DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 06/26/2025 which amended claims 1-2 and 6 and added new claim 8. Claims 1-8 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krames et al (US 2003/0141507; hereinafter referred to as Krames).
Regarding Claim 1, Krames teaches a light-emitting device (Figure 2; PXLED 100) comprising:
a substrate (Figure 2; Substrate 102),
a laminated structure (Figure 2; N-Doped Layer 108) having a plurality of column portions (Figure 2; Epi-Layers 124) and provided on the substrate (see Figure 2),
a first electrode (Figure 2; First Electrode Layer 104) provided on and in contact with the substrate (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0069]), and
a second electrode (Figure 2; Second Electrode Layer 120) provided on a side of the laminated structure (Figure 2; N-Doped Layer 108) opposite to the substrate (see Figure 2; wherein the second electrode layer 120 is on a side of the N-doped layer 108 opposite to the substrate 102), wherein
each of the plurality of column portions (Figure 2; Epi-Layers 124) includes a light-emitting layer (Figure 2; Active Layer 112),
the second electrode (Figure 2; Second Electrode Layer 120) is provided with a plurality of first holes (Figure 2; Holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-i),
the plurality of column portions (Figure 2; Epi-Layers 124) forms a first photonic crystal (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0038]),
the second electrode (Figure 2; Second Electrode Layer 120) forms a second photonic crystal (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0038]), and
the first photonic crystal (Figure 2; Epi-Layers 124) and the second photonic crystal (Figure 2; Second Electrode Layer 120) are optically coupled to each other (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0097]; wherein it is disclosed that the second electrode layer 120 can be deposited on epi-layers 124 directly, or bonding layer 121 can act as a second electrode layer).
Regarding Claim 2, Krames teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Krames further teaches each of the plurality of first holes (Figure 2; Holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-i) extends through the second electrode (see Figure 2; wherein the holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-I extend through second electrode layer 120).
Regarding Claim 3, Krames teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Krames further teaches each of the plurality of first holes (Figure 2; Holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-i) does not overlap with the plurality of column portions (Figure 2; Epi-Layers 124) when viewed from a vertical direction to the substrate (see Figure 2; wherein the holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-I do not overlap with the epi-layers 124 when viewed from a vertical or top-down direction with respect to the substrate 102).
Regarding Claim 5, Krames teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Krames further teaches each of the plurality of first holes (Figure 2; Holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-i) overlaps with the plurality of column portions (Figure 2; Epi-Layers 124) when viewed from a vertical direction to the substrate (see Figure 2; wherein the holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-I overlap the epi-layers 124 when viewed from a direction vertical to the left and right surface of substrate 102).
Regarding Claim 6, Krames teaches the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Krames further teaches each of the plurality of first holes (Figure 2; Holes 122-1, 122-2, 122-i) does not extend through the second electrode (see Figure 12E; Paragraph [0117]; wherein holes 122-i are filled up with a non-conducting material 143 to make the upper surface of the device approximately flat).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krames et al (US 2003/0141507; hereinafter referred to as Krames) as applied to claim 1, in view of Huang et al (US 2012/0050694; hereinafter referred to as Huang).
Regarding Claim 7, Krames teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Krames does not expressly disclose a projector comprising the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Huang discloses a light-emitting device (Figure 12; Light Emitting Unit Array 800), and a projector comprising the light emitting device (see Paragraph [0013]; wherein it is disclosed that the disclosure directs to a projection system including a display unit array and a projection lens set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light emitting device of Krames by incorporating said light emitting device into a projector, as taught by Huang, because doing so would produce an image projection device which utilizes a light source which has enhanced efficiency and emitted power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require each of the plurality of column portions comprises: a first semiconductor layer of a first conductive type, and a second semiconductor layer of a second conductive type that is different from the first conductive type, wherein the light-emitting layer is provided between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer, the first semiconductor layer is provided between the substrate and the light-emitting layer, the laminated structure includes a light propagation layer provided between adjacent column portions among the plurality of column portions, the light propagation layer is provided with a second hole, the second hole is coupled with one of the plurality of first holes, and a bottom surface of the second hole is positioned between the second semiconductor layers of adjacent column portions of the plurality of column portions.
These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claims 1-3 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Claim 8 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations requiring each of the plurality of column portions comprises: a first semiconductor layer of a first conductive type, and a second semiconductor layer of a second conductive type that is different from the first conductive type, wherein the light-emitting layer is provided between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer, the first semiconductor layer is provided between the substrate and the light-emitting layer, the laminated structure includes a light propagation layer provided between adjacent column portions among the plurality of column portions, the light propagation layer is provided with a second hole, the second hole is coupled with one of the plurality of first holes, and a bottom surface of the second hole is positioned between the second semiconductor layers of adjacent column portions of the plurality of column portions.
These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 8 renders the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882