DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to Applicants' response filed on 05/05/26. Claims 1-19, 21-23 and 25-27 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
As shown in the cited FIG. 2 of Flaibani (reproduced below), clock signal 284 is coupled to ramp circuit 230, and "[r]amp circuit 230 may be configured to reset by discharging capacitor 250 to a low-impedance node in response to the (clock) signal (284) outputted by frequency generator 232." See, e.g., Flaibani, para. [0045]. Therefore, clock signal 284 is used to control (e.g., a switch of) ramp circuit 230, but clock signal 284 is not coupled to the output of amplifier 218 through ramp circuit 230 and amplifier 242. In addition, the second input of comparator 224 is coupled to a "reference current source 248," rather than "coupled to the output of the signal generation circuit, and capable of receiving a signal from the signal generation circuit." For at least these reasons, Flaibani does not teach all features of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is patentable over Flaibani.
To the extent that claim 14 recites at least features similar to the above-discussed features of claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationales, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 14 is patentable over Flaibani for at least the reasons stated above with respect to claim 1. Claim 19 has been amended to recite a method comprising: receiving a first signal indicative of a current of a power converter; generating a second signal indicative of a load condition; generating a third signal having a slope based on at least the second signal; and providing a control signal to the power converter based on a comparison of the first signal and a combination of the second and third signals.
Flaibani is not alleged to, and indeed does not, teach or suggest these features of claim 19. For example, as described above, in Flaibani, "[p]eak detection comparator 224 may be configured to compare the sum of currents at node 222 to a current from reference current source 248," rather than a first signal indicative of a current of a power converter." See, e.g., Flaibani at para. [0041] (emphasis added). Therefore, claim 19 is patentable over Flaibani.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Examiner has updated rejection below to reflect newly interpreted claims. Also, fig 9 of applicant’s invention does not show item 920 directly receiving output of item 918. Thus, this is interpreted as indirectly receiving signal through intervening elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 14-15, 19, 21, 25-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Flaibani (US20220407417 and hereinafter as Flai)
Regarding claim 1. Flai teaches an apparatus [fig 2] comprising: an amplifier [218] having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input of the amplifier coupled to a reference input [290], and the second input of the amplifier coupled to a power converter feedback input [214];
a signal generation circuit [230 with 242] having a slope control terminal [see 284, ¶35] and an output [output of 230], the slope control terminal coupled to the output of the amplifier [i.e. coupled through 242];
and a comparator [see A above which includes 4 inputs] having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input [276] of the comparator coupled to a current sense [220] input, the second input of the comparator coupled to the output of the signal generation circuit [output of 242 coupled to input 272], and the output of the comparator coupled to a power converter control terminal [i.e. 204], the comparator capable of receiving a signal [i.e. 272] from the signal generation circuit via the second input and setting a state of its output responsive to the signal [Per applicants drawing the comparator 920 does not directly receive the output of the signal generator, rather amp 914 receives the output of the signal gen, then limitation is interpreted as the comparator capable of including more device].
Regarding claim 2. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal is a first signal [i.e. 272], and the signal generation circuit is capable of providing the first signal at its output responsive to a second signal [output of 232] at the slope control terminal; and setting a slope of the first signal based on a magnitude of the second signal [272 slope value is indirectly a product of the output of 230].
Regarding claim 14. Flai teaches an apparatus [fig 1-2] comprising: a power converter having a power input, a power output [see 116], a current sense output [output of 220], and a control input [inputs of 106];
and a controller [102] having a control output, a feedback voltage input [see 114], a reference voltage input [190], and a current sense input [192], the control output coupled to the control input, the feedback voltage input coupled to the power output, the current sense input coupled to the current sense output, and the controller including:
an amplifier [218] having an output [240] and first and second inputs, the first input of the amplifier coupled to the reference voltage input, and the second input of the amplifier coupled to the feedback voltage input [214];
a signal[242 with 230] having a slope control terminal and an output, the slope control terminal coupled to the output of the amplifier;
and a comparator [see A above which includes 4 inputs] having an output and first and second inputs, the first input [see 276] of the comparator coupled to the current sense input [i.e. see 222], the second input [see 272] of the comparator coupled to the output [output of 242 coupled to input 272] of the signal generation circuit, the output of the comparator coupled to the control output, the comparator capable of receiving a signal [i.e. 272] from the signal generation circuit via the second input and setting a state of its output responsive to the signal [Per applicants drawing the comparator 920 does not directly receive the output of the signal generator, rather amp 914 receives the output of the signal gen, then limitation is interpreted as the comparator capable of including more device].
Regarding claim 15. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the signal is a first signal, and the signal generation circuit is capable of providing a first signal at the output of the signal generation circuit responsive to a second signal [output of 232] at the slope control terminal; and setting a slope of the first signal inversely with a magnitude of the second signal [272’s slope value is indirectly a product of the output of 230].
Regarding claim 19. Flai teaches a method comprising: receiving a first signal indicative of a current of a power converter [¶32, 214]; generating a second signal [¶44, output of 220] indicative of a load condition [214]; generating a third signal [output of 222] having a slope based on at least the second signal [222 generates a signal 410 with a slope inversely proportional to 412]; and providing a control signal [outputs of 102] to the power converter based on a comparison of the first signal and a combination of the second and third signals [output of 224 is based on all signals generated by the circuits to the left of 224].
Regarding claim 21. Flai teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising, responsive to the second signal being indicative of a light load condition [i.e. low power uses], setting the slope of the third signal to zero [see fig 4, see period t1-t2 slopes are flat during a state where the high switch remains inactive delivering a state analogues to light load condition, ¶54].
Regarding claim 25. Flai teaches an apparatus [fig 1-2] comprising: a control circuit [102] having a current sense input [192], a feedback input [see 114] and a control output, the control circuit configurable to: receive a first signal at the current sense input [276]; receive a second signal at the feedback input [see 214];
generate a third signal [output of 242] based on the second signal [i.e. based on 214];
generate a fourth signal [output of 222] having a slope based on at least the third signal [222 generates a signal 410 with a slope inversely proportional to 412];
and provide a control signal [output of 102 is in response to all signals being use in fig2] at the control output based on a comparison of the first signal and a combination of the third and fourth signals [output of 224 is based on all signals generated by the circuits to the left of 224].
Regarding claim 26. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the control circuit is configurable to, responsive to a difference between the third signal and a reference signal exceeding a threshold [output of 218], set the slope of the fourth signal to zero [410 in fig 4 is set to zero from the direct or indirect inputs at 222].
Regarding claim 27. Flai teaches the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the control circuit is configurable to generate the fourth signal [output of 222 is indirectly a product of output of 232, since 204 regulates the output of the power converter which triggers changes to the output of 222] responsive to a clock signal [output of 232] having a frequency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13, 16-18, 22-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838