DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 5-15 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 5-15 are currently amended. Claims 2-4 and 16-21 were previously cancelled. No new subject matter is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8-10, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The examiner agrees that Doseki alone does not teach applying an alternative current to the electrodes and measuring a resistance value form the electrodes. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Ahong et al. (US 20180333306 A1). Ahong teaches a similar excrement detection device capable of measuring resistance 378 of interior region 296 of absorbent article 16 even if capacitances 302a, 302b between electrodes 290a, 290b and interior region 296 change (see Paragraph [0178]-[0180]; Figure 6). Therefore, Doseki in view of Ahong would read on the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Doseki et al. (JP 2019141190 A, as mapped from translated copy attached), hereinafter referred to as “Doseki” and in view of Ahong et al. (US 20180333306 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ahong”.
Regarding Claim 1, Doseki teaches an excrement detection system (see Abstract) comprising: an absorbent article (absorbent member 10, see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a liquid-absorbent body (absorbent body 50);
a liquid-permeable sheet (top sheet 30) disposed on a skin side (the top sheet 30 comes into contact with the wearer's skin when worn on the wearer, see pg. 4 last paragraph) in a thickness direction of the absorbent article with respect to the liquid-absorbent body (see Figure 2);
a liquid-impermeable sheet (back sheet 40) disposed on a non-skin side (disposed on the opposite side of top sheet 30, see Figure 2) in the thickness direction with respect to the liquid- absorbent body (see Figure 2);
a pair of skin-side electrodes (second positive electrode 71 and second negative electrode 72) between the liquid- permeable sheet and the liquid-absorbent body (between the top sheet 30 and absorbent body 50, see Figure 2); and
a pair of non-skin-side electrodes (first positive electrode 61 and first negative electrode 62) between the liquid- impermeable sheet and the liquid-absorbent body (between the back sheet and absorbent body 50, see Figure 2), wherein
in a stretched state of the absorbent article (absorbent article can be stretched when applied), a width direction of the absorbent article intersects the thickness direction (see below),
a first space between the pair of non-skin-side electrodes in the width direction is a predetermined distance (the electrodes 61 and 62 are arranged at intervals in the width direction of the absorbing member 10, see pg. 5 paragraph 5; see below),
a second space between the pair of skin-side electrodes in the width direction is different from the predetermined distance (the electrodes 71 and 72 are spaced at an interval different from electrodes 61 and 62, see pg. 6 paragraph 2; Figure 2; see below);
a detection device (detection device 90) that is electrically connected to the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes (electrically connected to skin side electrodes 61 and 62 and nonskin electrodes 71-72 via first power generation unit 60 second power generation unit 70, see Figures 1-2), the detection device including a main body (detection circuit 94) that:
measures, during a measurement period, for each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes, a capacitance value (the electric power generated by the second power generation unit 70 is charged in the capacitor C1 and the capacitor C2. Since the capacitor C2 has a smaller capacitance than the capacitor C1, the potential is likely to rise, see pg. 9 paragraph 1);
an information processing apparatus (management device 100) that:
detects temporal changes in capacitance values measured for the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes during the measurement period (see pg. 9 paragraphs 5-10), and
determines a first amount of change in the capacitance value based on the temporal changes, wherein the first amount is an amount of increase in the capacitance value (see pg. 9 paragraph 1).
Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Doseki does not explicitly disclose applying an alternating current to the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non- skin-side electrodes, and
measures, during a measurement period, for each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes, a capacitance value, and a resistance value; determines a second amount of change in the resistance value based on the temporal changes and the second amount is an amount of decrease in the resistance value.
Ahong teaches an excrement detection system (see Abstract) comprising: an absorbent article (absorbent member 16, see Figures 2B) comprising: a detection device (17) applying an alternating current to a pair of skin-side electrodes and a pair of non- skin-side electrodes (applying alternating current to one or more sensing elements 20, see Paragraph [0171]), and
measures, during a measurement period, for each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes, a resistance value (capable of measuring resistance 378 of interior region 296 of absorbent article 16 even if capacitances 302a, 302b between electrodes 290a, 290b and interior region 296 change, see Paragraph [0178]-[0180]; Figure 6); determines a second amount of change in the resistance value based on the temporal changes and the second amount is an amount of decrease in the resistance value (as moisture is added, resistance 378 of impedance 292 of interior region 296 of absorbent article 16 may decrease see Paragraph [0180]).
Doseki and Ahong are analogous art because both teach a an excrement detecting system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the detection device of Doseki and further include applying an alternating current to the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non- skin-side electrodes, and measures, during a measurement period, for each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes, a capacitance value, and a resistance value; determining a second amount of change in the resistance value based on the temporal changes and the second amount is an amount of decrease in the resistance value, as taught by Ahong. Ahong teaches the detection system including applying alternating current and measuring a resistance value is beneficial for allowing one or more complex impedance sensing elements for detecting and/or monitoring both the resistive and capacitive components (see Paragraph [0171]) and once the impedance between a pair or multiple pairs of electrodes have been measured, moisture in absorbent article 16 may be characterized using various algorithms to determine properties including, for example, saturation percentage, estimated fluid volume, and/or enuresis events (see Paragraph [0208]).
Doseki and Ahong teach all of the limitations as discussed above and Doseki further teaches when moisture reaches between the pair of skin-side electrodes, the amount of increase in the capacitance value between the pair of skin-side electrodes and the amount of decrease in the resistance value between the pair of skin-side electrodes are relatively suppressed with respect to those between the pair of non-skin-side electrodes (the second power generation unit 70, comprising electrodes 71-72, has lower urination detection sensitivity than the first power generation unit 60 comprising electrodes 61-62, see pg. 6 paragraph 3). However, Doseki and Ahong do not explicitly disclose wherein the second space between the at least one pair of the skin-side electrodes in the width direction is larger than the first space between the at least one pair of the non-skin-side electrodes in the width direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the skin side electrodes to be located in the width direction larger than a space between the at least one pair of the non-skin-side electrodes in the width direction, since the claims to electrodes which read on the prior art expect with regard to the position of the electrodes would not have modified the operation of the device (detecting urine or feces). The particular placement of the electrodes would be obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.). See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Doseki does not explicitly disclose wherein the second space is 40 mm or larger. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Modified Doseki to have a second space between the at least one pair of the skin-side electrodes in the width direction is 40 mm or larger since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Doseki would not operate differently with the spacing and since the skin-skin electrodes is intended to reside within the absorbent article with an approximate smallest space of 40 mm the device would function appropriately having the claimed spacing. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the spacing “is 40 mm or larger” be within the claimed ranges (specification pp. [0017]).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Doseki does not explicitly disclose wherein the first space is 40 mm or larger.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Modified Doseki to have the first space between the at least one pair of the non-skin-side electrodes in the width direction is 40 mm or larger since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Modified Doseki would not operate differently with the spacing and since the non-skin-skin electrodes is intended to reside within the absorbent article with an approximate smallest space of 40 mm the device would function appropriately having the claimed spacing. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the spacing “is 40 mm or larger” be within the claimed ranges (specification pp. [0019]).
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Doseki further teaches wherein the pair of skin- side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes detect presence or absence of excrement (the absorbent member body 20 of the embodiment includes electrodes 61, 62, 71, and 72 for detecting excrement, see pg. 4 paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Doseki further teaches wherein the liquid-permeable sheet (backsheet 40) is thicker than any of the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes (backsheet 40 is thicker than the electrodes 61,62 and 71,72, see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Doseki further teaches wherein in a longitudinal direction of the absorbent article (see below), end portions of each of the pair of skin-side electrodes (see below) and each of the pair of non-skin-side electrodes (see below) are disposed outside at least one of a front end and a back end of the liquid-absorbent body (see below), and
the longitudinal direction intersects the thickness direction in a stretched state of the absorbent article (see below).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doseki and Ahong, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Curran et al. (WO 2019090387 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Curran”.
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Doseki further teaches wherein each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and each of the pair of non-skin-side electrodes comprise: a conductive portion (electrodes 61,62 and 71,72 are conductive to produce power to electric power generation part 60 and second power generation unit 70, see pg. 5 paragraphs 6 and 9).
However, Modified Doseki does not explicitly disclose a liquid-impermeable sheet member disposed overlaid on the conductive portion in the thickness direction.
Curran teaches an incontinence monitoring system (10, see Abstract) including a plurality of electrodes (110 and 112) on an absorbent article (25, see Figure 2a) and a liquid-impermeable sheet member disposed overlaid on the conductive portion (substrate 111 and 113 overlaid on electrodes 110 and 112, respectively, see Paragraph [0094] and [0099]) in the thickness direction (see Figure 3).
Modified Doseki and Curran are analogous art because both teach an incontinence monitoring system including a plurality of electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electrodes of Modified Doseki and further include a liquid impermeable sheet member disposed overlaid on the conductive portion, as taught by Curran. Curran teaches water vapor permeating through the outer layer could alter the electrical properties of capacitive sensors printed or attached to the outer layer. To overcome this issue the water impermeable substrate layer can be located under the conductive electrodes (see Paragraph [0109]).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8 and Curran further teaches wherein each of the pair of skin-side electrodes (110) and each of the pair of non-skin-side electrodes (112) further comprise the liquid-impermeable sheet member (111 and 113).
However, Modified Doseki does not explicitly disclose the liquid-impermeable sheet member positioned on an identical side in the thickness direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the liquid impermeable sheet member to be located on an identical side in the thickness direction, since the claims to an liquid impermeable sheet which read on the prior art expect with regard to the position of the liquid impermeable sheet would not have modified the operation of the device (protecting the electrodes from interference of fluid). The particular placement of the liquid impermeable sheet would be obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.). See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8 and Curran further teaches wherein each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and each of the pair of non-skin-side electrodes further comprise the liquid-impermeable sheet member on the non- skin side in the thickness direction (substrate 111 is on the non-skin side and substrate 113 can be placed on the nonskin side, as described in rearrangement of parts claim 9).
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8 and Curran further teaches wherein the liquid-impermeable sheet member is wider than any of the pair of skin- side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes (substrate 111 may be designed to be a little wider than, the conductive electrodes 110, either individually or collectively, see Paragraph [0094]; substrate 113 may be either slightly wider than each conductive electrode 112 or slightly wider than the complete set of capacitive electrodes 112, see Paragraph [0109]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doseki, Ahong, and Curran, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ying et al. (WO 2018147803 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ying”.
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8. However, Modified Doseki does not explicitly teach wherein a liquid- impermeable region is disposed in at least a part of each of the pair of skin-side electrodes and the pair of non-skin-side electrodes, on a side in the thickness direction which is opposite to a side where the liquid-impermeable sheet member is disposed.
Ying teaches a liquid sensor for a diaper (see Abstract) comprising a liquid- impermeable region (film 502,) is disposed in at least a part of each of the pair of electrodes (disposed next to electrochemical cells 500, see Figure 5), on a side in the thickness direction which is opposite to a side where the liquid-impermeable sheet member is disposed (on the opposite side of substrate 510, see Figure 5).
Modified Doseki and Ying are analogous art because all teach an incontinence device with a plurality of electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pair of skin-side electrodes and pair of non-skin side electrodes of Modified Doseki and further include a liquid- impermeable region, as taught by Ying. Ying teaches the device is advantageous for ease of production, low cost, high signal-to-noise ratio, and compactness (see Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Doseki teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 12 and Doseki further teaches a longitudinal direction of the absorbent article (see above) and the longitudinal direction intersects the thickness direction in a stretched state of the absorbent article (see above). Ying further teaches an area of the liquid-impermeable region on a front side with respect to a center (area of the film 502 on the front side of electrochemical cell 500, see Figure 5) is larger than an area of the liquid-impermeable region on a back side with respect to the center (film 502 is larger than the area of the insulated substrate 510 on the back side of the electrochemical cells 500, see Figure 5).
Conclusion
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (7/16/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781