DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final on a RCE.
Response to Amendment
Amendments received 07-14-2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 15, and 21-22 have been amended.
Claims 3-4, 7, and 16 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-15, and 17-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: to send a third signal to a static base station using a wireless communication protocol that is different from the mobile radio wide area network technology.
The closest support the examiner for a third protocol is as follows, “[0043] The wireless transceivers508,510, 512may, in some aspects, be configured according to the same, different , or any combination thereof radio communication protocols or standards ... a wireless transceiver (e.g., a third wireless transceiver 5512)may be configured in accordance with a Wireless Local Area Network communication protocol or standard; [0049] One or more of the transceivers 508,510, 512may be configured to implement one or more vehicle to everything (V2X) communication protocols, which mayinclude vehicle tovehicle (V2V), vehicle toinfrastructure (V2I), vehicle to network (V2N), vehicle to pedestrian (V2P), vehicle to device (V2D), vehicle to grid (V2G), and other protocols”. The examiner was not directed to where support for the amendments could be located in the specification as originally filed. Thus, the examiner searched the original specification, and, to the examiner’s best understanding, ¶’s 0043 and 0049 are the closest support, but fail to disclose/support to send a third signal to a static base station using a wireless communication protocol that is different from the mobile radio wide area network technology.
Claims 2, 5, and 18-22 are rejected for their dependency on a rejected claim.
Examiner Note
Below, to the examiners best understanding, are equivalent jargon from the prior art and instant application.
Instant Application
Prior Art
radio cell
Cell, grid, tile, geographical area/region/zone/unit
handover
relay, handover, transfer, hop, aim(ing) node, access node, flexible link, dynamic link
wide area network
MPLS, SD-WAN, WAN, 3G, 4G, 5G, fiber cable satellite internet, mesh, GSM
core network
Core, backbone (base or central station (allocator relay manager))
static
fixed static stationary
radio head
In this case, a radio head is interpreted as transceiver or any other device that both transmits and receives signals
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20190215214 A1) in view of Badic (US 20200229206 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Kim discloses, a flight controller configured to control flight components of the aerial vehicle (Kim: [0304] ... a plurality of control signals transmitted to the drone … which may be performed by a central resource controller); a radio access network base station radio head (Kim: [0053] The term “eNB” may be replaced with a term, such as a “fixed station”, a “base station (BS)”, a “Node B”, a “base transceiver system (BTS)”; [0241]; [0257]; [0292] the present disclosure provides a method for transmitting and receiving (or transceiving) control signals and/or data between the drones and the eNB(s)) configured to allocate one or more radio resources (Kim: [0057] ECM EPS Connection Management; [0103-0108]) for one or more radio communication terminal devices and to operate a radio cell (Kim: [0108] The E-UTRAN includes at least one BS 20 which provides a control plane and a user plane to UE 10. The UE 10 may be fixed or mobile, and may be referred to as another terminology, such as an MS, a UT, an SS, an MT or a wireless device. The BS 20 is generally a fixed station that communicates with the UE 10 and may be referred to as another terminology, such as an evolved node-B (eNB), a base transceiver system (BTS), an access point; [0126] discloses a UE in a cell unit and typically providing communications services such as voice and data (examiner: implies a user device such as a phone); [0240] Jack works for a TV station as a cameraman. He or she uses a drone to live broadcast outdoor events like marathon, F1 auto racing. High quality live video (e.g. Full HD, 4K) is transmitted from the flying drone to the TV station via the mobile network. [0241] In many scenarios, the drone flies in low altitude. The drone needs to maintain continuous connection with the mobile network which requires the network supports continuous wireless coverage in low altitude flight scenarios) using the allocated one or more radio resources (Kim: [0090] Secondary eNB: in dual connectivity, the eNB that is providing additional radio resources for the UE but is not the Master eNB) by sending a first signal according to a mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0094] The LTE system (examiner: WAN) aims to provide seamless Internet Protocol (IP) connectivity (examiner: WAN) between UE 10 and a pack data network (PDN), without any disruption to an end user's application during mobility; [0246] Specifically, FIG. 11 depicts how communication will occur, in this use case communication occurs through the mobile network (wide area network (WAN))).
Kim discloses a communication circuit configured to send a second signal to a core network in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0094]). Kim does not explicitly disclose, a communication circuit configured to send a second signal to a core network in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology, and to send a third signal to a static base station using a wireless communication protocol that is different from the mobile radio wide area network technology.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Badic discloses, a communication circuit configured to send a second signal to a core network in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Badic: [0251] Base Transceiver Stations (BTSs), or any other type of base station), while terminal devices 102 and 104 may be cellular terminal devices (e.g., Mobile Stations (MSs), User Equipments (UEs), or any type of cellular terminal device). Network access nodes 110 and 102 may therefore interface (e.g., via backhaul interfaces) with a cellular core network such as an Evolved Packet Core (EPC, for LTE), Core Network (CN, for UMTS), or other cellular core networks, which may also be considered part of radio communication network 100. The cellular core network may interface with one or more external data networks. In an exemplary short-range context, network access node 110 and 102 may be access points (APs, e.g., WLAN or WiFi APs) ... [0253] while the core network may follow the defined communication protocols to route data within and outside of the core network. Exemplary communication protocols include LTE, UMTS, GSM, WiMAX, Bluetooth, WiFi, mmWave, etc., any of which may be applicable to radio communication network 100), and to send a third signal to a static base station using a wireless communication protocol that is different from the mobile radio wide area network technology (Badic: [0251-0253]; [0267] radio communication arrangement 504 and antenna system 506 may be configured to transmit and receive communications with one or more network access nodes, such as, in the exemplary context of Dedicated Short Range Communications (DSRC) and LTE Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V)/Vehicle to Everything (V2X), Roadside Units (RSUs) and base stations), for the benefit of flexible networks may use vehicular communication devices, where vehicles can be equipped with connectivity functionality to wirelessly communicate with each other and the underlying network.
Based on “[0043] The wireless transceivers508,510, 512may, in some aspects, be configured according to the same, different , or any combination thereof radio communication protocols or standards ... a wireless transceiver (e.g., a third wireless transceiver 5512)may be configured in accordance with a Wireless Local Area Network communication protocol or standard” and “[0049] One or more of the transceivers 508,510, 512may be configured to implement one or more vehicle to everything (V2X) communication protocols, which mayinclude vehicle tovehicle (V2V), vehicle toinfrastructure (V2I), vehicle to network (V2N), vehicle to pedestrian (V2P), vehicle to device (V2D), vehicle to grid (V2G), and other protocols” of the instant specification, and the examiner’s best understanding, a third protocol will be interpreted as V2X (including dedicated short range communications (different from wide area)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include V2X and dedicated short range communications for RSU’ and base stations taught by Badic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to flexible networks may use vehicular communication devices, where vehicles can be equipped with connectivity functionality to wirelessly communicate with each other and the underlying network.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Kim also discloses, a handover controller configured to provide a handover process for the one more radio communication terminal devices in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0075-0076]; [0258]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Kim also discloses, the aerial vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (Kim: [0281]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Kim discloses, a radio access network radio head (Kim: [0053]; [0108]), configured to provide a radio communication service with one or more radio communication terminal devices in accordance with a mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0057]; [FIG. 11(WAN and LAN)]; [0098]; [0056]; [0094]).
Kim discloses a communication circuit configured to send a second signal to a core network in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0094]). Kim does not explicitly disclose, a communication circuit configured to provide a communication connection with a mobile base station in an aerial vehicle using a technology which is different from the mobile radio wide area network technology.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Badic discloses, a communication circuit configured to provide a communication connection with a mobile base station in an aerial vehicle using a technology which is different from the mobile radio wide area network technology (Badic: [0251] Base Transceiver Stations (BTSs), or any other type of base station), while terminal devices 102 and 104 may be cellular terminal devices (e.g., Mobile Stations (MSs), User Equipments (UEs), or any type of cellular terminal device). Network access nodes 110 and 102 may therefore interface (e.g., via backhaul interfaces) with a cellular core network such as an Evolved Packet Core (EPC, for LTE), Core Network (CN, for UMTS), or other cellular core networks, which may also be considered part of radio communication network 100. The cellular core network may interface with one or more external data networks. In an exemplary short-range context, network access node 110 and 102 may be access points (APs, e.g., WLAN or WiFi APs) ... [0253] while the core network may follow the defined communication protocols to route data within and outside of the core network. Exemplary communication protocols include LTE, UMTS, GSM, WiMAX, Bluetooth, WiFi, mmWave, etc., any of which may be applicable to radio communication network 100; [0251-0253]; [0267] radio communication arrangement 504 and antenna system 506 may be configured to transmit and receive communications with one or more network access nodes, such as, in the exemplary context of Dedicated Short Range Communications (DSRC) and LTE Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V)/Vehicle to Everything (V2X), Roadside Units (RSUs) and base stations), for the benefit of flexible networks may use vehicular communication devices, where vehicles can be equipped with connectivity functionality to wirelessly communicate with each other and the underlying network.
Based on “[0043] The wireless transceivers508,510, 512may, in some aspects, be configured according to the same, different , or any combination thereof radio communication protocols or standards ... a wireless transceiver (e.g., a third wireless transceiver 5512)may be configured in accordance with a Wireless Local Area Network communication protocol or standard” and “[0049] One or more of the transceivers 508,510, 512may be configured to implement one or more vehicle to everything (V2X) communication protocols, which mayinclude vehicle tovehicle (V2V), vehicle toinfrastructure (V2I), vehicle to network (V2N), vehicle to pedestrian (V2P), vehicle to device (V2D), vehicle to grid (V2G), and other protocols” of the instant specification, and the examiner’s best understanding, a third protocol will be interpreted as V2X (including dedicated short range communications (different from wide area)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include V2X and dedicated short range communications for RSU’ and base stations taught by Badic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to flexible networks may use vehicular communication devices, where vehicles can be equipped with connectivity functionality to wirelessly communicate with each other and the underlying network.
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Kim also discloses, a handover controller configured to provide a handover process for the one more radio communication terminal devices in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0075-0076]; [0258]).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Kim also discloses, the static base station device further comprises a handover controller configured to provide a handover process for the one more radio communication terminal devices in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0053]; [0057]; [0258]).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Badic also discloses, the aerial vehicle is configured to receive data from a terminal device of the one more radio communication terminal devices and to send the received data to the core network (Badic: [FIG. 7, 13]), or to receive data from the core network and to send the received data to a terminal device of the one more radio communication terminal devices (Badic: [FIG. 7, 13]).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Badic also discloses, the radio head is a radio unit pursuant to a 5G mobile radio communication standard in accordance with 3rd Generation Partnership Project (Badic: [0245] Various aspects of this disclosure may utilize or be related to radio communication technologies. While some examples may refer to specific radio communication technologies, the examples provided herein may be similarly applied to various other radio communication technologies, both existing and not yet formulated, particularly in cases where such radio communication technologies share similar features as disclosed regarding the following examples. Various exemplary radio communication technologies that the aspects described herein may utilize include, but are not limited to: a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) radio communication technology, a General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) radio communication technology, an Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) radio communication technology, and/or a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) radio communication technology, for example Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS), Freedom of Multimedia Access (FOMA), 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE), 3GPP Long Term Evolution Advanced (LTE Advanced), Code division multiple access 2000 (CDMA2000), Cellular Digital Packet Data (CDPD), Mobitex, Third Generation (3G), Circuit Switched Data (CSD), High-Speed Circuit-Switched Data (HSCSD), Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (Third Generation) (UMTS (3G)), Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (Universal Mobile Telecommunications System) (W-CDMA (UMTS)), High Speed Packet Access (HSPA), High-Speed Downlink Packet Access (HSDPA), High-Speed Uplink Packet Access (HSUPA), High Speed Packet Access Plus (HSPA+), Universal Mobile Telecommunications System-Time-Division Duplex (UMTS-TDD), Time Division-Code Division Multiple Access (TD-CDMA), Time Division-Synchronous Code Division Multiple Access (TD-CDMA), 3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 8 (Pre-4th Generation) (3GPP Rel. 8 (Pre-4G)), 3GPP Rel. 9 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 9), 3GPP Rel. 10 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 10) , 3GPP Rel. 11 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 11), 3GPP Rel. 12 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 12), 3GPP Rel. 13 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 13), 3GPP Rel. 14 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 14), 3GPP Rel. 15 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 15), 3GPP Rel. 16 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 16), 3GPP Rel. 17 (3rd Generation Partnership Project Release 17) and subsequent Releases (such as Rel. 18, Rel. 19, among others), 3GPP 5G).
Claim(s) 6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20190215214 A1) in view of Venturelli (US 20180188747 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Kim discloses, a controller configured to control vehicle components of the unmanned vehicle (Kim: [0304]); and a radio access network base station radio head (Kim: [0053]) configured to allocate one or more radio resources for one or more radio communication terminal devices to operate a radio cell (Kim: [0057]; [0090]) in accordance with a mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0094]; [0246]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose, the unmanned vehicle is configured as an unmanned ground vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Venturelli discloses, the unmanned vehicle is configured as an unmanned ground vehicle (Venturelli: [0020-0021]; [0030]), for the benefit of providing a systems and methods to direct autonomous operations, on the ground and/or in the air, of swarms of robots (such as UAVs) that are air and ground-capable, in indoor and/or outdoor environments, in a dynamic and reliable way, taking into account the options for the robots to automatically refuel their energy supply; for the benefit of dynamically changing plan constraints and objective functions using all resources available (e.g., UAVs, UGAVs); for the benefit of removing planning/scheduling operations between only flying robots/aircrafts/UAVs or ground robots as separate entities planning/scheduling operations between only flying robots/aircrafts/UAVs or ground robots as separate entities, which can collaborate in some cases, but they are not designed to control robots that are capable both of flying and of actively moving on the ground.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include taught by a vehicle that is a ground vehicle and an ariel vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a systems and methods to direct autonomous operations, on the ground and/or in the air, of swarms of robots (such as UAVs) that are air and ground-capable, in indoor and/or outdoor environments, in a dynamic and reliable way, taking into account the options for the robots to automatically refuel their energy supply; for the benefit of dynamically changing plan constraints and objective functions using all resources available (e.g., UAVs, UGAVs); for the benefit of removing planning/scheduling operations between only flying robots/aircrafts/UAVs or ground robots as separate entities planning/scheduling operations between only flying robots/aircrafts/UAVs or ground robots as separate entities, which can collaborate in some cases, but they are not designed to control robots that are capable both of flying and of actively moving on the ground.
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 6, and further, Kim also discloses, a handover controller configured to provide a handover process for the one or more radio communication terminal devices in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0075-0076]; [0258]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 6, and further, Kim also discloses, a communication circuit configured to provide a radio communication with a static base station in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [0053]).
Claim(s) 10-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20190215214 A1) in view of Arngren (US 20200374778 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Kim discloses, a radio access network radio head (Kim: [0053]) configured to allocate one or more radio resources for one more radio communication terminal devices to operate a radio cell (Kim: [0057]) in accordance with a mobile radio wide area network technology (Kim: [FIG. 11]; [0098]; [0056]; [0094]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose, the device comprising a processor configured to: determine a demand for radio communication services at various positions; determine a target position for each vehicle of a plurality of vehicles based on the determined demand; instruct the plurality of vehicles to move to the determined target positions to provide radio communication services in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology; wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles has to be moved to a further position using the charging level of a battery of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arngren discloses, the device comprising a processor configured to: determine a demand for radio communication services at various positions (Arngren: [0029]); determine a target position for each vehicle of a plurality of vehicles based on the determined demand (Arngren: [0023]; [0027]; [FIG. 1(104)], initiating device or target (replete throughout prior art) (examiner: i.e., any initiating device or target wherever it is located); [0035] (examiner: implies uav's swapping locations or a replacement at a location); [0040]; [0042]); instruct the plurality of vehicles to move to the determined target positions to provide radio communication services in accordance with the mobile radio wide area network technology (Arngren: [0045]); wherein the processor is configured to determine as to whether a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles has to be further moved to a further position using the charging level of a battery of the vehicle (Arngren: [0040-0041] Capability measures of each mobile relay station, available for use at the wireless link, such as e.g., the battery life time, the maximum transmission power, or the antenna configuration, may also be considered, at this stage. Based on such additional information, the position of each mobile relay station and the neighbour relation between adjacent mobile relay stations can be carefully tuned, aiming to form a maximized communication range for the wireless link ... The controller may e.g. be selected based on its closeness to one of the mentioned mobile relay stations, or with the aim of having a controller located symmetrically in the wireless link. The selection of the controller may also be based on the capability of the mobile relay stations, which may include e.g., one or more of the battery life time, the maximum transmission power, or the antenna configuration; [0046] According to a fifth embodiment, a mobile relay station is instructed to replace one of the mobile relay stations presently operating along the wireless link, e.g. due to low battery power of the mobile relay station to be replaced (examiner: para. 0046 discloses the opposite scenario, wherein an aircraft has to be recalled due to charge level)), for the benefit of providing a more flexible way of controlling a plurality of UAVs, when setting up a wireless link.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by Kim to include relocating uav’s and a plurality of hops taught by Arngren. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more flexible way of controlling a plurality of UAVs, when setting up a wireless link.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Arngren also discloses, the processor is configured to determine a target position for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles using a communication network traffic demand (Arngren: [0046] it is determined that the transmission power over a specific hop is to be adapted, in order to meet QoS requirements).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Arngren also discloses, determine a target position for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles using a machine learning process (Arngren: [0033] based on the use of a Machine Learning algorithm).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Arngren also discloses, determine a target position for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles in real-time (Arngren: [0034] predictive decisions or real-time decisions are applied by the controller).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Kim also discloses, at least some of the vehicles of the plurality of vehicles are aerial vehicles (Kim: [0281] Utilization of the unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), drones …).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 14, and further, Arngren also discloses, determine whether a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles has to be moved to a further position; instruct the vehicle to move to the determined further position (Arngren: [0040] required mobile relay stations and overall link requirements or targets ... are also split up into QoS sub-targets ... the position of each mobile relay station and the neighbour relation between adjacent mobile relay stations can be carefully tuned, aiming to form a maximized communication range for the wireless link; [0042] instructions typically comprise instructions to a respective mobile relay station on where, physically, to locate, and instructions on how to best maintain the required QoS, with respect to e.g. transmission power, distance to an adjacent relay station).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Arngren also discloses, determine the target position for each vehicle of a plurality of vehicles taking into consideration the distances between the vehicles and the positions of one or more static base stations to which the vehicles should communicate (Arngren: [0040] required mobile relay stations and overall link requirements or targets ... are also split up into QoS sub-targets ... the position of each mobile relay station and the neighbour relation between adjacent mobile relay stations can be carefully tuned, aiming to form a maximized communication range for the wireless link; [0042] instructions typically comprise instructions to a respective mobile relay station on where, physically, to locate, and instructions on how to best maintain the required QoS, with respect to e.g. transmission power, distance to an adjacent relay station).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Azizi (US 20190364492 A1)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663