DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 11-13, 25-27 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-3, 11-13, 25-27 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 6-10 of the response, filed February 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 25-27 under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration for the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new reference, please see the rejection for details.
Claims 1-3, 11-13, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0104118 (hereinafter “Ding”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0272620 (hereinafter “Ninglekhu”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0268835 (hereinafter “Shan”).
Regarding claim 1, Ding teaches: A method for determining a User Equipment (UE) policy behavior, comprising: acquiring, by a first network element (Abstract - A mobility management network element receives a first session request message from a terminal.), first information sent by UE ([0020] The URSP identification information is carried in a first session request message from a terminal,); and determining, by the first network element according to the first information, a UE policy behavior that is being performed by the UE (Abstract - Then, the mobility management network element obtains URSP policy information based on the URSP identification information, and the mobility management network element sends a second session request message to a session management network element. The second session request message carries the URSP policy information, and the URSP policy information is used to formulate a policy rule for the terminal.), wherein the first information comprises: third indication information, used to indicate at least one of: a traffic descriptor ([0015] The URSP policy information may include one or more of the following: traffic descriptor information and one or more pieces of RSD information corresponding to the traffic descriptor information. See also TS 24.526, 4.2.1) in a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule corresponding to a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session established by the UE ([0003] In a current 5th generation (5G) communications system, when a terminal determines that a service or an application needs to be initiated, the terminal may search for traffic descriptor information in a received user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rule through matching, use, as a protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter, a data network name (DNN) and single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that are indicated by a URSP rule that is successfully found through matching, for example, a DNN 1 and S-NSSAI 1, and initiate a PDU session establishment/modification request message to a session management function (SMF) network element.).
Ding teaches reporting events ([0151], [0152], [0253]) but does not explicitly teach: wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, eighth indication information to the UE, the eighth indication information being used to indicate that the UE is required to report the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ninglekhu teaches: sending, by the first network element, eighth indication information to the UE, the eighth indication information being used to indicate that the UE is required to report the first information ([0532] When the indication(s) are associated with an RSD, the indication may be an indication to the UE that the UE should send a report to the network anytime that the UE begins to use the RSD or changes how it uses the RSD. [0533] An indication may be simple on/off indication where the presence of the indication in the URSP rule is an indication to the UE that network verification is required. However, the indication may contain additional information that further describes what actions the UE should take in order to facilitate network verification of how the UE is applying URSP rules. [0534] TABLE 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ding to include the feature of requiring reporting and a combination of Ding with Ninglekhu renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an indication of capability).
The combination of Ding and Ninglekhu does not explicitly teach: receiving, by the first network element, seventh indication information sent by the UE, the seventh indication information being used to indicate, to a network side, that the UE has capability for reporting the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shan teaches: receiving, by the first network element, seventh indication information sent by the UE, the seventh indication information being used to indicate, to a network side, that the UE has capability for reporting the first information (Abstract - An apparatus of a user equipment (UE) comprises one or more baseband processors to encode a UE capability indicator to be transmitted to a policy control function (PCF) via an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), wherein the UE capability indicator indicates whether the UE supports or does not support a preconfigured UE policy comprising access network discovery and selection policy (ANDSP) or UE route selection policy (URSP), or both. The apparatus of a UE further can comprise a memory to store the UE capability indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ding and Ninglekhu to include the feature of capability indications and a combination of Ding and Ninglekhu with Shan renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an indication of capability).
Regarding claim 2, Ding teaches: wherein the UE policy behavior comprises: a URSP rule used by the UE for data transmission of a specific application ([0202] For example, when determining that a specific service/application needs to be initiated, the terminal performs a matching operation on a received URSP rule based on description information of the service/application, for example, an APP ID. If matching succeeds, the terminal initiates the PDU session establishment/modification request message to the AMF network element based on route selection descriptor (RSD) information in a successfully matched URSP rule.).
Regarding claim 3, Ding teaches: wherein the first information further comprises first indication information, used to indicate at least one of the URSP rule that is being used by the UE ([0010] Alternatively, optionally, the URSP identification information may be a URSP rule identifier.), or a traffic descriptor in the URSP rule that is being used by the UE ([0003] In a current 5th generation (5G) communications system, when a terminal determines that a service or an application needs to be initiated, the terminal may search for traffic descriptor information).
Regarding claim 11, Ding teaches: An apparatus for determining a User Equipment (UE) policy behavior, applied to a first network element, the apparatus comprising: a memory storing processor-executable instructions; a transceiver: and a processor configured to execute the stored processor-executable instructions to perform operations including, via the transceiver, first information sent by UE([0020] The URSP identification information is carried in a first session request message from a terminal,); and determining, by the first network element according to the first information, a UE policy behavior that is being performed by the UE (Abstract - Then, the mobility management network element obtains URSP policy information based on the URSP identification information, and the mobility management network element sends a second session request message to a session management network element. The second session request message carries the URSP policy information, and the URSP policy information is used to formulate a policy rule for the terminal.), wherein the first information comprises: third indication information, used to indicate at least one of: a traffic descriptor ([0015] The URSP policy information may include one or more of the following: traffic descriptor information and one or more pieces of RSD information corresponding to the traffic descriptor information.) in a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule corresponding to a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session established by the UE ([0003] In a current 5th generation (5G) communications system, when a terminal determines that a service or an application needs to be initiated, the terminal may search for traffic descriptor information in a received user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rule through matching, use, as a protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter, a data network name (DNN) and single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that are indicated by a URSP rule that is successfully found through matching, for example, a DNN 1 and S-NSSAI 1, and initiate a PDU session establishment/modification request message to a session management function (SMF) network element.), or a Route Selection Descriptor (RSD) in the URSP rule corresponding to the PDU session established by the UE ([0010] Alternatively, optionally, the URSP identification information may be a URSP rule identifier. Correspondingly, the URSP policy information may include traffic descriptor information corresponding to a URSP rule identified by the URSP rule identifier, and one or more pieces of RSD information.).
Ding teaches reporting events ([0151], [0152], [0253]) but does not explicitly teach: wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, eighth indication information to the UE, the eighth indication information being used to indicate that the UE is required to report the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ninglekhu teaches: wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, eighth indication information to the UE, the eighth indication information being used to indicate that the UE is required to report the first information ([0532] When the indication(s) are associated with an RSD, the indication may be an indication to the UE that the UE should send a report to the network anytime that the UE begins to use the RSD or changes how it uses the RSD. [0533] An indication may be simple on/off indication where the presence of the indication in the URSP rule is an indication to the UE that network verification is required. However, the indication may contain additional information that further describes what actions the UE should take in order to facilitate network verification of how the UE is applying URSP rules. [0534] TABLE 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ding to include the feature of requiring reporting and a combination of Ding with Ninglekhu renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an indication of capability).
Regarding claim 12, Ding teaches: wherein the UE policy behavior comprises a URSP rule used by the UE for data transmission of a specific application ([0202] For example, when determining that a specific service/application needs to be initiated, the terminal performs a matching operation on a received URSP rule based on description information of the service/application, for example, an APP ID. If matching succeeds, the terminal initiates the PDU session establishment/modification request message to the AMF network element based on route selection descriptor (RSD) information in a successfully matched URSP rule.).
Regarding claim 13, Ding teaches: wherein the first information further comprises: first indication information, used to indicate at least one of the URSP rule that is being used by the UE ([0010] Alternatively, optionally, the URSP identification information may be a URSP rule identifier.), or a traffic descriptor in the URSP rule that is being used by the UE ([0003] In a current 5th generation (5G) communications system, when a terminal determines that a service or an application needs to be initiated, the terminal may search for traffic descriptor information).
Regarding claim 25, Ding teaches: User Equipment (UE), comprising: a memory storing processor-executable instructions; a transceiver; Anda processor configured to execute the stored processor-executable instructions to perform an operation of: sending, via the transceiver, first information sent by UE([0020] The URSP identification information is carried in a first session request message from a terminal,); and determining, by the first network element according to the first information, a UE policy behavior that is being performed by the UE (Abstract - Then, the mobility management network element obtains URSP policy information based on the URSP identification information, and the mobility management network element sends a second session request message to a session management network element. The second session request message carries the URSP policy information, and the URSP policy information is used to formulate a policy rule for the terminal.), wherein the first information comprises: third indication information, used to indicate at least one of: a traffic descriptor ([0015] The URSP policy information may include one or more of the following: traffic descriptor information and one or more pieces of RSD information corresponding to the traffic descriptor information.) in a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule corresponding to a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session established by the UE ([0003] In a current 5th generation (5G) communications system, when a terminal determines that a service or an application needs to be initiated, the terminal may search for traffic descriptor information in a received user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rule through matching, use, as a protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter, a data network name (DNN) and single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that are indicated by a URSP rule that is successfully found through matching, for example, a DNN 1 and S-NSSAI 1, and initiate a PDU session establishment/modification request message to a session management function (SMF) network element.), or a Route Selection Descriptor (RSD) in the URSP rule corresponding to the PDU session established by the UE ([0010] Alternatively, optionally, the URSP identification information may be a URSP rule identifier. Correspondingly, the URSP policy information may include traffic descriptor information corresponding to a URSP rule identified by the URSP rule identifier, and one or more pieces of RSD information.).
Ding teaches reporting events ([0151], [0152], [0253]) but does not explicitly teach: wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, eighth indication information to the UE, the eighth indication information being used to indicate that the UE is required to report the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ninglekhu teaches: wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, eighth indication information to the UE, the eighth indication information being used to indicate that the UE is required to report the first information ([0532] When the indication(s) are associated with an RSD, the indication may be an indication to the UE that the UE should send a report to the network anytime that the UE begins to use the RSD or changes how it uses the RSD. [0533] An indication may be simple on/off indication where the presence of the indication in the URSP rule is an indication to the UE that network verification is required. However, the indication may contain additional information that further describes what actions the UE should take in order to facilitate network verification of how the UE is applying URSP rules. [0534] TABLE 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ding to include the feature of requiring reporting and a combination of Ding with Ninglekhu renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an indication of capability).
Regarding claim 26, Ding teaches: wherein the UE policy behavior comprises a URSP rule used by the UE for data transmission of a specific application ([0202] For example, when determining that a specific service/application needs to be initiated, the terminal performs a matching operation on a received URSP rule based on description information of the service/application, for example, an APP ID. If matching succeeds, the terminal initiates the PDU session establishment/modification request message to the AMF network element based on route selection descriptor (RSD) information in a successfully matched URSP rule.).
Regarding claim 27, Ding teaches: wherein the first information further comprises: first indication information, used to indicate at least one of the URSP rule that is being used by the UE ([0010] Alternatively, optionally, the URSP identification information may be a URSP rule identifier.), or a traffic descriptor in the URSP rule that is being used by the UE ([0003] In a current 5th generation (5G) communications system, when a terminal determines that a service or an application needs to be initiated, the terminal may search for traffic descriptor information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Non-patent Literature entitled, “ETSI TS 124.526” (2019)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643