DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 12, and 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al (2020/0404528) in view of Alawieh et al (2022/0286812) OR Manolakos et al (2023/0108914 hereinafter Manolakos ‘914) further in view of Wu et al (2020/0177253).
Regarding claims 1 and 19. Shi teaches a terminal device (figure 6, 0155 – UE comprising memory, processor, transceiver, and program) and a method for transmitting an aperiodic positioning report, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving trigger signaling, wherein the trigger signaling is used for triggering reporting of an aperiodic positioning report (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList); and
reporting one or more aperiodic positioning reports according to the trigger signaling (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList).
Regarding amendment 5/19/2025. Shi teaches wherein
Regarding RCE dated 9/10/2025. Shi does not explicitly teach
a positioning manner of positioning information, OR priority information for reporting the positioning information, wherein:
the positioning manner of positioning information indicates at least one method for positioning the terminal device, comprising: a downlink time difference of arrival positioning method (DL-PDOA), a downlink angle of departure positioning method (DLAOD), or a network-assisted satellite positioning method (A-GNSS), and
the priority information for reporting the positioning information indicates reporting positioning information with a high priority in the aperiodic positioning report:
Alawieh teaches providing configuration information regarding a positioning manner wherein the positioning manner comprises DL-AOD and/or DL-TDOA (0073) which enables the network to identify the optimum technology or set of measurements to be performed or reported (0003, 0020).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi to configure the UE with at least one method for positioning as taught by Alawieh which enables the network to identify the optimum technology or set of measurements to be performed or reported) thereby reducing latency and minimizing power consumption (Alawieh at 0003, 0020).
Shi in view of Alawieh do not explicitly teach OR priority information for reporting
Manolakos ‘914 teaches priority information for reporting wherein the positioning procedure (technique) to be implemented using positioning reference signals may influence priority of processing of positioning reference signals (0017, 0079- high-periodicity resource set may have a high periodicity because the content of the resource set is important and should be processed often). The network may provide the UE with priority information wherein the priority is based on a positioning technique (DL-PRS and/or UL-PRS) to be implemented (0076-0077 – configured to determine whether PRS (DL PRS or UL PRS) will be have higher priority than another reference signal, 0082-0083, 0089, 0103).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi to configure the UE with priority information as taught by Manolakos ‘914 which enables the network to prioritize DL-PRS over other reference signals enabling for prioritized position data to be prioritized over other reference signals.
Regarding amendment 12/16/2025. Shi teaches wherein the trigger signaling indicates at least one of the following:
OR
one or more trigger states, wherein each trigger state is associated with the one or more aperiodic positioning reports (0039-0040 – CSI trigger state list wherein there are two types of CSI triggering state lists: a CSI triggering state list corresponding to aperiodic (AP) reporting (called a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList), 0061 – In particular, when the first configuration information is configuration information for aperiodic reporting, configuration of each aperiodic triggering state includes the second information field wherein the second information field indicates a triggering state ID of the aperiodic triggering state, 0067 – in particular, when the first configuration information is configuration information for aperiodic reporting, a position of each aperiodic triggering state in the first configuration information corresponds to a triggering state ID of the aperiodic triggering state, see claim 3 – when the first configuration information is configuration information for aperiodic reporting, configuration information of each aperiodic triggering state comprises the second information field, wherein the second information indicates a triggering state ID of the aperiodic triggering state).
Shi does not explicitly teach an uplink resource used for reporting;
a time offset between the UL resource used for reporting and the trigger signaling; OR.
Wu teaches the BS may transmit an uplink grant to a UE, indicating resources during which the UE may transmit data to the BS. The UL grant may be associated with a timing offset between reception of the grant, and transmission of the UL data. Additionally, a BS may transmit a channel state information (CSI) trigger, which may initiate CSI measurement followed by a CSI report … the sets of indexed timing offsets may be configured at the UE in a higher layer (e.g., radio resource control (RRC) signaling) which reads on an uplink resource used for reporting (0004, 0030). A UE may be configured with a first set of indexed timing offsets for determining offsets between UL grants and UL data transmission and a second set of indexed timing offsets for determining offsets between an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) trigger and transmission of an aperiodic CSI report … for joint transmission of UL data and aperiodic CSI. The UE may transmit the UL data transmission and the aperiodic CSI report according to the timing offsets (abstract, see claim 1) which reads on a time offset between UL resource used for reporting and the trigger signaling.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh or Manolakos to configure the UE with timing offsets as taught by Wu in order to enable the UE to jointly transmit UL data and aperiodic CSI reporting thereby saving on network signaling.
Regarding claim 14. Shi teaches a communication device (figure 6, 0155 – network device comprises memory, processor, transceiver, and program) and a method for transmitting an aperiodic positioning report, performed by a network side device, comprising:
sending trigger signaling, wherein the trigger signaling is used for triggering reporting of an aperiodic positioning report (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList); and
receiving one or more aperiodic positioning reports reported by a terminal device according to the trigger signaling (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList).
Regarding amendment 5/19/2025. Shi teaches wherein
Regarding RCE dated 9/10/2025. Shi does not explicitly teach
a positioning manner of positioning information, OR priority information for reporting the positioning information, wherein:
the positioning manner of positioning information indicates at least one method for positioning the terminal device, comprising: a downlink time difference of arrival positioning method (DL-PDOA), a downlink angle of departure positioning method (DLAOD), or a network-assisted satellite positioning method (A-GNSS), and
the priority information for reporting the positioning information indicates reporting positioning information with a high priority in the aperiodic positioning report:
Alawieh teaches providing configuration information regarding a positioning manner wherein the positioning manner comprises DL-AOD and/or DL-TDOA (0073) which enables the network to identify the optimum technology or set of measurements to be performed or reported (0003, 0020).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi to configure the UE with at least one method for positioning as taught by Alawieh which enables the network to identify the optimum technology or set of measurements to be performed or reported) thereby reducing latency and minimizing power consumption (Alawieh at 0003, 0020).
Shi in view of Alawieh do not explicitly teach OR priority information for reporting
Manolakos ‘914 teaches priority information for reporting wherein the positioning procedure (technique) to be implemented using positioning reference signals may influence priority of processing of positioning reference signals (0017, 0079- high-periodicity resource set may have a high periodicity because the content of the resource set is important and should be processed often). The network may provide the UE with priority information wherein the priority is based on a positioning technique (DL-PRS and/or UL-PRS) to be implemented (0076-0077 – configured to determine whether PRS (DL PRS or UL PRS) will be have higher priority than another reference signal, 0082-0083, 0089, 0103).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi to configure the UE with priority information as taught by Manolakos ‘914 which enables the network to prioritize DL-PRS over other reference signals enabling for prioritized position data to be prioritized over other reference signals.
Regarding amendment 12/16/2025. Shi teaches wherein the trigger signaling indicates at least one of the following:
OR
one or more trigger states, wherein each trigger state is associated with the one or more aperiodic positioning reports (0039-0040 – CSI trigger state list wherein there are two types of CSI triggering state lists: a CSI triggering state list corresponding to aperiodic (AP) reporting (called a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList), 0061 – In particular, when the first configuration information is configuration information for aperiodic reporting, configuration of each aperiodic triggering state includes the second information field wherein the second information field indicates a triggering state ID of the aperiodic triggering state, 0067 – in particular, when the first configuration information is configuration information for aperiodic reporting, a position of each aperiodic triggering state in the first configuration information corresponds to a triggering state ID of the aperiodic triggering state, see claim 3 – when the first configuration information is configuration information for aperiodic reporting, configuration information of each aperiodic triggering state comprises the second information field, wherein the second information indicates a triggering state ID of the aperiodic triggering state).
Shi does not explicitly teach an uplink resource used for reporting;
a time offset between the UL resource used for reporting and the trigger signaling; OR.
Wu teaches the BS may transmit an uplink grant to a UE, indicating resources during which the UE may transmit data to the BS. The UL grant may be associated with a timing offset between reception of the grant, and transmission of the UL data. Additionally, a BS may transmit a channel state information (CSI) trigger, which may initiate CSI measurement followed by a CSI report … the sets of indexed timing offsets may be configured at the UE in a higher layer (e.g., radio resource control (RRC) signaling) which reads on an uplink resource used for reporting (0004, 0030). A UE may be configured with a first set of indexed timing offsets for determining offsets between UL grants and UL data transmission and a second set of indexed timing offsets for determining offsets between an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) trigger and transmission of an aperiodic CSI report … for joint transmission of UL data and aperiodic CSI. The UE may transmit the UL data transmission and the aperiodic CSI report according to the timing offsets (abstract, see claim 1) which reads on a time offset between UL resource used for reporting and the trigger signaling.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh or Manolakos to configure the UE with timing offsets as taught by Wu in order to enable the UE to jointly transmit UL data and aperiodic CSI reporting thereby saving on network signaling.
Regarding claims 3 and 16. Shi teaches wherein
a positioning report identifier (Table 1 – reportConfigInfo::= reportConfigID);
configuration information of an uplink resource (Table 1 – ResourcesForChannel);
a type of positioning information (0063 – the configuration information of each CSI-AperiodicTriggerState, a corresponding state ID field is added, so as to indicate the state ID corresponding to the triggering state by the state ID field. The value of the state ID is of a type of numeric); OR
a feedback time;
service quality information (Table 1 – qci-info);
Regarding claim 4. Shi teaches wherein the obtaining configuration information of the aperiodic positioning report further comprises:
obtaining a trigger state configuration associated with the configuration information, wherein the trigger state configuration comprises one or more trigger states, and each trigger state is used for associating with the one or more aperiodic positioning reports (0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., 0063 – CSI-AperiodicTriggerStatelist, in which a state ID field labelled with an underline is added, Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList ).
Regarding claims 6 and 17. Shi teaches wherein the aperiodic positioning report comprises at least one of the following:
a positioning report identifier (0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., 0063 – CSI-AperiodicTriggerStatelist, in which a state ID field labelled with an underline is added, Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList - reportConfinID));
positioning information (0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., 0063 – CSI-AperiodicTriggerStatelist, in which a state ID field labelled with an underline is added, Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList - reportConfinID));
a reason for failure of reporting the positioning information;
a positioning manner corresponding to the positioning information;
a reporting indication of remaining positioning information; or
a confirmation request,
wherein the positioning information in the aperiodic positioning report comprises a measurement result of a positioning reference signal, wherein the positioning reference signal comprises: a periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent positioning reference signal; or other reference signals for positioning (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList).
Regarding claims 7 and 18. Shi teaches wherein before the reporting one or more aperiodic positioning reports, the method further comprises:
obtaining indication information of the positioning reference signal wherein the indication information comprises at least one of the following:
a positioning reference signal resource set identifier (Table 1 – CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, nzp-CSI-RS resourceSET, CSI-SSB-ResourceSet, ResourceSetsPerConfig);
a positioning reference signal resource identifier (Table 1 – CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, nzp-CSI-RS resourceSET, CSI-SSB-ResourceSet, ResourceSetsPerConfig);
an emission and transmission point identifier; or
a positioning frequency layer identifier.
Regarding claim 12. Shi teaches wherein: the configuration information is sent to the terminal device in at least one of the following manners: the configuration information is sent through signaling by a position server; the configuration information is recommended or indicated to a serving base station through signaling by the position server, and is sent through signaling by the serving base station; or the configuration information is sent to the position server through signaling by the serving, base station, and is sent through signaling by the position server; or the trigger signaling is sent to the terminal device in at least one of the following manners: the trigger signaling is sent by a position server; the trigger signaling is recommended or indicated to a serving base station through signaling by the position server, and is sent through signaling by the serving base station; or the trigger signaling is sent to the position server through signaling by the serving base station, and is sent through signaling by the position server (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList).
Regarding claim 20. Shi teaches communication device, comprising: a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the computer program to perform the method for transmitting an aperiodic positioning report (0037 – network side can trigger a reporting operation of the UE by using the DCI, figure 2, 0050 – UE receives configuration information from a network device, 0054 – wherein the configuration information includes of at least one triggering state. Further, the configuration information may be RRC signalling for configuration a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList, 0055 – the configuration information of each trigger state may include: what information to measure, what information to report, a way of information reporting, etc., Table 1 provides information of a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList)
2. Claims 5, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al (2020/0404528) in view of Alawieh et al (2022/0286812) OR Manolakos et al (2023/0108914 hereinafter Manolakos ‘914) and Wu further in view of Lee (2020/0177254).
Regarding claim 5. Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information of the uplink resource comprises time domain configuration information or frequency domain configuration information of the uplink resource, wherein the time domain configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a time offset between the uplink resource and the trigger signaling; a number of symbols and symbol positions occupied by the uplink resource in a time slot; a period of the uplink resource; a time interval of the uplink resource; or a number of uplink resources.
Lee teaches the network may use DCI to trigger CSI reporting (0093) wherein Uplink Time Domain information for reporting CSI may correspond to WTRU-specific configuration and the UE may be configured to report CSI based on a level corresponding to a particular type of CSI feedback (0175) and the UE and network may negotiate increase CSI report timing (0176). The same uplink resources may be used for all CSI reporting instance within a CSI reporting set. Alternatively, slot index or time location of the CSI reporting instance may determine an UL resource for CSI reporting instance (0192). A DCI for aperiodic CSI reporting triggering may indicate one or more CSI reporting settings, where each CSI reporting setting may include an UL resource for the CSI reporting (0195).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to use DCI as taught by Lee in order to determine uplink resources to use for reporting CSI.
Regarding claim 8. Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not explicitly teach wherein the measurement result of the positioning reference signal is a measurement result of the positioning reference signal not later than a reference time, wherein the reference time is a moment when the terminal device receives the trigger signaling, or the reference time is a moment corresponding to a preset downlink resource before an uplink resource used for reporting the measurement result.
Lee teaches the network may use DCI to trigger CSI reporting (0093) wherein Uplink Time Domain information for reporting CSI may correspond to WTRU-specific configuration and the UE may be configured to report CSI based on a level corresponding to a particular type of CSI feedback (0175) and the UE and network may negotiate increase CSI report timing (0176). The same uplink resources may be used for all CSI reporting instance within a CSI reporting set. Alternatively, slot index or time location of the CSI reporting instance may determine an UL resource for CSI reporting instance (0192). A DCI for aperiodic CSI reporting triggering may indicate one or more CSI reporting settings, where each CSI reporting setting may include an UL resource for the CSI reporting (0195).
Lee further teaches for aperiodic CSI reporting, a UE may receive an aperiodic CSI reporting trigger indication with reporting time parameter. The CSI may be readied, i.e., the CSI measurement for the CSI reporting may be finished, some time before the CSI reporting timing. An amount of time a UE uses to determine, measure or prepare CSI for reporting, may depend on the implementation capabilities and details of the UE (0149-154). When a CSI processing time is less than a threshold, the UE may report CSI already measured or available before the aperiodic CSI reporting is triggered, or before a CSI-RS transmission occurring after the trigger, but before the CSI reporting (0157). The UE may indicate which CSIs are missing or not reported (0159). The UE may report CSI based on its capability, for example, if UE has high capability then report full CSI and/or if UE has medium capability then report subset of CSI (0161). The UE may report stale CSI and/or immediately report CSI (0177) and/or an offset may also be used (0186) and/or determination is made to report CSI based upon a length of calculated time gap (0219).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to use reporting time parameter as taught by Lee in order to dynamically adjust CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 9. Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not teach wherein a first uplink symbol of an uplink resource used by the one or more aperiodic positioning reports is later than a first uplink symbol after a target moment, wherein the target moment is a moment after an end moment of the trigger signaling and away from the end moment of the trigger signaling with an interval of a first duration; or the target moment is a moment after an end moment of a last symbol occupied by a latest resource in measurement resources and away from the end moment of the last symbol with an interval of a second duration.
Lee teaches the network may use DCI to trigger CSI reporting (0093) wherein Uplink Time Domain information for reporting CSI may correspond to WTRU-specific configuration and the UE may be configured to report CSI based on a level corresponding to a particular type of CSI feedback (0175) and the UE and network may negotiate increase CSI report timing (0176). The same uplink resources may be used for all CSI reporting instance within a CSI reporting set. Alternatively, slot index or time location of the CSI reporting instance may determine an UL resource for CSI reporting instance (0192). A DCI for aperiodic CSI reporting triggering may indicate one or more CSI reporting settings, where each CSI reporting setting may include an UL resource for the CSI reporting (0195).
Lee further teaches for aperiodic CSI reporting, a UE may receive an aperiodic CSI reporting trigger indication with reporting time parameter. The CSI may be readied, i.e., the CSI measurement for the CSI reporting may be finished, some time before the CSI reporting timing. An amount of time a UE uses to determine, measure or prepare CSI for reporting, may depend on the implementation capabilities and details of the UE (0149-154). When a CSI processing time is less than a threshold, the UE may report CSI already measured or available before the aperiodic CSI reporting is triggered, or before a CSI-RS transmission occurring after the trigger, but before the CSI reporting (0157). The UE may indicate which CSIs are missing or not reported (0159). The UE may report CSI based on its capability, for example, if UE has high capability then report full CSI and/or if UE has medium capability then report subset of CSI (0161). The UE may report stale CSI and/or immediately report CSI (0177) and/or an offset may also be used (0186) and/or determination is made to report CSI based upon a length of calculated time gap (0219).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to use a reference time parameter as taught by Lee in order to dynamically adjust CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 10. Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not teach wherein in a case that the triggering signaling triggers a plurality of positioning reports, a maximum time offset configured by each positioning report is adopted as a time offset between an uplink resource used for reporting each aperiodic positioning report and the triggering signaling.
Lee teaches the network may use DCI to trigger CSI reporting (0093) wherein Uplink Time Domain information for reporting CSI may correspond to WTRU-specific configuration and the UE may be configured to report CSI based on a level corresponding to a particular type of CSI feedback (0175) and the UE and network may negotiate increase CSI report timing (0176). The same uplink resources may be used for all CSI reporting instance within a CSI reporting set. Alternatively, slot index or time location of the CSI reporting instance may determine an UL resource for CSI reporting instance (0192). A DCI for aperiodic CSI reporting triggering may indicate one or more CSI reporting settings, where each CSI reporting setting may include an UL resource for the CSI reporting (0195).
Lee further teaches for aperiodic CSI reporting, a UE may receive an aperiodic CSI reporting trigger indication with reporting time parameter. The CSI may be readied, i.e., the CSI measurement for the CSI reporting may be finished, some time before the CSI reporting timing. An amount of time a UE uses to determine, measure or prepare CSI for reporting, may depend on the implementation capabilities and details of the UE (0149-154). When a CSI processing time is less than a threshold, the UE may report CSI already measured or available before the aperiodic CSI reporting is triggered, or before a CSI-RS transmission occurring after the trigger, but before the CSI reporting (0157). The UE may indicate which CSIs are missing or not reported (0159). The UE may report CSI based on its capability, for example, if UE has high capability then report full CSI and/or if UE has medium capability then report subset of CSI (0161). The UE may report stale CSI and/or immediately report CSI (0177) and/or an offset may also be used (0186) and/or determination is made to report CSI based upon a length of calculated time gap (0219).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to use a reference time parameter as taught by Lee in order to report CSI based on UE processing time capacity.
Regarding claim 13. Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not teach wherein before the receiving trigger signaling or before the reporting one or more aperiodic positioning reports, the method further comprises: reporting capability information, the capability information indicating whether the terminal device supports the reporting of the aperiodic positioning report, wherein the capability information is associated with a positioning manner and/or a positioning mode.
Lee teaches methods, apparatuses and systems for adaptively configuring and reporting CSI based on UE capability (0004-005, 0098, 0104 – UE reports capability to the network for adaptively configuring CSI reporting, 0115 – an offset may be determined based on UE capability, 0148 – UE reports a capability of CSI reporting and timing, 0149-0150 – UE may receive an aperiodic CSI reporting trigger based on UE capability, 0158, 0161 – UE may report one or more CSIs based on UE capability, 0162 – UE reports CSI capability and network configures CSI reporting).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to report UE capability to the network as taught by Lee in order enable the network configure CSI reporting based on UE capability.
3. Claims 2, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Alawieh et al (2022/0286812) OR Manolakos et al (2023/0108914 hereinafter Manolakos ‘914) and Wu further in view of Manolakos et al (2023/0067569).
Regarding claims 2 and 15. Shi in view of Alawieh or Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not explicitly teach wherein the signaling further at least one of the following: a positioning manner of the reported positioning information.
Manolakos teaches the UE transmits UL reference signal (0010, 0020, 0022, 0095 – UE transmits a common or individual RTT response message (e.g., SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) for positioning, i.e., UL-PRS) to the one or more base stations, 0101 – Positioning reference signals PRS include DL PRS and uplink PRS which may be called SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) for positioning).
Manolakos further teaches aperiodic positioning report (0019, 0021-0022, 0038) including multi-RTT positioning (0062, 0064, 0094 – multi-RTT, 0108 – RTT with multiple eNBs) wherein UE transmits a common RTT response message thus saving on network signalling (0095). The aperiodic positioning may be triggered by DCI (0125-0126).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh or Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to configure UL-PRS to the UE as taught by Manolakos in order to enable the network to determine the UE’s location thus improving location accuracy.
Regarding claim 11. Shi in view of Alawieh OR Manolakos ‘914 and Wu do not explicitly teach wherein
Manolakos teaches the UE transmits UL reference signal (0010, 0020, 0022, 0095 – UE transmits a common or individual RTT response message (e.g., SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) for positioning, i.e., UL-PRS) to the one or more base stations, 0101 – Positioning reference signals PRS include DL PRS and uplink PRS which may be called SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) for positioning).
Manolakos further teaches aperiodic positioning report (0019, 0021-0022, 0038) including multi-RTT positioning (0062, 0064, 0094 – multi-RTT, 0108 – RTT with multiple eNBs) wherein UE transmits a common RTT response message thus saving on network signalling (0095). The aperiodic positioning may be triggered by DCI (0125-0126).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shi in view of Alawieh or Manolakos ‘914 and Wu to configure UL-PRS to the UE as taught by Manolakos in order to enable the network to determine the UE’s location thus improving location accuracy.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2023/0120578) Khoshnevisan et al teaches an aperiodic CSI report, which generally has a higher priority than a semi-persistent or periodic CSI report (0043, 0048, 0067).
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646