DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to response filed on February 26, 2026.
Claims 1 and 9 were amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirza U.S Patent Publication No. 2021/0094796A1 in view of Mangini et al., U.S. Patent No. 7,958,971B1.
As to claim 1, Mirza teaches a method for generating an elevator call, the method comprising:
obtaining image data representing at least one symbol illustrated on a symbol representing device from at least one image sensing device (refer to at least paragraph [0012], wherein a QR code scanner inside the elevator scans the QR code displayed on the user’s mobile device. See also paragraph [0014-0016, in an alternative embodiment where a camera captures the phone screen displaying a number (symbol) and processes it), identifying the at least one symbol from the obtained image data (refer to at least paragraph [0012], wherein a QR code scanner decodes the QR code), and generating the elevator call in accordance with the identified at least one symbol (refer to at least paragraph [0013], wherein a Universal Communication Unit (UCU) translates the scanned/decoded information into a command the elevator control system understands, triggering the correct floor or direction).
Mirza does not explicitly teach activating at least one image sensing device in response to a motion sensor sensing a motion and obtaining image data, using the at least one image sensing device after being activated.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary persons skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image sensing device of Mirza to be motion-activated and to utilize the image sensing device after the activation in order to conserve power when not being utilized. Mangini from the same field of endeavor (elevator call entry system) and utilizing a portable, wireless kiosk that utilizes motion detectors to enter low power more or activate when it detects a person (refer to at least col. 1, lines 56-60 and claim 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary persons skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image sensing device of Mirza with the motion-activated device of Mangini to utilize the image sensing device after the motion activation in order to conserve power when not being utilized.
As to claim 2, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the image sensing device is an optical imaging device and the at least one symbol is illustrated on the symbol representing device in a visual format (refer to at least paragraphs [0012-0016].
As to claim 3, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the image sensing device is a QR code reading device and the at least one symbol illustrated on the symbol representing device is a QR code (refer to at least paragraph [0012], wherein a QR code scanner inside the elevator reads the QR code from the mobile app).
As to claim 4, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one symbol represents at least one of destination floor, direction of travel, an access code, and/or a special call (QR code encodes floor number (destination floor) paragraph [0012]); motion sensors outside elevator detect up/down gestures (direction of travel) paragraph [0011]); optional password value to trigger certain lift (access code) paragraph [0003]).
As to claim 5, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the symbol representing device is one of a mobile terminal device, a wearable device, a card, a plate, a tag device, and/or a piece of paper (again refer to at least paragraph [0012], wherein a QR code scanner inside the elevator reads the QR code from the mobile app).
As to claim 6, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein when the symbol representing device is the mobile terminal device, the mobile terminal device generates dynamically the at least one symbol in accordance with a received user input (again refer to at least paragraph [0012], wherein a QR code scanner inside the elevator reads the QR code from the mobile app).
As to claim 7, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one image sensing device is associated with at least one elevator user interface (QR code scanner or camera is part of the elevator’s control interface (inside the elevator car or at landing) paragraphs [0012], [0016]).
As to claim 8, Mirza teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the at least one elevator user interface is at least one of: a landing call device, an elevator car call device, and/or a destination call device, and wherein the generated elevator call is a landing call, a car call, and/or a destination call (Motion sensors outside elevator for up/down (landing call) paragraph [0011]); QR code scanner inside elevator for destination floor (destination call) (paragraph [0012]); both trigger elevator operation.)
Claims 9-20 do not teach anything beyond claims 1-8; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale and as such are anticipated by Mirza.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues on pages 6-7 of the remarks, that Mirza does not disclose newly added limitation to claims 1 and 9, "wherein the at least one symbol represented a special call for at least one of lengthened door open time, delayed closing of the elevator door, and activating audible signaling or announcements.". However, the current claims do not recite any such limitations in claim1 or 9 and thus are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837