Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The claim to priority filled on 04/18/2023 acknowledged in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, under claim 3, the “beam combining device frame”, “visible light source fixing plate”, “reduction screws with spring” and “adjusting screws”. and under claim 9, the “photoelectric receiver fixing plate” and “beam splitting mirror holder” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Limitation
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim limitation “the combined beam and the first reflection combination device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “combined beam… reflection combination” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. page 6, Figs 2-3, 6-7, the combined beam and the first reflection combination device 2.
B. Claim limitation “the second reflection combination device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “reflection combination” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. page 6, Figs 2, 6-7, the second reflection combination device 3.
C. Claim limitation “the beam combination device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “beam combination” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 2 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. page 7, Figs 2-3, 6-7, the beam combination device 21.
D. Claim limitation “the beam splitting device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “beam splitting” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 8 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. page 7, Figs 2, 4, the beam splitting device 411.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the adjustment and protection device” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the laser engraving machine frame” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the CO2 laser light source” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the Y-axis guide rail” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the X-axis guide rail” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the frame of the laser engraving machine” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the combined beam and the first reflection combination device” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second reflection combination device” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the beam splitting and engraving head assembly” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the combined beam and first reflection combination device” in various places rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “the combined beam and first reflection combination device” and the combined beam and the first reflection combination device mentioned in line 6 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the CO2 laser light source beam” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the direction of travel” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 recite the limitation “A laser engraving machine with the adjustment and protection device” in line 1 respectively rendering these claims indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “A laser engraving machine with the adjustment and protection device” and A laser engraving machine with the adjustment and protection device mentioned in claim 1 line 1 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the beam combining device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the first reflecting mirror assembly” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the assembly support” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the beam traveling direction” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “reduction screws with spring” in line 5, rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “reduction screws with spring” and reduction screws with spring mentioned in line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the surface of the beam combining lens” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the beam emitted from the visible light source” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the reflection rate” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the beam emitted from the CO2 laser light source” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the surface of the beam combining lens” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the reflectivity” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the transmittance” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the wavelength of the visible light source” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the red-light laser” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the visible light source is the red-light laser with 650nm” in line 2, rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear what this 650nm of the red-light laser stand for? Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the beam splitting device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the laser engraving head assembly” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “beam splitting device” in line 2 rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “beam splitting device” and the beam splitting device mentioned in claim 8 line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the third reflecting mirror” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Without mentioned first/ second reflecting mirrors previously, it is unclear where this third reflecting mirror came from? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the focusing lens” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the beam from the visible light source” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the beam from the CO2 laser light source” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the transmittance” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubens et al. (US 2021/0121985 A1) in view of Satoh et al. (US 5,293,566).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Rubens et al. disclose a laser engraving machine with the adjustment and protection device (a desktop laser cutter 1, [0047], Figs 1-7), comprising the laser engraving machine frame (a laser cutter housing 2, [0047], Fig 1), the CO2 laser light source (the laser 20 is a carbon dioxide (CO2) laser, [0049], Fig 2), the Y-axis guide rail (a pair of fixed rails 61(1), 61(2), [0054], Fig 2), the X-axis guide rail (a movable rail 65, [0055], Fig 2); wherein the Y-axis guide rail and X-axis guide rail are provided fixedly on the laser engraving machine frame (see Figs 1-2), the Y-axis guide rail and X-axis guide rail are provided in the vertical relationship (see Fig 2), and the CO2 laser light source is provided fixedly on the frame of the laser engraving machine (laser 20 is supported on the rear side 4(2) of the laser cutter housing 2, for example via brackets, [0053]); wherein further comprising the combined beam and the first reflection combination device (a fixed optical device 42, [0060], Figs 2-4), the second reflection combination device (a first movable optical device 45, [0060], Figs 2-4), the beam splitting and engraving head assembly (a cutting head 80, [0047], Figs 2-4), the combined beam and first reflection combination device is provided fixedly on the frame of the laser engraving machine (42 is provided fixedly on the frame of the laser engraving machine, Figs 2-4), the second reflection combination device is provided on the Y-axis guide rail (45 is provided on 61(1), 61(2), Figs 2-4), the beam splitting and engraving head assembly is provided on the X-axis guide rail (80 is provided on 65, Figs 2-4); the combined beam and first reflection combination device is provided in front of the CO2 laser light source beam in the direction of travel (42 is provided in front of 20 in the direction of beam 23 travel, Figs 2-4), the second combination reflection device is provided in front of the CO2 laser light source beam reflected by the combined beam and first reflection combination device in the direction of travel (45 is provided in front of 20 reflected by 42 in the direction of beam 23 travel, Figs 2-4), and the beam splitting and engraving head assembly is provided in front of the CO2 laser light source beam reflected by the second reflection combination device in the direction of travel (80 is provided in front of 20 reflected by 45 in the direction of beam 23 travel, Figs 2-4);
Rubens et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose an OR gate device; and the OR gate device is electrically connected to the beam splitting and engraving head assembly.
Satoh et al. teach a laser head control system (laser driving circuit 4, Col 4 line 54, Fig 2), and an OR gate device; (an OR gate 21 to be applied to the laser driving circuit 4, Col 4 line 53-54, Fig 2) and the OR gate device is electrically connected to the beam splitting and engraving head assembly (inputted into the laser driving circuit 4 via … the OR gate 21 to modulated the intensity of a laser of the optical head 3, Col 7 line 37-39, Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rubens et al. with Satoh et al.’s further teaching of an OR gate device; and the OR gate device is electrically connected to the beam splitting and engraving head assembly; because Satoh et al. teach, in Col 7 line 35-40, of providing an excellent control system to properly control the intensity of the optical laser head during processing.
Claim 2, wherein the combined beam and first reflection combination device comprises the beam combining device (42 is a beam combining device, Figs 5-6), the first reflecting mirror assembly (first mirror 44, [0061], Figs 5-6), and the assembly support (first mount 43, [0061], Figs 5-6); the first reflecting mirror assembly is provided in front of the beam traveling direction of the beam combining device (44 is provided in front of the beam 23 traveling direction of 42, Fig 6), the beam combining device and the first reflecting mirror assembly are provided on the assembly support (42 and 44 are provided on 43, Figs 5-6).
Claim 8, wherein the beam splitting and engraving head assembly comprises the beam splitting device (The cutting head 80, including the second movable optical device 48, {0062], Figs 3-4) and the laser engraving head assembly (second movable optical device 48 receives the beam 23… and directs it along an axis that is parallel to the Y axis toward the work area 8 which receives the workpiece 30, [0063], Figs 3-4); the laser engraving head assembly is provided in front of the travel direction of the beam emitted by the CO2 laser light source reflected by the beam splitting device (details see Figs 3-6).
Claims 3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubens et al. (US 2021/0121985 A1) in view of Satoh et al. (US 5,293,566) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Hunt (US 5,668,660).
Regarding Claims 3 and 6-7, Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claims 3 and 6-7.
Hunt further teaches a system with a laser source (a laser source 130, Col 4 line 42, Fig 2) and Claim 3, wherein the beam combining device comprises beam combining device frame (a polarizer/analyzer mount 150, Col 4 line 46, Fig 2), visible light source (remote light source/ power supply 110… contains a suitable source of visible illumination light, Col 8 line 32-36, Figs 1-3), beam combining lens (a polarizer 151 and an analyzer 155, Col 10 line 48-61 Figs 4-5), visible light source fixing plate (visible light source is fed via a fiber optic cable 113 to 31A, Col 8 line 38-39, Fig 2), reduction screws with spring (set screws 57a cooperate with the spring 56a, Col 6 line 31, Fig 14), adjusting screws (adjustable stop screw 147, Col 10 line 6, Fig 22); the beam combining lens and visible light source fixing plate are provided fixedly on the beam combining device frame (151, 155 and visible light source are all fixedly on 31A, Fig 2), the visible light source, reduction screws with spring, the adjusting screws are provided fixedly on the visible light source fixing plate (visible light source, 56a, 57a and 147 all fixedly on 31A, Fig 2).
Claim 6, wherein the wavelength of the visible light source is from 400nm to 760nm (remote light source/ power supply 110… contains a suitable source of visible illumination light, Col 8 line 32-36, Figs 1-3). Claim 7, the visible light source is the red-light laser with 650nm (remote light source/ power supply 110… contains a suitable source of visible illumination light, Col 8 line 32-36, Figs 1-3). Note: Hunt do not explicitly disclose that Claim 6, wherein the wavelength of the visible light source is from 400nm to 760nm, and aim 7, the visible light source is the red-light laser with 650nm; however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the wavelength of the visible light source, since such a configurations would have involved a range change in the visible light source, a change in range of visible light source is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. Page 3 line 24-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al. with Hunt’s further teaching of Claims 3 and 6-7; because Hunt teaches, in Col 1 line 65-67 of providing an excellent precision optical inspection apparatus which can vary the magnification without moving any external part of the microscope housing relative to the object being viewed.
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubens et al. (US 2021/0121985 A1) in view of Satoh et al. (US 5,293,566), Hunt (US 5,668,660) as applied to claim 3 and further in view of Go (US 2002/0071108 A1).
Regarding Claims 4-5, Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al., Hunt teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claims 4-5.
Go further teach a laser processing system (optical system 12 has an excimer laser light source 16, [0037], Fig 1) and Claim 4, wherein the surface of the beam combining lens (a polarizer 151 and an analyzer 155, Fig 4, taught by Hunt already) has a high reflection function for the beam emitted from the visible light source (remote light source/ power supply 110… contains a suitable source of visible illumination light, Col 8 line 32-36, Figs 1-3, Hunt) with the reflection rate of ≥ 90% (Note: Hunt do not explicitly disclose that “the surface of the beam combining lens has a high reflection function for the beam emitted from the visible light source with the reflection rate of ≥ 90%”; however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange The beam combining lens with the reflection rate of ≥ 90%, since such a configurations would have involved a range change in the reflection rate, a change in reflection rate is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose; see Spec. Page 3 line 17) and a high transmission function for the beam emitted from the CO2 laser light source with the transmission rate of ≥ 95% (the transmittance with respect to the laser beam LB is changed in a geometrical series in plural steps from 100% to any %, [0040]).
Claim 5, wherein the surface of the beam combining lens (a polarizer 151 and an analyzer 155, Fig 4, taught by Hunt already) has a high reflection function with 650nm laser (oscillation wavelength of 248 nm, [0038]. Note: Go do not explicitly disclose that “with 650nm laser”; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange with a 650nm laser, since such a configuration would have involved a range change in the wavelength, a change in wavelength is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose; see Spec. Page 3 line 21) and the reflectivity of ≥ 90% (illuminating light IL that is reflected by the beam splitter 26, [0047]), and with 10.6um laser high transmission function and the transmittance of ≥ 95% (the transmittance with respect to the laser beam LB is changed in a geometrical series in plural steps from 100% to any %, [0040]). (Note: Go do not explicitly disclose that “with 10.6 µm laser”; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange with 10.6 µm laser, since such a configuration would have involved a range change in the wavelength, a change in wavelength is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose; see Spec. Page 3 line 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al., Hunt with Go’s further teaching of Claims 4-5; because Go teaches, in Para. [0040], of providing an excellent energy adjusting way to control the transmittance with respect to the laser beam LB in a geometrical series in plural steps from 100% to any % during operation.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubens et al. (US 2021/0121985 A1) in view of Satoh et al. (US 5,293,566) as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Kitai et al. (US 6,462,306 B1).
Regarding Claim 9, Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claim 9.
Kitai et al. further teach a laser processing system (apparatus 10 includes a source laser 20 to generate a single laser beam 22, Col 4 line 9-10, Fig 1A), and Claim 9, wherein beam splitting device comprises photoelectric receiver (photo-detectors 132, Col 7 line 26-27, Fig 5A), beam splitting mirror (a beam splitter 26, Col 4 line 13, Fig 5A), photoelectric receiver fixing plate (Clearly, 132 needs to be hold by a “photoelectric receiver fixing plate” as claimed, Fig 1A) and beam splitting mirror holder (Clearly, 26 needs to be hold by a “beam splitting mirror holder” as claimed, Fig 1A); the photoelectric receiver is provided fixedly on the laser engraving head assembly by the photoelectric receiver fixing plate (fixed to a main frame, Col 6 line 43. Note: “the laser engraving head assembly” taught by Rubens et al. already. Clearly, “the photoelectric receiver is” capable of “provided fixedly on the laser engraving head assembly by the photoelectric receiver fixing plate” as claimed); the beam splitting mirror is provided fixedly on the laser engraving head assembly by the beam splitting mirror holder (fixed to a main frame, Col 6 line 43. Clearly, “the beam splitting mirror is” capable of “provided fixedly on the laser engraving head assembly by the beam splitting mirror holder” as claimed), and the laser engraving head assembly comprises the third reflecting mirror and the focusing lens (80 comprises mirror 50, [0063]; 80 comprises lens 52 focuses the beam 23, [0066], Fig 3, Rubens et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al. with Kitai et al.’s further teaching of Claim 9; because Kitai et al. teach, in Col 7 line 29-31 of providing an excellent laser processing system with the ability to adjust the relative energy in the split beams and to compensate for the splitting ratio
errors common to typical beam splitters.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubens et al. (US 2021/0121985 A1) in view of Satoh et al. (US 5,293,566), Kitai et al. (US 6,462,306 B1) as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Go (US 2002/0071108 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al., Kitai et al. teach, wherein the beam splitting mirror is low reflective at the beam from the visible light source, with the reflectivity of 10% to 50% (allows precise control of the reflectivity (see graph of FIG. 5B-beam splitter reflectivity versus polarization angle) of the beam splitter 26, Col 7 line 35-38, Kitai et al.), and high transmissive at the beam from the CO2 laser light source (Note: “the CO2 laser light source” taught by Rubens et al. already),
Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al., Kitai et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose the beam splitting mirror with the transmittance of ≥ 95%.
Go further teach a laser processing system (optical system 12 has an excimer laser light source 16, [0037], Fig 1) and the beam splitting mirror (taught by Kitai et al. already) with the transmittance of ≥ 95% (the transmittance with respect to the laser beam LB is changed in a geometrical series in plural steps from 100% to any %, [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rubens et al. in view of Satoh et al., Kitai et al. with Go’s further teaching of the beam splitting mirror with the transmittance of ≥ 95%; because Go teaches, in Para. [0040], of providing an excellent energy adjusting way to control the transmittance with respect to the laser beam LB in a geometrical series in plural steps from 100% to any % during operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761