DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments combined with the claim amendments have been fully considered and are found persuasive with respect to the previous rejection(s); however, upon further search and consideration due to the change in scope, an updated grounds of rejection is presented below, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claims 1-4, 10-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitzan et al. (US 2020/0268952; hereinafter “Nitzan”) in view of Grippi et al. (US 2004/0071786; hereinafter “Grippi”).
Regarding claim 1, 10, and 17, Nitzan discloses a percutaneous circulatory support device, positioned at a target location within the patient (e.g. ¶¶ 131) comprising: an impeller housing (e.g. Fig 2 – where the examiner considers the entire structure proximal to #231 tip to be the impeller housing); an impeller disposed within the impeller housing (e.g. Fig. 2, #205), the impeller being rotatable relative to the impeller housing to cause blood to flow through the percutaneous circulatory support device (e.g. ¶¶ 93) in a proximal direction (e.g. ¶¶ 93, 100-101, etc.); and a reservoir disposed within the impeller housing (e.g. ¶¶ 139 – medicant lumen – where the examiner considers the anticoagulant delivered through this lumen and the volume within that lumen to be equivalent to the reservoir), the reservoir carrying at least one anticoagulant and being configured to release the at least one anticoagulant into blood flowing through the percutaneous circulatory support device (e.g. ¶¶ 148-149).
Nitzan fails to expressly disclose the impeller shaft extending through the reservoir as claimed. In the same field of endeavor, Grippi discloses a device where the rotor shaft extends through a reservoir, which contains an anticoagulant to prevent clotting, in order to allow the appropriate amount of anticoagulant into the sample. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the reservoir of Nitzan to have the impeller shaft extending through the reservoir as taught by Grippi, in order to allow for a more efficient packaging and allow introduction of the anticoagulant seamlessly into the blood.
Regarding claim 2-3, 11, and 18-19, Nitzan discloses the at least one anticoagulant comprises heparin (e.g. ¶¶ 5, 151, etc.).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Nitzan discloses a motor operatively coupled to the impeller, the motor rotating the impeller relative to the impeller housing to cause blood to flow through the percutaneous circulatory support device (e.g. ¶¶ 8, 15, etc.).
Regarding claim 9, Nitzan discloses the impeller housing further comprises an outlet, and the outlet extends both proximally and distally beyond the reservoir (e.g. ¶¶ 93, 100-101, etc.).
Claims 5-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitzan in view of Grippi, further in view of Muller et al. (USP# 10,576,192; hereinafter “Muller”). Nitzan fails to expressly disclose a driving magnet operatively coupled to the motor and a driven magnet operatively coupled to the driving magnet, the motor rotating the impeller, via the driving magnet and the driven magnet, relative to the impeller housing to cause blood to flow through the percutaneous circulatory support device. In the same field of endeavor, Muller discloses a percutaneous circulatory support device/system with a driving magnet operatively coupled to the motor and a driven magnet operatively coupled to the driving magnet, the motor rotating the impeller, via the driving magnet and the driven magnet, relative to the impeller housing to cause blood to flow through the percutaneous circulatory support device (e.g. Col 4, ll 9-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the known technique of a driving magnet operatively coupled to the motor and a driven magnet operatively coupled to the driving magnet, the motor rotating the impeller, via the driving magnet and the driven magnet, as taught by Muller, to improve the similar device of Nitzan, by providing another option for a reliable and known manner of powering impellers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796