DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is responsive to Applicants' RCE filed on 11/13/25. Claims 1-19, 21-23 and 25-27 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 14-15, 19, 21, 25-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Flaibani (US20220407417 and hereinafter as Flai)
Regarding claim 1. Flai teaches an apparatus [fig 2] comprising: an amplifier [218] having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input of the amplifier coupled to a reference input [290], and the second input of the amplifier coupled to a power converter feedback input [214];
a signal generation circuit [230 with 242] having a slope control terminal [see 284, ¶35] and an output [output of 230], the slope control terminal coupled to the output of the amplifier [i.e. coupled through 242];
and a comparator [see A above] having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input [222] of the comparator coupled to a current sense [220] input, the second input [248 coupled to the output of 254 through 250 and 254 because it does not substantially alter the functional relationship between devices] of the comparator coupled to the output of the signal generation circuit, and the output of the comparator coupled to a power converter control terminal [i.e. 204], the comparator capable of receiving a signal [i.e. 272] from the signal generation circuit via the first input and setting a state of its output responsive to the signal [Per applicants drawing the comparator 920 does not directly receive the output of the signal generator, rather amp 914 receives the output of the signal gen, then limitation is interpreted as the comparator capable of including more device].
Regarding claim 2. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal is a first signal [i.e. 272], and the signal generation circuit is capable of providing the first signal at its output responsive to a second signal [output of 232] at the slope control terminal; and setting a slope of the first signal based on a magnitude of the second signal [272 slope value is indirectly a product of the output of 230].
Regarding claim 14. Flai teaches an apparatus [fig 1-2] comprising: a power converter having a power input, a power output [see 116], a current sense output [output of 220], and a control input [inputs of 106];
and a controller [102] having a control output, a feedback voltage input [see 114], a reference voltage input [190], and a current sense input [192], the control output coupled to the control input, the feedback voltage input coupled to the power output, the current sense input coupled to the current sense output, and the controller including:
an amplifier [218] having an output [240] and first and second inputs, the first input of the amplifier coupled to the reference voltage input, and the second input of the amplifier coupled to the feedback voltage input [214];
a signal[242 with 230] having a slope control terminal and an output, the slope control terminal coupled to the output of the amplifier;
and a comparator [see A above] having an output and first and second inputs, the first input of the comparator coupled to the current sense input [i.e. see 222], the second input of the comparator coupled to the output of the signal generation circuit [248 coupled to the output of 254 through 250 and 254 because it does not substantially alter the functional relationship between devices], the output of the comparator coupled to the control output, the comparator capable of receiving a signal [i.e. 272] from the signal generation circuit via the first input and setting a state of its output responsive to the signal [Per applicants drawing the comparator 920 does not directly receive the output of the signal generator, rather amp 914 receives the output of the signal gen, then limitation is interpreted as the comparator capable of including more device].
Regarding claim 15. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the signal is a first signal, and the signal generation circuit is capable of providing a first signal at the output of the signal generation circuit responsive to a second signal [output of 232] at the slope control terminal; and setting a slope of the first signal inversely with a magnitude of the second signal [272’s slope value is indirectly a product of the output of 230].
Regarding claim 19. Flai teaches a method comprising: receiving a first signal indicative of a current of a power converter [¶36]; generating a second signal [¶44, output of 220] indicative of a load condition [214]; generating a third signal [output of 222], in which a slope of the third signal has an inverse relationship with the second signal [222 generates a signal 410 with a slope inversely proportional to 412]; and providing a control signal [outputs of 102] to the power converter responsive to the first, second, and third signals.
Regarding claim 21. Flai teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising, responsive to the second signal being indicative of a light load condition [i.e. low power uses], setting the slope to zero [see fig 4, see period t1-t2 slopes are flat during a state where the high switch remains inactive delivering a state analogues to light load condition, ¶54].
Regarding claim 25. Flai teaches an apparatus [fig 1-2] comprising: a control circuit [102] having a current sense input [192], a feedback input [see 114] and a control output, the control circuit configurable to: receive a first signal at the current sense input [function of 192]; generate a second signal at the feedback input [function of 114]; generate a third signal [output of 222], in which a slope [slope of output of 222] of the third signal has an inverse relationship with the second signal [222 generates a signal 410 with a slope inversely proportional to 412]; and provide a control signal [output of 102 is in response to all signals being use in fig2] at the control output responsive to the first, second, and third signals.
Regarding claim 26. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the control circuit is configurable to, responsive to a difference between the second signal and a reference signal exceeding a threshold [output of 218], set the slope of the third signal to zero [410 in fig 4 is set to zero from the direct or indirect inputs at 222].
Regarding claim 27. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the control circuit is configurable to generate the third signal [output of 222 is indirectly a product of output of 232, since 204 regulates the output of the power converter which triggers changes to the output of 222] responsive to a clock signal [output of 232] having a frequency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13, 16-18, 22-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838