DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13-14 and 16-18 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz et al. (US PG. Pub. 2018/0241187) in view of Wegner et al. (US PG. Pub. 2004/0155036)
Regarding claim 1 – Korcz teaches a backer plate (figs. 8-11, 418 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “base member 418”) for use with an electrical box extender (422 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “movable member 422”) to form an electrical box (410 [paragraph 0021] Korcz states, “mud ring assembly 410”) defining an x direction, a y direction, and a z direction (see annotated figure 8 below), the backer plate (418) comprising: a planar wall (430 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “planar flange 430”) defining a perimeter, four edges along the perimeter (claimed structure shown in figure 11), and four corners between adjacent edges (see fig. 11), the planar wall extending in the x direction and y direction when assembled with the electrical box (see annotated figure 8 below) and further defining at least a first threaded opening (upper threaded opening 466 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “the base member 418 includes a pair of threaded holes 466”) located at a first corner (see left upper corner in figure 11) of the four corners and a second threaded opening (lower threaded opening 466) located at a second corner (see right lower corner in figure 11) of the four corners, wherein the first (upper threaded opening 466) and second threaded opening (lower threaded opening 466) are configured to rotatably engage with a first (fig. 10, upper left threaded fastener 426 [paragraph 0027] Korcz states, “actuator 26 is threaded into the threaded hole 66”; 426 is equivalent to that of actuator 26) and second threaded fastener (lower right threaded fastener 426), respectively, to fasten the electrical box extender (422) to the planar wall (430) of the backer plate (418) to form the electrical box (claimed structure shown in figure 8).
Korcz fails to teach fastening the electrical box extender against the planar wall of the backer plate in the z direction when assembled with the electrical box to form the electrical box.
Wegner teaches fastening the electrical box extender (fig. 7A, 2 [paragraph 0066] Wegner states, “extending member 2”) against the planar wall (see flat wall of backer plate 1) of the backer plate (1 [paragraph 0066] Wegner states, “mud ring or adapting member 1”) in the z direction (vertical direction; see annotated figure 7A above) when assembled with the electrical box (structure shown in figure 7A) to form the electrical box (figure 7A shows the extending member 2 having vertical component that buts up against the planar wall of the backer plate 1 and appears to meet the claimed invention).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fastening of the electrical box extender to the planar wall of the backer plate as taught by Korcz with the fastening of the electrical box extender against the planar wall of the backer plate as taught by Wegner because Wegner states regarding this structure, “one or more fasteners that together with optional contact points provide for mechanical and electrical connectivity between the extending member and its associated electrical box and provide sufficient mechanical resistance to support the adjustable elevation of the elevating member” [Abstract].
Regarding claim 2 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the backer plate of claim 1, wherein the four edges include a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge, and wherein each of the first edge, the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge are all substantially appear equal in length (Korcz; figure 11 shows a plan view of the backer plate which appears to be substantially equal in length on each side).
Korcz in view of Wegner fail to explicitly teach wherein the four edges include a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge, and wherein each of the first edge, the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge are all equal in length.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have equal length of the first, second, third and fourth edge, since it has been held that change in shape involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Having equal length edges of the backer plate allow easy installation no matter what orientation, only one dimension is required to be known. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0007 & 0018, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the backer plate of claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the four edges of the backer plate forms a square shape that measures four inches by four inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the four edges each measure four inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Having these specific dimensions will allow easy installation no matter what orientation, only one dimension is required to be known. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0008 & 0019, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7 – Korcz teaches an electrical box assembly (figs. 8-11) defining an x direction, a y direction, and a z direction (see annotated figure 8 above) comprising: a backer plate (418 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “base member 418”) comprising a planar wall (430 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “planar flange 430”) defining a perimeter, four edges along the perimeter (claimed structure shown in figure 11), and four corners between adjacent edges (see fig. 11), the planar wall (430) extending in the x direction and y direction (see annotated figure 8 above) and further defining at least a first threaded opening (upper threaded opening 466 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “the base member 418 includes a pair of threaded holes 466”) located at a first corner (see left upper corner in figure 11) of the four corners and a second threaded opening (lower threaded opening 466) located at a second corner (see right lower corner in figure 11) of the four corners; an electrical box extender (422 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “movable member 422”) separate from the backer plate (418), the electrical box extender (422) comprising four wall (see four walls 474) and defining a first electrical box extender opening (see opening in left upper area having screw 426 therein) and a second electrical box extender opening (see opening in right lower area having screw 426 therein); and a first threaded fastener (fig. 10, 426; upper left threaded fastener 426 [paragraph 0027] Korcz states, “actuator 26 is threaded into the threaded hole 66”; 426 is equivalent to that of actuator 26) extending through the first electrical box extender opening and engaged with the first threaded opening (claimed structure shown in figure 8) and a second threaded fastener (lower right threaded fastener 426) extending through the second electrical box extender opening and engaged with the second threaded opening (claimed structure shown in figure 8), the first and second threaded fasteners (426) coupling the electrical box extender (422) to the backer plate (418) to form an electrical box (claimed structure shown in figures 8-11).
Korcz fails to teach fastening the electrical box extender against the planar wall of the backer plate in the z direction when assembled with the electrical box to form the electrical box.
Wegner teaches fastening the electrical box extender (fig. 7A, 2 [paragraph 0066] Wegner states, “extending member 2”) against the planar wall (see flat wall of backer plate 1) of the backer plate (1 [paragraph 0066] Wegner states, “mud ring or adapting member 1”) in the z direction (vertical direction; see annotated figure 7A above) when assembled with the electrical box (structure shown in figure 7A) to form the electrical box (figure 7A shows the extending member 2 having vertical component that buts up against the planar wall of the backer plate 1 and appears to meet the claimed invention).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fastening of the electrical box extender to the planar wall of the backer plate as taught by Korcz with the fastening of the electrical box extender against the planar wall of the backer plate as taught by Wegner because Wegner states regarding this structure, “one or more fasteners that together with optional contact points provide for mechanical and electrical connectivity between the extending member and its associated electrical box and provide sufficient mechanical resistance to support the adjustable elevation of the elevating member” [Abstract].
Regarding claim 8 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 7, wherein the four walls (Korcz; fig. 8, 474) of the electrical box extender (422) extend perpendicularly from the backer plate (418; claimed structure shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 9 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 7, wherein the four walls (Korcz; fig. 8, 474) of the electrical box extender (422) extend perpendicularly from the four edges (see edges of the backer plate being horizontal) of the backer plate (418; horizontal edges of backer plane and vertical four walls of the electrical box extender appear to meet the “perpendicular” claim language).
Regarding claim 13 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 7, wherein the four edges include a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge, and wherein each of the first edge, the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge are all substantially appear equal in length (Korcz; figure 11 shows a plan view of the backer plate which appears to be substantially equal in length on each side).
Korcz fails to explicitly teach wherein the four edges include a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge, and wherein each of the first edge, the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge are all equal in length.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have equal length of the first, second, third and fourth edge, since it has been held that change in shape involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Having equal length edges of the backer plate allow easy installation no matter what orientation, only one dimension is required to be known. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0007 & 0018, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the four edges of the backer plate forms a square shape that measures four inches by four inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the four edges each measure four inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Having these specific dimensions will allow easy installation no matter what orientation, only one dimension is required to be known. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0008 & 0019, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach a method of forming an electrical box assembly (Korcz; figs. 8-11) defining an x direction, a y direction, and a z direction (see annotated figure 8 above), comprising: providing a backer plate (418 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “base member 418”) comprising a planar wall (430 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “planar flange 430”) defining a perimeter, four edges along the perimeter (claimed structure shown in figure 11), and four corners between adjacent edges (see fig. 11), the planar wall (430) extending in the x direction and y direction (see annotated figure 8 above) and further defining at least a first threaded opening (upper threaded opening 466 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “the base member 418 includes a pair of threaded holes 466”) located at a first corner (see left upper corner in figure 11) of the four corners and a second threaded opening (lower threaded opening 466) located at a second corner (see right lower corner in figure 11) of the four corners; providing an electrical box extender (422 [paragraph 0030] Korcz states, “movable member 422”) separate from the backer plate (418), the electrical box extender (422) comprising four wall (see four walls 474) and defining a first electrical box extender opening (see opening in left upper area having screw 426 therein) and a second electrical box extender opening (see opening in right lower area having screw 426 therein); and coupling the electrical box extender (422) to the backer plate (418) with a first threaded fastener (fig. 10, 426; upper left threaded fastener 426 [paragraph 0027] Korcz states, “actuator 26 is threaded into the threaded hole 66”; 426 is equivalent to that of actuator 26) extending through the first electrical box extender opening and engaged with the first threaded opening (claimed structure shown in figures 8 & 10) and with a second threaded fastener (lower right threaded fastener 426) extending through the second electrical box extender opening and engaged with the second threaded opening (claimed structure shown in figures 8 & 11).
Korcz fails to teach coupling the electrical box extender against the backer plate in the z direction.
Wegner teaches coupling the electrical box extender (fig. 7A, 2 [paragraph 0066] Wegner states, “extending member 2”) against the backer plate (1 [paragraph 0066] Wegner states, “mud ring or adapting member 1”) in the z direction (vertical direction; see annotated figure 7A above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming an electrical box assembly and the fastening of an electrical box extender to the planar wall of a backer plate as taught by Korcz with the coupling of the electrical box extender against the backer plate in the z direction as taught by Wegner because Wegner states regarding this structure, “one or more fasteners that together with optional contact points provide for mechanical and electrical connectivity between the extending member and its associated electrical box and provide sufficient mechanical resistance to support the adjustable elevation of the elevating member” [Abstract].
Regarding claim 17 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the method of claim 16, wherein the four walls (Korcz; fig. 8, 474) of the electrical box extender (422) extend perpendicularly from the backer plate (418; claimed structure shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 18 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the method of claim 16, wherein the four walls (Korcz; fig. 8, 474) of the electrical box extender (422) extend perpendicularly from the four edges (see edges of the backer plate being horizontal) of the backer plate (418; horizontal edges of backer plane and vertical four walls of the electrical box extender appear to meet the “perpendicular” claim language).
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz et al. in view of Wegner et al. as applied to claims 1 and 7, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US PG. Pub. 2017/0163014).
Regarding claim 4 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the backer plate of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first threaded opening and the second threaded opening each comprise an 8/32nd of an inch in diameter threading.
Johnson teaches wherein the first threaded opening (fig. 13, see threaded opening in upper tab 120) and the second threaded opening (see threaded opening in lower tab 120) each comprise an 8/32nd of an inch in diameter threading ([paragraph 0104] Johnson states, “The electrical box 110 may also include one or more mounting tabs 120 with threaded or tapped mounting holes, where threaded screws 122 (e.g., 8/32 machine screws) can be inserted to secure a cover”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the backer plate having a first and second threaded opening as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the first and second threaded opening being 8/32nd of an inch in diameter threading as taught by Johnson because this sizing is standard within the industry and will allow for interchangeable parts between other electrical junction boxes.
Regarding claim 15 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 7, but fails to teach wherein the first threaded opening and the second threaded opening each comprise an 8/32nd of an inch in diameter threading.
Johnson teaches wherein the first threaded opening (fig. 13, see threaded opening in upper tab 120) and the second threaded opening (see threaded opening in lower tab 120) each comprise an 8/32nd of an inch in diameter threading ([paragraph 0104] Johnson states, “The electrical box 110 may also include one or more mounting tabs 120 with threaded or tapped mounting holes, where threaded screws 122 (e.g., 8/32 machine screws) can be inserted to secure a cover”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the backer plate having a first and second threaded opening as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the first and second threaded opening being 8/32nd of an inch in diameter threading as taught by Johnson because this sizing is standard within the industry and will allow for interchangeable parts between other electrical junction boxes.
Claim(s) 5-6, 11-12 and 20 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz et al. in view of Wegner et al. as applied to claims 1, 7 and 16, and further in view of Garvin (US PG. Pub. 2009/0301776).
Regarding claim 5 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the backer plate of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the planar wall defines a plurality of knockouts configured to receive one or more of an electrical conduit.
Garvin teaches wherein the planar wall (fig. 1, planar wall of backer plate 12 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “base plate 12”) defines a plurality of knockouts (14 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “series of conduit knockouts 14”) configured to receive one or more of an electrical conduit (conduit knockouts 14 are considered to be “configured to” receive electrical conduit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the backer plate planar wall with an opening therein as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the planar wall of the backer plate having a plurality of knockouts as taught by Garvin because these conduit knockouts allow organizing of different conduits into the junction box allow for easier identification and installation of components therein.
Regarding claim 6 – Korcz in view of Wegner and Garvin teach the backer plate of claim 5, wherein the planar wall (Garvin; fig. 1, planar wall of backer plate 12) defines a plurality of internal openings (15 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “fastener knockouts”) placed in between the plurality of knockouts (14), wherein each of a given internal opening from the plurality of internal openings comprises a smaller area than each of a given knockout area from the plurality of knockouts (claimed structure shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 11 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 7, but fails to teach wherein the planar wall defines a plurality of knockouts configured to receive one or more of an electrical conduit.
Garvin teaches wherein the planar wall (fig. 1, planar wall of backer plate 12 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “base plate 12”) defines a plurality of knockouts (14 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “series of conduit knockouts 14”) configured to receive one or more of an electrical conduit (conduit knockouts 14 are considered to be “configured to” receive electrical conduit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the backer plate planar wall with an opening therein as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the planar wall of the backer plate having a plurality of knockouts as taught by Garvin because these conduit knockouts allow organizing of different conduits into the junction box allow for easier identification and installation of components therein.
Regarding claim 12 – Korcz in view of Wegner and Garvin teach the electrical box assembly of claim 11, wherein the planar wall (Garvin; fig. 1, planar wall of backer plate 12) defines a plurality of internal openings (15 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “fastener knockouts”) placed in between the plurality of knockouts (14), wherein each of a given internal opening from the plurality of internal openings comprises a smaller area than each of a given knockout area from the plurality of knockouts (claimed structure shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 20 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the method of claim 16, but fails to teach wherein the planar wall defines a plurality of knockouts configured to receive one or more of an electrical conduit.
Garvin teaches wherein the planar wall (fig. 1, planar wall of backer plate 12 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “base plate 12”) defines a plurality of knockouts (14 [paragraph 0033] Garvin states, “series of conduit knockouts 14”) configured to receive one or more of an electrical conduit (conduit knockouts 14 are considered to be “configured to” receive electrical conduit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming an electrical box assembly having a backer plate planar wall with an opening therein as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the planar wall of the backer plate having a plurality of knockouts as taught by Garvin because these conduit knockouts allow organizing of different conduits into the junction box allow for easier identification and installation of components therein.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz et al. in view of Wegner et al. as applied to claim 7 and 16, and further in view of Gross (US PG. Pub. 2017/0040786).
Regarding claim 10 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the electrical box assembly of claim 7, but fails to teach wherein the electrical box extender comprises a first half and a second half, wherein both the first half and the second half each comprise a male end and a female end, wherein each of the female end and the male end together form one of the first electrical box extender opening or the second electrical box extender opening.
Gross teaches wherein the electrical box extender (fig. 2, 14 [paragraph 0024] Gross states, “electrical box extender 14”) comprises a first half (32 [paragraph 0024] Gross states, “first half 32 and the second half 34”) and a second half (34), wherein both the first half (32) and the second half (34) each comprise a male end (42 [paragraph 0025] Gross states, “the first half 32 extends continuously between a male end 42 and a female end 44, and the second half 34 similarly extends continuously between a male end 42 and a female end 44”) and a female end (44), wherein each of the female end (44) and the male end (42) together form one of the first electrical box extender opening or the second electrical box extender opening (openings 70 and 68 will align and form one of the first electrical box extender openings).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical box assembly having an electrical box extender as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the electrical box extender comprising a first and second half each with a male and female end that together form an electrical box extender opening as taught by Gross because Gross states, “Such an electrical box extender may allow for easier installation to electrical box having existing electrical connections… given the attachment configuration of the first half to the second half, once installed, the electrical box extender may be reopened by a user to allow for easy access to the electrical wires positioned therein, without disconnecting any electrical connections. For example, in certain embodiments, one of the first attachment screw or second attachment screw connecting the first half to the second half at one of the first attachment corner or second attachment corner may be removed and the electrical box extender may be opened up like a clam to expose electrical wires positioned therein” [Abstract & paragraph 0038].
Regarding claim 19 – Korcz in view of Wegner teach the method of claim 16, but fails to teach wherein the electrical box extender comprises a first half and a second half, wherein both the first half and the second half each comprise a male end and a female end, wherein each of the female end and the male end together form one of the first electrical box extender opening or the second electrical box extender opening.
Gross teaches wherein the electrical box extender (fig. 2, 14 [paragraph 0024] Gross states, “electrical box extender 14”) comprises a first half (32 [paragraph 0024] Gross states, “first half 32 and the second half 34”) and a second half (34), wherein both the first half (32) and the second half (34) each comprise a male end (42 [paragraph 0025] Gross states, “the first half 32 extends continuously between a male end 42 and a female end 44, and the second half 34 similarly extends continuously between a male end 42 and a female end 44”) and a female end (44), wherein each of the female end (44) and the male end (42) together form one of the first electrical box extender opening or the second electrical box extender opening (openings 70 and 68 will align and form one of the first electrical box extender openings).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming an electrical box assembly having an electrical box extender as taught by Korcz in view of Wegner with the electrical box extender comprising a first and second half each with a male and female end that together form an electrical box extender opening as taught by Gross because Gross states, “Such an electrical box extender may allow for easier installation to electrical box having existing electrical connections… given the attachment configuration of the first half to the second half, once installed, the electrical box extender may be reopened by a user to allow for easy access to the electrical wires positioned therein, without disconnecting any electrical connections. For example, in certain embodiments, one of the first attachment screw or second attachment screw connecting the first half to the second half at one of the first attachment corner or second attachment corner may be removed and the electrical box extender may be opened up like a clam to expose electrical wires positioned therein” [Abstract & paragraph 0038].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Webb (US PG. Pub. 2008/0156514) discloses an adjustable electrical box assembly.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847