DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/24/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 12/02/2025. Claims 1, 11 and 20 have been amended. Claims 2 and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2020/0029340 A1), He hereinafter, and further in view of He et al. (US 2020/0037343 A1), He2 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, He teaches a method for resource selection, applied to a terminal device performing Sidelink (SL) transmission on an unlicensed spectrum (Fig. 3 & ¶0123), the method comprising: (Fig. 11-15, 23 & Abstract - The method comprises: receiving, from a second UE via a sidelink, signals including information to select resources … ¶0104 - Sidelink is the UE to UE interface for SL communication and SL discovery);
determining a first resource selection window at a first time domain unit; (¶0153 - In one embodiment of step 1: suppose that a UE with a reservation interval Tp needs to reserve new candidate subchannels at time (T). It can reserve subchannels between T and the established maximum latency (e.g., K). This time period is referred to as the selection window. Within the selection window, the UE identifies candidate subchannel resources to be reserved by all groups of adjacent subchannels within the same TTI where the SCI and TB to be transmitted may fit);
performing resource exclusion on transmission resources in the first resource selection window according to a first resource exclusion condition, (¶0154 - In one embodiment of step 2: for each configured TTI length, the UE analyzes all the information that the UE has received in the Ni TTIs before T and creates a list (L1) of candidate subchannels the UE could reserve. This list includes all the candidate subchannels in the selection window except those that meet the following two conditions. ¶0199 - In one embodiment, automatic resource selection after resource exclusion is provided. The resource exclusion methods described here may be applied to embodiment 6 as well as other embodiments e.g., embodiments 1-5. Please also see ¶0200);
wherein the first resource exclusion condition comprises at least one of a first channel detection result or a first information listening result; (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. Please also see ¶0172-¶0173);
and selecting transmission resources used for transmitting communication information from first remaining transmission resources, wherein the first remaining transmission resources comprise remaining transmission resources in the first resource selection window after the resource exclusion, (¶0207 - As an approach, when there are no enough available candidate resources remaining in the selection window after resource exclusion, the UE may measure PSSCH-RSRP for the decoded SCI and iteratively increase the PSSCH-RSRP threshold for deciding the reserved resources until there are enough available resources remaining in the selection window. PSSCH-RSRP threshold may be the same or different for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource. The resource exclusion order for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource may also be the same or different. Please also see ¶0208-¶0209);
wherein the first resource exclusion condition comprises the first channel detection result; (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. ¶0302 - In one embodiment, the LBT procedure is provided on each candidate resource selected for LBT. Please see ¶0302-¶0303);
and the performing resource exclusion on the transmission resources in the first resource selection window according to the first resource exclusion condition comprises: performing channel detection for the first time domain unit, to obtain the first channel detection result; (¶0166 - One approach for the whole LBT procedure is as followings and shown in FIG. 12 … The UE may assume that any set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels included in the corresponding PSSCH resource pool corresponds to one candidate subchannels resource. ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. ¶0302 - In one embodiment, the LBT procedure is provided on each candidate resource selected for LBT. The difference is that whenever the UE detects any transmission in current resource allocation slot, the LBT procedure is paused in current resource allocation slot … In one example, the LBT procedure waits until next resource allocation slot to resume LBT procedure, and the LBT procedure goes to step 1. Please also see ¶0303);
Yet, He does not explicitly teach and excluding, according to the first channel detection result, all transmission resources located before a second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, or a transmission resource located in the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window and all the transmission resources located before the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, wherein the second time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches and excluding, according to the first channel detection result, all transmission resources located before a second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0222 - LBT resource allocation after resource exclusion on a selected time-frequency resource is: 1) set N=N.sub.init, where N.sub.init is a number between 0 and N.sub.max, and go to step 2; 2) if N>0 and the eNB/gNB chooses to decrement the counter, set N=N−1, go to step 2; else, go to step 3; sense the channel (a selected time-frequency resource) for a slot duration. If the slot duration is idle, stop; else, go to step 4; and the LBT procedure is suspended, and wait until next resource allocation slot or a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. And go to step 1. ¶0223 - The slot duration defined here can be configured to be symbol duration or more or less than symbol duration (e.g., a resource allocation slot). Specifically, when the slot duration is defined as a symbol duration, step 2 and step 3 means the UE only senses or listens to the channel (a selected time-frequency resource) in the Nth symbol);
or a transmission resource located in the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window and all the transmission resources located before the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, (¶0234 - When a selected time-frequency resource is sensed to be busy, then LBT procedure is suspended, and the UE waits a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. These backoff mechanisms may be used for any LBT-like resource allocation procedures. There a few approaches for determination of the backoff counter. Please also see ¶0235-¶0236);
wherein the second time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit (¶0312 - A reservation signal may be transmitted starting at any OFDM symbol in a slot. When a channel is sensed to be busy at any OFDM symbol, it may be shown that another UE transmits the reservation signal in the slot, and the UE needs to wait until next slot to begin the sensing procedure again. When the channel is sensed to be idle for a (pre)configured number of OFDM symbols in one slot, the UE can start the transmission of the reservation signal from next OFDM symbol until the end of the slot. Please also see ¶0313-¶0314).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Re. Claims 4 and 14, He and He2 teach Claims 1 and 11.
He further teaches the performing channel detection for the first time domain unit comprises: performing channel detection at at least one of the first time domain unit or a time domain unit before the first time domain unit (Fig. 11-15, 23 & ¶0166 - One approach for the whole LBT procedure is as followings and shown in FIG. 12. From the time n when there is a higher layer packet arriving, the LBT procedure begins. A candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission R.sub.x is defined as a set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels with sub-channel x+j where j=0, . . . , L.sub.subCH−1. The UE may assume that any set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels included in the corresponding PSSCH resource pool corresponds to one candidate subchannels resource. ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. Please also see ¶0302-¶0303. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses “of the first time domain unit”).
Re. Claims 5 and 15, He and He2 teach Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, He does not explicitly teach at least one of the following applies: the channel detection comprises Listen Before Talk (LBT), and the first channel detection result comprises that the LBT fails; or the channel detection comprises channel listening, and the first channel detection result comprises that a channel is busy.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches at least one of the following applies: (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
the channel detection comprises Listen Before Talk (LBT), and the first channel detection result comprises that the LBT fails;
or the channel detection comprises channel listening, and the first channel detection result comprises that a channel is busy (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0234 - When a selected time-frequency resource is sensed to be busy, then LBT procedure is suspended, and the UE waits a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. These backoff mechanisms may be used for any LBT-like resource allocation procedures. There a few approaches for determination of the backoff counter. Please also see ¶0235-¶0236).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Re. Claims 6 and 16, He and He2 teach Claims 1 and 11.
He further teaches determining a second resource selection window in response to transmission of communication information at a third time domain unit, wherein the third time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit; (Fig. 11-15, 23 & ¶0195 - One of the considerations for periodic services is the UE performs the LBT on selected candidate resources and reserves a set of periodic resources when it is time to perform resource re-selection. ¶0196 - For each resource reselection procedure, the UE performs LBT and selects a periodic resource for duration of time (resource reselection counter). At each transmission time, the resource reselection counter is decremented by one. When the resource reselection counter is decremented to zero, the UE performs resource selection and LBT again, and reserves a set of periodic resources for a duration of time (i.e., resource reselection counter*resource period);
performing resource exclusion on transmission resources in the second resource selection window; (¶0199 - In one embodiment, automatic resource selection after resource exclusion is provided. The resource exclusion methods described here may be applied to embodiment 6 as well as other embodiments e.g., embodiments 1-5. Please also see ¶0200);
and re-selecting the selected transmission resources from second remaining transmission resources, wherein the second remaining transmission resources comprise remaining transmission resources in the second resource selection window after the resource exclusion (¶0207 - As an approach, when there are no enough available candidate resources remaining in the selection window after resource exclusion, the UE may measure PSSCH-RSRP for the decoded SCI and iteratively increase the PSSCH-RSRP threshold for deciding the reserved resources until there are enough available resources remaining in the selection window. PSSCH-RSRP threshold may be the same or different for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource. The resource exclusion order for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource may also be the same or different. Please also see ¶0208-¶0209).
Re. Claim 7, He and He2 teach Claim 6.
He further teaches the performing resource exclusion on the transmission resource in the second resource selection window comprises at least one of: (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
excluding at least one of a transmission resource located in a fourth time domain unit in the second resource selection window or transmission resources before the fourth time domain unit in the second resource selection window according a second channel detection result;
excluding transmission resources in the second resource listening window that are occupied by a communication device in a heterosystem according to an information listening result of the heterosystem;
excluding transmission resources reserved by other terminal devices in the second resource selection window according to a control information listening result; or (Fig. 11-15, 23 & ¶0200 - Candidate resources may be obtained by excluding resources in the resource selection window reserved or being used by other UEs by decoded SCIs of these UEs. The reserved resources may be aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic. SCI format may indicate whether the resources reserved by a UE are one-time resource or semi-persistent (periodic) resources corresponding to periodic traffic and aperiodic traffic. For either one-time or semi-persistent (periodic) resource, multi-slot T-F resources are reserved for a large packet. For a multi-slot reserved T-F resource, SCI format may indicate the multiple slots where resources are reserved);
excluding a transmission resource corresponding to a time domain unit associated with a fifth time domain unit in the second resource selection window according to a control information listening state, wherein the control information listening state comprises that SL control information listening is not performed at the fifth time domain unit, and the fifth time domain unit is a time domain unit before the third time domain unit.
Re. Claim 9, He and He2 teach Claim 6.
Yet, He does not explicitly teach the communication information comprises first SL control information; transmission resources indicated by the first SL control information comprise transmission resources not indicated by second SL control information; and the second SL control information is SL control information transmitted before the first SL control information and used to indicate at least one of the selected transmission resources.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches the communication information comprises first SL control information; transmission resources indicated by the first SL control information comprise transmission resources not indicated by second SL control information; and the second SL control information is SL control information transmitted before the first SL control information and used to indicate at least one of the selected transmission resources (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0329 - In one embodiment, the retransmission resource is allocated dynamically each time when a UE is going to schedule a retransmission, e.g., after the UE receives a NACK from the receiver UE. The SCI in each transmission only carries associated PSSCH scheduling information for this transmission. One example is both initial and retransmission resource is independently selected by a LBT-like sensing and resource selection scheme at the time prior to the corresponding transmission. Resources for Initial and retransmissions are selected and indicated independently. Please also see ¶0285).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Re. Claim 11, He teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor, and a transceiver connected to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform operations of: (Fig. 3);
determining a first resource selection window at a first time domain unit; (Fig. 11-15, 23 & ¶0153 - In one embodiment of step 1: suppose that a UE with a reservation interval Tp needs to reserve new candidate subchannels at time (T). It can reserve subchannels between T and the established maximum latency (e.g., K). This time period is referred to as the selection window. Within the selection window, the UE identifies candidate subchannel resources to be reserved by all groups of adjacent subchannels within the same TTI where the SCI and TB to be transmitted may fit);
performing resource exclusion on transmission resources in the first resource selection window according to a first resource exclusion condition, (¶0154 - In one embodiment of step 2: for each configured TTI length, the UE analyzes all the information that the UE has received in the Ni TTIs before T and creates a list (L1) of candidate subchannels the UE could reserve. This list includes all the candidate subchannels in the selection window except those that meet the following two conditions. ¶0199 - In one embodiment, automatic resource selection after resource exclusion is provided. The resource exclusion methods described here may be applied to embodiment 6 as well as other embodiments e.g., embodiments 1-5. Please also see ¶0200);
wherein the first resource exclusion condition comprises at least one of a first channel detection result or a first information listening result; (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. Please also see ¶0172-¶0173);
and selecting transmission resources used for transmitting communication information from first remaining transmission resources, wherein the first remaining transmission resources comprise remaining transmission resources in the first resource selection window after the resource exclusion, (¶0207 - As an approach, when there are no enough available candidate resources remaining in the selection window after resource exclusion, the UE may measure PSSCH-RSRP for the decoded SCI and iteratively increase the PSSCH-RSRP threshold for deciding the reserved resources until there are enough available resources remaining in the selection window. PSSCH-RSRP threshold may be the same or different for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource. The resource exclusion order for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource may also be the same or different. Please also see ¶0208-¶0209);
wherein the first resource exclusion condition comprises the first channel detection result; (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. ¶0302 - In one embodiment, the LBT procedure is provided on each candidate resource selected for LBT. Please see ¶0302-¶0303);
and the performing resource exclusion on the transmission resources in the first resource selection window according to the first resource exclusion condition comprises: performing channel detection for the first time domain unit, to obtain the first channel detection result; (¶0166 - One approach for the whole LBT procedure is as followings and shown in FIG. 12 … The UE may assume that any set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels included in the corresponding PSSCH resource pool corresponds to one candidate subchannels resource. ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. ¶0302 - In one embodiment, the LBT procedure is provided on each candidate resource selected for LBT. The difference is that whenever the UE detects any transmission in current resource allocation slot, the LBT procedure is paused in current resource allocation slot … In one example, the LBT procedure waits until next resource allocation slot to resume LBT procedure, and the LBT procedure goes to step 1. Please also see ¶0303);
Yet, He does not explicitly teach and excluding, according to the first channel detection result, all transmission resources located before a second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, or a transmission resource located in the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window and all the transmission resources located before the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, wherein the second time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches and excluding, according to the first channel detection result, all transmission resources located before a second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0222 - LBT resource allocation after resource exclusion on a selected time-frequency resource is: 1) set N=N.sub.init, where N.sub.init is a number between 0 and N.sub.max, and go to step 2; 2) if N>0 and the eNB/gNB chooses to decrement the counter, set N=N−1, go to step 2; else, go to step 3; sense the channel (a selected time-frequency resource) for a slot duration. If the slot duration is idle, stop; else, go to step 4; and the LBT procedure is suspended, and wait until next resource allocation slot or a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. And go to step 1. ¶0223 - The slot duration defined here can be configured to be symbol duration or more or less than symbol duration (e.g., a resource allocation slot). Specifically, when the slot duration is defined as a symbol duration, step 2 and step 3 means the UE only senses or listens to the channel (a selected time-frequency resource) in the Nth symbol);
or a transmission resource located in the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window and all the transmission resources located before the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, (¶0234 - When a selected time-frequency resource is sensed to be busy, then LBT procedure is suspended, and the UE waits a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. These backoff mechanisms may be used for any LBT-like resource allocation procedures. There a few approaches for determination of the backoff counter. Please also see ¶0235-¶0236);
wherein the second time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit (¶0312 - A reservation signal may be transmitted starting at any OFDM symbol in a slot. When a channel is sensed to be busy at any OFDM symbol, it may be shown that another UE transmits the reservation signal in the slot, and the UE needs to wait until next slot to begin the sensing procedure again. When the channel is sensed to be idle for a (pre)configured number of OFDM symbols in one slot, the UE can start the transmission of the reservation signal from next OFDM symbol until the end of the slot. Please also see ¶0313-¶0314).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Re. Claim 20, He teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations of: (Fig. 11-15, 23 & ¶0020 - Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs, each of which is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium);
determining a first resource selection window at a first time domain unit; (¶0153 - In one embodiment of step 1: suppose that a UE with a reservation interval Tp needs to reserve new candidate subchannels at time (T). It can reserve subchannels between T and the established maximum latency (e.g., K). This time period is referred to as the selection window. Within the selection window, the UE identifies candidate subchannel resources to be reserved by all groups of adjacent subchannels within the same TTI where the SCI and TB to be transmitted may fit);
performing resource exclusion on transmission resources in the first resource selection window according to a first resource exclusion condition, (¶0154 - In one embodiment of step 2: for each configured TTI length, the UE analyzes all the information that the UE has received in the Ni TTIs before T and creates a list (L1) of candidate subchannels the UE could reserve. This list includes all the candidate subchannels in the selection window except those that meet the following two conditions. ¶0199 - In one embodiment, automatic resource selection after resource exclusion is provided. The resource exclusion methods described here may be applied to embodiment 6 as well as other embodiments e.g., embodiments 1-5. Please also see ¶0200);
wherein the first resource exclusion condition comprises at least one of a first channel detection result or a first information listening result; (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. Please also see ¶0172-¶0173);
and selecting transmission resources used for transmitting communication information from first remaining transmission resources, wherein the first remaining transmission resources comprise remaining transmission resources in the first resource selection window after the resource exclusion, (¶0207 - As an approach, when there are no enough available candidate resources remaining in the selection window after resource exclusion, the UE may measure PSSCH-RSRP for the decoded SCI and iteratively increase the PSSCH-RSRP threshold for deciding the reserved resources until there are enough available resources remaining in the selection window. PSSCH-RSRP threshold may be the same or different for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource. The resource exclusion order for one-time and semi-persistent (periodic) resource may also be the same or different. Please also see ¶0208-¶0209);
wherein the first resource exclusion condition comprises the first channel detection result; (Fig. 12-13 & ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. ¶0302 - In one embodiment, the LBT procedure is provided on each candidate resource selected for LBT. Please see ¶0302-¶0303);
and the performing resource exclusion on the transmission resources in the first resource selection window according to the first resource exclusion condition comprises: performing channel detection for the first time domain unit, to obtain the first channel detection result; (¶0166 - One approach for the whole LBT procedure is as followings and shown in FIG. 12 … The UE may assume that any set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels included in the corresponding PSSCH resource pool corresponds to one candidate subchannels resource. ¶0167 - For each candidate subchannels resource for PSSCH transmission, the UE performs the corresponding LBT procedure on corresponding subchannels. When the UE senses the channel, the energy detection can be measured in number of TTIs e.g., 2, 4 or 7 OFDM symbols/1 slot or number of OFDM symbols depending upon specific latency requirements. ¶0302 - In one embodiment, the LBT procedure is provided on each candidate resource selected for LBT. The difference is that whenever the UE detects any transmission in current resource allocation slot, the LBT procedure is paused in current resource allocation slot … In one example, the LBT procedure waits until next resource allocation slot to resume LBT procedure, and the LBT procedure goes to step 1. Please also see ¶0303);
Yet, He does not explicitly teach and excluding, according to the first channel detection result, all transmission resources located before a second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, or a transmission resource located in the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window and all the transmission resources located before the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, wherein the second time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches and excluding, according to the first channel detection result, all transmission resources located before a second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0222 - LBT resource allocation after resource exclusion on a selected time-frequency resource is: 1) set N=N.sub.init, where N.sub.init is a number between 0 and N.sub.max, and go to step 2; 2) if N>0 and the eNB/gNB chooses to decrement the counter, set N=N−1, go to step 2; else, go to step 3; sense the channel (a selected time-frequency resource) for a slot duration. If the slot duration is idle, stop; else, go to step 4; and the LBT procedure is suspended, and wait until next resource allocation slot or a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. And go to step 1. ¶0223 - The slot duration defined here can be configured to be symbol duration or more or less than symbol duration (e.g., a resource allocation slot). Specifically, when the slot duration is defined as a symbol duration, step 2 and step 3 means the UE only senses or listens to the channel (a selected time-frequency resource) in the Nth symbol);
or a transmission resource located in the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window and all the transmission resources located before the second time domain unit in the first resource selection window, (¶0234 - When a selected time-frequency resource is sensed to be busy, then LBT procedure is suspended, and the UE waits a backoff number of resource allocation slots to resume LBT procedure. These backoff mechanisms may be used for any LBT-like resource allocation procedures. There a few approaches for determination of the backoff counter. Please also see ¶0235-¶0236);
wherein the second time domain unit is a time domain unit after the first time domain unit (¶0312 - A reservation signal may be transmitted starting at any OFDM symbol in a slot. When a channel is sensed to be busy at any OFDM symbol, it may be shown that another UE transmits the reservation signal in the slot, and the UE needs to wait until next slot to begin the sensing procedure again. When the channel is sensed to be idle for a (pre)configured number of OFDM symbols in one slot, the UE can start the transmission of the reservation signal from next OFDM symbol until the end of the slot. Please also see ¶0313-¶0314).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He and He2, as applied to Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16 and 20 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0174735), Li hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3 and 13, He and He2 teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, He and He2 do not explicitly teach a time domain interval between the second time domain unit and the first time domain unit is associated with an upper limit value of a Channel Occupancy Time (COT) on the unlicensed spectrum.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches a time domain interval between the second time domain unit and the first time domain unit is associated with an upper limit value of a Channel Occupancy Time (COT) on the unlicensed spectrum (Fig. 1 & ¶0100 - PUSCH transmission over multiple mini-slots or slots can be consecutive in the time domain. ¶0108 - In some embodiments, the number of repetitions within a COT is upper bounded by the length of MCOT or in case of shared COT by the remaining shared COT. Abstract - Systems, methods, and apparatuses disclosed herein can operate on an unlicensed spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teachings of He and He2. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention facilitate NR operation in unlicensed spectrum (¶0051, Li).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He and He2, as applied to Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16 and 20 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0266921), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, He and He2 teach Claim 6.
Yet, He and He2 do not explicitly teach the determining the second resource selection window comprises: determining the second resource selection window at a sixth time domain unit; wherein the sixth time domain unit is a time domain unit before the third time domain unit; and a time domain interval between the sixth time domain unit and the third time domain unit comprises a duration for the terminal device to perform resource selection.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly teaches the determining the second resource selection window comprises: determining the second resource selection window at a sixth time domain unit; (Fig. 3, 4B & ¶0038 - a second resource selection window that is configured, preconfigured, or specified the second type of traffic. Please also see ¶0039-¶0040, ¶0044 - When a second resource selection for the second type of traffic (e.g., at time p) is triggered by a higher layer, for the second type of traffic, the selecting unit 230 excludes one or more unavailable resources to obtain one or more available resources for transmitting the second type of traffic, e.g., aperiodic traffic, during the second resource selection window (from time t3 to t4), according to the measured RSRP sensed during the first sensing window (e.g., from time (p-a) to p) by the sensing unit 210, and rank the obtained available resources according to the second measured S-RSSI during the second resource selection window (e.g., from time t3 to t4));
wherein the sixth time domain unit is a time domain unit before the third time domain unit; (¶0044 - As shown in the example of FIG. 3, resource of PSSCH2 is selected for transmitting the second type of traffic in the second resource selection window (e.g., from time t3 to t4). ¶0045 - As shown in the example of FIG. 3, a time gap Δt1 between time n and time t1 indicates that from the time (time n) when the first resource selection for the first type of traffic is triggered, after the time gap Δt1, the selecting unit 230 starts to select resources for transmitting the first type of traffic, and a time gap Δt2 between time p and time t3 indicates that from the time (time p) when the second resource selection for the second type of traffic is triggered, after the time gap Δt2, the selecting unit 230 starts to select resources for transmitting the second type of traffic);
and a time domain interval between the sixth time domain unit and the third time domain unit comprises a duration for the terminal device to perform resource selection (¶0044 - When a second resource selection for the second type of traffic (e.g., at time p) is triggered by a higher layer, for the second type of traffic, the selecting unit 230 excludes one or more unavailable resources to obtain one or more available resources for transmitting the second type of traffic, e.g., aperiodic traffic, during the second resource selection window. Please also see ¶0045. ¶0048 - the sensing windows and resource selection windows are configured, preconfigured, or specified for the first type of traffic and second type of traffic… the time durations of one or both of the sensing window and the resource selection window that are configured, preconfigured, or specified).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Wang to the teachings of He and He2. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication field, and in particular, to a user equipment (UE) and communication methods (¶0001, Wang).
Re. Claim 17, He and He2 teach Claim 16.
Yet, He does not explicitly teach the determining the second resource selection window comprises: performing channel detection for a sixth time domain unit; and determining the second resource selection window in a case that a second channel detection result is obtained according to the channel detection.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches the determining the second resource selection window comprises: performing channel detection for a sixth time domain unit (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0312 - A reservation signal may be transmitted starting at any OFDM symbol in a slot. When a channel is sensed to be busy at any OFDM symbol, it may be shown that another UE transmits the reservation signal in the slot, and the UE needs to wait until next slot to begin the sensing procedure again. When the channel is sensed to be idle for a (pre)configured number of OFDM symbols in one slot, the UE can start the transmission of the reservation signal from next OFDM symbol until the end of the slot. Please also see ¶0313);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Yet, He and He2 do not explicitly teach and determining the second resource selection window in a case that a second channel detection result is obtained according to the channel detection.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly teaches and determining the second resource selection window in a case that a second channel detection result is obtained according to the channel detection (Fig. 3, 4B & ¶0040 - Similar principles can be applied to time t3 and time t4 that are designated for the second resource selection window. ¶0044 - When a second resource selection for the second type of traffic (e.g., at time p) is triggered by a higher layer, for the second type of traffic, the selecting unit 230 excludes one or more unavailable resources to obtain one or more available resources for transmitting the second type of traffic, e.g., aperiodic traffic, during the second resource selection window (from time t3 to t4), according to the measured RSRP sensed during the first sensing window (e.g., from time (p-a) to p) by the sensing unit 210, and rank the obtained available resources according to the second measured S-RSSI during the second resource selection window (e.g., from time t3 to t4). Please see ¶0044-¶0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Wang to the teachings of He and He2. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication field, and in particular, to a user equipment (UE) and communication methods (¶0001, Wang).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He and He2, as applied to Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16 and 20 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (US 2023/0022691 A1), Ji hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, He and He2 teach Claim 9.
Yet, He does not explicitly teach the re-selecting the selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources comprises: in a case that a first transmission resource exists, re-selecting at least one of a new first transmission resource or new selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources, wherein the first transmission resource is a transmission resource not indicated by the second SL control information in the transmission resources indicated by the first SL control information, and the first transmission resource is located beyond the second remaining transmission resources.
However, in the analogous art, He2 explicitly teaches wherein the first transmission resource is a transmission resource not indicated by the second SL control information in the transmission resources indicated by the first SL control information, (Fig. 13-17 & ¶0329 - In one embodiment, the retransmission resource is allocated dynamically each time when a UE is going to schedule a retransmission, e.g., after the UE receives a NACK from the receiver UE. The SCI in each transmission only carries associated PSSCH scheduling information for this transmission. One example is both initial and retransmission resource is independently selected by a LBT-like sensing and resource selection scheme at the time prior to the corresponding transmission. Resources for Initial and retransmissions are selected and indicated independently);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He2 to the teaching of He. The motivation would be because use of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is vital for fair and friendly coexistence of LAA with other operators and technologies operating in unlicensed spectrum (¶0133, He2).
Yet, He and He2 do not explicitly teach the re-selecting the selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources comprises: in a case that a first transmission resource exists, re-selecting at least one of a new first transmission resource or new selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources, and the first transmission resource is located beyond the second remaining transmission resources.
However, in the analogous art, Ji explicitly teaches the re-selecting the selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources comprises: in a case that a first transmission resource exists, (Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - As shown in FIG. 5, for example, #m1, #m2 and #m3 are sidelink resources in three times of transmission in multiple times of transmission of a TB, which are obtained in an initial selection process; and SCI to which #m1 corresponds indicates and reserves #m2 and #m3. ¶0105 - As shown in FIG. 5, at a time point before #m1 spaced apart therefrom by T3, #m2 and #m3 need to be re-evaluated. If there exists a resource (such as #m2) that is not in the reselection candidate set after the resource re-evaluation, resource reselection for #m2 is triggered);
re-selecting at least one of a new first transmission resource or new selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources, (Fig. 7 & ¶0117 - In the embodiments of this disclosure, resource reselection is performed on one or more sidelink resources that are not in the reselection candidate resource set. A resource collision or conflict refers to, for example, a situation where the UE detects that resources to be used for a time of transmission overlap with resources reserved by other UEs and a detection result of RSRP of a corresponding reference signal is greater than a threshold, or a situation where the UE detects that resources to be used for a time of transmission are completely identical to resources reserved by other UEs; and the resources here are initially selected resources. Please also see ¶0118-¶0121);
and the first transmission resource is located beyond the second remaining transmission resources (¶0103 - After the resource re-evaluation, if a resource is occupied by other UEs and the measured RSRP value of the reference signal is greater than the corresponding threshold, the resource will not be included in a reselection candidate resource set reported after the resource re-evaluation process, and it is needed to reselect this resource. ¶0105 - As shown in FIG. 5, at a time point before #m1 spaced apart therefrom by T3, #m2 and #m3 need to be re-evaluated. If there exists a resource (such as #m2) that is not in the reselection candidate set after the resource re-evaluation, resource reselection for #m2 is triggered. Please also see ¶0117-¶0119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ji to the teachings of He and He2. The motivation would be because after sidelink resources are selected, for how to reselect sidelink resources in a candidate resource set of a selection window, there exists no solution at present (¶0006, Ji).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He and He2 and Wang, as applied to Claims 8 and 17 above, and further in view of Ji.
Re. Claim 18, He and He2 and Wang teach Claim 17.
Yet, He and He2 and Wang do not explicitly teach the re-selecting the selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources comprises: re-selecting a transmission resource corresponding to the third time domain unit from the second remaining transmission resources.
However, in the analogous art, Ji explicitly teaches the re-selecting the selected transmission resources from the second remaining transmission resources comprises: re-selecting a transmission resource corresponding to the third time domain unit from the second remaining transmission resources (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - After the resource re-evaluation, if a resource is occupied by other UEs and the measured RSRP value of the reference signal is greater than the corresponding threshold, the resource will not be included in a reselection candidate resource set reported after the resource re-evaluation process, and it is needed to reselect this resource. ¶0104 - FIG. 5 is an exemplary diagram of resource re-evaluation of the embodiment of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, for example, #m1, #m2 and #m3 are sidelink resources in three times of transmission in multiple times of transmission of a TB, which are obtained in an initial selection process; and SCI to which #m1 corresponds indicates and reserves #m2 and #m3. ¶0105 - As shown in FIG. 5, at a time point before #m1 spaced apart therefrom by T3, #m2 and #m3 need to be re-evaluated. If there exists a resource (such as #m2) that is not in the reselection candidate set after the resource re-evaluation, resource reselection for #m2 is triggered. Please also see ¶0117-¶0121 and Fig. 7 & ¶0126-¶0129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ji to the teachings of He and He2 and Wang. The motivation would be because after sidelink resources are selected, for how to reselect sidelink resources in a candidate resource set of a selection window, there exists no solution at present (¶0006, Ji).
Re. Claim 19, He and He2 and Wang teach Claim 17.
Yet, He and He2 and Wang do not explicitly teach the processor is further configured to perform operations of: in a case that a second transmission resource exists, re-selecting a new second transmission resource from the second remaining transmission resources, wherein a time domain unit corresponding to the second transmission resource is a time domain unit after the third time domain unit, and the second transmission resource is a transmission resource located beyond the second remaining transmission resources in the selected transmission resources.
However, in the analogous art, Ji explicitly teaches the processor is further configured to perform operations of: in a case that a second transmission resource exists, (Fig. 4-5, 7 & ¶0095 - In some embodiments, a temporally foremost resource in the ordered sidelink resources is used for initial transmission of the transport block, and an (i+1)-th resource in time is used for an i-th time of retransmission; where, 1≤i≤N.sub.1−1, N.sub.1 being the number of the ordered sidelink resources. ¶0104 - FIG. 5 is an exemplary diagram of resource re-evaluation of the embodiment of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, for example, #m1, #m2 and #m3 are sidelink resources in three times of transmission in multiple times of transmission of a TB, which are obtained in an initial selection process; and SCI to which #m1 corresponds indicates and reserves #m2 and #m3);
re-selecting a new second transmission resource from the second remaining transmission resources, (¶0120 - a maximum number N.sub.max of resources that the sidelink control information is able to indicate is 2 or 3, and in a case where a sidelink resource that is not in the reselection candidate resource set is an (i+1)-th or (i+2)-th resource, reselection is performed on the (i+1)-th or (i+2)-th sidelink resource; ¶0121 - wherein based on time frequency resources of the i-th sidelink resource and the (i+2)-th to N.sub.1-th sidelink resources, a sidelink resource is reselected from the sidelink resource set; where, 1≤i≤N.sub.1−2, N.sub.1 being the number of the multiple initially selected sidelink resources. Please also see ¶0128-¶0129);
wherein a time domain unit corresponding to the second transmission resource is a time domain unit after the third time domain unit, (Fig. 5 & ¶0095, ¶0104, where Examiner interprets #m2 as the resource corresponding to the claimed third time domain unit and #m3 as the claimed second transmission resource occurring after the third time domain unit);
and the second transmission resource is a transmission resource located beyond the second remaining transmission resources in the selected transmission resources (¶0119 - For example, as shown in FIG. 5, if m2 is not in the reselection candidate set, a sidelink resource is reselected; and if both m2 and m3 are not in the reselection candidate set, two sidelink resources are reselected. And other initially selected sidelink resources are still reserved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ji to the teachings of He and He2 and Wang. The motivation would be because after sidelink resources are selected, for how to reselect sidelink resources in a candidate resource set of a selection window, there exists no solution at present (¶0006, Ji).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shilov et al. (WO 2020/092931 A1) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-4 & ¶0049-¶0053, ¶0061-¶0068.
Lei et al. (WO 2018/032706 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-14.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465