DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11490946. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claim is more narrow than claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al., US 20160354140, herein referred to as “Sharma”.
Regarding claim 19, Sharma teaches: A vapor ablation system (Figs. 1-2 and 15) comprises: a controller (Fig. 1A and Fig. 15G); a fluid supply to supply liquid (Fig. 1A and Figs. 15A-H); and a handpiece coupling the liquid to an elongate catheter (Figs. 15A-H) wherein the handpiece comprises a vapor generating element (abstract) held in a coiled arrangement by a mandrel (abstract and [0811]) and wherein the vapor generating element is operable with the controller to heat liquid flowing therethrough into vapor ([0581]), and pass the vapor through the elongate catheter ([0581]).
Regarding claim 20, Sharma teaches: A method for ablating tissue with condensable vapor (abstract)) comprises: transporting a liquid through an electrically conducting tube ([0187] and [0762] where the electrically conducting tube is seen as the assembly of tube, core and coil and [0619]); applying a voltage difference across the electrically conducting tube from a first end to a second end thereby converting the liquid to a condensable vapor ([0771] and [0619]); delivering air across the electrically conducting tube for cooling the electrically conducting tube ([0716]); and delivering the condensable vapor to the tissue ([0129]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 and 21 are allowed.
These claims are seen as allowable over the prior art of Humbert, US 20140005594 and Sharma, US 10842557 and US 20160354140.
The Humbert reference does disclose a handheld vapor ablation device but does not talk about cooling of the coil element or a fan element in the body of the handheld device.
The Sharma reference does disclose vapor ablation device where the coil is external to the handle of the device and the fan is external as well but does not teach the aspects of the handheld vapor ablation device.
It would not be obvious to combine these two references because there is no motivation for putting a fan into the handheld device of Humbert and doing so would be seen as hindsight reasoning.
Furthermore, there is no double patenting with the parent application of US 11490946 because the fan is not seen as obvious with the specifics of how its operable.
Conclusion
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794