DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant canceled all previous claims and added all new claims. The examiner notes that the new claims are clearly different than those that were initially presented and he could have sent a directive/action stating that the amendment was “non-responsive” (based on original presentation).
The new claims are addressed below.
Some claims use terms/phrases that are not defined in the claim and are therefore open to a broad/reasonable interpretation.
The examiner believes a more favorable outcome may occur if the applicant amends as follows:
Independent claim + claim 22 + claim 23 + claim 25 + claim 26 + claim 28
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li US 2021/0258813 and further in view of Golitschek Edler Von Elbwart et al. US 2022/0039156.
As per claim 1, Li US 2021/0258813 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: a transceiver; and a processor; wherein the transceiver and the processor (Figures 1-6 show hardware/UE) are configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) – Para #4 teaches the UE receiving DCI information
[0004] The terminal may determine a receiving beam of DCI (Downlink Control Information)
wherein the DCI indicates a first TC] state and a second TCI state – Para #4 teaches that one or more TCI states may be sent to the UE (via DCI); and
[From Para #4] the network access equipment may determine at least one Type D TCI (Transmission Configuration Indication) state based on the beam measurement report from the terminal, and each TCI state corresponds to one RS identifier. Further, the network access equipment notifies the terminal of the at least one TCI state through RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, including an identifier of each TCI state and the corresponding RS type and RS identifier; if the RRC signaling notifies a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may activate one of the plurality of TCI states…
[0030] In one example, the set of target TCI states is a set of TCI states of PDCCH indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through RRC signaling, or activated by the network access equipment through MAC CE signaling. For a beam transmission scenario, when the terminal determines a receiving beam of DCI, the network access equipment may indicate the set of TCI states of PDCCH to the terminal through the RRC signaling, in which this set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state. Optionally, this set of TCI states includes up to 64 TCI states. In addition, if the set of TCI states of PDCCH, indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through the RRC signaling, includes a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may also activate one of the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE signaling.
determine a target TCI state from among the first TCI state and the second TCl state (Para #4 below teaches that one or more TCI’s can be sent and that the “activated TCI state” (i.e. target or preferred TCI) is provided/sent to the UE. Para’s 30-31 below teaches a set of TCI states that can be identified); and
[From Para #4] Further, the network access equipment notifies the terminal of the at least one TCI state through RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, including an identifier of each TCI state and the corresponding RS type and RS identifier; if the RRC signaling notifies a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may activate one of the plurality of TCI states through MAC (Medium Access Control) CE (Control Element) signaling, and the activated TCI state is transmission state configuration of PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) provided to the terminal by the network access equipment, that is, the terminal is notified that a receiving beam for receiving DCI on PDCCH should be the same as a receiving beam for receiving RS corresponding to the TCI state. Subsequently, the terminal may use the determined receiving beam to receive the DCI on the PDCCH.
[0030] In one example, the set of target TCI states is a set of TCI states of PDCCH indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through RRC signaling, or activated by the network access equipment through MAC CE signaling. For a beam transmission scenario, when the terminal determines a receiving beam of DCI, the network access equipment may indicate the set of TCI states of PDCCH to the terminal through the RRC signaling, in which this set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state. Optionally, this set of TCI states includes up to 64 TCI states. In addition, if the set of TCI states of PDCCH, indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through the RRC signaling, includes a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may also activate one of the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE signaling.
[0031] In another example, the set of target TCI states is a set of TCI states of PDSCH indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through RRC signaling, or activated by the network access equipment through MAC CE signaling. For a beam transmission scenario, when the terminal determines a receiving beam of downlink data, the network access equipment may indicate the set of TCI states of PDCCH to the terminal through the RRC signaling, in which this set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state. Optionally, this set of TCI states includes up to 64 TCI states. In addition, the network access equipment may also activate at least one of the plurality TCI states through the MAC CE signaling, such as activating up to 8 TCI states in the plurality of TCI states.
receive a PDCCH transmission in a time-frequency-resource pool (Para #30 teaches the PDCCH is transmitted/received wirelessly which uses both time and frequency supported by the transceivers, hence a “resource pool” of time/frequency can be used for transmission/reception);
[0030] In one example, the set of target TCI states is a set of TCI states of PDCCH indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through RRC signaling, or activated by the network access equipment through MAC CE signaling. For a beam transmission scenario, when the terminal determines a receiving beam of DCI, the network access equipment may indicate the set of TCI states of PDCCH to the terminal through the RRC signaling, in which this set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state. Optionally, this set of TCI states includes up to 64 TCI states. In addition, if the set of TCI states of PDCCH, indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through the RRC signaling, includes a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may also activate one of the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE signaling.
wherein the target TCI state is used to receive the PDCCH transmission (See above passages/paragraphs cited that teach the target/preferred TCI is used to receive the PDCCH); and
but is silent on
wherein the determination of whether the target TCI state is the first TCI state or the second TCI state is based on whether the time-frequency-resource pool is within a time window.
Golitschek Edler Von Elbwart et al. US 2022/0039156 teaches that the UE has a sensing period and that a channel occupancy can be determined (i.e. if the gNB will be transmitting during that time period) and should be avoided. He teaches that this information can be received in the PDCCH/DCI data. Thusly, the target/preferred TCI state is based on whether the time-frequency resource pool (TFRP) is within a window (i.e. channel occupancy – see Claim 2 which defines the TFRP as a channel occupancy/occupy time)
[0064] In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of a serving gNB's transmission. Because the serving gNB is assigning scheduling resources, the serving gNB can be assumed to not assign transmission resources to any UE if it intends to transmit itself. Therefore, it may be beneficial if the serving gNB's channel occupancy is excluded from the channel statistics. In some embodiments, a UE may obtain information about a serving gNB's channel occupancy from a channel (e.g., a PDCCH, DCI, etc.) that conveys information about the channel occupancy structure, or by detecting the presence of gNB-specific signals such as DM-RS. In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of another UE's transmission. In such embodiments, the UE may know about another UE's transmission from information transmitted by the gNB or from other UEs. In certain embodiments, a gNB may explicitly indicate periods that a UE may ignore (or not ignore). Such embodiments may be like a blacklist (e.g., time periods to ignore channel statistics) or whitelist (e.g., time periods to capture channel statistics), which may be conveyed by an RRC message.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention’s filing date, to modify Li, such that wherein the determination of whether the target TCI state is the first TCI state or the second TCI state is based on whether the time-frequency-resource pool is within a time window, to provide the ability to select a target/preferred TCI based on a time window/channel occupancy.
As per claims 22 and 32, the combo teaches claim 21/31, but is silent on wherein the time window is associated with a channel occupancy time (COT).
Golitschek Edler Von Elbwart et al. US 2022/0039156 teaches that the UE has a sensing period and that a channel occupancy can be determined (i.e. if the gNB will be transmitting during that time period) and should be avoided. Thusly, the target/preferred TCI state is based on whether the time-frequency resource pool (TFRP) is within a window (i.e. channel occupancy – see Claim 2 which defines the TFRP as a channel occupancy/occupy time)
[0064] In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of a serving gNB's transmission. Because the serving gNB is assigning scheduling resources, the serving gNB can be assumed to not assign transmission resources to any UE if it intends to transmit itself. Therefore, it may be beneficial if the serving gNB's channel occupancy is excluded from the channel statistics. In some embodiments, a UE may obtain information about a serving gNB's channel occupancy from a channel (e.g., a PDCCH, DCI, etc.) that conveys information about the channel occupancy structure, or by detecting the presence of gNB-specific signals such as DM-RS. In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of another UE's transmission. In such embodiments, the UE may know about another UE's transmission from information transmitted by the gNB or from other UEs. In certain embodiments, a gNB may explicitly indicate periods that a UE may ignore (or not ignore). Such embodiments may be like a blacklist (e.g., time periods to ignore channel statistics) or whitelist (e.g., time periods to capture channel statistics), which may be conveyed by an RRC message.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention’s filing date, to modify the combo, such that wherein the time window is associated with a channel occupancy time (COT), to provide the ability to use a channel when the channel is not occupied (i.e. channel occupancy is free/zero).
As per claims 23 and 33, the combo teaches claim 21/31, wherein the DCI includes the first TCI state and the second TCI state (See below and the passages/paragraphs cited in claim 21 above), and
[From Para #4] the network access equipment may determine at least one Type D TCI (Transmission Configuration Indication) state based on the beam measurement report from the terminal, and each TCI state corresponds to one RS identifier. Further, the network access equipment notifies the terminal of the at least one TCI state through RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, including an identifier of each TCI state and the corresponding RS type and RS identifier; if the RRC signaling notifies a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may activate one of the plurality of TCI states…
[0030] In one example, the set of target TCI states is a set of TCI states of PDCCH indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through RRC signaling, or activated by the network access equipment through MAC CE signaling. For a beam transmission scenario, when the terminal determines a receiving beam of DCI, the network access equipment may indicate the set of TCI states of PDCCH to the terminal through the RRC signaling, in which this set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state. Optionally, this set of TCI states includes up to 64 TCI states. In addition, if the set of TCI states of PDCCH, indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through the RRC signaling, includes a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may also activate one of the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE signaling.
But is silent on
the DCI is used to indicate the time-frequency-resource pool.
Golitschek Edler Von Elbwart et al. US 2022/0039156 teaches that the UE has a sensing period and that a channel occupancy can be determined (i.e. if the gNB will be transmitting during that time period) and should be avoided. He teaches that this information can be received in the PDCCH/DCI data. Thusly, the target/preferred TCI state is based on whether the time-frequency resource pool (TFRP) is within a window (i.e. channel occupancy – see Claim 2 which defines the TFRP as a channel occupancy/occupy time)
[0064] In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of a serving gNB's transmission. Because the serving gNB is assigning scheduling resources, the serving gNB can be assumed to not assign transmission resources to any UE if it intends to transmit itself. Therefore, it may be beneficial if the serving gNB's channel occupancy is excluded from the channel statistics. In some embodiments, a UE may obtain information about a serving gNB's channel occupancy from a channel (e.g., a PDCCH, DCI, etc.) that conveys information about the channel occupancy structure, or by detecting the presence of gNB-specific signals such as DM-RS. In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of another UE's transmission. In such embodiments, the UE may know about another UE's transmission from information transmitted by the gNB or from other UEs. In certain embodiments, a gNB may explicitly indicate periods that a UE may ignore (or not ignore). Such embodiments may be like a blacklist (e.g., time periods to ignore channel statistics) or whitelist (e.g., time periods to capture channel statistics), which may be conveyed by an RRC message.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention’s filing date, to modify the combo, such that the DCI is used to indicate the time-frequency-resource pool, to provide the ability to use DCI information to inform the UE of a resource it can use from the time/frequency pool.
As per claims 24 and 34, the combo teaches claim 21/31, wherein the DCI includes only one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (Para #4 below teaches that at least ONE TCI state (or multiple TCI stsaets) can be sent/included in the DCI, which reads on the limitation).
[From Para #4] the network access equipment may determine at least one Type D TCI (Transmission Configuration Indication) state based on the beam measurement report from the terminal, and each TCI state corresponds to one RS identifier. Further, the network access equipment notifies the terminal of the at least one TCI state through RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, including an identifier of each TCI state and the corresponding RS type and RS identifier; if the RRC signaling notifies a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may activate one of the plurality of TCI states…
[0030] In one example, the set of target TCI states is a set of TCI states of PDCCH indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through RRC signaling, or activated by the network access equipment through MAC CE signaling. For a beam transmission scenario, when the terminal determines a receiving beam of DCI, the network access equipment may indicate the set of TCI states of PDCCH to the terminal through the RRC signaling, in which this set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state. Optionally, this set of TCI states includes up to 64 TCI states. In addition, if the set of TCI states of PDCCH, indicated by the network access equipment to the terminal through the RRC signaling, includes a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may also activate one of the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE signaling.
As per claims 25 and 35, the combo teaches claim 21/31, but is silent on wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive target signaling, the target signaling being used to determine the time window.
The examiner notes that there is no empirical meaning to the phrase “target signaling” and the claim does not define its meaning, hence it is open to BRI (broad, reasonable interpretation). Thusly, one skilled can interpret that the “target signaling” is merely coming from the gNB/BTS.
Golitschek Edler Von Elbwart et al. US 2022/0039156 teaches that the UE has a sensing period and that a channel occupancy can be determined (i.e. if the gNB will be transmitting during that time period) and should be avoided. He teaches that this information can be received in the PDCCH/DCI data – thusly, this “signaling” can be interpreted as “target signaling” used by the UE to determine a time window regarding occupancy of the channel.
[0064] In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of a serving gNB's transmission. Because the serving gNB is assigning scheduling resources, the serving gNB can be assumed to not assign transmission resources to any UE if it intends to transmit itself. Therefore, it may be beneficial if the serving gNB's channel occupancy is excluded from the channel statistics. In some embodiments, a UE may obtain information about a serving gNB's channel occupancy from a channel (e.g., a PDCCH, DCI, etc.) that conveys information about the channel occupancy structure, or by detecting the presence of gNB-specific signals such as DM-RS. In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of another UE's transmission. In such embodiments, the UE may know about another UE's transmission from information transmitted by the gNB or from other UEs. In certain embodiments, a gNB may explicitly indicate periods that a UE may ignore (or not ignore). Such embodiments may be like a blacklist (e.g., time periods to ignore channel statistics) or whitelist (e.g., time periods to capture channel statistics), which may be conveyed by an RRC message.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention’s filing date, to modify the combo, such that wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive target signaling, the target signaling being used to determine the time window, to provide the ability to indicate to the UE information it can use to determine a time window (i.e. for transmitting, receiving data).
As per claims 26 and 36, the combo teaches claim 21/31, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive RRC signaling (See Li, Para #4 teaches RRC Signaling),
[From Para #4] the network access equipment may determine at least one Type D TCI (Transmission Configuration Indication) state based on the beam measurement report from the terminal, and each TCI state corresponds to one RS identifier. Further, the network access equipment notifies the terminal of the at least one TCI state through RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, including an identifier of each TCI state and the corresponding RS type and RS identifier; if the RRC signaling notifies a plurality of TCI states, the network access equipment may activate one of the plurality of TCI states…
the RRC signaling indicating M1* candidate TCI states, wherein the first TCI state is one of the M1* candidate TCI states (Para #4 teaches that there can be at least ONE TCI state or a plurality of states being indicated, which reads on a plurality of candidate states).
*NOTE: The examiner gives NO Patentable Weight to the term “M1” since it is not defined in the claim. Giving it a broad/reasonable interpretation, the examiner interprets that it is a “integer” number having one-or-more possibilities/candidates.
As per claims 27 and 37, the combo teaches claim 21/31, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the PDCCH transmission in a Resource Element* (RE) – Li teaches the UE wirelessly receiving the TPI information in a PDCCH and that this data is transmitted via bits/packets/frames, which are interpreted as a “resource element” (which is a well known term used in wireless/5G systems having inherent meaning as a data bit/element, packet, frame, etc.).
*NOTE: RE can be bandwidth and/or a bit/packet/frame of data.
See Nam et al. US 2019/0260447 (pertinent but not cited) who teaches this concept:
[0093] In some cases, a first and second symbol period of each of the TTIs 225 may include a number of PDCCH resource elements for a PDCCH transmission. The PDCCH resource elements may transport downlink signaling, such as DCI, from the base station 205 to the UE 215.
As per claims 28 and 38, the combo teaches claim 27/37, wherein the time-frequency-resource pool includes K1 Resource Element (RE) sets and wherein the PDCCH transmission occupies one of the K1 RE sets (Li teaches wireless transmission (see figures) and the channel used is comprised of Resource Elements/sets and the PDCCH (discussed in Para #4 as being received by the UE) is transmitted in this wireless channel which is inherently taken from the time/frequency resource pool’s Resource element sets).
NOTE: The term “K1” is merely interpreted as being an integer number.
See Nogami et al. US 2014/0348095 (pertinent but not cited) who teaches the PDCCH occupying Resource Element Sets:
[0067] FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating another example of mapping between E-PDCCH logical resource elements and PRBs in an E-PDCCH region and a PDSCH region. According to this mapping method applied to PRBs and E-PDCCH logical resource elements, a set of a plurality of E-PDCCH logical resource elements is mapped to a set of a plurality of PRBs. Mapping of one set to one set is illustrated here; however, the illustrated set is one mapped set among a plurality of sets mapped to a plurality of sets, and there are other sets of E-PDCCH logical resource elements and sets of PRBs.
As per claims 29 and 39, the combo teaches claim 21/31, but is silent on wherein a start time of the time window is indicated via physical-layer dynamic signaling.
Golitschek Edler Von Elbwart et al. US 2022/0039156 teaches that “..the serving gNB is assigning scheduling resources..”, hence information such as “start time of the windown” can be received in the PDCCH/DCI data, i.e. physical-layer dynamic signaling.
[0064] In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of a serving gNB's transmission. Because the serving gNB is assigning scheduling resources, the serving gNB can be assumed to not assign transmission resources to any UE if it intends to transmit itself. Therefore, it may be beneficial if the serving gNB's channel occupancy is excluded from the channel statistics. In some embodiments, a UE may obtain information about a serving gNB's channel occupancy from a channel (e.g., a PDCCH, DCI, etc.) that conveys information about the channel occupancy structure, or by detecting the presence of gNB-specific signals such as DM-RS. In various embodiments, a UE determining channel statistics may ignore (or not measure) sensing periods during which it is aware of another UE's transmission. In such embodiments, the UE may know about another UE's transmission from information transmitted by the gNB or from other UEs. In certain embodiments, a gNB may explicitly indicate periods that a UE may ignore (or not ignore). Such embodiments may be like a blacklist (e.g., time periods to ignore channel statistics) or whitelist (e.g., time periods to capture channel statistics), which may be conveyed by an RRC message.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention’s filing date, to modify the combo, such that wherein a start time of the time window is indicated via physical-layer dynamic signaling, to provide the ability to inform the UE of a start of a time window using downlink signaling.
As per claims 30 and 40, the combo teaches claim 21/31, but is silent on wherein the target TCI state is used to indicate a target reference signal, and the target reference signal is Quasi Co-located (QCL) with the PDCCH transmission.
At least Takahasi et al. US 2022/0167322 teaches the indication of a reference signal and that it is QCL with the PDCCH transmission:
[Abstract] A user equipment includes a receiving unit that receives information related to a transmission configuration state of a downlink shared channel from a base station device, a control unit that individually applies a configuration related to quasi co-location (QCL) to each of the downlink shared channels transmitted from a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) or panels, based on the information related to the transmission configuration state, and a communication unit that performs communication via the downlink shared channel to which the configuration related to the plurality of QCLs is individually applied.
[0031] As an extension function of MIMO in NR, multi-TRP or multi-panel transmission of transmitting a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a plurality of TRPs or panels is under review. Scheduling and configurations by a single physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for multi-TRP or multi-panel transmission is under review. In the case of scheduling and configurations by a single PDCCH, the PDSCH transmitted from one or more TRPs or panels is scheduled through one PDCCH. Also, in downlink control information (DCI) included in the PDCCH, for example, in the case of transmission by two TRPs, an indication of the TCI states of TRP #1 and TRP #2 is given to the user equipment 20, and QCL assumption of the PDSCH is performed.
[0038] The QCL indicates that parameters can be regarded as being common between a reference signal including one or more synchronization signals or the like and a reference signal for data demodulation, and the following four types are specified (for example, Non-Patent Document) 3):
[0039] QCL-TypeA: Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread are the same;
[0040] QCL-TypeB: Doppler shift and Doppler spread are the same;
[0041] QCL-TypeC: Doppler shift and average delay are the same; and
[0042] QCL-TypeD: Spatial Rx parameter is the same.
[0045] The MAC CE that performs the extended activation or deactivation on the TCI state of the UE-specific PDSCH for multi-TRP or multi-panel transmission based on a single PDCCH is identified by a logical channel ID (LCID) included in a MAC PDU sub header. For example, the MAC CE configures activation for a maximum of 8 TCI states from a plurality of TCI states configured by information elements “tci-StatesToAddModList” and “tci-StatesToReleaseList” included in the RRC signaling “PDSCH-Config”. Further, for example, one or two activated TCI states are mapped to a value of a “Transmission Configuration Indication” field of the DCI, that is, the DCI codepoint by the MAC CE. The TCI states activated by the MAC CE are mapped to the DCI codepoint in an ascending order. The mapping will be described later in detail.
As per claim 31, this claim is rejected in its entirety as based on the rejection of claim 21. Furthermore, Li teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising the steps of the claim (see Figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner believes a more favorable outcome may occur if the applicant amends as follows:
Independent claim + claim 22 + claim 23 + claim 25 + claim 26 + claim 28
Conclusion
/STEPHEN M D AGOSTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414