Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenbank et al (US 20200038798; hereinafter Greenbank).
As regarding claim 1, Greenbank discloses the claimed invention for a combination canister and scrubber (abstract, [0015]-[0016]) incorporated into an evaporative emissions control system for an automobile for reducing evaporative emissions, said combination canister and scrubber comprising a main canister housing ([0130]-[0131]) containing a Graphene-derivative sorbent material ([0011], [0057], [0063], [0164]) which is adsorptive of vaporized hydrocarbons for preventing bleed emissions while also providing low flow restrictions; and a scrubber ([0130]-[0131] – “The housing may also include sections which are separated and are connected by an additional part, for instance, at least one hose or tube which is designed to transfer fuel vapors as needed, or a thin portion of housing that contains the sorbent material sheets.”) connected by a vent port, said scrubber including an additional volume of an adsorbent material with a polymer foam mixture with enhanced surface area to prevent bleed emissions of vaporized hydrocarbons.
Greenbank does not disclose the scrubber positioned externally of said main canister housing. Reddy teaches the scrubber (95 of figs. 3-5) positioned externally of said main canister housing (50). Both Greenbank and Reddy are directed to emission control canister. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the scrubber positioned externally of said main canister housing as taught by Reddy in order to enhance combination canister and scrubber performance.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the scrubber positioned externally of said main canister housing in order to enhance combination canister and scrubber performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As regarding claim 4, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention for said Graphene-derivative material being selected from a group not limited to any of monolayer Graphene, few layered Graphene, Graphene oxide, reduced Graphene oxide and functionalized Graphene, said Graphene or Graphene derivative based sorbent material further being activated using either of a chemical or thermal technique ([0017], [0041], [0058], [0064], [0081], [0102], and [0136]).
As regarding claim 5, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention for said Graphene-derivative sorbent material further comprising any of a foam, felt or powder ([0043], [0064], [0172]).
As regarding claim 6, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention for an activated carbon sandwiched between one or more layers of said foam, felt or powder ([0004], [0011], [0063], [0110]).
As regarding claim 7, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention for said Graphene-derivative material being mixed with a polymer ([0083]).
As regarding claim 9, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention for said graphene foam further comprising said Graphene-derivative material being selected from a group not limited to any of monolayer Graphene, few layered Graphene, Graphene oxide, reduced Graphene oxide and functionalized Graphene ([0017]).
As regarding claim 11, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention for said polymer further comprising a thermoplastic polymer selected from a group including any one or more of a polyurethane, polyester, polypropylene, nylon 6, nylon 6,6, nylon-12, nylon-6,12, polyethylene, terephthalate, polybutylene, polyphthalamide, polyoxymethylene, polycarbonate, and polyvinylchloride ([0012]).
As regarding claim 8, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention except for said Graphene-derivative sorbent material extruded in a honeycomb design pattern to provide plurality of passageways for a flow of vapor through said scrubber. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide said Graphene-derivative sorbent material extruded in a honeycomb design pattern to provide plurality of passageways for a flow of vapor through said scrubber in order to enhance the combination canister and scrubber performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Ruettinger et al (US 20210245135; hereinafter Ruettinger; [0275]).
As regarding claim 10, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a loading concentration of said Graphene-derivatives being provided in a range of 0.1-60 percent by weight. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a loading concentration of said Graphene-derivatives being provided in a range of 0.1-60 percent by weight in order to enhance the combination performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 12, Greenbank as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Greenbank as modified discloses the claimed invention except for said Graphene-derivative sorbent material being combined with any of a lingocellulosic material or a charcoal incorporated into said felt. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide said Graphene-derivative sorbent material being combined with any of a lingocellulosic material or a charcoal incorporated into said felt in order to enhance the combination canister and scrubber performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Pronovost et al (US 20210245135; hereinafter Pronovost; [0075]).
Claims 13-20 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claims 1 and 4-12 above.
As regarding claim 13, Greenbank does not disclose the scrubber including a subsidiary housing incorporated into said main housing (of canister). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the scrubber including a subsidiary housing incorporated into said main housing (of canister) in order to enhance the system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Meiller et al (US 20060065252; 392 of figs. 11-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773