Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, and 6-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to claims 4 6, 10 and 13, Applicant argues that the limitation of “such that the recess-protrusion portion is- positioned on an outer circumferential edge of the sensor board” is not taught by Coates. In at least figure 33, the slot 298 is on the outer circumferential edge of the power module 34 showing the feature of the recess on an outer-circumferential edge. As Coates teaches the above-mentioned limitation, the arguments fail and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by Nagahama et al (US 20150069864 A1) in view of Coates et al (US 10786894 B2) in view of Oishi (US 20130234548 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Nagahama discloses an electric work machine, comprising: a brushless motor (fig. 18, a brushless motor 17) including a stator (fig. 18, stator 18) including an insulator fixed to the stator core (fig. 5, front and rear insulators 21 and 22); and a coil attached to the insulator (paragraph 49 “In the present embodiment, the coils 23 are respectively wound around the teeth 26 of the stator core 20 and through (around) the respective protruding parts 28, 38 of the front and rear insulators 21, 22”) and a rotor rotatable relative to the stator (see at least figure fig. 2 and throughout, rotor 19); the rotor including: a rotor core (fig. 2, rotor core 6); and a permanent magnet fixed to the rotor core (fig. 2, permanent magnets 63); a sensor board facing the rotor and the stator in an axial direction (see at least figure 18 and 19 circuit board 24 faces rotor and stator at the axis of rotation) along a rotation axis of the rotor, the sensor board including a sensor on an opposing surface of the sensor board (see at least figure 19, 100 Rotation detection devices are on a side of the board facing away from the stator), the opposing surface opposing the rotor and the stator, the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotor in a rotation direction (paragraph 72 “In this embodiment, the positions of permanent magnets provided on the centrifugal fan 65 are detected by the rotation detection devices 100”); a resin-molded portion covering the opposing surface of the sensor board (fig. 8-9, resin insulation part 50 ) and having a recess at a position corresponding to the stator (see figures 8-9 and 20 insulator part corresponds to stator 18 and paragraph 53 “Recessed parts 50b, 50b for positioning are formed on an inner circumferential side of the insulation part 50.”); and an output unit directly or indirectly drivable by the rotor (fig. 1, chuck 13 and throughout, rotor 19 is used for work by the power tool).
Nagahama does not disclose “teaches such that the stator and the sensor board sandwich the resin-molded portion, the resin molded-portion including recess overlapping the stator as viewed in the axial direction; the recess being thinner than another portion of the resin-molded portion, the recess being configured to receive the coil in the axial direction.”
Coates teaches such that the stator and the sensor board sandwich the resin-molded portion, the resin molded-portion including recess overlapping the stator as viewed in the axial direction (col. 17 ln 23-26 “In an embodiment, thermal interface 282 may be a thin layer made of Sil-Pad® or similar thermally-conductive electrically-insulating material. Thermal interface 282 may be disposed between the heat sink 284 and the power board 280.”) the recess being configured to receive the coil (fig. 34 and col 17-15 ln 66-5 “power board 280 includes slots 298 for receiving and electrically connecting to the input terminals 104. In an embodiment, slots 298 may be defined and spread around an outer periphery of the power board 280. The outputs of the transistors bridge driver circuit is coupled to the motor 28 phases via these input terminals 104.”).
Coates does not teach “the recess being thinner than another portion of the resin-molded portion.”
Oishi teaches the recess being thinner than another portion of the resin-molded portion (see figure 4, circuit board 79 guides terminals through it and is much thinner than coupling member 128 which is made of resin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor and resin covered circuit board of Nagahama with sandwiched assembly of the stator, board and resin portion of Coates with the thicker resin-molded portion of Oishi in order to further protect the circuit board from electromagnetic interference from the stator.
With respect to claim 7 Nagahama in view of Coates teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagahama further teaches an electric work machine, comprising: a brushless motor (fig. 18, a brushless motor 17) including a stator (fig. 18, stator 18) and a rotor (see at least figure fig. 2 and throughout, rotor 19) rotatable relative to the stator; a sensor board (fig. 5 circuit board 24) facing the rotor in an axial direction along a rotation axis of the rotor (see at least figure 18 and 19 circuit board 24 faces rotor and stator at the axis of rotation), the sensor board including a sensor on an opposing surface of the sensor board (see at least figure 19, 100 Rotation detection devices are on a side of the board facing away from the stator), the opposing surface opposing the rotor, the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotor in a rotation direction (paragraph 72 “In this embodiment, the positions of permanent magnets provided on the centrifugal fan 65 are detected by the rotation detection devices 100”), a substrate having the opposing surface receiving the sensor and wiring connected to the sensor (fig. 5, short circuiting element 25), and a resist layer covering an area with the wiring on the opposing surface (see figure 5, resin insulation part 50 covers both the circuit board 24 and the short circuiting element 25) and an output unit directly or indirectly drivable by the rotor (fig. 1, chuck 13 and throughout, rotor 19 is used for work by the power tool), wherein the substrate includes a resist-free area without the resist layer in at least a portion of the opposing surface (see figure 5, resin cover 50 covers most of the board except the signal lines 49), and the resin-molded portion is in direct contact with the opposing surface in the resist-free area (see figure 5, resin insulation cover covers the short circuiting element 25).
Nagahama does not disclose “recess-protrusion portions positioned on an outer circumferential portion of the sensor board; a resin-molded portion covering the opposing surface of the sensor board such that the stator and the sensor board sandwich the resin-molded portion; portion, the resin-molded portion extending along the outer circumferential portion and covering the recess-protrusion portions;”
Coates teaches recess-protrusion portions positioned on an outer circumferential portion of the sensor board (figure 33, the slot 298 is on the outer circumferential edge of the power module 34); a resin-molded portion covering the opposing surface of the sensor board such that the stator and the sensor board sandwich the resin-molded portion (col. 17 ln 23-26 “In an embodiment, thermal interface 282 may be a thin layer made of Sil-Pad® or similar thermally-conductive electrically-insulating material. Thermal interface 282 may be disposed between the heat sink 284 and the power board 280.”).
Coates does not teach “the resin-molded portion extending along the outer circumferential portion and covering the recess-protrusion portions.”
Oishi teaches the resin-molded portion extending along the outer circumferential portion and covering the recess-protrusion portions (see figure 4, circuit board 79 guides terminals on an outer edge of the board and is in contact with the much thinner than coupling member 128 which is made of resin)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor and resin covered circuit board of Nagahama with sandwiched assembly of the stator, board and resin portion of Coates with the thicker resin-molded portion of Oishi in order to further protect the circuit board from electromagnetic interference from the stator.
With respect to claim 8, Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagahama further teaches wherein the resist-free area includes a peripheral portion of the opposing surface (see at least figure 6a, signal lines include a peripheral portion of the opposing surface).
With respect to claim 9, Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagahama further teaches wherein the sensor board is annular (see figure 5, circuit board 24 is circular shaped), and the peripheral portion includes an outer peripheral portion and an inner peripheral portion of the sensor board (see figure 5 marked above).
With respect to claim 17, Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagahama further teaches wherein the resin- molded portion includes a plurality of recesses spaced about a circumference of the resin- molded portion (see at least figure 8, insulation part 50 has a number of recesses 50b).
Claims 4 and 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by Nagahama et al (US 20150069864 A1) in view of Coates et al (US 10786894 B2).
With respect to claim 4, Nagahama teaches an electric work machine, comprising: a brushless motor (fig. 18, a brushless motor 17) including a stator (fig. 18, stator 18) and a rotor rotatable relative to the stator (see at least figure fig. 2 and throughout, rotor 19); a sensor board facing the rotor in an axial direction along a rotation axis of the rotor (see at least figure 18 and 19 circuit board 24 faces rotor and stator at the axis of rotation), the sensor board including a sensor on an opposing surface of the sensor board (see at least figure 19, 100 Rotation detection devices are on a side of the board facing away from the stator), the opposing surface opposing the rotor, the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotor in a rotation direction (paragraph 72 “In this embodiment, the positions of permanent magnets provided on the centrifugal fan 65 are detected by the rotation detection devices 100”), and a recess-protrusion portion in a portion of a side surface adjacent to the opposing surface (see figures 8-9 and 20 insulator part corresponds to stator 18 and paragraph 53 “Recessed parts 50b, 50b for positioning are formed on an inner circumferential side of the insulation part 50.”); a resin-molded portion covering the opposing surface of the sensor board (fig. 8-9, resin insulation part 50, corresponds to the opposing surface recess portion); and an output unit directly or indirectly drivable by the rotor (fig. 1, chuck 13 and throughout, rotor 19 is used for work by the power too).
Nagahama does not teach “such that the recess-protrusion portion is- positioned on an outer circumferential edge of the sensor board; such that the stator and the sensor board sandwich the resin-molded portion, the resin molded-portion covering the recess-portion of the side surface.”
Coates teaches such that the recess-protrusion portion is- positioned on an outer circumferential edge of the sensor board (see figure 33, slot 298 is on the outer circumferential edge of the power module 34); such that the stator and the sensor board sandwich the resin-molded portion, the resin molded-portion covering the recess-portion of the side surface (col. 17 ln 23-26 “In an embodiment, thermal interface 282 may be a thin layer made of Sil-Pad® or similar thermally-conductive electrically-insulating material. Thermal interface 282 may be disposed between the heat sink 284 and the power board 280.” See figure 33A, thermal interface 282 covers the side surfaces of the slots 298)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor and resin covered circuit board of Nagahama with sandwiched assembly of the stator, board and resin portion of Coates in order to further protect the circuit board from electromagnetic interference from the stator.
With respect to claim 6, Nagahama in view of Coates teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagahama further teaches wherein the sensor board is annular (see at least figure 5-6 and 19, circuit board 24 is circular in shape), and the side surface includes an outer side surface and an inner side surface of the sensor board (see figure 5 marked below).
Nagahama Figure 5
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Coates in further view of Akutsu et al (US 20180198351 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Nagahama in view of Coates teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface.”
Akutsu teaches “wherein the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface (see figure 1, circuit board 28 is surrounded by molded resin portions, on its top, side and bottom portion).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor of Nagahama with the sandwiched resin covered circuit board of Coates with the three-sided resin covering of Akutsu in order to further protect the vulnerable electronics from ingress to the motor, thereby increasing the motor’s lifespan.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Coates in further view of Akutsu et al (US 20180198351 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Nagahama in view of Coates teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface.”
Akutsu teaches “wherein the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface (see figure 1, circuit board 28 is surrounded by molded resin portions, on its top, side and bottom portion).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor Nagahama with the sandwiched resin covered circuit board of Coates with the three-sided resin covering of Akutsu in order to further protect the vulnerable electronics from ingress to the motor, thereby increasing the motor’s lifespan.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi in further view of Akutsu et al (US 20180198351 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface.”
Akutsu teaches “wherein the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface (see figure 1, circuit board 28 is surrounded by molded resin portions, on its top, side and bottom portion).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor Nagahama with the sandwiched resin covered circuit board of Coates with the thicker resin portion of Oishi and the three-sided resin covering of Akutsu in order to further protect the vulnerable electronics from ingress to the motor, thereby increasing the motor’s lifespan.
With respect to claim 15, Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface.”
Akutsu teaches “wherein the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface (see figure 1, circuit board 28 is surrounded by molded resin portions, on its top, side and bottom portion).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor Nagahama with the sandwiched resin covered circuit board of Coates with the thicker resin portion of Oishi and the three-sided resin covering of Akutsu in order to further protect the vulnerable electronics from ingress to the motor, thereby increasing the motor’s lifespan.
With respect to claim 16, Nagahama in view of Coates in view of Oishi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface.”
Akutsu teaches “wherein the resin-molded portion extends across the opposing surface and the side surface of the sensor board and a surface of the sensor board opposite to the opposing surface (see figure 1, circuit board 28 is surrounded by molded resin portions, on its top, side and bottom portion).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the motor Nagahama with the sandwiched resin covered circuit board of Coates with the thicker resin portion of Oishi and the three-sided resin covering of Akutsu in order to further protect the vulnerable electronics from ingress to the motor, thereby increasing the motor’s lifespan.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834