DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Conlon, Wen, Preininger, Key, and Schaupp have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly applied reference Zwilling which addresses in part the feature of the label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label on the container and the preexisting label gap on the container. Therefore, claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Conlon, Zwilling, Wen, Preininger, Key, and Schaupp
As to claim 1 and 12, Zwilling discloses that it is known to utilize that a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label and the preexisting label features and marks on the container. Zwilling discloses this in the context of labeling both packages (like the packages of Wen below) and containers (like the containers of Conlon above), and discloses doing this for “the application of the additional label elements 3 onto the base labels 2”. Zwilling thus, as to claim 12, also discloses determining a position of a preexisting label on the pharmaceutical container and location features of the preexisting label. See especially Paragraph 0041-42, cited below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a label holder configured to position a patient label” in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11. Paragraph 0030 discloses that the corresponding structure is that “The label holder 34 is configured to hold or position the patient label. In the illustrated embodiment, the label holder 34 comprises a vacuum or suction pad that holds the patient label PL.”.
“a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label” in claim 1, 9, and 10. Paragraph 0030 discloses that the corresponding structure is that “In one embodiment, the label detector 30 comprises a label orientation sensor configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label L of the pharmaceutical container. In one embodiment, the label orientation sensor comprises a contrast sensor, such as a laser contrast sensor. In one embodiment, the label orientation sensor detects an edge (e.g., side edge E) (broadly, a reference point) of the preexisting label L.”
“a container transporter configured to orient the preexisting label” in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8 and 9. Paragraph 0027 discloses that the corresponding structure is that “In the illustrated embodiment, the container transporter 22 comprises a robot such as a six-axis robotic arm, although other robots are within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, the container transporter 22 may comprise a selective-compliance-articulated robotic arm, a cylindrical robot, a delta robot, a polar coordinate robot, a vertically articulated robot, a Cartesian coordinate robot or any other suitable device.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20090050267 A1) in view of Zwilling (US 20170113828 A1), Wen (US 20220097889 A1), Preininger (US 20190315507 A1), Key (US 20120125526 A1), and Schaupp (US 20020185212 A1).
As to claim 1, Conlon discloses a pharmaceutical container processor for processing a pharmaceutical container (see paragraph 0042, disclosing “in the case of the item being a bottle of pills”; see paragraph 0043, disclosing “regulated/controlled medical substance or device such as those which require an order (prescription, R.sub.x) originating from a physician, dentist, veterinarian, physical or occupational therapist, and other such licensed `provider`”), the pharmaceutical container including a container body (such as a bottle of pills) and a barcode, the pharmaceutical container processor comprising:
a label holder (see paragraph 0045, disclosing “a labeler 410 having conventional components”, such as tamp head/device) configured to position a patient label (see paragraph 0043, “prescription”; see paragraph 0062, disclosing “a customer specific label”) to be applied on the container body of the pharmaceutical container (see paragraph 0042, disclosing “Affixation of the labeling edge is preferably accomplished by pressure of a tamp head/device (FIG. 10 at 516) that pushes (in the generally direction of 516') the labeling edge (preferably a sticky-backed/self-adhesive material) against the item edge.”);
a detector configured to detect a barcode on the container body (see paragraph 0047, disclosing “a barcode scanner/reader 405 for use to identify items having bar-codes printed on an outer surface, before and/or after labeling is applied by the labeler 410;”, see also paragraph 0043, disclosing “image capture device 331 (e.g., a high speed digital camera) to aid in control of the automated process,”); and
a container transporter (see paragraph 0043, disclosing “the automated pick-and-place robots 100, 140 the rotary station unit”) configured to orient the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder based on the detected position (see paragraph 0050, disclosing “or picked-and-placed/oriented by a robot mechanism (e.g., 120, FIG. 3) and clamped to remain in-place between plate-members 412 and 418.”).
Conlon, however, only discloses a bar code and does not disclose a preexisting label on the container body, the preexisting label having opposite side edges defining a preexisting label gap therebetween. Conlon only discloses a detector in the form of a barcode scanner and a camera but does not disclose that a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label and the preexisting label gap on the container and does not disclose that the container transporter orients the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder based on the detected position so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body.
Zwilling discloses that it is known to utilize that a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label and the preexisting label features and marks on the container. Zwilling discloses this in the context of labeling both packages (like the packages of Wen below) and containers (like the containers of Conlon above), and discloses doing this for “the application of the additional label elements 3 onto the base labels 2”. Paragraph 0041-42 especially teaches:
[0041] By the integration of the labeling station 11.2 into the labeling station 11.1, that is, by the application of the additional label elements 3 onto the base labels 2, and, respectively, due to the fact that the web or strip-shaped label material 12 forms the base labels 2, a high degree of precision can be achieved with regard to the exact or substantially exact location and/or position of the additional label elements. The application of the additional label elements 3 is controlled by suitable measures or by a suitable sensor system 14, for example by a camera and image processing system and/or by sensors, and specifically, for example, by taking account and/or detection of striking features of the base labels 2 or of the web or strip-form label material 12 forming these labels, for example by detection of printing marks, which are provided on the base labels 2 or on the label material 12. With the sensor system 14, the alignment and/or positioning of the respective base label 2 at any moment is detected, such that the additional label element 3 is then applied with exact or substantially exact position and/or location onto the base label 2 concerned.
[0042] It has been assumed heretofore that, with the labeling station 11.2 of the labeling apparatus 11, the additional label elements 3 forming the additional labels or equipment elements are applied onto the front side of the base label 2 or of the web or strip-form label material forming these labels. FIG. 6 shows a web-form label material 12a forming the base labels 2 (roll-fed labels). Before the transfer in each case of the base label 2, separated from the label material 12a, each label 2 is provided on its rear side, at its leading end at the time of transfer, with an additional label element 3a in the form of an adhesive strip, self-adhesive on both sides. The application of the additional label elements 3a is effected in turn inside the labeling apparatus 11 with the labeling station 11.2, and specifically controlled by the sensor system 14. With the additional label elements 3a, which are provided on the rear side of the respective base label 2, which is not visible after the labeling, the fixing takes place, at the transfer of the label to the packaging means 1, of the respective base label 2 to the packaging means 1, as well as, after the complete rolling of the base label 2 on the packaging means 1, also the fixing of the trailing end of the label. The respective additional label element 3a overlaps for this purpose the joint between the two label ends, as is made clear in FIG. 7.
Wen discloses a container processor comprising: a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label on the container body (see paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.” Wen discloses in paragraph 0021 that “For example, the identification tag 104 may be a label applied to one of the sides 200.” Paragraph 0025 further teaches that “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may image the package 102. The package 102 may be identified with reference to the package database 12. The package 102 is scanned to identify the package to control other operations, such as printing appropriate labels, for proper label application, and the like.” Wen discloses in paragraph 0026 that “The scanning device 132 may identify the side 200 of the package 102 that has the identification tag 104, which allows the robotic labeling system 100 to determine the orientation of the package 102.” Paragraph 0026 further teaches “The controller 50 uses the orientation information to control the label application system 150 for applying the shipping label 106 and the customer specific label 108 to other sides 200 of the package 102. For example, the label application system 150 may determine appropriate sides 200 to apply the shipping label 106 and the customer specified label 108 based upon which side 200 has the identification tag 104.” Wen also teaches in paragraph 0021 that “For example, the identification tag 104 may be a label applied to one of the sides 200. Alternatively, the identification tag 104 may be applied directly on one of the sides 200. The identification tag 104 is used to identify the particular package 102 (for example, compared to other packages 102). The identification tag 104 may be a unique identifier for the package 102. Information about the package 102 may be associated with the identification tag 104, such as data contained in the package database 12 of the package database management system 10. The identifying data about the package 102 may include content data relating to the contents of the package.” and in paragraph 0022 that “the identification tag 104 is a scannable tag, such as a barcode, a data matrix, a QR code, or another type of symbolic scan code.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the label detector is a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label on the container body and the preexisting label feature on the container as in Zwilling and Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and because Zwilling discloses that doing so such would result in the additional label element is then applied with exact or substantially exact position and/or location onto the base label concerned.
Preininger also makes obvious that the orienting is to orient based on the detected position (such as via the use of positioning marks 27 on the first label 20 which is an example of preexisting label; see Figure 2). Preininger teaches in paragraph 0023 and 0051 that:
[0023] In an embodiment, the method further comprises the step of positioning the second label relative to a landing zone indicated on the first label for bonding the second label on the first label. The landing zone may be indicated by one or more positioning marks provided (for example pre-printed) on the first label. A positioning mark may comprise a frame or corners of a frame that is sized in accordance with the shape and size of the second label. The positioning mark(s) enable(s) positioning both, by machine and manually by an operator.
…
[0051] Further, the second label 30 is positioned on the first label 20 so that the first label 20 is uncovered at a fully circumferential area between the first and the second edge 26, 36. The first label 20 comprises positioning marks 27. The positioning marks 27 allow for positioning the second label 30 at the place marked by the positioning marks 27 on the first label 10. In the example, the positioning marks are in the form of corners of a rectangle that essentially corresponds in the format to the second format of the second label 30. However, other marks like crosshairs, dots or the like may be used. The first label 20 has a print area 28. The print area 28 is defined by a two-dimension third format. The third format and the second format are sized and shaped so that the print area 28 can be entirely covered by the second label so that no portion of the print area overlaps the second edge. Therefore, the second label covers a fully circumferential area around the print area 28. This helps preventing undesired substances, for example cleaning agents or disinfection agents, from getting into contact with the printing area 28. Accordingly, any general information or material specific information arranged within the print area 28 is protected from getting into contact with such undesired substances. Thus, the general information and material specific information is maximized in durability. As described, the second label 30 is undersized relative to the first label 20 and attached to the first label 10 such that a circumferential area on the first label 20 remains uncovered. Accordingly, the first label 20 overlaps with the second label 30 and further circumferentially projects over the second edge 36. The projection has a dimension that is determined to account for tolerances of the first and the second format as well as for tolerances in the positioning of the second label 30 relative to the first label 20. The projection is greater than zero. In the example, the desired projection is 2.5 mm which enables automatic and manual positioning so that the actual projection (eventually including inaccuracies in positioning) is still greater than zero.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the orienting is done to orient based on the detected position as in Preininger in order that an interior region of the preexisting first label can be entirely covered by the second label.
Preininger also discloses a preexisting label having opposite side edges defining a preexisting label gap therebetween, and applying a second label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the second label when the second label is applied on the container body. See paragraphs 0020-21.
[0020] The first label may further exhibit general information, such as a branding, a type of the dental material, information about the manufacturer, a color code, a safety sign or an image. Furthermore, the material specific information may be provided on the first label within a pre-determined print area. This print area may further comprise the general information. For example, the first label may be pre-printed with general information and the material specific information may be added, for example by marking, on the first label. Therefore, the second label may extend circumferentially beyond the print area that contains the general information and the material specific information.
[0021] In an embodiment, the material specific information comprises one or more of a serial number, a lot number, date information, time information, shelf-life information, and/or a bar code.
See also marked up Figure 1 below:
Key makes obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body. Key teaches that the inner (or preexisting) and outer labels can be the same length, and that both the inner label and the outer label can each have a label gap.
Paragraph 0027 discloses that the outer label may be the same length as the inner label, teaching that:
In various embodiments, the length of the outer label 300 may be selected to be approximately the same as the circumference of the object on which it is placed, such that both the leading edge 302 and the trailing edge 304 do not overlap and are affixed to the inner label front surface 108.
Paragraph 0031 teaches a preexisting gap for the inner label, teaching that:
However, it is also possible that the length of the inner label 100 may be shorter than the circumference of the recessed surface 512, resulting in a gap 702 between the inner label leading edge 102 and the inner label trailing edge 104 when the inner label is affixed to the recessed surface as illustrated in FIG. 7. In both of these instances, the inner label trailing edge adhesive strip 204 may adhere to the recessed surface 512 of the container 500, rather than the inner label leading edge 102.
Paragraph 0035 teaches that the outer label may also have a gap, teaching that:
A different length may be selected for the outer label 300 such that the outer label leading edge 302 and trailing edge 304 abut when mounted on the container, or that a gap is formed between the outer label leading edge 302 and trailing edge 304.
Schaupp also makes obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body.
Schaupp discloses that the second label can either hide or make visible the first label, teaching in paragraph 0024 and 0026-27 discloses that:
[0024] In a second example, a first label such as a game piece, may be placed onto a bottle and a second label may be placed over the first label with a window through the second label so that the first label is visible. The second label must be registered to the first label so that the window is properly located and the first label is therefore visible.
…
[0026] A fourth example may be a bottle that may be labeled first with a booklet attached with pressure sensitive adhesive and covers a portion of the circumference. A second label may be a roll wrapped plastic film label and attached to or near one end of the first label and continue around the remainder of the circumference to end on or near the opposite end of the first label. Registration of the second label to the first is important so that the overlap of the two labels does not interfere with the use and function of the booklet.
[0027] A fifth example is a bottle wherein an adhesive backed RF tag may be placed on a bottle and a second label is roll wrapped around the complete exterior of the bottle, covering the RF tag so that it is not unsightly. Instead of an RF tag, a promotional item, such as a ticket or coupon may be placed underneath the second label. The registration of the RF tag to the roll wrapped label is important since the RF tag may interfere with the gluing of a roll wrapped label if improperly registered.
Schaupp also teaches that the second label can hide the first label.
[0175] The inventive label configurations comprise at least two different elements that are registered with respect to each other to create unique and useful devices. The placement of specially printed game pieces on a container with a separate display label can take on several forms, including having the game piece being fully or partially hidden from view by the second label. Further, elements that are printed on the container may be registered with respect to other labels and elements that are subsequently applied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the container is a pharmaceutical container, that the label to be applied is a patient label, that the feature is a preexisting label gap on the container, and that the container transporter configured to orient the preexisting label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body as taught by Preininger, Key and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to containers such prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable or nonviewable by any observer as in Key, Preininger and Schaupp.
As to claim 2, Conlon as modified by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body.
Conlon discloses the container transporter, which would be capable of orienting as claimed. See paragraph 0050, disclosing:
An item-product 12 is either manually placed (FIGS. 1A, 1B 190), or picked-and-placed/oriented by a robot mechanism (e.g., 120, FIG. 3) and clamped to remain in-place between plate-members 412 and 418. The item is identified so that a dedicated label from labeler 410 can be printed, fed and positioned with a defined labeling-edge aligned with an item-edge on the surface of item 12.
Additionally, Wen also discloses the container transporter, which would be capable of orienting as claimed. See especially Wen, paragraph 0015, 0026 and 0029:
[0015] In an exemplary embodiment, the palletizing robot 20 is a multi-axis robot having an articulating arm 22 that moves in three-dimensional space. An end effector 24 is provided at the end of the arm 22 to pick up the packages 102 and move the packages 102 to and from the labeling station 110. In various embodiments, the end effector 24 may be a vacuum end effector using suction to hold the package 102 on the end effector 24. Other types of end effectors may be used in alternative embodiments, such as a gripper. Other types of palletizing robots 20 may be used in alternative embodiments to manipulate and move the packages 102. In an exemplary embodiment, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the packages 120 among the palletizing station 80, the labeling station 110 and the de-palletizing station 60 as needed.
…
[0026] In an exemplary embodiment, the scanning device 132 identifies an orientation of the package 102 in the labeling station 110. The scanning device 132 may identify the side 200 of the package 102 that has the identification tag 104, which allows the robotic labeling system 100 to determine the orientation of the package 102. For example, the scanning device 132 may identify the top side 202 as having the identification tag 104 (top-side orientation); may identify the front side 206 is having the identification tag 104 (front-side orientation); may identify the rear side 208 as having the identification tag 104 (rear-side orientation); may identify the right side 210 as having the identification tag 104 (right-side orientation); or may identify the left side 212 as having the identification tag 104 (left-side orientation). The controller 50 uses the orientation information to control the label application system 150 for applying the shipping label 106 and the customer specific label 108 to other sides 200 of the package 102. For example, the label application system 150 may determine appropriate sides 200 to apply the shipping label 106 and the customer specified label 108 based upon which side 200 has the identification tag 104.
…
[0029] In an exemplary embodiment, the palletizing robot 20 positions the package 102 in the labeling station 110 relative to the label applicator 162 to receive the labels. In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162. In alternative embodiments, the label applicator 162 may be movable relative to the package 102 to apply the labels on various sides 200 of the package 102. For example, the label applicator 162 may be a multi-axis robot having an articulating arm movable in three-dimensional space to apply the labels. In an exemplary embodiment, the label applicator 162 includes an end effector 168 provided at the end of an arm to pick up the label from the labeling device 160 and to apply the label to the side 200 of the package 102. In various embodiments, the end effector 168 may be a vacuum end effector using suction to hold the label on the end effector 168. Other types of end effectors may be used in alternative embodiments.
Additionally, Key as cited in claim 1 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label (or second label) when the patient label (or second label) is applied on the container body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label does not extend across the preexisting label gap when the patient label is applied on the container body as taught by Key and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 3, Conlon as modified by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses that container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label does not extend across the preexisting label gap when the patient label is applied on the container body. For example, Key as cited in claim 1 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label (or second label) when the patient label is applied on the container body. Additionally, Wen discloses the container transporter, which would be capable of orienting as claimed. See especially Wen, paragraph 0015, 0026 and 0029, cited above in claim 2 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label does not extend across the preexisting label gap when the patient label is applied on the container body as taught by Key and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 4, Conlon as modified by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container, so that the patient label is applied over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container. Conlon and Wen discloses the container transporter, which would be capable of orienting as claimed. See especially Conlon, paragraph 0050, and Wen, paragraph 0015, 0026 and 0029, cited above in claim 2 above.
Additionally, Preininger discloses placing a label over the preexisting label. As combined with Wen, this would make obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label is applied over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container. Additionally, Key as cited in claim 1 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body. Finally, Schaupp as applied in claim 1 above discloses that it is known to utilize a second label that fully hides or is applied over the first label.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label is applied over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container as taught by Preininger, Key and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 5, although Conlon discloses a detector which can include barcode scanners and cameras, Conlon does not disclose wherein the label detector includes a label orientation sensor configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container.
However, Wen discloses wherein the label detector includes a label orientation sensor (such as cameras 72) configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container. See Wen, paragraph 0006, disclosing “”The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.”
Similarly, Zwilling also discloses wherein the label detector includes a label orientation sensor configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container. See paragraph 0008, disclosing “Some design features are graphics, pictures, lines, edges, borders, decorative features, text, embossments, raised lettering, or other parts of the base label, which design features can be used as a reference point for the application and positioning of additional labels.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the label detector includes a label orientation sensor configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container as in Wen and Zwilling because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 6, Conlon makes obvious wherein the orientation sensor comprises a laser contrast sensor. See paragraph 0053, disclosing:
An item is oriented as shown at 614 between plate-member pair 612, 618 atop a surface 619 of bottom member 618 that has been marked (permanently or with a visual display/laser lights originating from above) for aiding in correct orientation of an item 14 (see FIG. 19B) prior to applying pressure to a further unique handle mechanism (composed of handle 602, pivot 604, and a lower extension 606 from which an interior-underarm 608 protrudes) to gently clamp and hold item 14 in position for label affixation and contouring.
Similarly, Wen discloses wherein the label orientation sensor comprises a contrast sensor. See Wen, paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102. The depalletizing scanning device 70 allows for vision inspection of the packages 102. For example, the controller 50 may perform vision inspection, such as to identify features of the packages 102 (for example, sides, edges, corners, and the like).” These features would be examples of contrast as used in the instant application.
As to claim 7, Conlon does not disclose wherein the label detector is configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label relative to the label holder
However, Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious wherein the label detector is configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label relative to the label holder. See Wen, paragraph 0006, disclosing “The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the label detector is configured to detect the orientation of the preexisting label relative to the label holder as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 8, Conlon disclosing rotating and orienting the container (see paragraph 0063, disclosing “The product then rotates to arrive at the label station, the label is applied tangentially to the product and the product is rotated around as the label adhesive continues to wrap around the product.”), but does not disclose wherein the container transporter is configured to rotate the pharmaceutical container to orient the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder.
However, Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses wherein the container transporter is configured to rotate the pharmaceutical container to orient the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder. See Wen, paragraph 0029, disclosing “In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the container transporter is configured to rotate the pharmaceutical container to orient the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 9, Conlon does not disclose wherein the container transporter is configured to rotate the pharmaceutical container to orient the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder based on a detected position of the preexisting label by the label detector.
However, Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses wherein the container transporter is configured to rotate the pharmaceutical container to orient the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder based on a detected position of the preexisting label by the label detector. See Wen, paragraph 0006, disclosing “”The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also Wen, paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.” See Wen, paragraph 0029, disclosing “In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the container transporter is configured to rotate the pharmaceutical container to orient the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder based on a detected position of the preexisting label by the label detector as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 10, Conlon does not disclose wherein the label detector is arranged relative to the label holder such that, when the label detector detects the position of the preexisting label, the preexisting label is in a detected orientation relative to the label holder, and wherein the container transporter is configured to maintain the preexisting label in the detected orientation relative to the label holder when the patient label is applied on the container body so that said at least a portion of the preexisting label gap will be uncovered by the patient label.
Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses wherein the label detector is arranged relative to the label holder such that, when the label detector detects the position of the preexisting label, the preexisting label is in an orientation relative to the label holder in which said at least a portion of the preexisting label gap will be uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body. See Wen, paragraph 0006, disclosing “”The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.” See paragraph 0029, disclosing “In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162.” Additionally, Key, Preininger and Schaupp make obvious the two labels and the preexisting label gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the label detector is arranged relative to the label holder such that, when the label detector detects the position of the preexisting label, the preexisting label is in a detected orientation relative to the label holder, and wherein the container transporter is configured to maintain the preexisting label in the detected orientation relative to the label holder when the patient label is applied on the container body so that said at least a portion of the preexisting label gap will be uncovered by the patient label as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 11, Conlon discloses a labeler configured to apply the patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container, the labeler including the label holder (see paragraph 0055, disclosing “labeler 510 and tamp head 516”).
Additionally, Wen makes obvious and discloses further comprising a labeler configured to apply the patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container, the labeler including the label holder. See Wen, paragraph 0014, disclosing:
[0014] The robotic labeling system 100 includes a palletizing robot 20 used for moving the packages 102 to and from a labeling station 110. The palletizing robot 20 is operably coupled to the controller 50, which controls movement and operation of the palletizing robot 20. Labels are applied to the packages 102 at the labeling station 110 using a label application system 150. The label application system 150 is operably coupled to the controller 50, which controls movement and operation of the components of the label application system 150. In various embodiments, the label application system 150 may apply multiple labels to each package 102, such as to various sides of the package 102.
As to claim 12, Conlon discloses a method of processing a pharmaceutical container (see paragraph 0042, disclosing “in the case of the item being a bottle of pills”; see paragraph 0043, disclosing “regulated/controlled medical substance or device such as those which require an order (prescription, R.sub.x) originating from a physician, dentist, veterinarian, physical or occupational therapist, and other such licensed `provider`”),, the method comprising:
determining a position of a barcode on the pharmaceutical container (see paragraph 0047, disclosing “a barcode scanner/reader 405 for use to identify items having bar-codes printed on an outer surface, before and/or after labeling is applied by the labeler 410;”, see also paragraph 0043, disclosing “image capture device 331 (e.g., a high speed digital camera) to aid in control of the automated process,”);
orienting (see paragraph 0043, disclosing “the automated pick-and-place robots 100, 140 the rotary station unit”) the pharmaceutical container and an opaque patient label (paragraph 0008, disclosing “product identification labels have an opaque barcode with various styled identifier”) relative to one another based on the determined position (see paragraph 0050, disclosing “or picked-and-placed/oriented by a robot mechanism (e.g., 120, FIG. 3) and clamped to remain in-place between plate-members 412 and 418.”), the pharmaceutical container including a container body and the barcode on the container body; and
applying the opaque patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container (see paragraph 0045, disclosing “a labeler 410 having conventional components”, such as tamp head/device; see paragraph 0042, disclosing “Affixation of the labeling edge is preferably accomplished by pressure of a tamp head/device (FIG. 10 at 516) that pushes (in the generally direction of 516').
Conlon does not disclose a barcode but not whether the barcode is a preexisting label and thus does not disclose determining a position of a preexisting label on the pharmaceutical container and opposite edges of the preexisting label, or the pharmaceutical container including the preexisting label on the container body, the preexisting label having opposite side edges defining a preexisting label gap therebetween, applying the opaque patient label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the opaque patient label.
Zwilling discloses that it is known to perform determining a position of a preexisting label on the pharmaceutical container and opposite edges of the preexisting label. Zwilling utilize that a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label and the preexisting label features and marks on the container. Zwilling discloses this in the context of labeling both packages (like the packages of Wen below) and containers (like the containers of Conlon above), and discloses doing this for “the application of the additional label elements 3 onto the base labels 2”. Paragraph 0041-42 especially teaches:
[0041] By the integration of the labeling station 11.2 into the labeling station 11.1, that is, by the application of the additional label elements 3 onto the base labels 2, and, respectively, due to the fact that the web or strip-shaped label material 12 forms the base labels 2, a high degree of precision can be achieved with regard to the exact or substantially exact location and/or position of the additional label elements. The application of the additional label elements 3 is controlled by suitable measures or by a suitable sensor system 14, for example by a camera and image processing system and/or by sensors, and specifically, for example, by taking account and/or detection of striking features of the base labels 2 or of the web or strip-form label material 12 forming these labels, for example by detection of printing marks, which are provided on the base labels 2 or on the label material 12. With the sensor system 14, the alignment and/or positioning of the respective base label 2 at any moment is detected, such that the additional label element 3 is then applied with exact or substantially exact position and/or location onto the base label 2 concerned.
[0042] It has been assumed heretofore that, with the labeling station 11.2 of the labeling apparatus 11, the additional label elements 3 forming the additional labels or equipment elements are applied onto the front side of the base label 2 or of the web or strip-form label material forming these labels. FIG. 6 shows a web-form label material 12a forming the base labels 2 (roll-fed labels). Before the transfer in each case of the base label 2, separated from the label material 12a, each label 2 is provided on its rear side, at its leading end at the time of transfer, with an additional label element 3a in the form of an adhesive strip, self-adhesive on both sides. The application of the additional label elements 3a is effected in turn inside the labeling apparatus 11 with the labeling station 11.2, and specifically controlled by the sensor system 14. With the additional label elements 3a, which are provided on the rear side of the respective base label 2, which is not visible after the labeling, the fixing takes place, at the transfer of the label to the packaging means 1, of the respective base label 2 to the packaging means 1, as well as, after the complete rolling of the base label 2 on the packaging means 1, also the fixing of the trailing end of the label. The respective additional label element 3a overlaps for this purpose the joint between the two label ends, as is made clear in FIG. 7.
Wen discloses method of processing a container, the method comprising:
determining a position of a preexisting label on the container (See Wen, paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.” Wen also discloses in paragraph 0021 that “For example, the identification tag 104 may be a label applied to one of the sides 200.” Paragraph 0025 further teaches that “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may image the package 102. The package 102 may be identified with reference to the package database 12. The package 102 is scanned to identify the package to control other operations, such as printing appropriate labels, for proper label application, and the like.” Wen discloses in paragraph 0026 that “The scanning device 132 may identify the side 200 of the package 102 that has the identification tag 104, which allows the robotic labeling system 100 to determine the orientation of the package 102.” Paragraph 0026 further teaches “The controller 50 uses the orientation information to control the label application system 150 for applying the shipping label 106 and the customer specific label 108 to other sides 200 of the package 102. For example, the label application system 150 may determine appropriate sides 200 to apply the shipping label 106 and the customer specified label 108 based upon which side 200 has the identification tag 104.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the label detector is a label detector configured to detect a position of the preexisting label on the container body as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to perform determining a position of a preexisting label on the pharmaceutical container and opposite edges of the preexisting label as in Zwilling and Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and because Zwilling discloses that doing so such would result in the additional label element is then applied with exact or substantially exact position and/or location onto the base label concerned.
Preininger also makes obvious that the orienting is based on the detected position (such as via the use of positioning marks 27 on the first label 20 which is an example of preexisting label; see Figure 2). Preininger teaches in paragraph 0023 and 0051 that:
[0023] In an embodiment, the method further comprises the step of positioning the second label relative to a landing zone indicated on the first label for bonding the second label on the first label. The landing zone may be indicated by one or more positioning marks provided (for example pre-printed) on the first label. A positioning mark may comprise a frame or corners of a frame that is sized in accordance with the shape and size of the second label. The positioning mark(s) enable(s) positioning both, by machine and manually by an operator.
…
[0051] Further, the second label 30 is positioned on the first label 20 so that the first label 20 is uncovered at a fully circumferential area between the first and the second edge 26, 36. The first label 20 comprises positioning marks 27. The positioning marks 27 allow for positioning the second label 30 at the place marked by the positioning marks 27 on the first label 10. In the example, the positioning marks are in the form of corners of a rectangle that essentially corresponds in the format to the second format of the second label 30. However, other marks like crosshairs, dots or the like may be used. The first label 20 has a print area 28. The print area 28 is defined by a two-dimension third format. The third format and the second format are sized and shaped so that the print area 28 can be entirely covered by the second label so that no portion of the print area overlaps the second edge. Therefore, the second label covers a fully circumferential area around the print area 28. This helps preventing undesired substances, for example cleaning agents or disinfection agents, from getting into contact with the printing area 28. Accordingly, any general information or material specific information arranged within the print area 28 is protected from getting into contact with such undesired substances. Thus, the general information and material specific information is maximized in durability. As described, the second label 30 is undersized relative to the first label 20 and attached to the first label 10 such that a circumferential area on the first label 20 remains uncovered. Accordingly, the first label 20 overlaps with the second label 30 and further circumferentially projects over the second edge 36. The projection has a dimension that is determined to account for tolerances of the first and the second format as well as for tolerances in the positioning of the second label 30 relative to the first label 20. The projection is greater than zero. In the example, the desired projection is 2.5 mm which enables automatic and manual positioning so that the actual projection (eventually including inaccuracies in positioning) is still greater than zero.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the orienting is based on the detected position as in Preininger in order that an interior region of the preexisting first label can be entirely covered by the second label.
Preininger also discloses a preexisting label having opposite side edges defining a preexisting label gap therebetween, and applying a second label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the second label when the second label is applied on the container body. See paragraphs 0020-21.
[0020] The first label may further exhibit general information, such as a branding, a type of the dental material, information about the manufacturer, a color code, a safety sign or an image. Furthermore, the material specific information may be provided on the first label within a pre-determined print area. This print area may further comprise the general information. For example, the first label may be pre-printed with general information and the material specific information may be added, for example by marking, on the first label. Therefore, the second label may extend circumferentially beyond the print area that contains the general information and the material specific information.
[0021] In an embodiment, the material specific information comprises one or more of a serial number, a lot number, date information, time information, shelf-life information, and/or a bar code.
See also marked up Figure 1 below:
Key makes obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body. Key teaches that the inner (or preexisting) and outer labels can be the same length, and that both the inner label and the outer label can each have a label gap.
Paragraph 0027 discloses that the outer label may be the same length as the inner label, teaching that:
In various embodiments, the length of the outer label 300 may be selected to be approximately the same as the circumference of the object on which it is placed, such that both the leading edge 302 and the trailing edge 304 do not overlap and are affixed to the inner label front surface 108.
Paragraph 0031 teaches a preexisting gap for the inner label, teaching that:
However, it is also possible that the length of the inner label 100 may be shorter than the circumference of the recessed surface 512, resulting in a gap 702 between the inner label leading edge 102 and the inner label trailing edge 104 when the inner label is affixed to the recessed surface as illustrated in FIG. 7. In both of these instances, the inner label trailing edge adhesive strip 204 may adhere to the recessed surface 512 of the container 500, rather than the inner label leading edge 102.
Paragraph 0035 teaches that the outer label may also have a gap, teaching that:
A different length may be selected for the outer label 300 such that the outer label leading edge 302 and trailing edge 304 abut when mounted on the container, or that a gap is formed between the outer label leading edge 302 and trailing edge 304.
Schaupp also makes obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body.
Schaupp discloses that the second label can either hide or make visible the first label, in essence, that the second label can an opaque label, teaching in paragraph 0024 and 0026-27 discloses that:
[0024] In a second example, a first label such as a game piece, may be placed onto a bottle and a second label may be placed over the first label with a window through the second label so that the first label is visible. The second label must be registered to the first label so that the window is properly located and the first label is therefore visible.
…
[0026] A fourth example may be a bottle that may be labeled first with a booklet attached with pressure sensitive adhesive and covers a portion of the circumference. A second label may be a roll wrapped plastic film label and attached to or near one end of the first label and continue around the remainder of the circumference to end on or near the opposite end of the first label. Registration of the second label to the first is important so that the overlap of the two labels does not interfere with the use and function of the booklet.
[0027] A fifth example is a bottle wherein an adhesive backed RF tag may be placed on a bottle and a second label is roll wrapped around the complete exterior of the bottle, covering the RF tag so that it is not unsightly. Instead of an RF tag, a promotional item, such as a ticket or coupon may be placed underneath the second label. The registration of the RF tag to the roll wrapped label is important since the RF tag may interfere with the gluing of a roll wrapped label if improperly registered.
Schaupp also teaches that the second label can hide the first label.
[0175] The inventive label configurations comprise at least two different elements that are registered with respect to each other to create unique and useful devices. The placement of specially printed game pieces on a container with a separate display label can take on several forms, including having the game piece being fully or partially hidden from view by the second label. Further, elements that are printed on the container may be registered with respect to other labels and elements that are subsequently applied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the barcode is a preexisting label and the pharmaceutical container including the preexisting label on the container body, that the feature is a preexisting label gap on the container,, the preexisting label having opposite side edges defining a preexisting label gap therebetween, and applying the opaque patient label so that at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the opaque patient label as taught by Preininger, Key and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to containers such prescription medication bottles while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable or nonviewable by any observer as in Key, Preininger and Schaupp.
As to claim 14, although Conlon discloses a detector which can include barcode scanners and cameras, Conlon does not disclose said determining includes detecting the preexisting label with a label orientation sensor
Wen discloses wherein said determining includes detecting the preexisting label with a label orientation sensor. See paragraph 0006, disclosing “”The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein determining includes detecting the preexisting label with a label orientation sensor as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 15, Conlon does not disclose wherein said detecting includes detecting an edge of the preexisting label with the label orientation sensor.
Wen discloses wherein said detecting includes detecting an edge of the preexisting label with the label orientation sensor. See paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102. The depalletizing scanning device 70 allows for vision inspection of the packages 102. For example, the controller 50 may perform vision inspection, such as to identify features of the packages 102 (for example, sides, edges, corners, and the like).” These edges would be examples of contrast as used in the instant application.
Similarly, Zwilling also discloses wherein said detecting includes detecting an edge of the preexisting label with the label orientation sensor. See paragraph 0008, disclosing “Some design features are graphics, pictures, lines, edges, borders, decorative features, text, embossments, raised lettering, or other parts of the base label, which design features can be used as a reference point for the application and positioning of additional labels.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein said detecting includes detecting an edge of the preexisting label with the label orientation sensor as in Wen and Zwilling because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 16, Conlon makes obvious wherein the orientation sensor comprises a laser contrast sensor. See paragraph 0053, disclosing:
An item is oriented as shown at 614 between plate-member pair 612, 618 atop a surface 619 of bottom member 618 that has been marked (permanently or with a visual display/laser lights originating from above) for aiding in correct orientation of an item 14 (see FIG. 19B) prior to applying pressure to a further unique handle mechanism (composed of handle 602, pivot 604, and a lower extension 606 from which an interior-underarm 608 protrudes) to gently clamp and hold item 14 in position for label affixation and contouring.
Similarly, Wen discloses wherein the label orientation sensor comprises a contrast sensor. See paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102. The depalletizing scanning device 70 allows for vision inspection of the packages 102. For example, the controller 50 may perform vision inspection, such as to identify features of the packages 102 (for example, sides, edges, corners, and the like).” These features would be examples of contrast as used in the instant application.
As to claim 17, Conlon does not disclose further comprising orienting the pharmaceutical container relative to the opaque patient label after said determining so that the opaque patient label can be applied generally over the preexisting label.
Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses further comprising orienting the pharmaceutical container relative to the opaque patient label after said determining so that the opaque patient label can be applied generally over the preexisting label. See Wen, paragraph 0029, disclosing “In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162.” See also Wen, paragraph 0014 disclosing:
[0014] The robotic labeling system 100 includes a palletizing robot 20 used for moving the packages 102 to and from a labeling station 110. The palletizing robot 20 is operably coupled to the controller 50, which controls movement and operation of the palletizing robot 20. Labels are applied to the packages 102 at the labeling station 110 using a label application system 150. The label application system 150 is operably coupled to the controller 50, which controls movement and operation of the components of the label application system 150. In various embodiments, the label application system 150 may apply multiple labels to each package 102, such as to various sides of the package 102.
Additionally, Preininger discloses placing a label over the preexisting label. As combined with Wen, this would make obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label is applied over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container. Additionally, Key as cited in claim 1 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body. Finally, Schaupp as applied in claim 1 above discloses that it is known to utilize a second label that fully hides or is applied over the first label.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention further comprising orienting the pharmaceutical container relative to the opaque patient label after said determining so that the opaque patient label can be applied generally over the preexisting label as taught by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 18, Conlon does not disclose wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container so that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the opaque patient label.
Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container so that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the opaque patient label. See paragraph 0006, disclosing “”The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.” See paragraph 0029, disclosing “In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162.”
Additionally, Key as cited in claim 1 and 12 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label (or second label) when the patient label (or second label) is applied on the container body, and Schaupp as applied to claim 1 and 12 above discloses that it is known to utilize a second label that hides the first label, in essence, that is opaque.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein said applying includes applying the patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container so that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label as taught by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 19, Conlon does not disclose herein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container so that the opaque patient label does not extend across the preexisting label gap.
Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container so that the opaque patient label does not extend across the preexisting label gap. See paragraph 0006, disclosing “”The labeling station includes a package identification system having a scanning device configured to scan an identification tag on the package to determine a package identification of the package and an orientation of the package in the labeling station”, and paragraph 0018, disclosing “In various embodiments, the depalletizing scanning device 70 may include one or more cameras 72. In various embodiments, the cameras 72 may be at fixed positions within the depalletizing station 60. In other various embodiments, the camera(s) 72 may be movable (for example, vertically and/or horizontally) to vary positioning of the camera(s) 72 to view the packages 102 from different angles. In an exemplary embodiment, the camera(s) 72 are configured to view multiple sides of the packages 102.” See also paragraph 0025, disclosing “In various embodiments, the scanning device 132 may include one or more cameras 134. The scanning device 132 is used to scan, and may image, the identification tag 104 to identify the package 102. The identification tag 104 may be a barcode and the scanning device 132 may be a barcode reader.” See Wen, paragraph 0029, disclosing “In various embodiments, the palletizing robot 20 is configured to move the package 102 within the labeling station 110. For example, the package 102 may be rotated to present different sides 200 of the package 102 to the label applicator 162. The palletizing robot 20 may rotate the package 102 relative to the scanning device 132 to present the different sides 200 to the scanning device 132 to identify the side 200 having the identification tag 104. The palletizing robot 20 may then rotate the package 102 to present a different side to the label applicator 162.”
Additionally, Key as cited in claim 1 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label (or second label) when the patient label is applied on the container body. Additionally, Schaupp as applied to claim 1 and 12 above discloses that it is known to utilize a second label that hides the first label, in essence, that is opaque.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container so that the opaque patient label does not extend across the preexisting label gap as taught by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 20, Conlon disclose applying the opaque patient label over the pharmaceutical container (see paragraph 0008, disclosing “Typically, product identification labels have an opaque barcode with various styled identifiers.”) As noted above, Conlon does not disclose wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container.
Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp makes obvious and discloses wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container.
See Wen, which discloses applying the label, paragraph 0014 disclosing:
[0014] The robotic labeling system 100 includes a palletizing robot 20 used for moving the packages 102 to and from a labeling station 110. The palletizing robot 20 is operably coupled to the controller 50, which controls movement and operation of the palletizing robot 20. Labels are applied to the packages 102 at the labeling station 110 using a label application system 150. The label application system 150 is operably coupled to the controller 50, which controls movement and operation of the components of the label application system 150. In various embodiments, the label application system 150 may apply multiple labels to each package 102, such as to various sides of the package 102.
Additionally, Preininger discloses placing a label over the preexisting label. As combined with Wen, this would make obvious that the container transporter is configured to orient the preexisting label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder so that the patient label is applied over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container. Additionally, Key as cited in claim 1 above discloses in Figure 3 that second label is fully within the first label such that the entirety of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the patient label when the patient label is applied on the container body. Finally, Schaupp as applied in claim 1 above discloses that it is known to utilize a second label that fully hides or is applied over the first label.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein said applying includes applying the opaque patient label over the preexisting label of the pharmaceutical container as taught by Wen, Key, Preininger and Schaupp in order to provide additional text and information to prescription medication bottles to the patients while ensuring that that any text or symbols on the preexisting label remain viewable by any observer, or to alternatively increase the amount of text available for the label.
As to claim 21, Conlon does not disclose wherein the pharmaceutical container is in a detected orientation relative to the opaque patient label when the position of the preexisting label is determined, and wherein said orienting the pharmaceutical container and the opaque patient label relative to one another includes maintaining the pharmaceutical container in the detected orientation relative to the opaque patient label during said applying the opaque patient label so that said at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the opaque patient label.
Wen, Preininger, Key and Schaupp as combined in claim 12 above discloses and makes obvious wherein the pharmaceutical container (Wen discloses packages 102, which are containers; Preininger, Key and Schaupp also disclose containers: Preininger's dental compound container also reads on ) is in a detected orientation when the position of the preexisting label is determined (see Wen, paragraphs 0021, 0025 and 0026 as cited above), and wherein said orienting the pharmaceutical container and the opaque patient label relative to one another includes maintaining the pharmaceutical container in the detected orientation so that the opaque patient label can be applied generally over the preexisting label (Preninger discloses positioning marks 27 which would result in maintaining the container in the detected orientation so that the opaque patient label can be applied generally over the preexisting label; Schaupp as applied in the citations in claim 1 and 12 above discloses that the label is an opaque label).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the pharmaceutical container is in a detected orientation relative to the opaque patient label when the position of the preexisting label is determined, and wherein said orienting the pharmaceutical container and the opaque patient label relative to one another includes maintaining the pharmaceutical container in the detected orientation relative to the opaque patient label during said applying the opaque patient label so that said at least a portion of the preexisting label gap is uncovered by the opaque patient label as in Wen because Wen discloses that barcodes can be applied as a label or directly on the products, and such label detectors can identify critical features of the container and achieve proper labeling positioning.
As to claim 22, Conlon discloses wherein the container transporter is configured to move the pharmaceutical container relative to the label holder to press the container body against the patient label to apply the patient label on the container body of the pharmaceutical container. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “Affixation of the labeling edge is preferably accomplished by pressure of a tamp head/device (FIG. 10 at 516) that pushes (in the generally direction of 516') the labeling edge (preferably a sticky-backed/self-adhesive material) against the item edge.”
As to claim 23, Conlon discloses further comprising a printer configured to print the patient label, the label holder configured to receive the patient label from the printer and move the patient label to an application position to position the patient label to be applied on the container body of the pharmaceutical container. See paragraph 0047, disclosing “The labeler for both embodiments (FIGS. 1A and 1B at 410, 210 and FIGS. 10 and 14 at 510) may either feed pre-printed labels for applying to each item, or may include a print functionality to print on-demand once an item is identified (barcode scanner 405).” See also paragraph 0051, disclosing “a label print and apply assembly 510”. See also claim 2, reciting “said labeler assembly comprising a printer for creating said dedicated labeling”.
As to claim 24, Conlon discloses further comprising a label pusher (tamp head 416) configured to direct the patient label toward the label holder after the patient label is printed by the printer. See paragraph 0050, disclosing “A tamp head 416 applies suitable pressure over the aligned labeling-edge to affix it to item 12.”. See also paragraph 0055, disclosing “Once either a pre-printed label, or a labeling that is printed on-demand based upon an order received 337, is presented, it is peeled from a backing material (not shown) and a labeling-edge is located and applied against an associated item-edge of item 14B (tamp head extends out and moves labeling-edge in general direction 516' to place it against the item 14B).”.
As to claim 25, Conlon discloses further comprising a brush (roller 415, 515, which is made of structural foam), the container transporter configured to move the pharmaceutical container against the brush to push the patient label against the container body of the pharmaceutical container. See paragraph 0042, disclosing:
When performing, next, the contouring of this labeling `tail` 212, 214 around the periphery of an item, the height/width of the roller 515, 415 is of importance, as is the location of the roller's free-rolling contact surface 515s, 415s from the periphery of the item positioned between the plate-member pair (e.g., FIG. 12 at 14D, 14C and FIG. 8 at 12). The roller 415 as oriented for the single-rotary station unit 400 is further detailed in FIGS. 5, 8, and 18A, and the roller 515 for use in a multi-rotary station unit is further detailed in FIGS. 11, 15, and 19A. A torsion arm 417, 517 is employed to aid in applying sufficiently gentle pressure by the roller's outer rolling surface 415s, 515s. Preferably, the roller is made of a lightweight material--such as a structural foam--having a smooth rolling surface 415s, 515s that will not damage the labeling during contouring thereof around an item.
As to claim 26, Conlon discloses wherein said applying the opaque patient label includes pressing the container body against the opaque patient label by moving the pharmaceutical container relative to the opaque patient label. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “Affixation of the labeling edge is preferably accomplished by pressure of a tamp head/device (FIG. 10 at 516) that pushes (in the generally direction of 516') the labeling edge (preferably a sticky-backed/self-adhesive material) against the item edge.”
As to claim 27, Conlon discloses further comprising: printing the opaque patient label; and moving the opaque patient label, after said printing, to an application position; wherein said pressing the container body against the opaque patient label occurs with the opaque patient label in the application position. See paragraph 0047, disclosing “The labeler for both embodiments (FIGS. 1A and 1B at 410, 210 and FIGS. 10 and 14 at 510) may either feed pre-printed labels for applying to each item, or may include a print functionality to print on-demand once an item is identified (barcode scanner 405).” See also paragraph 0051, disclosing “a label print and apply assembly 510”. See also claim 2, reciting “said labeler assembly comprising a printer for creating said dedicated labeling”.
As to claim 28, Conlon discloses further comprising removing a backing from the opaque patient label to expose a pressure-sensitive adhesive of the opaque patient label before said pressing (see paragraph 0047, disclosing “Each label/labeling fed for application to an item, whether originating on a roll or sheet, is preferably `peeled` from a backing material before tamp and contouring is performed.”), and wherein said pressing includes pressing the container body against the pressure-sensitive adhesive of the opaque patient label (see paragraph 0047, disclosing “As noted 470, an item is held between backstop 412 and rotary head 418 (positioned as detailed, further, at 12 in FIG. 8) during the application of the labeling edge”). See also paragraph 0055, disclosing “Once either a pre-printed label, or a labeling that is printed on-demand based upon an order received 337, is presented, it is peeled from a backing material (not shown) and a labeling-edge is located and applied against an associated item-edge of item 14B (tamp head extends out and moves labeling-edge in general direction 516' to place it against the item 14B).”
As to claim 29, Conlon discloses further comprising pushing the opaque patient label against the container body of the pharmaceutical container after said pressing. See paragraph 0050, disclosing “A tamp head 416 applies suitable pressure over the aligned labeling-edge to affix it to item 12.”. See also paragraph 0055, disclosing “Once either a pre-printed label, or a labeling that is printed on-demand based upon an order received 337, is presented, it is peeled from a backing material (not shown) and a labeling-edge is located and applied against an associated item-edge of item 14B (tamp head extends out and moves labeling-edge in general direction 516' to place it against the item 14B).”. See also paragraph 0042, disclosing:
When performing, next, the contouring of this labeling `tail` 212, 214 around the periphery of an item, the height/width of the roller 515, 415 is of importance, as is the location of the roller's free-rolling contact surface 515s, 415s from the periphery of the item positioned between the plate-member pair (e.g., FIG. 12 at 14D, 14C and FIG. 8 at 12). The roller 415 as oriented for the single-rotary station unit 400 is further detailed in FIGS. 5, 8, and 18A, and the roller 515 for use in a multi-rotary station unit is further detailed in FIGS. 11, 15, and 19A. A torsion arm 417, 517 is employed to aid in applying sufficiently gentle pressure by the roller's outer rolling surface 415s, 515s. Preferably, the roller is made of a lightweight material--such as a structural foam--having a smooth rolling surface 415s, 515s that will not damage the labeling during contouring thereof around an item.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK