DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 recite "a first signal" and “a second signal” on multiple occasions. It is unclear whether this is meant to be the same first and second signal, or different first and second signals, or different occasions, etc. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on independent claims 1, 6, 11, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al (US 20230138449 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses
A first node for wireless communication, comprising ([0043] base station 180):
a first receiver, to receive a first signaling and a second signaling, the first signaling being used for determining a first air interface resource block and a first bit block, the second signaling being used for determining K air interface resource blocks, and the K being a positive integer greater than 2 ([0043] base station includes a plurality of antennas to facilitate beamforming (receiver); [0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078], [0080], and [Fig. 8] Beam 1 with uplink control information UCI on 810a is determined to collide, and the UCI is multiplexed onto Beam 1 (first signaling) using resource block 820a’ (for determining air interface resource block and first bit block) and Beam 2 with UCI is multiplexed to Beam 2 (second signaling) on resource block 820c’, where resource blocks 820a’, 820b’, 820c’, and 820d’ are used in PUSCH 820’ (used for determining K air interface resource blocks, K being a positive integer greater than 2; K is 4 as there are 4 RBs 820a-d'); [0069]-[0070] UE decides to multiplex the PUSCH transmission (determining the resource blocks) based on the one or more of the beam of the PUCCH transmission (Beam 1 UCI 810a) and the beam of the PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 820, or PUSCH 820’)); and
a first transmitter, to transmit K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively, the K air interface resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain ([0043] base station includes a plurality of antennas to facilitate beamforming (transmitter); [0004], [0078]-[0080], and [Fig. 8] PUSCH repetitions are transmitted (K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively), and when repetitions of any of the resource blocks are determined to overlap or collide in the time horizontal dimension (time domain), the UE multiplexes the resource blocks to avoid this collision (resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain));
wherein the first air interface resource block and any one of the K air interface resource blocks are overlapping in time domain; the K signals all carry a second bit block; a first signal subset is spatially correlated to a first reference signal, and a second signal subset is spatially correlated to a second reference signal; the first signal subset and the second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively, the first reference signal and the second reference signal cannot be assumed to be quasi-co-located; only a first signal and a second signal among the K signals carry the first bit block; the first signal is a first signal in the first signal subset, and the second signal is a first signal in the second signal subset ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078] and [Fig. 8] repetitions overlap in the time horizontal dimension (overlapping in time domain), with four PUSCH repetitions on resource blocks (K signals carry a second bit block), where some transmissions use Beam 1 (a first signal subset spatially correlated to a first reference signal) and some transmissions use Beam 2 (second signal subset spatially correlated to a second reference signal), and Example 1 shows the K signals (first signal subset and second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively) being from Beam 1 and Beam 2; [0080] and [Fig. 8] UCI is multiplexed on resource 820a’ on Beam 1 and on resource 820c’ on Beam 2 (first signal and second signal among K signals carry first bit block, with the first signal is first in the first subset, and the second signal is first in the second subset)).
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan discloses
The first node according to claim 1, wherein the first receiver receives a third signal, the first signaling is used for determining configuration information of the third signal, and the third signal is used for determining the first bit block ([0043] base station includes a plurality of antennas to facilitate beamforming (receiver); [0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0080] and [Fig. 8] the UCI that is carried by 810a (first signaling used for configuration information of the third signal) is transmitted by the UE, and the UCI that would have been carried by 810b is multiplexed onto the third repetition of PUSCH 820’’ (third signal received used for determining first bit block)).
Regarding claim 4, Khoshnevisan discloses
The first node according to claim 1, wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal, and the first sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signal comprises a second sub-signal, and the second sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signaling indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any one of the K air interfaces resource blocks is not greater than the target integer; and the target integer is used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and a number of resource elements occupied by the second sub-signal ([0052]-[0053] each frame is divided into subframes (first and second signals comprise a first and second sub-signal) which each include one or more time slots, where the time slots each include a resource block (first and second sub-signals carry the first bit block), and each time slot may include 7 or 14 symbols (indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any of the K air interface resource blocks not greater than the target integer), where the time slots each includes a resource block and the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements which each carries a number of bits dependent upon the modulation scheme (target integer used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and second sub-signal)).
Regarding claim 5, Khoshnevisan discloses
The first node according to claim 1, wherein a time interval between an earliest air interface resource block among the K air interface resource blocks and the first signaling is not less than a first interval; the first interval is correlated to a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block ([0052]-[0053] each subframe of 1ms includes one or more time slots (time interval between earliest air interface resource block not less than a first interval), where symbol length/duration is inversely related to the subcarrier spacing, and each time slot includes a resource block the extends 12 consecutive subcarriers (first interval correlated to subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block)).
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan discloses
A second node for wireless communication, comprising ([0043] UE 104):
a second transmitter, to transmit a first signaling and a second signaling, the first signaling being used for determining a first air interface resource block and a first bit block, the second signaling being used for determining K air interface resource blocks, and the K being a positive integer greater than 2 ([0043] UE includes a plurality of antennas to facilitate beamforming (transmitter); [0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078], [0080], and [Fig. 8] Beam 1 with uplink control information UCI on 810a is determined to collide, and the UCI is multiplexed onto Beam 1 (first signaling) using resource block 820a’ (for determining air interface resource block and first bit block) and Beam 2 with UCI is multiplexed to Beam 2 (second signaling) on resource block 820c’, where resource blocks 820a’, 820b’, 820c’, and 820d’ are used in PUSCH 820’ (used for determining K air interface resource blocks, K being a positive integer greater than 2; K is 4 as there are 4 RBs 820a-d'); [0069]-[0070] UE decides to multiplex the PUSCH transmission (determining the resource blocks) based on the one or more of the beam of the PUCCH transmission (Beam 1 UCI 810a) and the beam of the PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 820, or PUSCH 820’)); and
a second receiver, to receive K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively, the K air interface resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain ([0043] UE includes a plurality of antennas to facilitate beamforming (receiver); [0004], [0078]-[0080], and [Fig. 8] PUSCH repetitions are transmitted (K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively), and when repetitions of any of the resource blocks are determined to overlap or collide in the time horizontal dimension (time domain), the UE multiplexes the resource blocks to avoid this collision (resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain));
wherein the first air interface resource block and any one of the K air interface resource blocks are overlapping in time domain; the K signals all carry a second bit block; a first signal subset is spatially correlated to a first reference signal, and a second signal subset is spatially correlated to a second reference signal; the first signal subset and the second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively, the first reference signal and the second reference signal cannot be assumed to be quasi-co-located; only a first signal and a second signal among the K signals carry the first bit block; the first signal is a first signal in the first signal subset, and the second signal is a first signal in the second signal subset ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078] and [Fig. 8] repetitions overlap in the time horizontal dimension (overlapping in time domain), with four PUSCH repetitions on resource blocks (K signals carry a second bit block), where some transmissions use Beam 1 (a first signal subset spatially correlated to a first reference signal) and some transmissions use Beam 2 (second signal subset spatially correlated to a second reference signal), and Example 1 shows the K signals (first signal subset and second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively) being from Beam 1 and Beam 2; [0080] and [Fig. 8] UCI is multiplexed on resource 820a’ on Beam 1 and on resource 820c’ on Beam 2 (first signal and second signal among K signals carry first bit block, with the first signal is first in the first subset, and the second signal is first in the second subset)).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan discloses
The second node according to claim 6, wherein the second transmitter transmits a third signal, the first signaling is used for determining configuration information of the third signal, and the third signal is used for determining the first bit block ([0043] UE includes a plurality of antennas to facilitate beamforming (transmitter); [0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0080] and [Fig. 8] the UCI that is carried by 810a (first signaling used for configuration information of the third signal) is transmitted by the UE, and the UCI that would have been carried by 810b is multiplexed onto the third repetition of PUSCH 820’’ (third signal received used for determining first bit block)).
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan discloses
The second node according to claim 6, wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal, and the first sub- signal carries the first bit block; the second signal comprises a second sub-signal, and the second sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signaling indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any one of the K air interfaces resource blocks is not greater than the target integer; and the target integer is used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and a number of resource elements occupied by the second sub-signal ([0052]-[0053] each frame is divided into subframes (first and second signals comprise a first and second sub-signal) which each include one or more time slots, where the time slots each include a resource block (first and second sub-signals carry the first bit block), and each time slot may include 7 or 14 symbols (indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any of the K air interface resource blocks not greater than the target integer), where the time slots each includes a resource block and the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements which each carries a number of bits dependent upon the modulation scheme (target integer used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and second sub-signal)).
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan discloses
The second node according to claim 6, wherein a time interval between an earliest air interface resource block among the K air interface resource blocks and the first signaling is not less than a first interval; the first interval is correlated to a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block ([0052]-[0053] each subframe of 1ms includes one or more time slots (time interval between earliest air interface resource block not less than a first interval), where symbol length/duration is inversely related to the subcarrier spacing, and each time slot includes a resource block the extends 12 consecutive subcarriers (first interval correlated to subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block)).
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan discloses
A method in a first node for wireless communication, comprising ([0004] method in a wireless communication system; [0043] base station 180):
receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being used for determining a first air interface resource block and a first bit block ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078], [0080], and [Fig. 8] Beam 1 with uplink control information UCI on 810a is determined to collide, and the UCI is multiplexed onto Beam 1 (first signaling) using resource block 820a’ (for determining air interface resource block and first bit block));
receiving a second signaling, the second signaling being used for determining K air interface resource blocks, and the K being a positive integer greater than 2 ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); Beam 2 with UCI is multiplexed to Beam 2 (second signaling) on resource block 820c’, where resource blocks 820a’, 820b’, 820c’, and 820d’ are used in PUSCH 820’ (used for determining K air interface resource blocks, K being a positive integer greater than 2; K is 4 as there are 4 RBs 820a-d'); [0069]-[0070] UE decides to multiplex the PUSCH transmission (determining the resource blocks) based on the one or more of the beam of the PUCCH transmission (Beam 1 UCI 810a) and the beam of the PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 820, or PUSCH 820’)); and
transmitting K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively, the K air interface resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain ([0004], [0078]-[0080], and [Fig. 8] PUSCH repetitions are transmitted (K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively), and when repetitions of any of the resource blocks are determined to overlap or collide in the time horizontal dimension (time domain), the UE multiplexes the resource blocks to avoid this collision (resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain));
wherein the first air interface resource block and any one of the K air interface resource blocks are overlapping in time domain; the K signals all carry a second bit block; a first signal subset is spatially correlated to a first reference signal, and a second signal subset is spatially correlated to a second reference signal; the first signal subset and the second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively, the first reference signal and the second reference signal cannot be assumed to be quasi-co-located; only a first signal and a second signal among the K signals carry the first bit block: the first signal is a first signal in the first signal subset, and the second signal is a first signal in the second signal subset ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078] and [Fig. 8] repetitions overlap in the time horizontal dimension (overlapping in time domain), with four PUSCH repetitions on resource blocks (K signals carry a second bit block), where some transmissions use Beam 1 (a first signal subset spatially correlated to a first reference signal) and some transmissions use Beam 2 (second signal subset spatially correlated to a second reference signal), and Example 1 shows the K signals (first signal subset and second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively) being from Beam 1 and Beam 2; [0080] and [Fig. 8] UCI is multiplexed on resource 820a’ on Beam 1 and on resource 820c’ on Beam 2 (first signal and second signal among K signals carry first bit block, with the first signal is first in the first subset, and the second signal is first in the second subset)).
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan discloses
The method according to claim 11, comprising:
receiving a third signal ([0080] and [Fig. 8] third repetition);
wherein the first signaling is used for determining configuration information of the third signal, and the third signal is used for determining the first bit block ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0080] and [Fig. 8] the UCI that is carried by 810a (first signaling used for configuration information of the third signal) is transmitted by the UE, and the UCI that would have been carried by 810b is multiplexed onto the third repetition of PUSCH 820’’ (third signal received used for determining first bit block)).
Regarding claim 14, Khoshnevisan discloses
The method according to claim 11, wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal. and the first sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signal comprises a second sub-signal. and the second sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signaling indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any one of the K air interfaces resource blocks is not greater than the target integer: and the target integer is used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and a number of resource elements occupied by the second sub-signal ([0052]-[0053] each frame is divided into subframes (first and second signals comprise a first and second sub-signal) which each include one or more time slots, where the time slots each include a resource block (first and second sub-signals carry the first bit block), and each time slot may include 7 or 14 symbols (indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any of the K air interface resource blocks not greater than the target integer), where the time slots each includes a resource block and the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements which each carries a number of bits dependent upon the modulation scheme (target integer used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and second sub-signal)).
Regarding claim 15, Khoshnevisan discloses
The method according to claim 11.wherein a time interval between an earliest air interface resource block among the K air interface resource blocks and the first signaling is not less than a first interval: the first interval is correlated to a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block ([0052]-[0053] each subframe of 1ms includes one or more time slots (time interval between earliest air interface resource block not less than a first interval), where symbol length/duration is inversely related to the subcarrier spacing, and each time slot includes a resource block the extends 12 consecutive subcarriers (first interval correlated to subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block)).
Regarding claim 16, Khoshnevisan discloses
A method in a second node for wireless communication, comprising ([0004] method in a wireless communication system with a UE (second node)):
transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling being used for determining a first air interface resource block and a first bit block ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078], [0080], and [Fig. 8] Beam 1 with uplink control information UCI on 810a is determined to collide, and the UCI is multiplexed onto Beam 1 (first signaling) using resource block 820a’ (for determining air interface resource block and first bit block));
transmitting a second signaling, the second signaling being used for determining K air interface resource blocks, and the K being a positive integer greater than 2 ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); Beam 2 with UCI is multiplexed to Beam 2 (second signaling) on resource block 820c’, where resource blocks 820a’, 820b’, 820c’, and 820d’ are used in PUSCH 820’ (used for determining K air interface resource blocks, K being a positive integer greater than 2; K is 4 as there are 4 RBs 820a-d'); [0069]-[0070] UE decides to multiplex the PUSCH transmission (determining the resource blocks) based on the one or more of the beam of the PUCCH transmission (Beam 1 UCI 810a) and the beam of the PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 820, or PUSCH 820’)); and
receiving K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively, the K air interface resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain ([0004], [0078]-[0080], and [Fig. 8] PUSCH repetitions are transmitted (K signals in the K air interface resource blocks respectively), and when repetitions of any of the resource blocks are determined to overlap or collide in the time horizontal dimension (time domain), the UE multiplexes the resource blocks to avoid this collision (resource blocks are pairwise orthogonal in time domain));
wherein the first air interface resource block and any one of the K air interface resource blocks are overlapping in time domain; the K signals all carry a second bit block; a first signal subset is spatially correlated to a first reference signal, and a second signal subset is spatially correlated to a second reference signal; the first signal subset and the second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively, the first reference signal and the second reference signal cannot be assumed to be quasi-co-located; only a first signal and a second signal among the K signals carry the first bit block; the first signal is a first signal in the first signal subset, and the second signal is a first signal in the second signal subset ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0078] and [Fig. 8] repetitions overlap in the time horizontal dimension (overlapping in time domain), with four PUSCH repetitions on resource blocks (K signals carry a second bit block), where some transmissions use Beam 1 (a first signal subset spatially correlated to a first reference signal) and some transmissions use Beam 2 (second signal subset spatially correlated to a second reference signal), and Example 1 shows the K signals (first signal subset and second signal subset comprise at least one signal among the K signals respectively) being from Beam 1 and Beam 2; [0080] and [Fig. 8] UCI is multiplexed on resource 820a’ on Beam 1 and on resource 820c’ on Beam 2 (first signal and second signal among K signals carry first bit block, with the first signal is first in the first subset, and the second signal is first in the second subset)).
Regarding claim 17, Khoshnevisan discloses
The method according to claim 16, comprising:
transmitting a third signal ([0080] and [Fig. 8] third repetition);
wherein the first signaling is used for determining configuration information of the third signal, and the third signal is used for determining the first bit block ([0053] each time slot includes a resource block RB, where the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements REs, and each RE carries a certain number of bits (bit block in resource block); [0080] and [Fig. 8] the UCI that is carried by 810a (first signaling used for configuration information of the third signal) is transmitted by the UE, and the UCI that would have been carried by 810b is multiplexed onto the third repetition of PUSCH 820’’ (third signal received used for determining first bit block)).
Regarding claim 19, Khoshnevisan discloses
The method according to claim 16, wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal, and the first sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signal comprises a second sub-signal, and the second sub-signal carries the first bit block; the second signaling indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any one of the K air interfaces resource blocks is not greater than the target integer; and the target integer is used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and a number of resource elements occupied by the second sub-signal ([0052]-[0053] each frame is divided into subframes (first and second signals comprise a first and second sub-signal) which each include one or more time slots, where the time slots each include a resource block (first and second sub-signals carry the first bit block), and each time slot may include 7 or 14 symbols (indicates a target integer, and a number of multicarrier symbols occupied by any of the K air interface resource blocks not greater than the target integer), where the time slots each includes a resource block and the resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements which each carries a number of bits dependent upon the modulation scheme (target integer used for determining a number of resource elements occupied by the first sub-signal and second sub-signal)).
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan discloses
The method according to claim 16, wherein a time interval between an earliest air interface resource block among the K air interface resource blocks and the first signaling is not less than a first interval; the first interval is correlated to a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block ([0052]-[0053] each subframe of 1ms includes one or more time slots (time interval between earliest air interface resource block not less than a first interval), where symbol length/duration is inversely related to the subcarrier spacing, and each time slot includes a resource block the extends 12 consecutive subcarriers (first interval correlated to subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first air interface resource block)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al (US 20230138449 A1), and further in view of Cirik et al (US 20210136802 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Khoshnevisan teaches The first node according to claim 1, as is described above.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCI codepoint.
However, Cirik does teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCI codepoint ([0369]-[0370] a single TCI codepoint can indicate two default TCI states, where each of a first and second reference signal are indicated by one of the two default TCI states (first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint)).
Khoshnevisan and Cirik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring wireless communications between a UE and a base station. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to include the teachings of Cirik where the first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint. The rationale behind this would be to allow different default receiving beams to be used in different transmission occasions ([0004] Cirik).
Regarding claim 8, Khoshnevisan teaches The second node according to claim 6, as is described above.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCJ codepoint.
However, Cirik does teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCJ codepoint ([0369]-[0370] a single TCI codepoint can indicate two default TCI states, where each of a first and second reference signal are indicated by one of the two default TCI states (first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint)).
Khoshnevisan and Cirik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring wireless communications between a UE and a base station. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to include the teachings of Cirik where the first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint. The rationale behind this would be to allow different default receiving beams to be used in different transmission occasions ([0004] Cirik).
Regarding claim 13, Khoshnevisan teaches The method according to claim 11, as is described above.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCI codepoint.
However, Cirik does teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCI codepoint ([0369]-[0370] a single TCI codepoint can indicate two default TCI states, where each of a first and second reference signal are indicated by one of the two default TCI states (first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint)).
Khoshnevisan and Cirik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring wireless communications between a UE and a base station. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to include the teachings of Cirik where the first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint. The rationale behind this would be to allow different default receiving beams to be used in different transmission occasions ([0004] Cirik).
Regarding claim 18, Khoshnevisan teaches The method according to claim 16, as is described above.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCI codepoint.
However, Cirik does teach wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal correspond to a same TCI codepoint ([0369]-[0370] a single TCI codepoint can indicate two default TCI states, where each of a first and second reference signal are indicated by one of the two default TCI states (first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint)).
Khoshnevisan and Cirik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring wireless communications between a UE and a base station. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to include the teachings of Cirik where the first and second reference signals both correspond to the same TCI codepoint. The rationale behind this would be to allow different default receiving beams to be used in different transmission occasions ([0004] Cirik).
Conclusion
The following is prior art made of record and not relied upon, but considered to be pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20160381674 A1 to Kim et al discloses a terminal multiplexing UCI and determining if there is overlap existing between PUSCH and PUCCH channels ([Abstract] Kim).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478