DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenny US20030231941 (hereinafter, Kenny).
Regarding claim 1, Kenny teaches a thread forming flow drilling fastener (10, see Fig. 1) comprising:
a threaded region 26 that defines a major diameter (MAD, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) of a largest thread and a first minor diameter (MID, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) on one side of the largest thread and a second minor diameter (see diameter of root 46 considered a minor diameter on either side of the major thread 30 in Fig. 1) on the other side of the largest thread; and
a tip region 16 including a flow drilling tip 20, wherein the tip region defines a tip
diameter (TD, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the tip diameter is greater than both the first minor diameter and the
second minor diameter of the largest thread (see Fig. 1), and further wherein the tip diameter is also less than or equal to the major diameter of the largest thread on the fastener (see Fig. 1).
Kenny fails to expressly teach, wherein the tip region is configured and arranged to create sufficient heat, via friction, to soften material of a workpiece adjacent the tip region, thereby creating a flowed/extruded portion of the workpiece.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that the self-drilling fastener of Kenny is capable of being configured and arranged to create sufficient heat, via friction, to soften material of a workpiece adjacent the tip region, since Kenny discloses slots 32 which forms flutes 28 act to direct material away from drilling tip 20 and the hole being drilled.
Kenny meets all the structural limitations of the claimed fastener, therefore the examiner considers above limitation, where the heat is created via friction to softer material of a workpiece, to be functional limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention for the fastener of Kenny to be configured to perform functional limitations above as an obvious function for self-drilling fastener used in metal substrate (see para. 0027-0029).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, and the tip diameter is less than or equal to the major diameter of the largest thread on the fastener (see Fig. 1), but fails to expressly teach wherein the tip diameter is greater than or equal to 1.02 times each of the first minor diameter and the second minor diameter.
However, Kenny does expressly teach that tip diameter is about 0.15 inches greater than the minor diameter of root 46 (see para. 0038).
Further, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the diameter of tip in Kenny to be 1.02 times each of minor diameters in order to maintain the strength, stability and function of the fastener as intended by the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 3, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, and tip diameter is less than or equal to the major diameter of the largest thread on the fastener (see Fig. 1), but fails to expressly teach wherein the tip diameter is greater than or equal to 1.1 times each of the first minor diameter and the second minor diameter.
However, Kenny does expressly teach that tip diameter is about 0.15 inches greater than the minor diameter of root 46 (see para. 0038).
Further, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the diameter of tip in Kenny to be 1.1 times each of minor diameters in order to maintain the strength, stability and function of the fastener as intended by the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 4, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, and tip diameter is less than or equal to the major diameter of the largest thread on the fastener (see Fig. 1), but fails to teach wherein the tip diameter is greater than or equal to 1.2 times each of the first minor diameter and the second minor diameter.
However, Kenny does expressly teach that tip diameter is about 0.15 inches greater than the minor diameter of root 46 (see para. 0038).
Further, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the diameter of tip in Kenny to be 1.2 times each of minor diameters in order to maintain the strength, stability and function of the fastener as intended by the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 5, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, and the tip diameter is less than or equal to the major diameter of the largest thread on the fastener (see Fig. 1), but fails to teach wherein the tip diameter is greater than or equal to 1.25 times each of the first minor diameter and the second minor diameter.
However, Kenny does expressly teach that tip diameter is about 0.15 inches greater than the minor diameter of root 46 (see para. 0038).
Further, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the diameter of tip in Kenny to be 1.25 times each of minor diameters in order to maintain the strength, stability and function of the fastener as intended by the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 6, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, wherein a cross-section of an outer distal end of the tip region 16 is rounded (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, wherein a cross-section of an outer distal end of the tip region 16 is polygonal (see Figs. 1-2 showing slots 32 and flutes 28).
Regarding claim 10, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, wherein the threaded region 26 includes threads of a uniform major diameter (see Fig. 2 along the length 52).
Regarding claim 11, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, further comprising a non-threaded and non-tapered region (44, see Fig. 1) between the threaded region 26 and the tip region 16.
Regarding claim 12, Kenny teaches a combined thread forming and flow drilling fastener 10 comprising:
a head portion 64 including a head region 18 and a drive arrangement 62 configured and
arranged for receiving a rotary driving force (para. [0042]);
a threaded region 26 including a helical thread 30 that defines a major diameter (MAD) defined as the largest diameter of the helical thread and a minor diameter (MID) defined as the smallest diameter of the helical thread of the threaded region, and wherein, when considered in cross-section, a pair of roots of the threaded region closest to the head region are of the same diameter (see SD, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1 above showing pair of roots showing same diameter); and
a flow drilling tip region 16 adjacent to the threaded region 26, wherein the tip region defines a tip diameter (TD) as the largest diameter of the tip region (see Fig. 1);
wherein the tip diameter (TD) is greater than the minor diameter (MID) and is less than or equal to the major diameter (MAD) of the threaded region (see Fig. 1).
Kenny fails to expressly teach, wherein the tip region is configured and arranged to create sufficient heat, via friction, to soften material of a workpiece adjacent the tip region, thereby creating a flowed/extruded portion of the workpiece.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that the self-drilling fastener of Kenny is capable of being configured and arranged to create sufficient heat, via friction, to soften material of a workpiece adjacent the tip region, since Kenny discloses slots 32 which forms flutes 28 act to direct material away from drilling tip 20 and the hole being drilled.
Kenny meets all the structural limitations of the claimed fastener, therefore the examiner considers above limitation, where the heat is created via friction to softer material of a workpiece, to be functional limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention for the fastener of Kenny to be configured to perform functional limitations above as an obvious function for self-drilling fastener used in metal substrate (see para. 0027-0029).
Regarding claim 13, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the combined thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, wherein the cross-section of the threaded region 26 is rounded (see Fig. 2 showing cross section of threaded region 26 where the helical thread is 30).
Regarding claim 14, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the combined thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the cross-section of the threaded region is polygonal.
Kenny discloses a rounded cross-section of threaded reason but lacks polygonal shape, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the polygon. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the threaded reason to have polygonal cross-section as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Regarding claim 15, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the combined thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, but fails to expressly teach wherein a terminating tip 22 of the fastener is sharp.
Kenny discloses a terminating tip 22 which appears to be sharp in Fig. 1 and the applicant self admits that different tip configurations are known to those or ordinary skill in the art, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the sharp tip. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the terminating tip as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Regarding claim 16, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the combined thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, but fails to expressly teach wherein a terminating tip of the fastener is rounded.
Kenny discloses a terminating tip 22 which appears to be rounded in Fig. 1 and the applicant self admits that different tip configurations are known to those or ordinary skill in the art, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the sharp tip. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the terminating tip as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Regarding claim 17, The combined thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, but fails to expressly teach wherein the flow drilling tip of the fastener is symmetrical.
Kenny discloses a terminating tip 22 which may be symmetrical in Fig. 1 and the applicant self admits that different tip configurations are known to those or ordinary skill in the art, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the sharp tip. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the terminating tip as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Regarding claim 18, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, but fails to expressly teach wherein the flow drilling tip of the fastener is asymmetrical.
Kenny discloses a terminating tip 22 which appears to be asymmetrical in Fig. 1 and the applicant self admits that different tip configurations are known to those or ordinary skill in the art, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the sharp tip. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the terminating tip as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Regarding claim 20, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, wherein the first minor diameter is equal to the second minor diameter (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, wherein the diameters, when considered in cross-section, of each of the roots of the pair of roots of the threaded region closest to the head region are the same as the minor diameter (see SD in annotated Fig. 1 showing the roots of the threaded region closest to the head region are the same as the minor diameter).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenny in view of Bongartz et al., US20120107070 (hereinafter, Bongartz).
Regarding claim 8, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the threaded region includes a tapered threaded region that includes sharp tapered lead threads near the tip region.
However, Bongartz teaches similar self-drilling fastening element where the threaded region (see 14, in Fig. 2) includes a tapered threaded region (TTR, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) that includes sharp tapered lead threads near the tip region 16.
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify leading thread of Kenny to have a tapered threaded region as taught by Bongartz for effective and smooth drilling of metal substrate compared to untapered and wide thread.
Further, changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of tapered thread region in page 8, lines 15-23. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of leading thread to be tapered as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 9, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming flow drilling fastener according to Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the threaded region includes a tapered threaded region that includes open crested tapered lead threads near the tip region.
However, Bongartz teaches the threaded region (see threaded shank 14) includes a tapered threaded region (TTR) that includes open crested tapered (see open crested (OC) in annotated Fig. 2 forming open crest when the top of the thread groove (crest) is not fully formed or is rounded) lead threads near the tip region 16.
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fastener of Kenny to have a tapered threaded region include open crested taper as taught by Bongartz for effective and smooth transition from tip to threaded area while drilling metal substrate compared to untapered and wide thread.
Further, changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of tapered thread region in page 8, lines 15-23. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of leading thread to be tapered as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (iv)(b).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenny in view of Simpson et al., US20190257344 (hereinafter, Simpson).
Regarding claim 19, Kenny teaches and/or make obvious of the thread forming and flow drilling fastener according to Claim 12, wherein the drive arrangement 62 is on a first side of the head region 64, but fails to teach wherein a second side of the head region includes an undercut region sized to capture an up-flow of material during flow drilling related to the thickness of substrate to be fastened such that the second side of the head region of the fastener sits flush upon final tightening.
However, Simpson teaches similar fastener (10”, see Fig. 5) where a second side of a head region 14 includes an undercut region 136.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the fastener of Kenny to have undercut on other side of the head region as taught by Simpson to provide space for flowed/extruded material to be received (see para. [0056]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025 have been fully considered.
However, upon finding of new prior art, rejection based on newly found and existing prior art is set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US6698987 (Dicke) teaches a self-drilling and thread-forming connecting element comrpsing a threaded shank, a drilling tip, and the diameter of the tip is smaller than the thread diameter and bigger than the root diameter (see Fig. 1).
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675