CTFR 17/975,500 CTFR 89957 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed 3/10/2026, are accepted and appreciated by the examiner. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant’s arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-8, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2019/0248252 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2017/0379099 A1) and Burchardt (US 2022/0146589 A1) . With respect to Claim 1 Jin teaches A method, comprising: determining, by a battery management system of the vehicle, a difference in a voltage associated with a current provided to a battery of the vehicle; (See Fig 2 and Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) determining, by the battery management system, an impedance indicator based on the current provided to the battery and the difference in the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery; and (See Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) determining, by the battery management system, a health of the battery based on the impedance indicator. (See Para[0024] based at least in part on current flow through the battery, the battery control system may execute a state-of-charge (SoC) application to determine (e.g., predict or estimate) open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery. Additionally or alternatively, based at least in part on current and/or voltage of a battery, the battery control system may execute a state-of-health (SoH) application to determine internal resistance of the battery) adjusting, by the battery management system, the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery in response to determining that the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed a health-related threshold (See Para[0025] For example, based at least in part on data indicative of battery state-of-function, a vehicle control unit may output a control command that instructs an alternator to adjust current and/or voltage of electrical power output to the battery system.) However Jin is silent to the language of during a charging event including comparing the impedance indicator to one or more predefined impedance profiles associated with aging or degradation modes. Nevertheless Matsumura teaches including comparing the impedance indicator to one or more predefined impedance profiles associated with aging or degradation modes (See Para[0048], [0051], [0062] Example 9 is the subject matter of Example 8 or any of the Examples described herein where compensating for the age or the cycles of the battery also includes calculating a difference of actual impedance at a known charge state as compared to expected impedance at the known charge state.[0051] In Example 12, the subject matter of Example 1 or any of the Examples described herein may further include estimating an age or a number of cycles of the battery by calculating a difference of actual impedance at a known charge state as compared to expected impedance at the known charge state.[0062] Example 23 is the subject matter of Example 22 or any of the Examples described herein where to use the impedance as a lookup also includes using the impedance and temperature, current load, cycles or age as lookups in a table having multiple dimensions to calculate charge state. ) . However Matsumura is silent to the language of during a charging event Nevertheless Burchardt teaches during a charging event (See Para[0040] In various embodiments, the collected data may include, but is not limited to, voltage, current, impedance, and/or operational temperature (e.g., during charge and/or discharge). ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jin and include comparing the impedance indicator to one or more predefined impedance profiles associated with aging or degradation mode such as that of Matsumura. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jin because comparing would determine the age of the battery and thus provide useful information to function properly and efficiently. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jin and determine during charging such as that of Burchardt. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jin because during charging would give accurate results. With respect to Claim 2 Jin teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the difference in voltage associated with the current provided to the battery comprises: measuring, by a battery management system, the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery at a first time and at a second time. (See Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) With respect to Claim 3 Jin is silent to the language of The method of claim 2, wherein the current provided to the battery remains constant between the first time and the second time. Nevertheless Matsumura teaches wherein the current provided to the battery remains constant between the first time and the second time (See Para[0029]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date wherein the current provided to the battery remains constant between the first time and the second time such as that of Matsumura. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Jin because have a constant current would allow one to accurately determine state of health. With respect to Claim 4 Jin teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the impedance indicator comprises: dividing the difference in voltage associated with the current, by the current. (See Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) With respect to Claim 5 Jin teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the impedance indicator represents one or more of a resistance and an impedance of the battery (See Para[0011]) . With respect to Claim 6 Jin teaches The method of claim 1, determining the health of the battery comprises: determining whether the impedance indicator of the battery has increased; and in response to determining that the impedance indicator of the battery has increased, determining that the health of the battery has decreased. (See Para[0060] , lifespan of a battery may be reduced when its terminal voltage is increased above an upper voltage threshold. ) With respect to Claim 7 Jin teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing an indication of the health of the battery to an interface system. (See Fig 2) With respect to Claim 8 Jin teaches The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery comprises: determining whether the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed the health related threshold, wherein the health of the battery corresponds to at least one of capacity-related changes associated with the battery or resistance-related changes associated with the battery (See Para[0063]) ; and decreasing the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery in response to determining that the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed the health-related threshold (See Para[0025]) . With respect to Claim 18 Jin teaches An apparatus, comprising: (See Fig 2) a memory configured to store data; and (See Fig 2) a processing device coupled to the memory, the processing device configured to: (See Fig 2) determine a difference in a voltage associated with a current provided to a battery of a vehicle; (See Fig 2 and Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) determine an impedance indicator based on the current provided to the battery and the difference in the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery; and (See Fig 2 and Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) determine a health of the battery based on the impedance indicator. (See Fig 2 and Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) adjust the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery in response to determining that the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed a health-related threshold. (See Para[0025]) However Jin is silent to the language of during a charging event including comparing the impedance indicator to one or more predefined impedance profiles associated with aging or degradation modes. Nevertheless Matsumura teaches including comparing the impedance indicator to one or more predefined impedance profiles associated with aging or degradation modes (See Para[0048], [0051], [0062] Example 9 is the subject matter of Example 8 or any of the Examples described herein where compensating for the age or the cycles of the battery also includes calculating a difference of actual impedance at a known charge state as compared to expected impedance at the known charge state.[0051] In Example 12, the subject matter of Example 1 or any of the Examples described herein may further include estimating an age or a number of cycles of the battery by calculating a difference of actual impedance at a known charge state as compared to expected impedance at the known charge state.[0062] Example 23 is the subject matter of Example 22 or any of the Examples described herein where to use the impedance as a lookup also includes using the impedance and temperature, current load, cycles or age as lookups in a table having multiple dimensions to calculate charge state. ) . However Matsumura is silent to the language of during a charging event Nevertheless Burchardt teaches during a charging event (See Para[0040] In various embodiments, the collected data may include, but is not limited to, voltage, current, impedance, and/or operational temperature (e.g., during charge and/or discharge). ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jin and include comparing the impedance indicator to one or more predefined impedance profiles associated with aging or degradation mode such as that of Matsumura. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jin because comparing would determine the age of the battery and thus provide useful information to function properly and efficiently. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jin and determine during charging such as that of Burchardt. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jin because during charging would give accurate results. With respect to Claim 19 Jin teaches The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the processing device is further configured to: provide an indication of the health of the battery to an interface system. (See Fig 2) With respect to Claim 20 Jin teaches The apparatus of claim 18, to adjust the voltage associated with the current to the battery the processing device is further configured to: determine whether the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed the health related threshold, wherein the health of the battery corresponds to at least one of capacity-related changes associated with the battery or resistance-related changes associated with the battery; (See Para[0063]) and decrease the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery in response to determining that the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed the health-related threshold (See Para[0025]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9,10, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2019/0248252 A1) in view of Subbaraman (US 2019/0036356 A1) and Burchardt (US 2022/0146589 A1) . With respect to Claim 9 Jin teaches A battery management system, comprising: (See Fig 2) a memory; and (See Fig 2) a processing device operatively coupled to the memory, the processing device configured to: (See Fig 2) determine a difference in a voltage associated with a current provided to a battery of a vehicle; (See Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) adjust, the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery in response to determining that the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed a health-related threshold (See Para[0025] For example, based at least in part on data indicative of battery state-of-function, a vehicle control unit may output a control command that instructs an alternator to adjust current and/or voltage of electrical power output to the battery system.) However Jin is silent to the language of during a charging event determine a difference in a state of charge of the battery of the vehicle; determine an impedance indicator based on the first difference in voltage of the current and the difference in the state of charge of the battery; and determine a health of the battery based on the impedance indicator. Nevertheless Subbaraman teaches determine a difference in a state of charge of the battery of the vehicle (See Para[0042] The SoH estimation process generally requires multiple sets of ΔSoC and accumulated charge data to produce accurate estimates of the battery SoH. ) ; determine an impedance indicator based on the difference in voltage associated with the current and the second difference in the state of charge of the battery; (See Para[0029]) and determine a health of the battery based on the impedance indicator (See Para[0042]) . However Subbaraman is silent to the language of during a charging event Nevertheless Burchardt teaches during a charging event (See Para[0040] In various embodiments, the collected data may include, but is not limited to, voltage, current, impedance, and/or operational temperature (e.g., during charge and/or discharge). ) It would have been obvious before the effective filing date determine a second difference, an impedance indicator, and a health of the battery such as that of Subbaraman. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Jin because having a second difference would improve accuracy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jin and determine during charging such as that of Burchardt. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jin because during charging would give accurate results. With respect to Claim 10 Jin teaches The battery management system of claim 9, wherein to determine the first difference in voltage associated with the current provided to the battery the processing device is further configured to: measure the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery at a first time and at a second time. (See Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) With respect to Claim 12 Jin is silent to the language of The battery management system of claim 9, wherein to determine the difference in the state of charge of the battery the processing device is further configured to: measure the state of charge of the battery at a first time and at a second time. Nevertheless Subbaraman teaches wherein to determine the difference in the state of charge of the battery the processing device is further to: measure the state of charge of the battery at a first time and at a second time. (See Para[0042] The SoH estimation process generally requires multiple sets of ΔSoC and accumulated charge data to produce accurate estimates of the battery SoH. ) ; It would have been obvious before the effective filing date and measure the state of charge of the battery at a first time and at a second time such as that of Subbaraman. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Jin because measuring the state of charge of the battery at a first time and at a second time would improve accuracy. With respect to Claim 13 Jin teaches The battery management system of claim 9, wherein to determine the impedance indicator the processing device is further configured to: divide the difference in voltage associated with the current, by the current. (See Claim 5 determine the real-time internal resistance of the battery based at least in part on difference between the measured terminal voltage of the battery and the open-circuit of the battery divided by the measured current flow through the battery.) With respect to Claim 14 Jin teaches The battery management system of claim 9, wherein the impedance indicator represents one or more of a resistance and an impedance of the battery. (See Para[0009]) With respect to Claim 15 Jin teaches The battery management system of claim 9, to determine the health of the battery the processing device is further to: determine whether the impedance indicator of the battery has increased; in response to determining that the impedance indicator of the battery has increased, determine that the health of the battery has decreased. (See Para[0060] , lifespan of a battery may be reduced when its terminal voltage is increased above an upper voltage threshold. ) With respect to Claim 16 Jin teaches The battery management system of claim 9, wherein the processing device is further to: provide an indication of the health of the battery to an interface system. (See Fig 2) With respect to Claim 17 Jin teaches The battery management system of claim 9, to adjust the voltage associated with the current to the battery the processing device is further configured to: determine whether the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed the health related threshold, wherein the health of the battery corresponds to at least one of capacity-related changes associated with the battery or resistance-related changes associated with the battery (See Para[0063]) ;; and decrease the voltage associated with the current provided to the battery in response to determining that the health of the battery fails to meet or exceed the health-related threshold (See Para[0025]) . wherein the processing device is further configured to: request adjustments to the current flowing via the battery of the vehicle, based on the health of the battery. (See Claim 12) 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2019/0248252 A1) in view of Subbaraman (US 2019/0036356 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Matsumura (US 2017/0370999 A1) and Burchardt (US 2022/0146589 A1). With respect to Claim 11 Jin is silent to the language of The battery management system of claim 10, wherein the current provided to the battery remains constant between the first time and the second time. Nevertheless Matsumura teaches wherein the current provided to the battery remains constant between the first time and the second time (See Para[0029]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date wherein the current provided to the battery remains constant between the first time and the second time such as that of Matsumura. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Jin because have a constant current would allow one to accurately determine state of health . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA whose telephone number is (571)270-7050. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 11:00-7:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Catherine Rastovski can be reached at (571) 270-0349. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. YOSHIHISA . ISHIZUKA Examiner Art Unit 2857 /YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 2 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 3 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 4 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 5 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 6 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 7 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 9 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 10 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 11 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 13 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 14 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 15 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 16 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 17 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 18 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 17/975,500 Page 19 Art Unit: 2857