DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments as filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered and entered but applicant’s arguments as filed are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see remarks, page 9, that Sake fails to teach the newly amended features such as generating and then transmitting operation screen to the external apparatus which operates the processing apparatus.
In reply, examiner disagrees that asserts that it’s a 103 combination rejection and not just a one reference 102 rejection, wherein, combination of Sako with Ritsuto sufficiently teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as amended, for instance, Sako teaches to generate an operation screen on which a communication is set (operation screen is generated by the cloud service 102 which is then which is transmitted to client terminal 100 via printing apparatus 101, paragraphs 51, 62) and transmit the operation screen to an external terminal that operates the processing apparatus (printing apparatus 101 transmits a screen as shown on the display of the client terminal 100 (i.e., external terminal) regarding cloud printing registration and confirming URL of cloud printing registration service, paragraphs 50-51, 62, wherein, client terminal 100 operates printing apparatus 101 as shown in fig. 5 to performs processing’s such as scanning, copying, etc., as shown in fig. 4, paragraph 44);
And, Ritsuto teaches an operation screen on which a communication destination is set for each processing content of a processing apparatus that performs predetermined processing in advance (screen is provided where destination URL corresponding to a region where the MFP is installed is set, see paragraphs 58, 60, 100, wherein, “MFP 101 has a scan function for transmitting data based on an image obtained by reading a document using a scanner to outside, a print function for printing an image on a sheet such as paper based on a print job received from an external apparatus, and a copy function. The MFP 101 can also receive a print job via the CPS registered in advance and perform printing”, paragraph 36 and also note that “a configuration may be employed in which the correspondence relationship between information identifying a country and a URL corresponding to a region and a script such as JavaScript® for operating a web content are transmitted to the client in advance, and the screen is dynamically updated on the client side. In this case, the web browser on the client terminal submits information input to each item in a web form to the MFP 101, paragraph 114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sako, US 2022/0038586 in view of Ritsuto Sako (hereinafter “Ritsuto”), US 2023/0137214.
Regarding claim 1, Sako discloses an information processing apparatus (printing apparatus 101, fig. 1) comprising: a processor (CPU 202, fig. 2 or operation control unit, fig. 3) configured to:
generate an operation screen on which a communication is set (operation screen is generated by the cloud service 102 which is then which is transmitted to client terminal 100 via printing apparatus 101 as shown on the display of the client terminal 100 (i.e., external terminal) for setting/confirming the confirmation URL regarding confirmation of cloud communication/computing function, paragraphs 51, 62) for each processing content of a processing apparatus (client terminal 100 operates printing apparatus 101 as shown in fig. 5, and printing apparatus performs processing’s such as scanning, copying, etc., as shown in fig. 4, paragraph 44);
transmit the operation screen to an external terminal that operates the processing apparatus (printing apparatus 101 transmits a screen as shown on the display of the client terminal 100 (i.e., external terminal) regarding cloud printing registration and confirming URL of cloud printing registration service, paragraphs 50-51, 62, wherein, client terminal 100 operates printing apparatus 101 as shown in fig. 5 to performs processing’s such as scanning, copying, etc., as shown in fig. 4, paragraph 44);
and set a command accepted from the external terminal (“screen 801 is a screen that is displayed when the confirmation URL 130 is accessed via a Web browser or the like of the client terminal 100. The screen 801 is displayed in response to reception of the screen information 114 for cloud printing registration confirmation. A field 802 is an input field for the user to enter the user code 136. When the user enters the user code 136 in the field 802 and presses the OK button 803, the cloud printing registration approval request 115 is transmitted. In this response to this, when the user confirmation request is received, the screen transitions to the screen 811, paragraph 73).
Sako fails to explicitly disclose generating an operation screen on which a communication destination is set for a processing apparatus that performs predetermined processing in advance; and set a command destination of processing content as the communication destination set for the processing content.
However, Ritsuto teaches generating an operation screen on which a communication destination is set for each processing content of a processing apparatus that performs predetermined processing in advance (screen is provided where destination URL corresponding to a region where the MFP is installed is set, see paragraphs 58, 60, 100, wherein, “MFP 101 has a scan function for transmitting data based on an image obtained by reading a document using a scanner to outside, a print function for printing an image on a sheet such as paper based on a print job received from an external apparatus, and a copy function. The MFP 101 can also receive a print job via the CPS registered in advance and perform printing”, paragraph 36 and also note that “a configuration may be employed in which the correspondence relationship between information identifying a country and a URL corresponding to a region and a script such as JavaScript® for operating a web content are transmitted to the client in advance, and the screen is dynamically updated on the client side. In this case, the web browser on the client terminal submits information input to each item in a web form to the MFP 101, paragraph 114);
and set a command destination of processing content as the communication destination set for the processing content (“MFP 101 communicates with a client and a cloud print service...If a registration process is executed, the MFP 101 is registered as an output destination printer of the cloud print service provided for a particular region. After the registration, the MFP 101 can perform printing via the cloud print service”, paragraphs 34, 86, 122).
Sako and Ritsuto are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printing apparatuses with cloud print service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako with the teachings of Ritsuto for the benefit of efficiently setting a registration destination region in a case where a printing control apparatus is registered in a cloud print service, as taught by Ritsuto at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Sako with Ritsuto further teaches set the command destination as the communication destination corresponding to an operation status of the processing apparatus (Sako teaches status confirmation button 413 is used to display and confirm the operating status of the printing apparatus 101 and also is operating status based on registration status, paragraphs 45, 62 and wherein, Ritsuto teaches based on confirming if cloud print function included in the MFP 101 is registered in the cloud print service, MFP 101 is registered as an output destination printer of the cloud print service provided for that region, paragraphs 58, 34).
Sako and Ritsuto are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printing apparatuses with cloud print service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako with the teachings of Ritsuto for the benefit of efficiently setting a registration destination region in a case where a printing control apparatus is registered in a cloud print service, as taught by Ritsuto at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 10, Sako discloses an information processing system (as shown in fig. 1) comprising: the information processing apparatus (cloud printing server 109, fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see the rationale as applied in claim 1 above); the processing apparatus (printing apparatus 101, fig. 1); and the external terminal (client terminal 100, fig. 1, paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 11, which recites a non-transitory computer readable medium version of claim 1, see rationale as applied above. Note that non-transitory computer readable medium is taught by Sako in paragraph 124, claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, is a method version of claim 1 and recites similar features, thus it is rejected on the same rationale.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sako, US 2022/0038586 in view of Ritsuto Sako (hereinafter “Ritsuto”), US 2023/0137214 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Haruki Sato (hereinafter “Haruki”), US 2013/0215442 further in view of Jun Sato (hereinafter “Jun”), US 2016/0156797.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Sako with Ritsuto fails to explicitly teach set information processing apparatus as communication destination in a case where operation status is a power saving state.
However, Haruki teaches management device transfers to information processing apparatus (another communication device) as communication destination in a case where operation status of processing apparatus (a communication device) is a power saving state (sleep state) (“management device that transfers IP-FAX whose destination is a communication device which is in the sleep state to another communication device selected from among communication devices which are not in the sleep state”, paragraph 7).
Sako and Ritsuto are combinable with Haruki because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating among plurality of information processing devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako and Ritsuto with the teachings of Haruki for the benefit of providing a communication device that allows a proxy reception device to perform proxy reception of data directed to the communication device as taught by Haruki at paragraph 12.
Combination of Sako with Ritsuto and Haruki Sato fails to teach setting communication destination in a case where operation status is a power saving state.
However, Jun teaches setting device as communication destination in a case where operation status of another device is in a power saving state (“relay apparatus 20 is connected to the PHY 71A and to the PHY 71B via individual communication lines and has a function of selecting the transmission destination of a received packet. Specifically, the relay apparatus 20 selects the MAC 73B as the transmission destination of a packet that is destined for the MAC 73B in a case where the MAC 73B is in the normal state, and selects the MAC 73A as the transmission destination of the packet in a case where the MAC 73B is in the power saving state”, paragraph 88).
Sako, Ritsuto and Haruki are combinable with Jun because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating among plurality of information processing devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako, Ritsuto and Haruki with the teachings of Jun for the benefit of selecting an efficient destination device which is in active and not in power saving state as taught by Jun at paragraph 88.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sako, US 2022/0038586 in view of Ritsuto Sako (hereinafter “Ritsuto”), US 2023/0137214 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Mizoguchi et al., US 2023/0171349 further in view of Fukaya, US 2011/0242587.
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Sako with Ritsuto fails to explicitly teach transmit, to processing apparatus, an operation history in which the processing apparatus is operated by information processing apparatus; and receive, from the processing apparatus, the operation history in which the processing apparatus is directly operated from external terminal.
However, Mizoguchi teaches transmit, to processing apparatus, an operation history in which the processing apparatus is operated by information processing apparatus (communication history is typically accumulated in the cloud server 108 which includes record result of the operation of the printhead as operated by cloud server, paragraphs 142-145, however, this operation history could be accumulated in printer 101 instead as holding the communication history table which is then transmitted to the cloud server 108, paragraph 150).
Sako and Ritsuto are combinable with Mizoguchi because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communications among information processing apparatus and printing apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako and Ritsuto with the teachings of Mizoguchi for the benefit of effectively maintain communication history table in either of devices which can be transmitted as required as taught by Mizoguchi at paragraph 150.
Combination of Sako with Ritsuto and Mizoguchi fails to further teach receiving, from processing apparatus, operation history in which the processing apparatus is directly operated from external terminal.
However, Fukaya teaches receiving, from processing apparatus, operation history in which the processing apparatus is directly operated from external terminal (client PCs which control/operate the image forming device by giving execution instructions, the history comprising as to when each image forming device performed an image stabilization process in response to execution instructions given is stored and relayed back by image forming device to the print server, which monitors working state of each image forming device at all times, paragraph 22).
Sako, Ritsuto and Mizoguchi are combinable with Fukaya because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating among plurality of information processing devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako, Ritsuto and Mizoguchi with the teachings of Fukaya for the benefit of performing printing which an operator desires even if the operator does not designate an image forming device from a client terminal, and performing desired high quality printing as taught by Fukaya at paragraph 7.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sako, US 2022/0038586 in view of Ritsuto Sako (hereinafter “Ritsuto”), US 2023/0137214 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Yoshida, US 2013/0077130.
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Sako with Ritsuto fails to explicitly teach receive information regarding a processing result processed in processing apparatus from the processing apparatus in a case of a predetermined debug mode.
However, Yoshida teaches receive information regarding a processing result processed in processing apparatus from the processing apparatus in a case of a predetermined debug mode (image processor 100 of printing device, paragraph 31, in case of executing a predetermined error process (i.e., debug mode), notifies the requesting information terminal 200 (that has requested printing) of the details of the error (i.e., result of printing process such as error in printing, paragraphs 168, 80).
Sako and Ritsuto are combinable with Yoshida because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating among plurality of information processing devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sako and Ritsuto with the teachings of Yoshida for the benefit of providing effective processing details of printing process in case of an error as taught by Yoshida at paragraph 168.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: cited prior arts and other related prior arts fail to explicitly teach that user can designate which processes are to be executed by the cloud/information processing apparatus and which tasks are executed by printing/processing apparatus as recited in claim 6, specifically “wherein, on the operation screen, a communication destination set for each processing content in advance is either the information processing apparatus or the processing apparatus”.
Claims 7-9 are dependent upon claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kusumoto, US 2023/0254432
Nakajima, US 2023/0168844
Ohshita, US 2021/0152634
Kado, US 2023/0195397
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683