DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 22 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1(as evidenced by D2 US 20200142072 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 22 D1 teaches
1. A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system for detecting objects in blind-spot areas, comprising:
a housing;(fig. 2A)
a scanning-based LiDAR assembly disposed in the housing, the scanning-based LiDAR assembly being configured to scan a plurality of light beams to illuminate a first field-of-view (FOV); [0151]and
a non-scanning-based LiDAR assembly disposed in the housing, the non-scanning-based LiDAR assembly being configured to transmit laser light to illuminate a second FOV without scanning, [0151]
wherein a detection distance range of the scanning-based LiDAR assembly extends beyond a detection distance range of the non-scanning-based LiDAR assembly.(implicit flash lidar device is not for long distances in comparison to scanning lidars see evidence by D2 [0004])
but does not explicitly teach
the first FOV being different from, and overlapping with, the second FOV,
Although D1 does not teach limitation above it is just a matter of design choice to extend lidar data from short to long distance without gaps.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
2. The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein a vertical range scanned by the scanning-based LiDAR assembly overlaps with a vertical range illuminated by the non-scanning LiDAR assembly
It is just obvious modification which is associated with designing FOV coverage in order to provide continuous coverage of field of view.
3. The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein a vertical range scanned by the scanning-based LiDAR assembly does not overlap with a vertical range illuminated by the non-scanning LiDAR assembly.
It is just obvious modification which is associated with designing FOV coverage in order to provide with one lidar coverage in front of vehicle and second one side or back of the vehicle .
4. The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the detection distance range of the scanning based LiDAR assembly is up to 200 meters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, at the time of invention to modify apparatus by D1, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
5. The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the detection distance range of the non-scanning- based LiDAR assembly is up to 30 meters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, at the time of invention to modify apparatus by D1, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6, 23 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US 20180284246 A1 .
D1 teaches
wherein the non-scanning-based LiDAR assembly comprises a flash LiDAR device configured to simultaneously illuminate the second FOV in a single light pulse.[0151]
but does not teach while D3 teaches
6, 23 The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the scanning-based LiDAR assembly comprises a multi-facet polygon that is rotatable to scan the plurality of light beams to illuminate the first FOV, [0073]
12, 25 The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the scanning-based LiDAR assembly comprises a first laser source configured to provide the plurality of light beams at a first wavelength; wherein the non-scanning-based LiDAR assembly comprises a second laser source configured to provide the laser light at a second wavelength, the second wavelength being different from the first wavelength.[0096]
The additional features of claim 17 are also already known from document D3
(see paragraphs [0046] to [0049] in conjunction with figure 1: "A coating that is
HR for wavelengths away from a light-source operating wavelength may prevent
most incoming light at unwanted wavelengths from being transmitted through
the window 117.").
The additional features of claim 18 are also already known from document D3
(see paragraph [0090]: "... the flash lidar system may capture a point cloud with
a single emitted pulse of light that illuminates a field of regard.").
The additional features of claims 19, 20, 27, and 28 are also already known
from document D3(see paragraph [0064]: "..., the receiver 140 includes ... more
avalanche photodiodes ... more single-photon avalanche diodes ..., the receiver
140 includes ... more PN photodiodes...", and paragraph [0113]: "The vehicle
controller 372 then combines or stitches together the points clouds from the respective sensor heads 360 to construct a combined point cloud covering a 360-
degree horizontal view.").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D3 in order to provide scanner to scan the field of view as required by D1.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
7, 24 The LiDAR system of claim 6, wherein the scanning-based LiDAR assembly further comprises a fixed mirror configured to direct the plurality of light beams to the multi-facet polygon.
This is well known type of scanners and therefore It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by Official Notice in order to provide scanner to scan the beam. (see also US 5864391 A)
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
8. The LiDAR system of claim 6, wherein the multi-facet polygon is a variable angle multi- facet polygon (VAMFP), the VAMFP comprising a plurality of facets each having a facet angle, the facet angle of each facet corresponding to a vertical range of scanning, wherein the vertical range of at least one facet is different from the vertical ranges of other facets.
(Official Notice also presented in PCT report for the case PCT/US2022/048292)This is well known type of scanners and therefore It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by Official Notice in order to provide scanner to scan the beam. (see also US 5864391 A)
9. The LiDAR system of claim 8, wherein the VAMFP comprises four facets having facet angles of about 2.5 to 5 degrees apart, wherein the facet angles of the plurality of facets are configured such that a total vertical range of scanning of all the four facets is about 20 to 40 degrees.
(simple design choice in order to provide desired FOV)
10. The LiDAR system of claim 8, wherein the plurality of vertical ranges of all the facets are non-overlapping vertical ranges. (simple design choice in order to provide desired FOV)
11. The LiDAR system of claim 8, wherein at least two vertical ranges of the plurality of facets are overlapping vertical ranges. (simple design choice in order to provide desired FOV)
21. The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein a height of the LiDAR system is equal to or less than about 35-40 mm or is configured such that the LiDAR system is installable in a vehicle's side-view mirror or a support structure thereof.(Simple design choice)
Claim(s) 13, 26, 14 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US 20180284246 A1 further in view of D4 20180275251 .
Regarding claims bellow D1 does not teach but D4 teaches
13, 26 The LiDAR system of claim 12, wherein the scanning-based LiDAR assembly further comprises:
a collimation lens optically coupled to a first laser source, the collimation lens being configured to collimate the plurality of light beams provided by the first laser source;
a receiving lens configured to collect return light generated based on the illumination of the first FOV; and
a combining mirror disposed between the collimation lens and the receiving lens. (see paragraph [0049] in conjunction with figures 2 and 4: "..., the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include a beam source 210, a beam detector 220, a hole mirror 230, and a transmitting and receiving lens 240, ...").
14. The LiDAR system of claim 13, wherein the combining mirror comprises:
a first portion configured to allow passing of the plurality of light beams from the first laser source; and
a second portion configured to redirect the collected return light to a light detector. (see paragraph [0049] in conjunction with figures 2 and 4: "..., the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include a beam source 210, a beam detector 220, a hole mirror 230, and a transmitting and receiving lens 240, ...").
15. The LiDAR system of claim 14, wherein the first portion is a center portion of the combining mirror and the second portion is a portion of the combining mirror that is other than the center portion. (see paragraph [0049] in conjunction with figures 2 and 4: "..., the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include a beam source 210, a beam detector 220, a hole mirror 230, and a transmitting and receiving lens 240, ...").
16. The LiDAR system of claim 13, wherein the combining mirror comprises:
a first portion configured to allow passing of the collected return light to a light detector;
and a second portion configured to redirect the plurality of light beams from the first laser source.(simple light redirection design)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D4 in order to provide optical system which is capable of scanning with multiple frequencies .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645