DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119
(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) submitted 10/28/2022, 1/4/2023, 8/6/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Examiner recommendation: kindly augment the labeling of the figures to include the corresponding names from the specification, as feasible. For example, in Fig. 3, item 29 could be labelled “low-voltage power signal 29”. This will assist searchers of the patent data base to quickly grasp the inventive concept of applicant’s disclosure. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kucybala et al. WO 2017060444.
Regarding claim 1, Kucybala discloses a power supply system for a bidirectional energy flow [pars. 0029, 0033] between a medium-voltage grid [Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 (see reproduced); AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15] and a low-voltage electricity consumer site [DC traction power network 1, with train 13], the system comprising:
a power feeding system [Fig. 3, MV transformer 15a + feeding converter 15b] configured for transforming an AC medium-voltage power signal from the medium-voltage grid [Fig. 3, at the input of MV transformer 15a] into a low-voltage power signal [pars. 0014, 0032] for feeding the electricity consumer site [DC traction power network 1, with train 13; par. 0034];
a low-voltage multiphase converter [Fig. 3, DC/AC converter 17. Par. 0036: DC/AC converter 17 can be provided as single or double stage converter. Par. 0002, converter 17 would comprise 3 phases for 3 phase systems] configured for transforming a second low-voltage signal [supplied from transformer 14], which is based on a first low-voltage signal from the electricity consumer site [supplied from DC traction power network 1], into a low-voltage multiphase signal [par. 0035], wherein the multiphase converter [DC/AC converter 17] is arranged antiparallel to the power feeding system [Fig. 3, the power feeding branch comprising MV transformer 15a + feeding converter 15b supplies power from AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15 to DC traction power network 1; while the power feeding branch comprising DC/AC converter 17 supplies recuperated power in the opposite, or antiparallel direction from DC traction power network 1 towards AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15; par. 0033]; and
an LV/MV multiphase transformer [Fig. 3, transformer 18 depicted with multiple branches or stages, each of which can be considered a phase. Par. 0002, transformer 18 would comprises 3 phases for 3 phase systems] configured for transforming the low-voltage multiphase signal into an output-signal that is conformant to the AC medium-voltage power signal [Fig. 3, transformer 18 supplies output power via directly to AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15 or through AC traction network 5; pars. 0036, 0037].
Regarding claim 5, Kucybala discloses the power supply system of claim 1, further comprising a first inductor [Fig. 3, the primary winding of MV transformer 15a; alternatively, the secondary winding of transformer 18] arranged between the AC medium-voltage power signal [Fig. 3, at the input of MV transformer 15a] and the power feeding system [Fig. 3, MV transformer 15a + feeding converter 15b], and arranged between the AC medium-voltage power signal and the LV/MV multiphase transformer [Fig. 3, transformer 18].
Regarding claim 6, Kucybala discloses the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the LV multiphase DC/AC-converter [Fig. 3, DC/AC converter 17] comprises a multiphase switching subsystem [par. 0036 DC/AC converter 17 can be provided as single or double stage converter] and a second inductor [e.g., par. 0036, in the additional DC/DC stage], which is arranged between the multiphase switching subsystem and the LV/MV multiphase transformer [Fig. 3, transformer 18].
Regarding claim 7, Kucybala discloses the power supply system of claim 1, further comprising a converter [DC/AC converter 16] that is configured for transforming the first low-voltage signal from the electricity consumer site [Fig. 3, connected at the DC traction power network 1], into the DC low-voltage signal, and wherein the converter is a DC/AC-converter, an AC/AC-converter, and/or an AC/DC-converter with a DC/AC-converter [par. 0035].
Regarding claim 8, Kucybala discloses a method for supporting a bidirectional energy flow [pars. 0029, 0033] between a medium-voltage grid [Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 (see reproduced); AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15] and a low-voltage electricity consumer site [DC traction power network 1, with train 13], the method comprising:
transforming, by utilizing a power feeding system [Fig. 3, MV transformer 15a + feeding converter 15b], an AC medium-voltage power signal from the medium-voltage grid [AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15] into a low-voltage power signal [pars. 0014, 0032] for the electricity consumer site [DC traction power network 1, with train 13; par. 0034];
outputting, from the electricity consumer site [DC traction power network 1], a first low-voltage signal [pars. 0014, 0032. E.g., supplied to AC/DC converter 16];
feeding a second low-voltage signal, which is based on the first low-voltage signal, into a low-voltage multiphase DC/AC-converter [Fig. 3, DC/AC converter 17. Par. 0036: DC/AC converter 17 can be provided as single or double stage converter. Par. 0002, converter 17 would comprise 3 phases for 3 phase systems] that is arranged antiparallel to the power feeding system [Fig. 3, the power feeding branch comprising MV transformer 15a + feeding converter 15b supplies power from AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15 to DC traction power network 1; while the power feeding branch comprising DC/AC converter 17 supplies recuperated power in the opposite, or antiparallel direction from DC traction power network 1 towards AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15; par. 0033];
forwarding a low-voltage multiphase signal from the output of the low-voltage multiphase DC/AC-converter to an LV/MV multiphase transformer [Fig. 3, transformer 18 depicted with multiple branches or stages, each of which can be considered a phase. Par. 0002, transformer 18 would comprises 3 phases for 3 phase systems]; and
transforming, by utilizing the LV/MV multiphase transformer [Fig. 3, transformer 18], the low-voltage multiphase output signal into an output-signal that is conformant to the AC medium-voltage power signal [Fig. 3, transformer 18 supplies output power directly to AC medium voltage (MV) grid 15 or via AC traction network 5; pars. 0036, 0037].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim(s) 2-4, 9 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucybala et al. WO 2017060444 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, respectively, and further in view of Ferens US 20040202012.
Regarding claims 2, 9, Kucybala discloses the method of claims 1 and 7, respectively, but does not disclose: wherein the power feeding system comprises a Line Interphase Transformer, LIT.
Ferens discloses: wherein the power feeding system comprises a Line Interphase Transformer, LIT [Figs. 2, 7 (see reproduced); autotransformer 20 + Rectifiers 22, 24; pars. 0033, 0037].
Kucybala and Ferens are analogous AC-DC power supply systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to incorporate Feren’s interphase transformer-rectifier into Kucybala for the benefit of reducing harmonics and noise reduction [e.g., see Ferens, par. 0038].
Regarding claims 3, 10, Kucybala discloses the method of claims 2 and 8, respectively, wherein the LIT is a multi-pulse LIT [Figs. 2, 7; autotransformer 20 + Rectifiers 22, 24] with a pulse number of 12 [pars. 0033, 0037-0038], of 18, of 24, or of higher than 24.
Regarding claim 4, Kucybala discloses the power supply system of claim 1, but is silent on: wherein the low-voltage multiphase converter is an active filter that injects current, based on the signal of the MV grid.
Ferens discloses: wherein the low-voltage multiphase converter [Fig. 7, equivalently switching converters 26, 28] is an active filter that injects current, based on the signal of the MV grid [pars. 0033, 0035].
Kucybala and Ferens are analogous AC-DC power supply systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to incorporate Feren’s switching converters 26, 28 into Kucybala for the benefit of reducing weight and effectively filtering at the same time [e.g., see Ferens, par. 0035].
Regarding claim 11, Kucybala discloses the method of claim 8, respectively, further comprising power feeding system [Fig. 3, MV transformer 15a + feeding converter 15b], and the AC medium-voltage power signal from the LV/MV multiphase transformer [Fig. 3, transformer 18].
Kucybala does not disclose filtering by using a first inductor, at the outputs as recited.
Ferens discloses: filtering, by utilizing a first inductor [Fig. 7, inductors 38, 40. Pars. 0045] at the connection of the DC grid [Fig. 7, +/- DC output] and at the output of AC grid [Fig. 7, at L1, L2, L3; inductors 48; inductors 50, 52. Par. 0038].
Kucybala and Ferens are analogous AC-DC power supply systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to incorporate Feren’s filter inductors into Kucybala for the benefit of reducing harmonics and noise [e.g., see Ferens, par. 0038].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230050293 belongs to the instant assignee and is cited for background relevance.
US 20150069955 discloses a symmetric-type UPS power system based on a nine-phase phase-shifting autotransformer includes a three-phase AC power input terminal, a three-phase AC power output terminal, a nine-phase phase-shift autotransformer, a synchronized control device for controlling output of a three-phase inverter, a power-frequency isolation transformer and three circuits of output devices; wherein the three-phase AC input terminal of the nine-phase phase-shifting autotransformer is connected to the three-phase AC power input terminal, each circuit of the output devices includes a zero-sequence suppression commutating inductor, a three-phase six-pulse rectifier, a three-phase inverter and a filter inductor which are connected with each other in sequence, each circuit of the zero-sequence suppression commutating inductor is connected to the three-phase AC output terminal of the phase-shifting autotransformer, each circuit of the filter inductor is connected to the input terminal of the power-frequency isolation transformer.
US 20210188106 discloses a method for wirelessly providing AC power to a vehicle or an energy storage system, the vehicle being an electric vehicle or a plug-in electric vehicle or a hybrid electric vehicle, the energy storage system including a stationary or mobile system, the vehicle or the energy storage system including a battery and an on-board AC charger configured to receive the AC power, convert the AC power to DC power, and charge the battery with the DC power. The method may include, at an off-board module, receiving a grid-voltage signal that is single-phase or three-phase, producing a modulated high-frequency voltage signal that includes a high-frequency carrier signal having an envelope corresponding to the grid-voltage signal, and wirelessly transmitting the modulated high-frequency voltage signal to the vehicle or the energy storage system. The method may include, at an on-board module spaced apart from, and electromagnetically coupled with, the off-board module, wirelessly receiving the modulated high-frequency voltage signal, and providing the modulated high-frequency voltage signal to an AC plug of the on-board AC charger as the AC power.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859