Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Patent No: 20190174438A1), hereinafter Zhang in view of Lin et al. (US 2020/0396684 A1), hereinafter, Lin.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches,
A downlink reception triggering method, applied to a terminal and comprising: Fig. 2, 3; Paragraph [0051] (As shown in the flow chart (Fig. 2), terminal transmits a first uplink trigger signal to base station. [0051] recites, “ Step 201: A base station receives at least one first uplink trigger signal in a first time-frequency resource group in a first radio frame. A form of the trigger signal is similar to a form of a PRACH signal in LTE.” Also shown in Fig. 3, uplink trigger signal is being sent from UE)
monitoring the first downlink channel monitoring at a reference time, wherein the reference time is an end time of a time-domain resource carrying the uplink channel; or a start time of the 1-st available downlink time-domain resource after the time-domain resource carrying the uplink channel. -Fig. 2, 3; Paragraph [0055] (It is clear from Fig. 2 flowchart and from Fig. 3 that there is one to one correspondence (association relationship) of time and frequency domain resources between first uplink and first downlink channel monitoring. [0055] recites, “Step 202: The base station determines, based on a time-frequency resource of the at least one first uplink trigger signal, a time-frequency resource used for sending first system information, where a start location of the time-frequency resource of the first system information in time domain has a first time offset relative to a frame header location of a radio frame in which the first system information is located.” [0082] recites, “..For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the user equipment determines, based on the location of the subframe in which the time-frequency resource of the sent uplink trigger signal is located, the time-frequency resource location for detecting the system information of the serving cell. For example, after sending the trigger signal in subframe n, the user equipment detects, in a time interval of k subframes from subframe n+1 to subframe n+k, whether a system information is received from the base station.” As explained above the reference time is the end of first uplink signal and first available downlink signal is relative to this time reference)
Although implicit, Zhang does not explicitly mention,
receiving a first message from a network-side device, wherein the first message is used to indicate the terminal to stop monitoring a first downlink channel; transmitting an uplink channel carrying a Scheduling Request _SR; and triggering, in response to stopping monitoring the first downlink channel and transmitting the uplink channel carrying the SR
However, In an analogous invention Lin teaches,
receiving a first message from a network-side device, wherein the first message is used to indicate the terminal to stop monitoring a first downlink channel; -Fig. 13 (1302); Paragraph [0198] ([0198] recites, “Flowchart 1300 begins at operation 1302 by receiving an indication to skip PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) outside DRX Active Time in RRC_CONNECTED state 501..”)
transmitting an uplink channel carrying a Scheduling Request _SR; -Paragraph [0209]([0209] recites, “A positive SR is transmitted in operation 1406. The positive SR is transmitted when the UE has data to transmit. In one embodiment, the positive SR can be transmitted using a configured PUCCH resource for SR transmission.”)
and triggering, in response to stopping monitoring the first downlink channel and transmitting the uplink channel carrying the SR, -Fig. 14; Paragraph [0209] [0213] ([0209] recites, “A determination is made in operation 1408 as to whether another field in the DCI format indicates that a positive SR transmission can override the indication to skip PDCCH monitoring. If another field in the DCI format indicates that the positive SR transmission can override the indication to skip PDCCH monitoring, then flowchart 1400 proceeds to operation 1410 and PDCCH is monitored at least for DCI formats scheduling PUSCH, e.g., DCI formats 0_0 or 0_1. In some embodiments, operation 1410 can also include restarting a timer associated with the DRX Active Time.”[0213] recites, “PDCCH for at least DCI formats scheduling PUSCH, e.g., DCI format 0_0 or 0_1, is monitored because positive SRs override indications for skipping PDCCH monitoring.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Lin to include “receiving a first message from a network-side device, wherein the first message is used to indicate the terminal to stop monitoring a first downlink channel; transmitting an uplink channel carrying a Scheduling Request _SR; and triggering, in response to stopping monitoring the first downlink channel and transmitting the uplink channel carrying the SR
“ One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system network [0005].
Claim 13 is essentially same as claim 1 viewed from network side instead of terminal side and Claim 1 has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 19 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang further teaches
A terminal, comprising a memory, a processor, and an instruction or program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the instruction or program is executed by the processor, the steps of a downlink reception triggering method are implemented -Fig. 9; Paragraph [0118] ([0118] recites,”… Correspondingly, the user equipment includes a transceiver 901, a processor 902, a communications bus 903, and a memory 904, and the transceiver 901 includes at least one communications interface and/or an I/O interface.”)
Claim 20 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 13 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 13. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 13.
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang further teaches
A network-side device, comprising a memory, a processor, and an instruction or program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the instruction or program is executed by the processor, the steps of the downlink reception triggering method according to claim 13 are implemented. -Fig. 8; Paragraph [0118] ([0118] recites, “…the base station includes a transceiver 801, a processor 802, a communications bus 803, and a memory 804, and the transceiver 801 includes at least one communications interface and/or an I/O interface….”)
Claims 3, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin and further in view of Park et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0314953 A1), hereinafter, Park.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang and Lin teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Zhang does not explicitly mention,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink channel comprises a first indication information, the first indication information comprises at least one of an identifier of the first downlink channel monitoring and a time-domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring, the first indication information is used to trigger M first downlink channel monitoring among N downlink channel monitoring, the N downlink channel monitoring are configured by a network-side device or prescribed by a protocol, and both N and M are integers greater than or equal to 1.
However, Park teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink channel comprises a first indication information, the first indication information comprises at least one of an identifier of the first downlink channel monitoring and the time-domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring, -Fig. 27; Paragraph [0287] ([0287] recites, “FIG. 27 shows an example of wireless communications for transmissions using a beam indication….. The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters 2702. The configuration parameters 2702 may comprise candidate sets of reference TCIs and/or candidate sets of target signals/channels 2703. The base station 2710 may send (e.g., transmit) a control command 2704 (e.g., 1.sup.st control command) to the wireless device 2720. The control command 2704 may indicate, activate, and/or update a reference TCI 2705 (e.g., 1.sup.st reference TCI) to be used (e.g., commonly) by at least one (e.g., multiple) target signals/channels 2706. The at least one target signals/channels 2706 may comprise any quantity of any type(s) of uplink and/or downlink signals/channels. For example, the signals/channels 2706 may comprise any combination of one or more of: a PUCCH, a PUSCH, an SRS, a PDCCH (e.g., associated with a CORESET), a PUSCH, a PRACH, a DMRS, a PTRS, a CSI-RS, and/or any other signal/channel. The wireless device 2720 may communicate, for example, during a subsequent given time period, with the base station 2710 via a downlink signal and/or an uplink signal based on the at least one target signals/channels 2706 and/or the indicated reference TCI 2705 (e.g., as a unified downlink/uplink TCI). The wireless device 2720 may determine a Tx/Rx configuration or filter 2707 (e.g., spatial domain filter, beam, and/or parameters of wireless channels for reception of the downlink signal or transmission of the uplink signal).”
the first indication information is used to trigger M first downlink channel monitoring among N downlink channel monitoring, the N downlink channel monitoring are configured by a network-side device or prescribed by a protocol, and both N and M are integers greater than or equal to 1. -Fig. 27; Paragraph [0287] ([0287] recites, “ … The wireless device 2720 may communicate, for example, during a subsequent given time period, with the base station 2710 via a downlink signal and/or an uplink signal based on the at least one target signals/channels 2706 and/or the indicated reference TCI 2705 (e.g., as a unified downlink/uplink TCI). The wireless device 2720 may determine a Tx/Rx configuration or filter 2707 (e.g., spatial domain filter, beam, and/or parameters of wireless channels for reception of the downlink signal or transmission of the uplink signal). The Tx/Rx configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: a spatial domain filter, an average delay, a delay spread, a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, and/or an average power. The given time period may comprise a time duration between a time instance (e.g., with a pre-defined/configured time offset) based on time T.sub.1 at receiving the first control command and a time instance, (e.g., with a pre-defined/configured time offset) based on time T.sub.21 at receiving a second control command 2708 (e.g., of the same type/format or different type/format), which may indicate, activate, and/or update the reference TCI 2705 with a second reference TCI 2709. After receiving the second control command 2708, the wireless device may apply the second reference TCI 2709 to signals/channels indicated by the control command 2708 for downlink reception and/or uplink transmission of the indicated signals/channels at least after time T.sub.21…” As shown in 2706, based on network configuration M out of N downlink channels can be monitored, where both M, and N are greater than one);
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Park to include “the uplink channel comprises a first indication information, the first indication information comprises at least one of an identifier of the first downlink channel monitoring and a time-domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring, the first indication information is used to trigger M first downlink channel monitoring among N downlink channel monitoring, the N downlink channel monitoring are configured by a network-side device or prescribed by a protocol, and both N and M are integers greater than or equal to 1.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve performance of a wireless network. System throughput, transmission efficiencies of a wireless network, and/or data rate of transmission may be improved, for example, based on one or more configurations described herein [0214].
Claim 15 is essentially same as claim 3 viewed from network side instead of terminal side and Claim 3 has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Claims 4-5,7-8, 10-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin, Park and further in view of Zhou et al. (Patent No: US20210185609A1), hereinafter, Zhou.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang, Lin and Park combination address the limitations of claim 3.
Zhang does not teach,
The method according to claim 3, wherein if M is greater than 1, the method further comprises: receiving first downlink control information (DCI) after the uplink channel is transmitted; and triggering K first downlink channel monitoring among the M first downlink channel monitoring by using the first DCI, wherein K is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, Zhou teaches,
The method according to claim 3, wherein if M is greater than 1, the method further comprises: receiving first downlink control information (DCI) after the uplink channel is transmitted; -Fig. 29, Paragraph [0312] ( Fig. 29 shows first DCI reception at UE after first uplink signal is transmitted, i.e., in the full function mode. [0312] recites, “As shown in FIG. 29, the wireless device may communicate with the base station in the full function mode. The base station may transmit to the wireless device, a first DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 29) indicating enabling the first DRX configuration (e.g., 1.sup.st DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29….”).
and triggering K first downlink channel monitoring among the M first downlink channel monitoring by using the first DCI, wherein K is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
-Fig. 29, Paragraph [0312] ([0312] recites, “In response to receiving the first DCI, the wireless device may enable (or activate) the first DRX configuration. In an example, as shown in FIG. 29, with the first DRX configuration, the wireless device may monitor a first PDCCH, based on one or more parameters of the first DRX configuration, for at least one DCI with the one or more first DCI formats based on the one or more first RNTIs, on the one or more first search spaces of the one or more first control resource sets. Similarly, as shown in FIG. 29, the base station may transmit to the wireless device, a second DCI (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI in FIG. 29) indicating enabling the second DRX configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29). In response to receiving the second DCI, the wireless device may enable (or activate) the second DRX configuration. In an example, as shown in FIG. 29, with the second DRX configuration, the wireless device may monitor a second PDCCH, based on one or more parameters of the second DRX configuration, for at least one DCI with the one or more second DCI formats based on the one or more second RNTIs, on the one or more second search spaces of the one or more second control resource sets.” As explained above K is greater than or equal to 1)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “receiving first downlink control information (DCI) after the uplink channel is transmitted; and triggering K first downlink channel monitoring among the M first downlink channel monitoring by using the first DCI, wherein K is an integer greater than or equal to 1.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang, Lin and Park combination address the limitations of claim 3.
Although implicit, Zhang does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 3, wherein the time-domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring comprises at least one of the following: time-domain monitoring method for the first downlink channel monitoring; duration of the first downlink channel monitoring; and first cycle parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring, wherein the first cycle parameter comprises at least one of length of a first cycle, on duration length of the first cycle, and start offset of the on duration of the first cycle.
However, Zhou teaches,
The method according to claim 3, wherein the time-domain configuration parameter of the first downlink reception comprises at least one of the following: time-domain monitoring method for the first downlink channel monitoring; duration of the first downlink channel monitoring; -Paragraph [0269] ([0269] recites, “In an example, the MAC entity may be configured by RRC with a DRX functionality that controls the UE's downlink control channel (e.g., PDCCH) monitoring activity for a plurality of RNTIs for the MAC entity. The plurality of RNTIs may comprise at least one of: C-RNTI; CS-RNTI; INT-RNTI; SP-CSI-RNTI; SFI-RNTI; TPC-PUCCH-RNTI; TPC-PUSCH-RNTI; Semi-Persistent Scheduling C-RNTI; eIMTA-RNTI; SL-RNTI; SL-V-RNTI; CC-RNTI; or SRS-TPC-RNTI. In an example, in response to being in RRC_CONNECTED, if DRX is configured, the MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH discontinuously using the DRX operation; otherwise the MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH continuously.”)
and first cycle parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring, wherein the first cycle parameter comprises at least one of length of a first cycle, on duration length of the first cycle, and start offset of the on duration of the first cycle. -Paragraph [0270] ([0270 recites,” In an example, RRC may control DRX operation by configuring a plurality of timers. The plurality of timers may comprise: a DRX On duration timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer); a DRX inactivity timer (e.g., drx-InactivityTimer); a downlink DRX HARQ RTT timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL); an uplink DRX HARQ RTT Timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL); a downlink retransmission timer (e.g., drx-RetransmissionTimerDL); an uplink retransmission timer (e.g., drx-RetransmissionTimerUL); one or more parameters of a short DRX configuration (e.g., drx-ShortCycle and/or drx-ShortCycleTimer) and one or more parameters of a long DRX configuration (e.g., drx-LongCycle). In an example, time granularity for DRX timers may be in terms of PDCCH subframes (e.g., indicated as psf in the DRX configurations), or in terms of milliseconds.)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “the time-domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring further comprises at least one of the following: time-domain monitoring method for the first downlink channel monitoring; duration of the first downlink channel monitoring; and first cycle parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring, wherein the first cycle parameter comprises at least one of length of a first cycle, on duration length of the first cycle, and start offset of the on duration of the first cycle” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang, Lin, Park, and Zhou combination address the limitations of claim 5.
Zhang does not teach
The method according to claim 5, wherein the duration of the first downlink channel monitoring comprises any one of a first time length and a time length of the second timer.
However, Zhou teaches
The method according to claim 5, wherein the duration of the first downlink channel monitoring comprises any one of a first time length and a time length of the second timer.
-Fig. 26A; Paragraph [0293] (Fig. 26A shows the duration of the first downlink reception in DRX On duration. [0293] recites, “…In an example, in response to receiving the wake-up signal/channel, the UE may monitor PDCCHs in the DRX active time (e.g., when drx-onDurationTimer is running). The UE may go back to sleep if not receiving PDCCHs in the DRX active time. The UE may keep in sleep during the DRX off duration of the DRX cycle……”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “duration of the first downlink channel monitoring comprises any one of a first time length and a time length of the second timer “One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang, Lin, Park and Zhou combination address the limitations of claim 5.
Zhang does not teach,
The method according to claim 5, wherein the time-domain monitoring method for the first downlink channel monitoring comprises any one of the following: monitoring the first downlink channel monitoring within the duration of the first downlink channel monitoring; monitoring the first downlink channel within an on duration of each first cycle; and monitoring the first downlink channel within an on duration of each first cycle in the duration of the first downlink channel monitoring.
However, Zhou teaches,
The method according to claim 5, wherein the time-domain monitoring method for the first downlink channel monitoring comprises any one of the following: monitoring the first downlink channel monitoring within the duration of the first downlink channel monitoring;
monitoring the first downlink channel within an on duration of each first cycle; -Fig. 24 (Fig. 24 shows PDCCH monitoring during DRX On duration of DRX cycle)
and monitoring the first downlink channel within an on duration of each first cycle in the duration of the first downlink channel monitoring. -Fig. 26 A( shows if receiving a wake-up signal, monitor downlink reception within on duration, i.e., total of wake-up duration and DRX on duration)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “monitoring the first downlink channel within an on duration of each first cycle “One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang, Lin and Park address the limitations of claim 3.
Zhang does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 3, wherein if the first downlink channel monitoring comprises the reception of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the time- domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring comprises at least one of the following: PDCCH blind decoding parameter; PDCCH monitoring periodicity; PDCCH monitoring offset; PDCCH monitoring duration; control resource set (CORESET); search space group; search space; DCI format; radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); time interval between a PDCCH and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH; time interval between a PDSCH and a HARQ-ACK feedback for the PDSCH; time interval between a PDCCH and a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH scheduled by the PDCCH; PDSCH processing delay; and PUSCH preparation delay.
However, Zhou teaches,
The method according to claim 3, wherein if the first downlink channel monitoring comprises the reception of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the time- domain configuration parameter of the first downlink reception comprises at least one of the following: PDCCH blind decoding parameter;
PDCCH monitoring periodicity; -Paragraph[0293] (recites, “The parameters of the wake-up duration may comprise at least one of: a wake-up channel format (e.g., numerology, DCI format, PDCCH format); a periodicity of the wake-up channel; a control resource set and/or a search space of the wake-up channel….”)
PDCCH monitoring offset; -Paragraph [0431] (PDCCH monitoring corresponds during DRX cycle parameters including offset. [0431] recites, “…The DRX configuration parameters may comprise the DRX cycle parameter and the DRX offset parameter.”)
PDCCH monitoring duration; -Fig. 24 (PDCCH monitoring duration is DRX On duration as shown in Fig. 24)
control resource set (CORESET); -Fig. 28; Paragraph [0304] ([0304] recites, “In an example, the first configuration parameters may indicate one or more PS parameters of a plurality of power saving modes. The one or more PS parameters of a first power saving mode (PS mode 1 as shown in FIG. 28) may indicate at least one of: one or more first search spaces and/or one or more first control resource sets (SS1/CORESET1 in FIG. 28);…”)
search space group; search space; -Fig. 29
DCI format; -Fig. 28, Paragraph [0304] ([0304] recites, “….one or more first DCI formats (DCI format 0-0, 1-0, or any other DCI format); and/or one or more first PS signal parameters (e.g., PS signal format; periodicity; time/frequency location)…..”)
radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); -Fig. 29
time interval between a PDCCH and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH; -Paragraph [0123] (PDCCH provides PDSCH scheduling (time-frequency grid for PDSCH). [0123] recites, “ … The wireless device may receive one or more downlink data package on one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs, when successfully detecting the one or more PDCCHs.”)
time interval between a PDSCH and a HARQ-ACK feedback for the PDSCH; -Paragraph [0123] ([0123] recites, “ In an example, a gNB may transmit a downlink control information comprising a downlink assignment to a wireless device via one or more PDCCHs. The downlink assignment may comprise parameters indicating at least modulation and coding format; resource allocation; and/or HARQ information related to DL-SCH. …”)
time interval between a PDCCH and a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH scheduled by the PDCCH;
PDSCH processing delay;
and PUSCH preparation delay.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “if the first downlink channel monitoring comprises the reception of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the time- domain configuration parameter of the first downlink channel monitoring comprises at least one of the following: PDCCH blind decoding parameter; PDCCH monitoring periodicity; PDCCH monitoring offset; PDCCH monitoring duration; control resource set (CORESET); search space group; search space; DCI format; radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); time interval between a PDCCH and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH; time interval between a PDSCH and a HARQ-ACK feedback for the PDSCH; time interval between a PDCCH and a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH scheduled by the PDCCH; PDSCH processing delay; and PUSCH preparation delay.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Claim 18 is essentially same as claim 5 viewed from network side instead of terminal side and Claim 5 has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Claims 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin and further in view of Zhou.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang and Lin teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Zhang does not teach,
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a second message from the network-side device, wherein the second message is used to indicate the terminal to switch the receiving cycle for the first downlink channel from the first cycle to a second cycle; and the second cycle is different from the first cycle in at least one of length, on duration length, and on duration start offset.
However, Zhou teaches
receiving a second message from the network-side device, wherein the second message is used to indicate the terminal to switch the receiving cycle for the first downlink channel from the first cycle to a second cycle; and the second cycle is different from the first cycle in at least one of length, on duration length, and on duration start offset. -Fig. 29; Paragraph [0310] (Fig. 29 shows receiving RRC messages from network-side device with different configuration parameters that changes the first receiving cycle to second receiving cycle which can have different length, duration, and offset according to DCI format. [0310] recites, “FIG. 29 shows an example embodiment of power saving mechanism, e.g., when DRX is configured. A base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 29) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 29), one or more RRC messages comprising first configuration parameters of a plurality of DRX configurations. In an example, the first configuration parameters of a first DRX configuration (e.g., 1.sup.st DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29) may indicate: one or more first search spaces (e.g., 1.sup.st SSs as shown in FIG. 29) and/or one or more first control resource sets (e.g., 1.sup.st CORESETs as shown in FIG. 29); one or more first RNTIs (e.g., 1.sup.st RNTIs as shown in FIG. 29) of PDCCH candidates monitoring; one or more first DCI formats (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI formats as shown in FIG. 29); one or more first DRX timers; and/or one or more first PS signal parameters. In an example, the first configuration parameters of a second DRX configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29) may indicate: one or more second search spaces (e.g., 2.sup.nd SSs as shown in FIG. 29) and/or one or more second control resource sets (e.g., 2.sup.nd CORESETs as shown in FIG. 29); one or more second RNTIs (e.g., 2.sup.nd RNTIs as shown in FIG. 29) of PDCCH candidates monitoring; one or more second DCI formats (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI formats as shown in FIG. 29); one or more second DRX timers; and/or one or more second PS signal parameters.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “receiving a second message from the network-side device, wherein the second message is used to indicate the terminal to switch the receiving cycle for the first downlink channel from the first cycle to a second cycle; and the second cycle is different from the first cycle in at least one of length, on duration length, and on duration start offset.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang and Lin teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Zhang does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 13, further comprising: transmitting a second message to the terminal, wherein the second message is used to instruct the terminal to switch a receiving cycle for the first downlink channel from a first cycle to a second cycle; and the second cycle is different from the first cycle in at least one of length, on duration length, and on duration start offset.
However, Zhou teaches,
The method according to claim 13, further comprising: transmitting a second message to the terminal, wherein the second message is used to instruct the terminal to switch a receiving cycle for the first downlink channel from a first cycle to a second cycle; and the second cycle is different from the first cycle in at least one of length, on duration length, and on duration start offset. -Fig. 29; Paragraph [0310] (Fig. 29 shows receiving RRC messages from network-side device with different configuration parameters that changes the first receiving cycle to second receiving cycle which can have different length, duration, and offset according to DCI format. [0310] recites, “FIG. 29 shows an example embodiment of power saving mechanism, e.g., when DRX is configured. A base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 29) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 29), one or more RRC messages comprising first configuration parameters of a plurality of DRX configurations. In an example, the first configuration parameters of a first DRX configuration (e.g., 1.sup.st DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29) may indicate: one or more first search spaces (e.g., 1.sup.st SSs as shown in FIG. 29) and/or one or more first control resource sets (e.g., 1.sup.st CORESETs as shown in FIG. 29); one or more first RNTIs (e.g., 1.sup.st RNTIs as shown in FIG. 29) of PDCCH candidates monitoring; one or more first DCI formats (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI formats as shown in FIG. 29); one or more first DRX timers; and/or one or more first PS signal parameters. In an example, the first configuration parameters of a second DRX configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29) may indicate: one or more second search spaces (e.g., 2.sup.nd SSs as shown in FIG. 29) and/or one or more second control resource sets (e.g., 2.sup.nd CORESETs as shown in FIG. 29); one or more second RNTIs (e.g., 2.sup.nd RNTIs as shown in FIG. 29) of PDCCH candidates monitoring; one or more second DCI formats (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI formats as shown in FIG. 29); one or more second DRX timers; and/or one or more second PS signal parameters.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “transmitting a second message to the terminal, wherein the second message is used to instruct the terminal to switch a receiving cycle for the first downlink channel from a first cycle to a second cycle; and the second cycle is different from the first cycle in at least one of length, on duration length, and on duration start offset.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [0203].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin, Park, Zhou and further in view of BEALE et al. (Patent No: US20230055108A1), hereinafter, BEALE.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang, Lin, Park and Zhou combination address the limitations of claim 8.
Zhang does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 8, further comprising: stopping monitoring the first downlink channel monitoring if Q downlink channel monitoring in the first downlink channel monitoring are not received within on durations of L consecutive first cycles, wherein 1<Q<L, and both L and Q are integers greater than or equal to 1.
However, BEALE teaches,
The method according to claim 8, further comprising: stopping monitoring the first downlink channel monitoring if Q downlink channel monitoring in the first downlink channel monitoring are not received within on durations of L consecutive first cycles, wherein 1<Q<L, and both L and Q are integers greater than or equal to 1.-Fig. 7; Paragraph [0061-0066] (Fig. 7 shows the DRX operation. In this particular example, DRX OFF period is equal to cycle time PDRX-DRX ON. Also, (PDRX-DRX ON)/drx-ShortCycle is an integer greater than 2 (L). It shows when first downlink reception are not received in 2 (Q) consecutive drx-ShortCycle, the terminal stops monitoring reception till the start of next DRX cycle. [0060-0066] recites, “If there has been activity in the initial DRX_ON period (as shown with the hashed box), the inactivity timer is started; If there is no activity (no PDCCH received) during the running of the inactivity timer, the system enters into short DRX operation; Short DRX has periods where the UE monitors PDCCH and periods where it doesn't. As can be seen, in the example of FIG. 7, the UE starts short DRX by not monitoring PDCCH; Every drx-ShortCycle number of subframes, the UE monitors PDCCH for DRX_ON number of subframes. For example, if drx-ShortCycle=16 and DRX_ON=4, the UE monitors PDCCH for 4 subframes out of every 16. The subframes that the UE monitors for PDCCH are known to both the UE and the network; The UE performs drx-ShortCycleTimer number of short DRX cycles. As can be seen, in the example of FIG. 7, drx-ShortCycleTimer=2; If there is no activity during the short DRX operation, the UE goes to sleep and wakes up to monitor PDCCH after the end of the long DRX cycle (i.e. after P.sub.DRX subframes).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of BEALE to include “stopping monitoring the first downlink channel monitoring if Q downlink channel monitoring in the first downlink channel monitoring are not received within on durations of L consecutive first cycles, wherein 1<Q<L, and both L and Q are integers greater than or equal to 1.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to power saving for NR terminal devices [0050]
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of in view of Lin and further in view of Yang Liu (Patent No: US11553433B2), hereinafter, Liu.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang and Park teach the limitations of claim 1
Zhang does not explicitly teach
The method according to claim 1, wherein if the terminal has transmitted a second uplink signal within a duration of the first downlink channel monitoring and the second uplink signal is used to trigger a second downlink channel monitoring, the method further comprises: performing the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring in parallel;
or performing only the second downlink channel monitoring; wherein in a case of performing the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring in parallel, if the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring contend on one or more resources, the method further comprises: on a resource under contention, performing the second downlink channel monitoring and dropping the first downlink channel monitoring;
or on a resource under contention, performing the first downlink channel monitoring and dropping the second downlink reception;
or on a resource under contention, determining, based on at least one of types of the uplink channel and the second uplink signal, logical channels which the uplink channel and the second uplink signal belong to, and service priorities of the uplink channel and the second uplink signal, a to-be-performed downlink channel monitoring from the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring.
However, Liu teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein if the terminal has transmitted a second uplink signal within a duration of the first downlink channel monitoring and the second uplink signal is used to trigger a second downlink channel monitoring, the method further comprises: performing the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring in parallel; -Fig. 2; (In step 203, the UE sends the second uplink signaling. In step 204, a base station may update, based on the second signaling, an original DRX cycle of the UE with an updated DRX cycle. In step 205, the base station may send third signaling to the UE. The third signaling may include the updated DRX cycle. The messages (downlink receptions at step 204 and 205 are done in parallel)
or performing only the second downlink channel monitoring; wherein in a case of performing the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring in parallel, if the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring contend on one or more resources, the method further comprises: on a resource under contention, performing the second downlink channel monitoring and dropping the first downlink channel monitoring;
or on a resource under contention, performing the first downlink channel monitoring and dropping the second downlink reception;
or on a resource under contention, determining, based on at least one of types of the uplink channel and the second uplink signal, logical channels which the uplink channel and the second uplink signal belong to, and service priorities of the uplink channel and the second uplink signal, a to-be-performed downlink channel monitoring from the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “System Information Sending Method And Apparatus” proposed by Zhang with the concept of Zhou to include “if the terminal has transmitted a second uplink signal within a duration of the first downlink channel monitoring and the second uplink signal is used to trigger a second downlink channel monitoring, the method further comprises: performing the first downlink channel monitoring and the second downlink channel monitoring in parallel” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimizing power saving performance battery or power consumption of the wireless device [col. 1, line 41-46].
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475