DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection based on a new reference Jha (US 2020/0068647 A1) and new citations from Shi (US2015/0312408A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shi (US2015/0312408A1) in view of Jha (US 2020/0068647 A1).
Regarding claim 1. Shi teaches a method for a call ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio (~first SIM card) and a second voice call on a second radio (~second SIM card)”), comprising:
determining, by a terminal under a single operating system, a call request ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein a single operating system is managing the first voice call and the second voice call; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”, wherein a single operating system is managing the first voice call and the second voice call; [0091-0092], “In some embodiments, the two voice calls may utilize different RATs. For example, the first voice call may be conducted using a GSM protocol stack, and the second voice call may be conducted using a 1x protocol stack. In other embodiments, the two voice calls may utilize the same RAT. For example, the first voice call may be conducted using a first GSM protocol stack, and the second voice call may be conducted using a second GSM protocol stack. In some embodiments, the UE may comprise two SIMs, each supporting one of the voice calls (~single operating system managing the first voice call related to a first SIM and the second voice call related to a second SIM). In 604, the UE 106 may receive a request to perform a data communication on the UE 106 while the first voice call and the second voice call are concurrently being performed. The data communication may comprise a data transmission and/or a data reception. For example, while the UE 106 is engaged in two active voice calls (e.g., one voice call may be fully active while the other call is on hold), wherein a single operating system is managing both voice calls”),
wherein the terminal is at least installed with a first SIM card and a second SIM card ([0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”), and
the call request is configured to trigger a concurrent call based on the first SIM card and the second SIM card ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio (~first SIM card) and a second voice call on a second radio (~second SIM card)”; [0090], “In a typical scenario the user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106 (~call request is configured to trigger a concurrent call based on the first SIM card and the second SIM card). The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”); and
performing, by the terminal, a call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request ([0090], “In a typical scenario the user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~a call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request)”).
Shi does not explicitly teach that the first SIM and the second SIM card both support 5G.
However, Jha teaches first SIM and the second SIM card both support 5G (Jha [0063] , “optimizing, by the UE, the resources of the wireless communication network by operating one of the first SIM and the second SIM in the dual registration mode when the event is associated with the first SIM includes determining, by the UE, the first SIM and the second SIM support the dual registr.ation mode on the 5G network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jha with the teaching of Shi in order to allow for concurrent, high-speed 5G data connections from two different subscriptions simultaneously, providing uninterrupted, high-performance data usage on one SIM even while receiving calls or messages on the other.
Regarding claim 3, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein performing the call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request (Shi [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio (~first SIM card) and a second voice call on a second radio (~second SIM card)”); comprises:
determining, in response to determining that the call request is triggered, a current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106 (~determining, in response to determining that the call request is triggered, a current call state of the first SIM card already in progress)”); and
controlling the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card to enter at least one of an in-call state, a call holding state or a call waiting state based on the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~controlling the first SIM card to enter a call holding state based on the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress)”).
Regarding claim 4, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 3,
wherein the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress is the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”),
the call request comprises a first call request detected when the first SIM card is in the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”), and
the first call request is configured to trigger a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”); and
wherein controlling the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card to enter at least one of the in-call state, the call holding state or the call waiting state, based on the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~controlling the first SIM card to enter the call holding state based on the current call state of the first SIM card)”) comprises:
maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”), and
configuring the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the call holding state (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~configuring the call of the first SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the call holding state)”); or
maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the in-call state, and configuring the call of the second SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the in-call state; or
configuring the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the in-call state, and switching the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress from the in-call state to the call holding state.
Regarding claim 5, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 4,
wherein the call request further comprises a second call request, the second call request is configured to trigger a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card (Shi [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein the second request is a call request to trigger a call of the first SIM card (~first voice call on the first radio); [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”), and the method further comprises:
configuring the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the second call request as in the call waiting state (Shi [0070], “DSDA functionality may also allow the UE 106 may to simultaneously receive voice calls or data traffic on either phone number. In another embodiment, the UE 106 supports Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) functionality. The DSDS functionality may allow either of the two smart cards 310 (~includes the first SIM card) in the UE 106 to be on standby waiting for a voice call (~call waiting)”) and/or data connection..
Regarding claim 6, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 5,
wherein the method further comprises:
switching the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress from the in-call state to the call holding state (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~switching the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress from the in-call state to the call holding state)”),
in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state (Shi [0070] and [0089], in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state; [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein the second request is a call request to trigger a call of the first SIM card (~first voice call on the first radio); [0070], “DSDA functionality may also allow the UE 106 may to simultaneously receive voice calls or data traffic on either phone number. In another embodiment, the UE 106 supports Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) functionality. The DSDS functionality may allow either of the two smart cards 310 (~includes the first SIM card) in the UE 106 to be on standby waiting for a voice call (~call waiting)”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”) and
the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call” (~current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the in-call state); [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”); and
maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress as the call holding state, or disconnecting a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card in the call holding state, in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state and the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the call holding state (Shi [0090], [0070], and [0089], maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the call holding state, in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state and the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress is the call holding state; [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the call holding state)”; [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein the second request is a call request to trigger a call of the first SIM card (~first voice call on the first radio); [0070], “DSDA functionality may also allow the UE 106 may to simultaneously receive voice calls or data traffic on either phone number. In another embodiment, the UE 106 supports Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) functionality. The DSDS functionality may allow either of the two smart cards 310 (~includes the first SIM card) in the UE 106 to be on standby waiting for a voice call (~call waiting)”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”) and
the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call (~current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the in-call state)”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”).
Regarding claim 9, Shi teaches a device for a call ([0072], “UE 106 may include hardware and software components for implementing features for communicating using two or more RATs”), comprising:
a processor ([0072], “processor 402 of the UE device 106”); and
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store an instruction executable by the processor ([0072], “processor 402 of the UE device 106 may be configured to implement part or all of the features described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”);
wherein, the processor is configured to execute a method for a call applied to a terminal under a single operating system ([0072], “the UE 106 may include hardware and software components for implementing features for communicating using two or more RATs, such as those described herein. The processor 402 of the UE device 106 may be configured to implement part or all of the features described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”; [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein a single operating system is managing the first voice call and the second voice call; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”, wherein a single operating system is managing the first call and the second call; [0091-0092], “In some embodiments, the two voice calls may utilize different RATs. For example, the first voice call may be conducted using a GSM protocol stack, and the second voice call may be conducted using a 1x protocol stack. In other embodiments, the two voice calls may utilize the same RAT. For example, the first voice call may be conducted using a first GSM protocol stack, and the second voice call may be conducted using a second GSM protocol stack. In some embodiments, the UE may comprise two SIMs, each supporting one of the voice calls (~single operating system managing the first voice call related to a first SIM and the second voice call related to a second SIM). In 604, the UE 106 may receive a request to perform a data communication on the UE 106 while the first voice call and the second voice call are concurrently being performed. The data communication may comprise a data transmission and/or a data reception. For example, while the UE 106 is engaged in two active voice calls (e.g., one voice call may be fully active while the other call is on hold), wherein a single operating system is managing both voice calls”),
the terminal is at least installed with a first SIM card and a second SIM card ([0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”), the first SIM card and the second SIM card both support 5G, and the method comprises:
determining a call request ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”),
wherein the call request is configured to trigger a concurrent call based on the first SIM card and the second SIM card ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio (~first SIM card) and a second voice call on a second radio (~second SIM card)”; [0090], “In a typical scenario the user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106 (~call request is configured to trigger a concurrent call based on the first SIM card and the second SIM card). The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”); and
performing a call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request ([0090], “In a typical scenario the user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~a call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request)”).
Shi does not explicitly teach that the first SIM and the second SIM card both support 5G.
However, Jha teaches first SIM and the second SIM card both support 5G (Jha [0063] , “optimizing, by the UE, the resources of the wireless communication network by operating one of the first SIM and the second SIM in the dual registration mode when the event is associated with the first SIM includes determining, by the UE, the first SIM and the second SIM support the dual registration mode on the 5G network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jha with the teaching of Shi in order to allow for concurrent, high-speed 5G data connections from two different subscriptions simultaneously, providing uninterrupted, high-performance data usage on one SIM even while receiving calls or messages on the other.
Regarding claim 11, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 9,
wherein performing the call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request (Shi [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio (~first SIM card) and a second voice call on a second radio (~second SIM card)”) comprises:
determining, in response to determining that the call request is triggered, a current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106 (~determining, in response to determining that the call request is triggered, a current call state of the first SIM card already in progress)”); and
controlling the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card to enter at least one of an in-call state, a call holding state or a call waiting state based on the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~controlling the first SIM card to enter a call holding state based on the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress)”).
Regarding claim 12, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 11,
wherein the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress is the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”),
the call request comprises a first call request detected when the first SIM card is in the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”), and
the first call request is configured to trigger a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”);
wherein controlling the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card to enter at least one of the in-call state, the call holding state or the call waiting state, based on the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~controlling the first SIM card to enter the call holding state based on the current call state of the first SIM card)”) comprises:
maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call”; [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”), and
configuring the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the call holding state (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~configuring the call of the first SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the call holding state)”); or
maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the in-call state, and configuring the call of the second SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the in-call state; or
configuring the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the first call request as in the in-call state, and switching the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress from the in-call state to the call holding state.
Regarding claim 13, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 12,
wherein the call request further comprises a second call request, the second call request is configured to trigger a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card (Shi [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein the second request is a call request to trigger a call of the first SIM card (~first voice call on the first radio); [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”), and the method further comprises:
configuring the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the second call request as in the call waiting state (Shi [0070], “DSDA functionality may also allow the UE 106 may to simultaneously receive voice calls or data traffic on either phone number. In another embodiment, the UE 106 supports Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) functionality. The DSDS functionality may allow either of the two smart cards 310 (~includes the first SIM card) in the UE 106 to be on standby waiting for a voice call (~call waiting)”).
Regarding claim 14, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 13,
wherein the method further comprises:
switching the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress from the in-call state to the call holding state (Shi [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~switching the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress from the in-call state to the call holding state)”),
in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state (Shi [0070] and [0089], in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state; [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein the second request is a call request to trigger a call of the first SIM card (~first voice call on the first radio); [0070], “DSDA functionality may also allow the UE 106 may to simultaneously receive voice calls or data traffic on either phone number. In another embodiment, the UE 106 supports Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) functionality. The DSDS functionality may allow either of the two smart cards 310 (~includes the first SIM card) in the UE 106 to be on standby waiting for a voice call (~call waiting)”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”) and
the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the in-call state (Shi [0090], “user may be fully active (in-call state) on a first voice call ” (~current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the in-call state); [0089], “During a “fully active” call the user may be actively speaking or listening on the call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”); and
maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress as the call holding state, or disconnecting a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card in the call holding state, in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state and the current call state of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card already in progress is the call holding state (Shi [0090], [0070], and [0089], maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the call holding state, in response to determining that the call of the first SIM card triggered by the second call request is switched from the call waiting state to the in-call state and the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress is the call holding state; [0090], “user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~maintaining the current call state of the first SIM card already in progress as the call holding state)”; [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein the second request is a call request to trigger a call of the first SIM card (~first voice call on the first radio); [0070], “DSDA functionality may also allow the UE 106 may to simultaneously receive voice calls or data traffic on either phone number. In another embodiment, the UE 106 supports Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) functionality. The DSDS functionality may allow either of the two smart cards 310 (~includes the first SIM card) in the UE 106 to be on standby waiting for a voice call (~call waiting)”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”).
Regarding claim 17, Shi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0072], “processor 402 of the UE device 106 may be configured to implement part or all of the features described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”),
wherein when an instruction in the storage medium is executed by a processor of a terminal ([0072], “processor 402 of the UE device 106 may be configured to implement part or all of the features described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”),
the terminal is enabled to execute a method for a call applied to a terminal under a single operating system ([0072], “the UE 106 may include hardware and software components for implementing features for communicating using two or more RATs, such as those described herein. The processor 402 of the UE device 106 may be configured to implement part or all of the features described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”; [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”, wherein a single operating system is managing the first voice call and the second voice call; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”, wherein a single operating system is managing the first voice call and the second voice call; [0091-0092], “In some embodiments, the two voice calls may utilize different RATs. For example, the first voice call may be conducted using a GSM protocol stack, and the second voice call may be conducted using a 1x protocol stack. In other embodiments, the two voice calls may utilize the same RAT. For example, the first voice call may be conducted using a first GSM protocol stack, and the second voice call may be conducted using a second GSM protocol stack. In some embodiments, the UE may comprise two SIMs, each supporting one of the voice calls (~single operating system managing the first voice call related to a first SIM and the second voice call related to a second SIM). In 604, the UE 106 may receive a request to perform a data communication on the UE 106 while the first voice call and the second voice call are concurrently being performed. The data communication may comprise a data transmission and/or a data reception. For example, while the UE 106 is engaged in two active voice calls (e.g., one voice call may be fully active while the other call is on hold), wherein a single operating system is managing both voice calls”),
wherein the terminal is at least installed with a first SIM card and a second SIM card ([0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”), and
the method comprises:
determining a call request ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”),
wherein the call request is configured to trigger a concurrent call based on the first SIM card and the second SIM card ([0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio (~first SIM card) and a second voice call on a second radio (~second SIM card)”; [0090], “In a typical scenario the user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106 (~call request is configured to trigger a concurrent call based on the first SIM card and the second SIM card). The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs”); and
performing a call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request ([0090], “In a typical scenario the user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call (~a call processing for the first SIM card and the second SIM card based on the call request)”).
Shi does not explicitly teach that the first SIM and the second SIM card both support 5G.
However, Jha teaches first SIM and the second SIM card both support 5G (Jha [0063] , “optimizing, by the UE, the resources of the wireless communication network by operating one of the first SIM and the second SIM in the dual registration mode when the event is associated with the first SIM includes determining, by the UE, the first SIM and the second SIM support the dual registration mode on the 5G network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jha with the teaching of Shi in order to allow for concurrent, high-speed 5G data connections from two different subscriptions simultaneously, providing uninterrupted, high-performance data usage on one SIM even while receiving calls or messages on the other.
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Jha, and further in view of Wang (US2018/0167853A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a first call information and a second call information on a call interface;
wherein the first call information comprises attribute information of the first SIM card and a first call state of a call based on the first SIM card; the second call information comprises attribute information of the second SIM card and a second call state of a call based on the second SIM card.
However, Wang teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying a first call information and a second call information on a call interface ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the first SIM card may display my number (that is, the called number), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the first SIM card; and the incoming call interface of the second SIM card may display my number (that is the called number), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the second SIM card”);
wherein the first call information comprises attribute information of a first SIM card ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the first SIM card may display my number (that is, the called number) (~attribute information of a first SIM card), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the first SIM card”) and a first call state of a call based on the first SIM card ([0060], “the first display region of the display screen may display the calling number of the first SIM card, the called number of the first SIM card, the state of “being in the call” of the first SIM card, the call duration and the like of the first SIM card”);
the second call information comprises attribute information of the second SIM card ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the second SIM card may display my number (that is the called number) (~attribute information of a second SIM card), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the second SIM card”) and a second call state of a call based on the second SIM card ([0082], “the missed call interface of the second SIM card is displayed in the second display region”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order for the interfaces displayed by the operating systems corresponding to the two SIM cards are subjected to no mutual interference (Wang [0031]) and to provide a more organized and efficient call management experience, particularly for users who frequently manage calls on multiple lines or need to access information simultaneously during conversations.
Regarding claim 10, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 9.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a first call information and a second call information on a call interface;
wherein the first call information comprises attribute information of the first SIM card and a first call state of a call based on the first SIM card;
the second call information comprises attribute information of the second SIM card and a second call state of a call based on the second SIM card.
However, Wang teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying a first call information and a second call information on a call interface ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the first SIM card may display my number (that is, the called number), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the first SIM card; and the incoming call interface of the second SIM card may display my number (that is the called number), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the second SIM card”);
wherein the first call information comprises attribute information of a first SIM card ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the first SIM card may display my number (that is, the called number) (~attribute information of a first SIM card), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the first SIM card”) and a first call state of a call based on the first SIM card ([0060], “the first display region of the display screen may display the calling number of the first SIM card, the called number of the first SIM card, the state of “being in the call” of the first SIM card, the call duration and the like of the first SIM card”);
the second call information comprises attribute information of a second SIM card ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the second SIM card may display my number (that is the called number) (~attribute information of a second SIM card), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the second SIM card”) and a second call state of a call based on the second SIM card ([0082], “the missed call interface of the second SIM card is displayed in the second display region”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order for the interfaces displayed by the operating systems corresponding to the two SIM cards are subjected to no mutual interference (Wang [0031]) and to provide a more organized and efficient call management experience, particularly for users who frequently manage calls on multiple lines or need to access information simultaneously during conversations.
Regarding claim 18, Shi in view of Jha teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a first call information and a second call information on a call interface;
wherein the first call information comprises attribute information of the first SIM card and a first call state of a call based on the first SIM card; the second call information comprises attribute information of the second SIM card and a second call state of a call based on the second SIM card.
However, Wang teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying a first call information and a second call information on a call interface ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the first SIM card may display my number (that is, the called number), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the first SIM card; and the incoming call interface of the second SIM card may display my number (that is the called number), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the second SIM card”);
wherein the first call information comprises attribute information of a first SIM card ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the first SIM card may display my number (that is, the called number) (~attribute information of a first SIM card), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the first SIM card”) and a first call state of a call based on the first SIM card ([0060], “the first display region of the display screen may display the calling number of the first SIM card, the called number of the first SIM card, the state of “being in the call” of the first SIM card, the call duration and the like of the first SIM card”);
the second call information comprises attribute information of a second SIM card ([0063], “the incoming call interface of the second SIM card may display my number (that is the called number) (~attribute information of a second SIM card), the calling number, contact information corresponding to the calling number (for example, name of the contact) and the like of the second SIM card”) and a second call state of a call based on the second SIM card ([0082], “the missed call interface of the second SIM card is displayed in the second display region”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order for the interfaces displayed by the operating systems corresponding to the two SIM cards are subjected to no mutual interference (Wang [0031]) and to provide a more organized and efficient call management experience, particularly for users who frequently manage calls on multiple lines or need to access information simultaneously during conversations.
Claims 7-8, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Jha, and further in view of Kadiyala (US2015/0230070A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 5.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a merging tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by a same SIM card, wherein the merging tab is configured to merge the first call request and the second call request; and
merging the first call request and the second call request in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered.
However, Kadiyala teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying a merging tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by a same SIM card ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input selecting to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab)), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with Call A and Call B merged), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0077], “a touch pad touch surface 717 that serves as the computer's pointing device, and thus may receive drag, scroll, and flick gestures similar to those implemented on wireless computing devices equipped with a touch screen display”),
wherein the merging tab is configured to merge the first call request and the second call request ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") (~first call request) using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") (~second call request) addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input selecting (~[0045], touch screen display receiving selection) to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab)), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with merged Call A (~first call request) and Call B (~second call request) ), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0077], “a touch pad touch surface 717 that serves as the computer's pointing device, and thus may receive drag, scroll, and flick gestures similar to those implemented on wireless computing devices equipped with a touch screen display”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection”); and
merging the first call request and the second call request in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") (~first call request) using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") (~second call request) addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input (~[0045], touch screen display) selecting to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab) - in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with merged Call A (~first call request) and Call B (~second call request)), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs))”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kadiyala with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order to engage in a total of two ongoing calls, and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states (Kadiyala [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Shi in view of Jha teaches the method according to claim 5.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying an adding tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by different SIM cards,
wherein the adding tab is configured to add a new call; and adding the new call in response to determining that the adding tab is triggered.
However, Kadiyala teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying an adding tab in response to determining that a first call request and a second call request are call requests triggered by different SIM cards ([0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~displaying a touch screen display) selecting to accept Call D - displaying a tab for adding (~displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection”),
wherein the adding tab is configured to add a new call ([0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~a touch screen display with a tab for accepting Call D (new call)) selecting to accept Call D (new call) - displaying a tab for adding a Call D (new call) (~touch screen display displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs)”); and
adding the new call in response to determining that the adding tab is triggered ([0070] and [0045], based on user input selecting to accept Call D, Call D may proceed as an active ball in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM; If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call D may be offered to CM2 while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services; triggering accept call D tab in touchscreen adds the new call (~Call D) is added; [0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~a touch screen display with a tab for accepting Call D (new call)) selecting to accept Call D (new call) - displaying a tab for adding a Call D (new call) (~touch screen display displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kadiyala with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order to allow users to manage multiple incoming calls simultaneously, preventing missed calls and improving communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 14.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a merging tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by a same SIM card, wherein the merging tab is configured to merge the first call request and the second call request; and
merging the first call request and the second call request in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered.
However, Kadiyala further teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying a merging tab in response to determining that a first call request and a second call request are call requests triggered by a same SIM card ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input selecting to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab)), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with Call A and Call B merged), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0077], “a touch pad touch surface 717 that serves as the computer's pointing device, and thus may receive drag, scroll, and flick gestures similar to those implemented on wireless computing devices equipped with a touch screen display”),
wherein the merging tab is configured to merge the first call request and the second call request ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") (~first call request) using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") (~second call request) addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input selecting (~[0045], touch screen display receiving selection) to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab)), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with merged Call A (~first call request) and Call B (~second call request) ), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0077], “a touch pad touch surface 717 that serves as the computer's pointing device, and thus may receive drag, scroll, and flick gestures similar to those implemented on wireless computing devices equipped with a touch screen display”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection”); and
merging the first call request and the second call request in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") (~first call request) using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") (~second call request) addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input (~[0045], touch screen display) selecting to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab) - in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with merged Call A (~first call request) and Call B (~second call request)), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs))”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kadiyala with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order to engage in a total of two ongoing calls, and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states (Kadiyala [0065]).
Regarding claim 16, Shi in view of Jha teaches the device according to claim 14.
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises:
displaying an adding tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by different SIM cards, wherein the adding tab is configured to add a new call; and
adding the new call in response to determining that the adding tab is triggered.
However, Kadiyala teaches wherein a method further comprises:
displaying an adding tab in response to determining that a first call request and a second call request are call requests triggered by different SIM cards ([0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~displaying a touch screen display) selecting to accept Call D - displaying a tab for adding (~displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection”),
wherein the adding tab is configured to add a new call ([0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~a touch screen display with a tab for accepting Call D (new call)) selecting to accept Call D (new call) - displaying a tab for adding a Call D (new call) (~touch screen display displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs)”); and
adding the new call in response to determining that the adding tab is triggered ([0070] and [0045], based on user input selecting to accept Call D, Call D may proceed as an active ball in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM; If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call D may be offered to CM2 while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services; triggering accept call D tab in touchscreen adds the new call (~Call D) is added; [0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~a touch screen display with a tab for accepting Call D (new call)) selecting to accept Call D (new call) - displaying a tab for adding a Call D (new call) (~touch screen display displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kadiyala with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order to allow users to manage multiple incoming calls simultaneously, preventing missed calls and improving communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, Shi in view of Jha teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17,
wherein the call request comprises a first call request and a second call request configured to trigger a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card (Shi [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”).
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach the method further comprises:
displaying a merging tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by a same SIM card, wherein the merging tab is configured to merge the first call request and the second call request; and
merging the first call request and the second call request in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered.
However, Kadiyala further teaches
the method further comprises: displaying a merging tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by a same SIM card ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input selecting to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab)), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with Call A and Call B merged), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0077], “a touch pad touch surface 717 that serves as the computer's pointing device, and thus may receive drag, scroll, and flick gestures similar to those implemented on wireless computing devices equipped with a touch screen display”),
wherein the merging tab is configured to merge the first call request and the second call request ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") (~first call request) using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") (~second call request) addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input selecting (~[0045], touch screen display receiving selection) to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab)), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with merged Call A (~first call request) and Call B (~second call request) ), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0077], “a touch pad touch surface 717 that serves as the computer's pointing device, and thus may receive drag, scroll, and flick gestures similar to those implemented on wireless computing devices equipped with a touch screen display”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection”); and
merging the first call request and the second call request in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered ([0063-0065], “CM sublayer of the modem stack of a first SIM ("CM1") may be engaged in an active communication ("Call A") (~first call request) using a traffic channel assigned to it by a network providing service to the first SIM (e.g., first network). Upon arrival of an incoming call ("Call B") (~second call request) addressed to a first SIM identifier (e.g., to MSISDN-1), a component of the first network (e.g., network 110) may determine that the traffic channel assigned to the first SIM is unavailable because of ongoing active Call A ... Based on user input (~[0045], touch screen display) selecting to accept call B (~tab for merging (merging tab) - in response to determining that the merging tab is triggered), CM1 may send a message 508 to the first network to accept waiting Call B as an active call on the assigned traffic channel. As a result, CM1 may be engaged in a total of two ongoing calls (~first SIM with merged Call A (~first call request) and Call B (~second call request)), and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs))”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kadiyala with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order to engage in a total of two ongoing calls, and may thereafter alternate Calls A and B between the active and held states (Kadiyala [0065]).
Regarding claim 20, Shi in view of Jha teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17,
wherein the call request comprises a first call request and a second call request configured to trigger a call of the first SIM card and/or the second SIM card (Shi [0089], “UE 106 may concurrently conduct a first voice call on a first radio and a second voice call on a second radio”; [0090], “user may be fully active on a first voice call and then a second voice call may be received to the UE 106. The user may choose to place the first call on hold and then answer the second call”; [0052], “UE 106 comprises one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs), which each support one or more RATs. For example, a first SIM may support one or more of GSM, “1x” (Code Division Multiple Access 2000 (CDMA2000) 1x), 1xEV-DO (Evolution-Data Only), W-CDMA (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access), and LTE (Long Term Evolution). In some embodiments, a second SIM may support only GSM. In other embodiments, the second SIM may support other additional RATs, such as LTE”).
The combination of Shi and Jha does not explicitly teach the method further comprises:
displaying an adding tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by different SIM cards, wherein the adding tab is configured to add a new call; and
adding the new call in response to determining that the adding tab is triggered.
However, Kadiyala teaches the method further comprises:
displaying an adding tab in response to determining that the first call request and the second call request are call requests triggered by different SIM cards ([0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~displaying a touch screen display) selecting to accept Call D - displaying a tab for adding (~displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection”),
wherein the adding tab is configured to add a new call ([0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~a touch screen display with a tab for accepting Call D (new call)) selecting to accept Call D (new call) - displaying a tab for adding a Call D (new call) (~touch screen display displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs)”); and
adding the new call in response to determining that the adding tab is triggered([0070] and [0045], based on user input selecting to accept Call D, Call D may proceed as an active ball in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM; If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call D may be offered to CM2 while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services; triggering accept call D tab in touchscreen adds the new call (~Call D) is added; [0070], “Based on user input selecting to accept Call C, Call C may proceed as an active call in which data traffic may be sent and received using the radio resource corresponding to the second SIM. If CM2 is already handling one active call, Call C may be offered to CM2 (~Call C first call request on SIM2 (~CM2)) while that existing call remains in progress using the call waiting and call holding services described above with respect to Calls A and B (~Call B second call request on SIM1 (CM1)) on CM ... steps implementing the messaging associated with Call C may be repeated for another incoming Call D (~similarly a user input (~a touch screen display with a tab for accepting Call D (new call)) selecting to accept Call D (new call) - displaying a tab for adding a Call D (new call) (~touch screen display displaying an adding tab)) addressed to MSISDN-1, which may be offered to CM2”; [0045], “touchscreen display 226 may receive selection (~touchscreen selections are represented as tabs)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kadiyala with the teaching of Shi as modified by Jha in order to allow users to manage multiple incoming calls simultaneously, preventing missed calls and improving communication efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643