DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 04/23/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 19, 23, 25 and 29 are cancelled.
Claims 20-22, 24, 26-28 and 30 are canceled
Claims 31-46 are added.
Claims 19, 23, 25, 29 and 31-46 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 9-12), filed on 04/23/2026, with respect to claims 19, 23, 25, 29 and 31-46 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 23, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS23.502, in view of Zhu et al. (US 20200322879 A1), hereinafter “Zhu”.
Per claim 19, 23, 25 and 29:
Regarding claim 25, TS23.502 teaches ‘An access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: “AMF”; [Page 29]: “NSSAI indicates the Network Slice Selection Assistance Information”); ‘the AMF entity comprising: a transceiver’ (existence of a transceiver for a AMF is implied); ‘at least one processor’ (existence of at least one processor for a AMF is implied); ‘coupled with the transceiver’ (this is implied);
‘configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) via a base station, a first registration request message’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 1: UE to RAN: “Registration Request”, step 3: RAN to AMF: “Registration Request”, AMF receives Registration Request from UE via base station);
‘transmit, to the UE via the base station, a first registration accept message including available location information for at least one first single-network slice selection assistance information (S- NSSAI), in response to the first registration request message’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 21: AMF to UE via RAN: “Registration Accept”; [Page 25]: “Registration Accept ( … Allowed NSSAI, [Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI], [Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN], [Mapping Of Configured NSSAI], [rejected S-NSSAIs] … LADN Information”; [Page 26]: “If the AMF allocates a new Registration area, it shall send the Registration area to the UE via Registration Accept message … The Allowed NSSAI provided in the Registration Accept is valid in the Registration Area and it applies for all the PLMNs which have their Tracking Areas included in the Registration Area … The AMF shall include in the Registration Accept message the LADN Information for the list of LADNs, described in clause 5.6.5 of TS 23.501 [2], that are available within the Registration area”, Registration Area includes available location information, such as Tracking Area or LADN (Local Area Data Network), for the allowed NSSAI);
‘receive, from a network function, a notification indicating that the at least one first S-NSSAI associated with the available location information becomes unavailable’ (TS23.502: [Page 52: Figure 4.2.4.3-1]: step 1: “PCF” -> “AMF”: “Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer”, update UE Policy; [Page 271: Figure 4.20.2-1]: “UE Parameters Update via UDM Control Plane Procedure”: step 1: “UDM” -> “AMF”: “Nudm_SDM_Notification”; [Page 271]: “The UDM notifies the changes of the information related to the UE to the affected AMF”; [Page 67]: “changes to Allowed NSSAI that require re-registration”). However, TS23.502 fails to expressly teach ‘at least one first S-NSSAI associated with the available location information becomes unavailable’.
Zhu in the same field of endeavor teaches NSSF sends notification of a slice and a TA list (location information) to AMF upon detecting a service status of a slice in one more TAs is changed from an available state to an unavailable state (Zhu: [FIG.10]: step 1003: “NSSF”: “Determine that a service status of a slice in one or more TAs is changed from an “available state” to a “restricted state”, step 1004: “NSSF” -> “AMF”: “Notification (identification information of the slice and a TA list)”; [0365]: “The service status of the slice 3 in the TA 5 and the TA 6 is changed to the “restricted state” … the determined slice 3 in the allowed NSSAI of the terminal is currently unavailable”; [0302]: “The “restricted state” may also be referred to as a “temporarily unavailable state””; [FIG.9]; [0315]: “S-NSSAI 1, and TAI 1 to TAI 11”, S-NSSAI and available TAs (location information)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu’s teaching with that of TS23.502 in order to inform AMF upon a slice becomes temporarily unavailable (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Zhu teaches ‘determine that the at least one first S-NSSAI is to be replaced with at least one second S-NSSAI based on the notification’ (TS23.502: [Page 50: Figure 4.2.4.2-1]: step 0: “AMF decides update of UE configuration or need for re-gistration”; [Page 67]: “changes to Allowed NSSAI that require re-registration”. Zhu: [FIG.10]: step 1005: “Determine an unavailable slice”, step 1006: “Determine new allowed NSSAI and new rejected NSSAI”; [0348]: “the NSSF determines that the service status of the slice 3 in all the TAs is changed from the “available state” to the “restricted state”. Therefore, after the change, the slice 3 is unavailable in all the TAs. In other words, the slice 3 is unavailable in each of the TA 3 to the TA 13”; [0371]: “if the AMF determines that the terminal cannot use the slice 3 currently, and further determines that the terminal can still use the slice 1 and the slice 2 currently, the new allowed NSSAI determined by the AMF for the terminal in step 1006 is {S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2}, and the rejected NSSAI determined for the terminal includes {S-NSSAI 3”; replace “S-NSSAI 3” with “S-NSSAI 1” or “S-NSSAI 2”; [0303]: “a slice in a TA may be switched between the two service states, for example, switched from the “available state” to the “restricted state”, or switched from the “restricted state” to the “available state””; [0032]: “the network slice changes from unavailable to available in the at least one tracking area, the network slice selection network element sends the notification message to the mobility management network element … the mobility management network element determines the updated set of allowed network slices”, new available slice);
‘transmit, to the UE, a configuration update message including the at least one second S-NSSAI based on the determination’ (TS23.502: [Page 50: Figure 4.2.4.2-1]: step 1: “AMF” -> “UE”: “UE Configuration Update Command”; [Page 67]: “changes to Allowed NSSAI that require re-registration”. Zhu: [FIG.10]: step 1007A: “AMF” -> “UE”: “Configuration update procedure (the new allowed NSSAI and the new rejected S-NSSAI”; [0037]: “The terminal receives an updated set of allowed network slices from the mobility management network element, where the updated set of allowed network slices includes the identification information of the network slice, the network slice is available in the registration area of the terminal”; [TITLE]: “SLICE INFORMATION UPDATE METHOD AND APPARATUS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu’s teaching of slice information update with that of TS23.502 in order to inform UE upon a slice switching between an available state and an unavailable state (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 29, TS23.502 teaches ‘A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: “UE”; [Page 29]: “NSSAI indicates the Network Slice Selection Assistance Information”); ‘the UE comprising: a transceiver’ (existence of a transceiver for a UE is implied); ‘at least one processor’ (existence of at least one processor for a UE is implied); ‘coupled with the transceiver’ (this is implied);
‘configured to:
transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) via a base station, a first registration request message’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 1: UE to RAN: “Registration Request”, step 3: RAN to AMF: “Registration Request”, UE transmits Registration Request to AMF via base station);
‘receive, from the AMF via the base station, a first registration accept message including available location information for at least one first single-network slice selection assistance information (S- NSSAI), in response to the first registration request message’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 21: AMF to UE via RAN: “Registration Accept”; [Page 25]: “Registration Accept ( … Allowed NSSAI, [Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI], [Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN], [Mapping Of Configured NSSAI], [rejected S-NSSAIs] … LADN Information”; [Page 26]: “If the AMF allocates a new Registration area, it shall send the Registration area to the UE via Registration Accept message … The Allowed NSSAI provided in the Registration Accept is valid in the Registration Area and it applies for all the PLMNs which have their Tracking Areas included in the Registration Area … The AMF shall include in the Registration Accept message the LADN Information for the list of LADNs, described in clause 5.6.5 of TS 23.501 [2], that are available within the Registration area”, Registration Area includes available location information, such as Tracking Area or LADN (Local Area Data Network), for the allowed NSSAI);
‘receive, from the AMF, a configuration update message including at least one second S-NSSAI based on the at least one first S-NSSAI associated with the available location information becoming unavailable’ (TS23.502: [Page 50: Figure 4.2.4.2-1]: step 1: “AMF” -> “UE”: “UE Configuration Update Command”; [Page 67]: “changes to Allowed NSSAI that require re-registration”). However, TS23.502 fails to expressly teach ‘at least one second S-NSSAI based on the at least one first S-NSSAI associated with the available location information becoming unavailable’.
Zhu teaches UE receives configuration update from AMF with new allowed NSSAI and new rejected NSSAI upon AMF receiving notification about a slice in one or more TAs is changed from an available state to an unavailable state (Zhu: [FIG.10]: step 1003: “NSSF”: “Determine that a service status of a slice in one or more TAs is changed from an “available state” to a “restricted state”, step 1004: “NSSF” -> “AMF”: “Notification (identification information of the slice and a TA list)”; step 1005: “Determine an unavailable slice”, step 1006: “Determine new allowed NSSAI and new rejected NSSAI”; [0348]: “the NSSF determines that the service status of the slice 3 in all the TAs is changed from the “available state” to the “restricted state”. Therefore, after the change, the slice 3 is unavailable in all the TAs. In other words, the slice 3 is unavailable in each of the TA 3 to the TA 13”; [0371]: “if the AMF determines that the terminal cannot use the slice 3 currently, and further determines that the terminal can still use the slice 1 and the slice 2 currently, the new allowed NSSAI determined by the AMF for the terminal in step 1006 is {S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2}, and the rejected NSSAI determined for the terminal includes {S-NSSAI 3”; replace “S-NSSAI 3” with “S-NSSAI 1” or “S-NSSAI 2”; [0303]: “a slice in a TA may be switched between the two service states, for example, switched from the “available state” to the “restricted state”, or switched from the “restricted state” to the “available state””; [0032]: “the network slice changes from unavailable to available in the at least one tracking area, the network slice selection network element sends the notification message to the mobility management network element … the mobility management network element determines the updated set of allowed network slices”, new available slice; [0037]: “The terminal receives an updated set of allowed network slices from the mobility management network element, where the updated set of allowed network slices includes the identification information of the network slice, the network slice is available in the registration area of the terminal”; [TITLE]: “SLICE INFORMATION UPDATE METHOD AND APPARATUS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu’s teaching of slice information update with that of TS23.502 in order to inform UE upon a slice switching between an available state and an unavailable state (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites the method implemented by the AMF entity of claim 25 (see rejection of claim 25 above).
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 29 (see rejection of claim 29 above).
Claims 31-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of TS23.502 and Zhu, in view of Bulakci et al. (US 20250150956 A1), hereinafter “Bulakci”.
Per claim 31, 36, 39 and 44:
Regarding claim 39, combination of TS23.502 and Zhu teaches the AMF entity of claim 25 (discussed above).
TS23.502 does not expressly teach, but Zhu teaches ‘wherein the notification further indicates that the at least one first S-NSSAI associated with the validity time becomes unavailable’ (Zhu: [FIG.10]: step 1003: “Determine that a service status of a slice in one or more TAs is changed from an “available state” to a “restricted state”, step 1004: “NSSF” -> “AMF”: “Notification (identification information of the slice and a TA list)”; [0302]: “The “restricted state” may also be referred to as a “temporarily unavailable state””; [0348]: “the NSSF determines that the service status of the slice 3 in all the TAs is changed from the “available state” to the “restricted state”. Therefore, after the change, the slice 3 is unavailable in all the TAs. In other words, the slice 3 is unavailable in each of the TA 3 to the TA 13”). However, combination of TS23.502 and Zhu fails to expressly teach ‘associated with validity time’.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu’s teaching with that of RS23.502 in order to inform AMF upon a slice becomes temporarily unavailable (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Zhu does not expressly teach, but Bulakci in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘wherein the first registration accept message further includes a validity time for the at least one first S-NSSAI’ (Bulakci: [0164]: “by registration accept … the AMF 511 provides a new configured NSSAI (including S-NSSAI A) to UE 510. As part of this configuration update, AMF 511 provides UE 510 with the time information T2 for S-NSSAI A”, Registration Accept includes time information about the valid time of NSSAI A to indicate a limited time duration (interval); [0010]-[0012]; “the first information comprises single network slice selection assistance information … the timing information comprises a validity timer of the network slice … the validity timer is in the form of one or more of: an absolute time interval; a time interval relative to a reference time; a periodic time interval”; [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”; [0157]: “network slices (NS) may be temporarily available or unavailable on a periodic basis”) and NSSF informs AMF about time information for each temporary S-NSSAI (Bulakci: [FIG.6]: S4: “Nnssf_NSSAIA vailable_update TA, Temp S-NSSAI list, Time information T1 for each temp S-NSSAI”; [0157]: “network slices (NS) may be temporarily available or unavailable on a periodic basis”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu for the notification to indicate that the at least one first S-NSSAI associated with the validity time becomes unavailable in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 44, combination of TS23.502 and Zhu teaches the UE of claim 29 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Zhu does not expressly teach, but Bulakci teaches ‘wherein the first registration accept message further includes a validity time for the at least one first S-NSSAI’ (Bulakci: [0164]: “by registration accept … the AMF 511 provides a new configured NSSAI (including S-NSSAI A) to UE 510. As part of this configuration update, AMF 511 provides UE 510 with the time information T2 for S-NSSAI A”; Registration Accept includes time information about the valid time of NSSAI A to indicate a limited time duration (interval); [0010]-[0012]; “the first information comprises single network slice selection assistance information … the timing information comprises a validity timer of the network slice … the validity timer is in the form of one or more of: an absolute time interval; a time interval relative to a reference time; a periodic time interval”; [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 recites the method implemented by the AMF entity of claim 39 (see rejection of claim 39 above).
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 44 (see rejection of claim 44 above).
Per claim 32, 37, 40 and 45:
Regarding claim 40, combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches the AMF entity of claim 39 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches ‘receive, from the UE, a second registration request message including requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI)’ (TS23.502: [Page 49]: “for changes to Allowed NSSAI that require re-registration”; [Page 271: Figure 4.20.2-1]: step 5: “UE initiates re-registration”; [Page 271]: “The updated parameters to be delivered to the UE … whether the UE needs to re-register after updating the data”, UE would do re-registration as request by network; [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 1: UE to RAN: “Registration Request”, step 3: RAN to AMF: “Registration Request”’; [Page 19]: “Registration Request ( … Requested NSSAI”);
‘wherein the at least one first S-NSSAI is available in the validity time and the requested NSSAI includes a third S-NSSAI among the at least one first S-NSSAI’ (TS23.502: [Page 19]: “Registration Request (… Requested NSSAI, [Mapping Of Requested NSSAI], Default Configured NSSAI Indication”. Bulakci: [0159]: “one temporary network slice is referred to (S-NSSAI A). It will be understood that in practice there may be more than one temporary network slice (S-NSSAI B, S-NSSAI C etc.)”; [0135]: “Current 3GPP specifications allow a UE to be simultaneously connected and served by at most eight slices that correspond to eight S-NSSAIs”);
‘wherein the validity time indicates a limited time duration in which the at least one first S-NSSAI is available for the UE’ (Bulakci: [0010]-[0012]; “the first information comprises single network slice selection assistance information … the timing information comprises a validity timer of the network slice … the validity timer is in the form of one or more of: an absolute time interval; a time interval relative to a reference time; a periodic time interval”; [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching of valid time of temporary NSSAI with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 45, combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches the UE of claim 44 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Bulakci teaches ‘transmit, to the AMF, a second registration request message including requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI)’ (TS23.502: [Page 49]: “for changes to Allowed NSSAI that require re-registration”; [Page 271: Figure 4.20.2-1]: step 5: “UE initiates re-registration”; [Page 271]: “The updated parameters to be delivered to the UE … whether the UE needs to re-register after updating the data”, UE would do re-registration as request by network; [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 1: UE to RAN: “Registration Request”, step 3: RAN to AMF: “Registration Request”’; [Page 19]: “Registration Request ( … Requested NSSAI”.);
‘wherein the at least one first S-NSSAI is available in the validity time and the requested NSSAI includes a third S-NSSAI among the at least one first S-NSSAI’ (TS23.502: [Page 19]: “Registration Request (… Requested NSSAI, [Mapping Of Requested NSSAI], Default Configured NSSAI Indication”. Bulakci: [0155]: “A UE for which the Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN has been updated … shall initiate a Registration procedure to receive a new valid Allowed NSSAI”; [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”; [0159]: “one temporary network slice is referred to (S-NSSAI A). It will be understood that in practice there may be more than one temporary network slice (S-NSSAI B, S-NSSAI C etc.)”; [0135]: “Current 3GPP specifications allow a UE to be simultaneously connected and served by at most eight slices that correspond to eight S-NSSAIs”);
‘wherein the validity time indicates a limited time duration in which the at least one first S-NSSAI is available for the UE’ (Bulakci: [0010]-[0012]; “the first information comprises single network slice selection assistance information … the timing information comprises a validity timer of the network slice … the validity timer is in the form of one or more of: an absolute time interval; a time interval relative to a reference time; a periodic time interval”; [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching of valid time of temporary NSSAI with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 recites the method implemented by the AMF entity of claim 40 (see rejection of claim 40 above).
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 45 (see rejection of claim 45 above).
Per claim 33 and 42:
Regarding claim 42, combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches the AMF entity of claim 39 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Zhu does not expressly teach, but Bulakci teaches ‘receive, from a unified data management (UDM), information on the validity time’ (Bulakci: [FIG.7]: step S5: “UDM” -> ”AMF”: “Ack: List of subscribed S-NSSAI and Time information T2 for temp S-NSSAI”);
‘wherein the validity time is indicated in the first registration accept message’ (Bulakci: [0164]: “by registration accept … AMF 511 provides UE 510 with the time information T2 for S-NSSAI”); ‘based on a configuration’ (this is optional); ‘the information on the validity time received from the UDM’ (Bulakci: [FIG.7]: step S2: “UE Subscription has S-NSSAI associated with Time information T2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 recites the method implemented by the AMF entity of claim 42 (see rejection of claim 42 above).
Per claim 34 and 43:
Regarding claim 43, combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches the AMF entity of claim 39 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Bulakci teaches ‘transmit, to a UE, a configuration update message including an allowed NSSAI’ ((TS23.502: [Page 50: Figure 4.2.4.2-1]: “UE Configuration Update procedure for access and mobility management”, step 1: AMF to UE: “UE Configuration Update Command”; [Page 68]: “The AMF sends UE Configuration Update Command containing … Allowed NSSAI”);
‘wherein a third S-NSSAI is removed from the allowed NSSAI, in case that the validity time indicates the third S-NSSAI is not available’ (TS23.502: [Page 68]: “The AMF can check whether Network Slice configuration needs to be updated”; [Page 124]: “a change of the set of network slices for a UE where a network slice instance is no longer available”; [Page 68]: “The AMF sends UE Configuration Update Command containing … Allowed NSSAI”. Bulakci: [FIG.6]: step S7: “T1 timer expires, RAN and AMF automatically removes temp S-NSSAI from the supported list”; an expired temporary available NSSAI would be removed from the allowed NSSAI; [0159]: “one temporary network slice is referred to (S-NSSAI A). It will be understood that in practice there may be more than one temporary network slice (S-NSSAI B, S-NSSAI C etc.)”; [0135]: “Current 3GPP specifications allow a UE to be simultaneously connected and served by at most eight slices that correspond to eight S-NSSAIs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching of valid time of temporary NSSAI with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 recites the method implemented by the AMF entity of claim 43 (see rejection of claim 43 above).
Per claim 35, 38, 41 and 46:
Regarding claim 41, combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches the AMF entity of claim 40 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Bulakci teaches ‘transmit, to the UE, a second registration accept message in response to the second registration request message’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 21: AMF to UE via RAN: “Registration Accept”. Bulakci: [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”; [0155]: “A UE for which the Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN has been updated … shall initiate a Registration procedure to receive a new valid Allowed NSSAI”; [0164]: “by registration accept … the AMF 511 provides a new configured NSSAI (including S-NSSAI A) to UE 510. As part of this configuration update, AMF 511 provides UE 510 with the time information T2 for S-NSSAI A”; [0190]: “The registration request comprises information of allowed NSSAI, and time information for each temporary S-NSSAI”; [0121]: “UE registration update”);
‘wherein the second registration accept message includes allowed NSSAI including the third S-NSSAI’ (TS23.502: [Page 25]: “Registration Accept ( … Allowed NSSAI”, include the temporary allowed NSSAI requested by UE. Bulakci: [0159]: “one temporary network slice is referred to (S-NSSAI A). It will be understood that in practice there may be more than one temporary network slice (S-NSSAI B, S-NSSAI C etc.)”; [0135]: “Current 3GPP specifications allow a UE to be simultaneously connected and served by at most eight slices that correspond to eight S-NSSAIs”);
‘perform a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure with the third S-NSSAI in response to the second registration accept message’ (TS23.502: [Page 26]: “The Allowed NSSAI provided in the Registration Accept is valid in the Registration Area”; [Page 64: Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: “UE-requested PDU Session Establishment”; [Page 65]: “From UE to AMF: NAS Message (S-NSSAI(s)”; perform PDU session establishment with the temporary allowed S-NSSAI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching of valid time of temporary NSSAI with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 46, combination of TS23.502, Zhu and Bulakci teaches the UE of claim 45 (discussed above).
Combination of TS23.502 and Bulakci teaches ‘receive, from the AMF, a second registration accept message in response to the second registration request message’ (TS23.502: [Page 18: Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1]: step 21: AMF to UE via RAN: “Registration Accept”. Bulakci: [0015]: “validity timer comprises a time for which the apparatus is allowed to use the network slice”; [0155]: “A UE for which the Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN has been updated … shall initiate a Registration procedure to receive a new valid Allowed NSSAI”; [0164]: “by registration accept … the AMF 511 provides a new configured NSSAI (including S-NSSAI A) to UE 510. As part of this configuration update, AMF 511 provides UE 510 with the time information T2 for S-NSSAI A”; [0190]: “The registration request comprises information of allowed NSSAI, and time information for each temporary S-NSSAI”);
‘wherein the second registration accept message includes allowed NSSAI including the third S-NSSAI’ (TS23.502: [Page 25]: “Registration Accept ( … Allowed NSSAI”, include the temporary allowed NSSAI requested by UE. Bulakci: [0159]: “one temporary network slice is referred to (S-NSSAI A). It will be understood that in practice there may be more than one temporary network slice (S-NSSAI B, S-NSSAI C etc.)”; [0135]: “Current 3GPP specifications allow a UE to be simultaneously connected and served by at most eight slices that correspond to eight S-NSSAIs”);
‘perform a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure with the third S-NSSAI in response to the second registration accept message’ (TS23.502: [Page 26]: “The Allowed NSSAI provided in the Registration Accept is valid in the Registration Area”; [Page 64: Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: “UE-requested PDU Session Establishment”; [Page 65]: “From UE to AMF: NAS Message (S-NSSAI(s)”; perform PDU session establishment with the temporary allowed S-NSSAI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bulakci’s teaching of valid time of temporary NSSAI with that of combination of TS23.502 and Zhu in order to provide temporary network slice service in a communication system (Bulakci: [0006]: “receiving first information of a network slice that is to be made available to the apparatus on a temporary basis”; [Title]: “PROVIDING TEMPORARY NETWORK SLICE SERVICES IN A COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”).
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 recites the method implemented by the AMF entity of claim 41 (see rejection of claim 41 above).
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 recites the method implemented by the UE of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 46 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462