one positive electrode tab and the at least one negative electrode tab among the electrode tabs are drawn out through different partition walls among the plurality of partition walls, respectively, and extend along one surface of an inner portion inside the battery case”, respectively.
Applicant’s claims 16 and 18 recite “wherein the electrode tabs are drawn out through an identical partition wall among the plurality of partition walls, and extend along one surface of an outer portion inside the battery case” and “wherein the at least one positive electrode tab and the at least one negative electrode tab among the electrode tabs are drawn out through different partition walls among the plurality of partition walls, respectively, and extend along one surface of an outer portion inside the battery case”.
As seen in Fig. 5 and described by Applicant’s filed specification on Page 17, each of the electrode tabs 510 connected to the electrode assembly 301 may be drawn out through one of the of partition walls 240 inside the battery case 201 and extend to one region of the inner surface 210a of the outer portion 210.
The species of Fig. 5 is described by claims 16 and 18. It appears the species of Fig. 7 is described by claims 15 and 17. Therefore, claims 15 and 17 are withdrawn as they are drawn to a non-elected species.
Claims 1-10, 15, and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “an electronic device comprising: a battery case has a ring- shape” when it should instead state “an electronic device comprising: a battery case having a ring-shape”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11, and thus claims 12-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "at least one of the plurality of partition walls along one surface inside the battery case" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The claim sets forth “a plurality of partition walls” in lines 5-6, but does not set forth “a plurality of partition walls along one surface inside the battery case”. Therefore, the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 20230205170 A1) in view of Miyamoto et al (US 20040009334 A1) in view of Hwang et al (US 20160141594 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sanchez discloses an electronic device (smart ring 205g in Fig. 6) comprising: a battery case has a ring-shape (first and second rings 205g1 and 205g2 with body 207b1 and body 207b2, respectively, in Fig. 6; see entire disclosure and especially P80);
an electrode assembly formed by stacking a plurality of electrode plates (rechargeable battery 120 in Fig. 1; the battery can be set in one or more of the first part 210b1, 210b2 or the second part 210c1, 210c2 of the body 207b1, 207b2, respectively, in Fig. 6; see entire disclosure and especially P44-45, 80; the battery would inherently have an electrode assembly formed by stacking a plurality of electrode plates as it is well known that a battery includes a layered structure including an anode and a cathode separated by a separator; furthermore, P44 states there can be a plurality of cells, therefore, there would be a plurality of stacked electrode plates); and
a circuit unit (controller 140 in Fig.1; the battery can supply power to the controller; the controller can include circuits; see entire disclosure and especially P43-44, 51-52),
wherein the battery case comprises, among a plurality of spaces physically separated by a plurality of partition walls, a first space in which the electrode assembly is received, and a second space in which the circuit unit is received (given the bodies 207b1 and 207b2 are separate pieces including first parts 210b1, 210b2 and second parts 210c1, 210c2, there are partition walls between them (see Fig. 6); P80 states the battery and the controller are able to be disposed in one or more of the first part 210b1, 210b2 or the second part 210c1, 210c2 of the body 207b1, 207b2, respectively; therefore, one could choose the battery to be set in second part 210c1 and the controller set in second part 210c2).
However, Sanchez does not disclose the electrode assembly is electrically connected to the circuit unit through electrode tabs drawn out into the second space through at least one of the plurality of partition walls along one surface inside the battery case.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miyamoto teaches a plurality of single cells can be attached to a flexible printed circuit board by welding positive and negative tabs of the single cells to first and second connection terminals of the flexible printed circuit board (P65, 73).
Also in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a protection circuit structure including battery protection circuit devices (P71). Hwang teaches a flip chip on the protection circuit structure includes a protection IC and two common-drain FETs for controlling overdischarge and overcharge operations (P65). Hwang teaches electrode tabs of a battery cell can be provided on first and second internal connection terminals (P72, 95, 97). Hwang teaches the electrode tabs and first and second internal connection terminals can be welded together (P97).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the connection of the electrode assembly (battery 120) and circuit unit (controller 140) of Sanchez to be done via welding positive and negative tabs of the electrode assembly to the circuit unit, given Miyamoto and Hwang both teach connection of a battery to a circuit unit is done via welding of electrode tabs to a circuit structure, and the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
The electrode assembly (battery 120) and circuit unit (controller 140) of Sanchez are provided in two separate spaces (the battery to be set in second part 210c1 and the controller set in second part 210c2). In order to connect the two structures, since they are in two separate spaces, an opening must be provided in the wall separating the two spaces so the two can communicate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have changed the form/shape of the partition wall between the first space and second space of Sanchez to include openings and rearranged the parts of modified Sanchez such that the positive and negative electrode tabs are drawn out into the second space through said partition wall, in order to, for example, allow the electrode assembly and circuit unit to be welded together via the electrode tabs of the electrode assembly, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04)), and the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04)).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sanchez meets the limitation wherein the battery case further comprises a cap configured to cover the first space in which the electrode assembly is received (given the second part 210c1 is part of the whole smart ring 205g in Fig. 6, there are walls enclosing each side of the inside/internal space/section of the second part 210c1; therefore, any of the walls that is not drawn to the wall between second part 210c1 and second part 210c2 can be considered a “cap” that covers the first space (second part 210c1)).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sanchez meets the limitation wherein the electrode tabs comprise at least one positive electrode tab and at least one negative electrode tab (see the rejection of claim 11 above).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 20230205170 A1) in view of Miyamoto et al (US 20040009334 A1) in view of Hwang et al (US 20160141594 A1) as applied to claims 12 and 11 respectively, further in view of Von Badinski et al (US 20200401183 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sanchez discloses the battery case is made of metal (battery case is made of first and second rings 205g1 and 205g2 with body 207b1 and body 207b2, respectively, in Fig. 6; see entire disclosure and especially P80; the bodies includes a flexible material that can be created via metal forming, therefore, the bodies can be considered a metal material; see entire disclosure and especially P7, 15, 97, 103).
However, Sanchez does not disclose wherein the battery case is formed of a stainless steel material.
In a similar field of endeavor, Von Badinski teaches a smart ring / wearable computing device (WCD) (410 in Fig. 4) including a battery and a flexible circuit (Abstract, P122). Von Badinski teaches the housing of the WCD can be made of stainless steel (P123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching Von Badinski and selected the material of the battery case to be stainless steel, given Von Badinski teaches stainless steel to be a housing material for a wearable computing device, such as a smart ring, and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 19, Sanchez discloses the circuit unit (controller 140) includes a processor and memory unit (P48). However, modified Sanchez does not meet the limitation wherein the circuit unit comprises a plurality of first printed circuit boards, and one or more flexible second printed circuit boards configured to connect the plurality of first printed circuit boards.
In a similar field of endeavor, Von Badinski teaches a smart ring / wearable computing device (WCD) including a battery and a rigid flex printed circuit board (Abstract, P114, 122). Von Badinski teaches the rigid-flex printed circuit board includes panels of RF4 connected together with a flexible substrate (P134). Von Badinski teaches the semi-flexible PCB has at least a processor and memory (Abstract).
Von Badinski teaches the rigid-flex printed circuit board can be shown in Fig. 5 (P122). Von Badinski teaches constructing the circuit board to be flexible allows it to be geometrically configured within a ring shape (P134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching Von Badinski and chosen the circuit unit (controller 140) of Sanchez to be made from a rigid-flex printed circuit board, given Von Badinski teaches a rigid-flex printed circuit board can include at least a processor and memory as desired by the circuit unit (controller 140) of Sanchez and Von Badinski teaches the rigid-flex printed circuit board is able to be geometrically configured with a ring shape.
Regarding claim 20, as seen in Fig. 5 of Von Badinski, it appears the components (such as the processor and memory) of the rigid-flex printed circuit board are located on the rigid panels of the rigid-flex printed circuit board. Since the electrode tabs of modified Sanchez are welded to the circuit unit including the rigid-flex printed circuit board, the components of the rigid-flex printed circuit board sit on the rigid panels, and Sanchez teaches the electrode assembly supplies energy or power to the controller (and therefore the processor or other components of the controller; P44), it can be said there would be at least a contact unit electrically connected to the electrode tab on the plurality of first printed circuit boards.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, modified Sanchez meets the limitation wherein the electrode tabs are drawn out through an identical partition wall among the plurality of partition walls (both the positive and negative electrode tabs are drawn out into the second space through the partition wall between the first space (second part 210c1) and second space (second part 210c2); see the rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 18, modified Sanchez meets the limitation wherein the at least one positive electrode tab and the at least one negative electrode tab among the electrode tabs are drawn out through different partition walls among the plurality of partition walls (both the positive and negative electrode tabs are drawn out into the second space through the partition wall between the first space (second part 210c1) and second space (second part 210c2); see the rejection of claim 11).
However, there is nothing in Sanchez to suggest that the electrode tabs (as drawn to claim 16) / at least one positive electrode tab and the at least one negative electrode tab among the electrode tabs (as drawn to claim 18) extend along one surface of an outer portion inside the battery case. Therefore, Sanchez would not meet the limitations of claims 16 and 18.
Further, while Von Badinski teaches a smart ring / wearable computing device (WCD) (410 in Fig. 4) including a battery and a flexible circuit (Abstract, P122), Von Badinski does not teach their housing (412 in Fig. 4) including partition walls to section off the battery and the flexible circuit. Even though it can be inferred in Von Badinski that the tabs of the batteries would extend along one surface of an outer portion inside of the housing to connect to the flexible circuit, there is nothing in Von Badinski to teach a partition wall in the housing having an opening for the electrode tabs to extend therethrough.
Therefore, Von Badinski would not meet the limitations of claims 16 and 18.
After further search and consideration, there has been no prior art found to meet the limitations of claims 16 and 18.
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE BYRAM/
Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729