DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
The response filed 12/18/2025 has been received, entered and carefully considered. The response affects the instant application accordingly:
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 29-31 were added.
Claims 8, 10, 23, 27-28 have been cancelled.
A declaration by Taylor Salinardi has been submitted on 12/18/2025.
A declaration by Gerold Mosher has been submitted on 12/18/2025.
Applicant had previously elected Group I in response to restriction requirement and for the examination.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29-31 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29-31 are present for examination.
All grounds not addressed in the action are withdrawn as a result of amendment.
New grounds of rejection are set forth in the current office action as a result of amendment.
New Grounds of Rejection
Due to the amendment of the claims the new grounds of rejection are applied:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The independent claim is directed to a liquid oral pharmaceutical suspension comprising 20mg/ml zonisamide as the only active pharmaceutic ingredient, about 2-about 3.5mg/ml of xanthan gum or about 20mg/ml of a combination of sodium carboxymethylcellulose and microcrystalline cellulose, water, a preservative comprising sodium benzoate, sucralose, a pH of 3.5-5.0, wherein the suspension has 0.10% or less ot total impurities when stored at 40oC and 25% relative humidity for at least 1 month and is not a sustained-release pharmaceutical formulation. However, the instant specification does not provide written description for what components would be in a sustained release formulation in order to be excluded from the instant suspension to not be a sustained release formulation. Sustained release formulations contain polymers like xanthan gum which is recited in the instant claims wherein there is an indefinite issue addressed below. There is no written description as to what components would be excluded from the instant suspension so as not to be a sustained release formulation, and does not describe what components constitute a sustained release formulation to be precluded.
This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claim and its dependent claims are directed to a liquid oral pharmaceutical suspension comprising 20mg/ml zonisamide as the only active pharmaceutic ingredient, water, a preservative comprising sodium benzoate, sucralose, a buffer, a pH of 3.5-5.0, wherein the suspension has 0.10% or less ot total impurities when stored at 40oC and 25% relative humidity for at least 1 month and is not a sustained-release pharmaceutical formulation. However, it is unclear what should not be in the suspension to preclude it from being a sustained release suspension as sustained release formulations contain polymers like xanthan gum which is recited in the instant claims wherein there it is indefinite as xanthan gum is a sustained release polymer (and a thickener/suspending agent) but the claim recites that it is ano a sustain release formulation. It does not allow one to ascertain the metes and bounds the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, it is treated as a formulation with coatings with these polymers around the drug particles.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “wherein the one or more buffering agents are selected from sodium phosphate and disodium hydrogen phosphate” which is unclear as how can it be one or more if it is selected from sodium phosphate and disodium hydrogen phosphate? Did Applicant mean for it to be wherein the one or more buffering agents are selected from sodium phosphate or disodium hydrogen phosphate or a combination thereof? Did Applicant mean wherein there are two buffering agents that are sodium phosphate and disodium hydrogen phosphate? It does not allow one to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, the claims is treated as wherein there are two buffering agents that are sodium phosphate and disodium hydrogen phosphate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recites “wherein the one or more buffering agents comprise citric acid monohydrate or tri-sodium citrate dihydrate” which is unclear as how can it be more than one if it is reciting citric acid monohydrate or tri-sodium citrate dihydrate? If more than one is it the combination? Is it to other buffers not claimed which is unclear? Did Applicant mean for it to be citric acid monohydrate or tri-sodium citrate dihydrate or a combination thereof? It does not allow one to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, the claim is treated as where the buffer is either citric acid monohydrate or tri-sodium citrate dihydrate.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recites “wherein the citric acid monohydrate is present at about 3.7 mg/mL and the tri-sodium citrate dihydrate is present at about 3.6 mg/mL” which is unclear as it depends from claim 7 where the buffer is either citric acid monohydrate or tri-sodium citrate dihydrate but claim 30 is reciting that both citric acid monohydrate and tri-sodium citrate dihydrate must be present at the recited amounts, despite depending from a claim that where they are alternatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Gandhi et al. (WO 2011/107855).
Rejection:
Heller et al. teaches a pharmaceutical suspension for oral delivery containing drug particles, water, surfactant, thickeners, and physically stable (abstract, [12, 14-15, 20, 26, 30, 75]. The drug particle formulations include levodopa (L-DOPA) and a preferred pH of about 3.5-7.5 like about 4.5 and buffers like phosphate buffers and citrate buffer solution such as with citric acid monohydrate, and one or more drugs for treating Parkinson’s disease with the levodopa and can be at concentrations including 0.1mg/ml-20mg/ml (claim 1, [26, 30, 191, 497-506, 562, 568, 594-595, 651-652, 1142, 1150, 1239]). The drugs can be co-administered where the actives can be formulated together or separately (when separately zonisamide is the only active [101, 195]). The thickeners include celluloses like microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) and carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) and its salts ([35, 71, 75,504], also suspending agents). The suspensions include preservatives like sodium benzoate from 0.1-1.0%wt.[25, 423, 506], sweeteners like sucralose and saccharine sodium, and flavorings ([423], Table 24 [1251]). It can also include glycerol, ethanol, propylene glycol, and polyethylene glycol (wetting agents [71], see full document specifically areas cited).
Heller et al. does not expressly teach the amount of microcrystalline cellulose and carboxymethylcellulose or the inclusion of xanthan gum or zonisamide but does teach the inclusion of additional drugs for treating Parkinson’s disease with the levodopa [502] that can be formulated separately and co-administered [101], and viscosity agents including carboxymethylcellulose and microcrystalline cellulose. Heller et al. also does not specify the type of flavoring but does teach the inclusion of flavorings.
Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma teaches that zonisamide is useful for Parkinson’s disease and should be combined with levodopa (Page 1, Page 2 –Indications, and Dosage and Administration).
Gandhi et al. teaches that known thickening/viscosity agents (also called suspension stabilizers) include xanthan gum, carboxymethylcellulose or its alkali metal salt, microcrystalline cellulose and mixtures thereof; and are known to be present from up to 1-25% preferably about 1-about 15%wt.; and that known flavor agents include peppermint flavor (Page 9 line 11-18, Page 10 line 13-Page 11 line 2, Page 12 line 19-21).
Wherein it would be obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate zonisamide in the composition and xanthan gum or optimize the amount of thickeners (i.e. MCC/CMC) as suggested by Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Gandhi et al. and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to include zonisamide as Heller teaches the inclusion of additional drugs for treating Parkinson’s disease with the levodopa which can be formulated separately and co-administered, and Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma expressly teaches the two drugs to be in combination for Parkinson’s disease, and optimize the amount of the drug within the taught range (i.e. 0.1-20mg/ml) with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed value. It is also obvious to incorporate known viscosity/thickening/suspending agents at their known ranges as disclosed by Gandhi, as Heller teaches their inclusion the optimization of viscosity agents (i.e. mixtures like MCC/CMC) within their known range to attain the desired therapeutic profile is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed value (i.e. 2%=20mg/ml MCC/CMC). It is also prima facie obvious to incorporate another known viscosity agent (mixture) like xanthan gum with MCC and sodium CMC (carboxymethylcellulose alkali salt) for its known purpose and additive effect in their known range or even simple substitution of one known viscosity agent for another for its known purpose, in their known range and to optimize within the range and arrive at the claimed values (i.e. about 2% MCC/CMC and about 3mg/ml xanthan) as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed thickener and amount (i.e. 2%=20mg/ml MCC/CMC. It would also be prima facie obvious to incorporate a known flavoring as Heller teaches the inclusion of flavorings with a reasonable expectation of success.
While the prior art does not teach the exact claimed dependent values for the sodium benzoate or pH, they are embraced by the taught range of Heller wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize within the taught range and arrive at the claimed values as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile (degree of preservation, pH) with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values. As the suspension contains the recited structural components claimed (i.e. zonisamide, suspending agent (i.e. xanthan gum, CMC/MCC), water, sucralose, buffers, sodium benzoate, pH), the composition would be expected to have the same impurity profile at the recited conditions.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant arguments are centered on the assertion that Heller does not teach or suggest a formulation of a second drug to be co-administered separately with levodopa nor a separate formulation of the second drug to be physically stable or with the recited components, that Dainippon is to a tablet, that Gandhi is to a sustained release suspension with pellets where it does not cure the deficiencies of Heller and Dainippon, that the reference do not provide an example of the oral formulation of zonisamide, that the references do not teach the recited xanthan gum and other components, assertion for secondary considerations, that the references do not teach a stable zonisamide suspension with the recited impurity profile at the recited conditions which is unexpected, that there is no context/disclosure to combine them with a reasonable success.
This is fully considered but not persuasive as Applicant's arguments to Heller and Dainippon and Gandhi are against the references individually, and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Dainippon is presented merely to show that zonisamide is known to be useful for Parkinson’s disease and should be combined with levodopa, Gandhi is presented merely to show known thickening/suspending agents. The assertion that Heller does not teach/suggest a formulation of a second drug to be co-administered separately is not persuasive as contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Heller expressly teaches the drug suspension comprising levodopa with the various components and expressly teaches/defines co-administration with additional actives which can be together or separately wherein it expressly teaches/suggests formulation to contain additional actives (together in the formulation) or separately (separate drugs in the formulation). With regards to the assertion that the references do not have an example of the claimed suspension is again to the references individually as addressed above, and Applicant’s argument is an assertion for anticipation of the reference which is not the basis for obviousness rejection as presented above.
The assertion that the references do not recite the xanthan gum and other components are not persuasive as addressed by the obviousness rejection above, as Heller teaches the inclusion of thickening/suspension agents like MCC and CMC, and Gandhi teaches that mixtures of thickeners like xanthan gum, sodium CMC, and MCC are known for suspensions from about 1-15% wherein the incorporation of another known viscosity agent (mixture) like xanthan gum with MCC and sodium CMC (carboxymethylcellulose alkali salt) for its known purpose in the known range is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success; and it is also obvious to optimize within the taught range for the mixture of viscosity agents and arrive at the claimed range as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values which has not been presented. As for the assertion for secondary considerations, the Salinardi declaration and Mosher declaration are directed to the specific formulation of the ZONISADE formulation which has be patented in the grandchild application and not commensurate in scope with the instant claims which is broader. The instant claims do not contain all the components that contribute to the profile of the specific formulation of the ZONISADE formulation which has be patented in the grandchild application and it is noted that the Mosher declaration submitted on 08/19/2024 demonstrates that the flavorings impact the profile wherein each component that contributed to the specific formulation of the ZONISADE formulation presented in the declaration had to be present in the patented claim to be commensurate in scope with the showing which is the case in the patented grandchild application. Applicant’s remaining arguments that the prior art does not provide a reasonable expectation of success for arriving at the claimed formulation with the recited stability is fully considered but not persuasive. Formulation of a known oral suspension of levodopa in combination with zonisamide for its additive effect for Parkinson’s as separate formulations as addressed by Heller (wherein zonisamide is the only active in separate formulations) is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amount of zonisamide or specific excipients. As the prior art rejection is directed to the formulation of the suspension and as the suspension contains the recited structural components claimed – the composition would be expected to have the same impurity profile at the recited conditions absent evidence to the contrary as Heller establishes and expectation of long term stability and the instant disclosure addresses that the zonisamide suspension with these structural components would have the recited impurity profile at the recited conditions.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Gandhi et al. (WO 2011/107855) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.ou.edu (Buffers - Phosphate Buffer).
Rejection:
The teachings of Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Gandhi et al. are addressed above.
Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Gandhi et al. do not expressly teach the components of the phosphate buffer but does teach the inclusion of a phosphate buffer.
www.ou.edu teaches that a phosphate buffer contains dibasic sodium phosphate (also known as disodium hydrogen phosphate) and monobasic sodium phosphate (also known as sodium phosphate) and water.
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a phosphate buffer that is taught to be included in the composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant's arguments are those of Heller in view of Dainippon and Gandhi which are addressed above. Applicant remaining arguments that OU Buffers does not suggest/teach the claimed zonisamide formulation with the claimed stability which is fully considered but not persuasive as it is to the reference individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As the prior art rejection is directed to the formulation of the suspension and as the suspension contains the recited structural components claimed – the composition would be expected to have the same impurity profile at the recited conditions absent evidence to the contrary as Heller establishes and expectation of long term stability and the instant disclosure addresses that the zonisamide suspension with these structural components (i.e. thickeners/suspending agents, buffers) would have the recited impurity profile at the recited conditions.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Gandhi et al. (WO 2011/107855) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.mystrica.com (0.1M Citric acid-Sodium citrate buffer buffer – pH range 3.0-6.2) and Rowe et al. (Citric Acid Monohydrate) and Rowe et al. (Sodium Citrate Dihydrate).
Rejection:
The teachings of Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Gandhi et al. are addressed above.
Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Gandhi et al. do not expressly teach the amount of citric acid monohydrate (about 3.7mg/ml= about 0.37%) or trisodium citrate dihydrate (sodium citrate dihydrate, about 3.6mg/ml= about 0.36%) but does teach the inclusion of citrate buffers including components like citric acid monohydrate.
www.mystrica.com teaches that a citrate buffer contains citric acid monohydrate and trisodium citrate dihydrate and water.
Rowe et al. teaches that citric acid monohydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.1-2% (Table 1).
Rowe et al. teaches that sodium citrate dihydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.3-2% (Table 1).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a citrate buffer that is taught to be included in the composition in their known useful range and to optimize within the range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH and arrive at the claimed values with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amounts.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837).
Rejection:
Heller et al. teaches a pharmaceutical suspension for oral delivery containing drug particles, water, surfactant, thickeners, and physically stable (abstract, [12, 14-15, 20, 26, 30, 75]. The drug particle formulations include levodopa (L-DOPA) and a preferred pH of about 3.5-7.5 like about 4.5 and buffers like phosphate buffers and citrate buffer solution such as with citric acid monohydrate, and one or more drugs for treating Parkinson’s disease with the levodopa and can be at concentrations including 0.1mg/ml-20mg/ml (claim 1, [26, 30, 191, 497-506, 562, 568, 594-595, 651-652, 1150, 1239]). The drugs can be co-administered where the actives can be formulated together or separately (when separately zonisamide is the only active [101, 195]). The thickeners include celluloses like microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) and carboxymethylcellulose ([35, 71, 75,504], also suspending agents). The suspensions include preservatives like sodium benzoate from 0.1-1.0%wt. [25, 423, 506], sweeteners like sucralose and saccharine sodium, and flavorings [423, 1251 Table 24]. It can also include glycerol, ethanol, propylene glycol, and polyethylene glycol (wetting agents [71], see full document specifically areas cited).
Heller et al. does not expressly teach the inclusion of zonisamide or the amount of viscosity agent (i.e. CMC/MCC or xanthan gum) but does teach the inclusion of additional drugs for treating Parkinson’s disease with the levodopa [502] that can be formulated separately and co-administered [101], and viscosity agents including carboxymethylcellulose and microcrystalline cellulose. Heller et al. also does not specify the type of flavoring but does teach the inclusion of flavorings.
Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma teaches that zonisamide is useful for Parkinson’s disease and should be combined with levodopa (Page 1, Page 2 –Indications, and Dosage and Administration).
Namburi et al. teaches that known viscosity/suspending/thickening agents include xanthan gum, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, microcrystalline cellulose and mixtures thereof; and are known to be present from about 0.05-about 5% [20].
Wherein it would be obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate zonisamide in the composition and optimize the amount of viscosity agents including incorporating xanthan gum as suggested by Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to include zonisamide as Heller teaches the inclusion of additional drugs for treating Parkinson’s disease with the levodopa which can be formulated separately and co-administered, and Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma expressly teaches the two drugs to be in combination for Parkinson’s disease, and optimize the amount of the drug within the taught range (i.e. 0.1-20mg/ml) with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed value. It is also obvious to incorporate known viscosity/thickening/suspending agents at their known ranges as disclosed by Namburi, as Heller teaches their inclusion and the optimization of viscosity agents (i.e. mixtures like MCC/CMC) within their known range to attain the desired therapeutic profile is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed value of (2%=20mg/ml MCC/CMC). It is also prima facie obvious to incorporate another known viscosity agent (mixture) like xanthan gum with MCC and sodium CMC (carboxymethylcellulose alkali salt) or even simple substitution of one known viscosity agent for another for its known purpose in their known range is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success; and to optimize within the taught range for the viscosity agents (i.e. MCC/CMC, xanthan gum, xanthan gum/MCC/CMC) and arrive at the claimed range (i.e. about 0.3%=3mg/ml xanthan, about 2%=20mg/ml MCC/CMC) as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values.
While the prior art does not teach the exact claimed dependent values for the sodium benzoate, they are embraced by the taught range of Heller wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize within the taught range and arrive at the claimed values as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values. As the suspension contains the recited structural components claimed (i.e. zonisamide, suspending agent (i.e. xanthan gum, CMC/MCC), water, sucralose, buffers, sodium benzoate, pH), the composition would be expected to have the same impurity profile at the recited conditions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.ou.edu (Buffers - Phosphate Buffer).
Rejection:
The teachings of Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. are addressed above.
Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the components of the phosphate buffer but does teach the inclusion of a phosphate buffer.
www.ou.edu teaches that a phosphate buffer contains dibasic sodium phosphate (also known as disodium hydrogen phosphate) and monobasic sodium phosphate (also known as sodium phosphate) and water.
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a phosphate buffer that is taught to be included in the composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 above, further in view of Medisca (Suggested Flavoring Reference Chart).
Rejection:
The teachings of Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. are addressed above.
Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the recited flavorings but does teach the incorporation of flavorings.
Medisca teaches that flavorings are known for taste masking and masking drug classes which include raspberry, tutti frutti, peppermint oil, and strawberry.
Wherein it would be obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a flavoring (i.e. raspberry, peppermint) in the composition as suggested by Medisca and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to incorporate a known flavoring for its known purpose with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed flavor.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller et al. (US. Pat. Pub. 2017/0172961) in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma (Notice of launching of a new Parkinson's disease drug "TRERIEF”) and Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.mystrica.com (0.1M Citric acid-Sodium citrate buffer buffer – pH range 3.0-6.2) and Rowe et al. (Citric Acid Monohydrate) and Rowe et al. (Sodium Citrate Dihydrate).
Rejection:
The teachings of Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. are addressed above.
Heller in view of Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma and Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the amount of citric acid monohydrate (about 3.7mg/ml= about 0.37%) or trisodium citrate dihydrate (sodium citrate dihydrate, about 3.6mg/ml= about 0.36%) but does teach the inclusion of citrate buffers including components like citric acid monohydrate.
www.mystrica.com teaches that a citrate buffer contains citric acid monohydrate and trisodium citrate dihydrate and water.
Rowe et al. teaches that citric acid monohydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.1-2% (Table 1).
Rowe et al. teaches that sodium citrate dihydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.3-2% (Table 1).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a citrate buffer that is taught to be included in the composition in their known useful range and to optimize within the range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH and arrive at the claimed values with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amounts.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 29, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11529333 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837).
The patented claim recite components that fall within the breath of the instant claims. It also embraces the pH recited in the instant dependent claim where it is prima facie obvious to optimize within the patented pH range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH absent evidence of criticality for the recited pH.
The patented claim does not recite the specific sweetener but does teach the inclusion of a sweetener.
Namburi et al. teaches that known sweeteners for suspensions include sucralose (claim 13).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sucralose as suggested by Namburi et al. and produce the claimed invention as it is prima facie obvious to include a known sweetener with a reasonable expectation of success. As the suspension contains the recited structural components claimed (zonisamide, suspending agents, water, preservative, and sweetener, pH), the composition would be expected to have the same impurity profile at the recited conditions.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant requests reconsideration. This is fully considered but not persuasive as the patented claims recite a composition with the instantly claimed components and the inclusion of sweeteners which include sucralose as addressed by Namburi et al. wherein the inclusion of a known sweetener is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success wherein there is a case of double patenting.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 30 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11529333 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837 as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 29, 31 above, further in view of Rowe et al. (Citric Acid Monohydrate) and Rowe et al. (Sodium Citrate Dihydrate).
Rejection:
The teaching of the patented claim in view of Namburi et al. are addressed above.
The patented claim in view of Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the amount of citric acid monohydrate (about 3.7mg/ml= about 0.37%) or trisodium citrate dihydrate (sodium citrate dihydrate, about 3.6mg/ml= about 0.36%) but does teach their inclusion.
Rowe et al. teaches that citric acid monohydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.1-2% (Table 1).
Rowe et al. teaches that sodium citrate dihydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.3-2% (Table 1).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the components in their known useful range and to optimize within the range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH and arrive at the claimed values with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amounts.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11529333 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837).
The patented claims recite a liquid suspension comprising about 20mg/ml zonisamide, suspending agents of xanthan gum (about 2-about 3.5 mg/ml) and about 20mg/ml of a combination of microcrystalline cellulose and sodium CMC, buffers like citrates and phosphates, and excipients like a preservative and glycerol (sweetener/wetting agent), a pH of 3.5-5 with the same stability recitations instantly claimed. The patented claims embrace the pH recited in the instant dependent claim where it is prima facie obvious to optimize within the patented pH range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH absent evidence of criticality for the recited pH.
The independent claim does not recite a sweetener, the specific buffer, the specific preservative, or carrier to be water. The dependent claims do recite the instant claimed buffers, preservatives, flavors, and excipients.
Namburi et al. teaches that suspensions are known to be aqueous and include sweeteners like sucralose, preservatives like sodium benzoate from 0.05-about 2%, flavorings, and buffer/acidifier components like citric acid monohydrate (abstract, claims 1, 13, 15, 19, [23]).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sweeteners like sucralose, and other excipients such as specific known preservatives and buffers and flavorings as suggested by Namburi et al. and produce the claimed invention as it is prima facie obvious to include components known to be included in a suspension with a reasonable expectation of success. It is also prima facie obvious to optimize within the known range (i.e. sodium benzoate preservatives) and arrive at the claimed values as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant requests reconsideration. This is fully considered but not persuasive as the patented claims recite a composition with the instantly claimed components and the inclusion of excipients known to be included in a suspension (i.e. sweeteners like sucralose, a known preservative, buffer, and carriers) as addressed by Namburi et al. is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success wherein there is a case of double patenting.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 30 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11529333 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.mystrica.com (0.1M Citric acid-Sodium citrate buffer buffer - pH range 3.0-6.2) and Rowe et al. (Citric Acid Monohydrate) and Rowe et al. (Sodium Citrate Dihydrate).
The teachings of the patented claims in view of Namburi et al. are addressed above.
The patented claims in view of Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the amount of citric acid monohydrate (about 3.7mg/ml= about 0.37%) or trisodium citrate dihydrate (sodium citrate dihydrate, about 3.6mg/ml= about 0.36%) but does teach the inclusion of citrate buffers including components like citric acid monohydrate.
www.mystrica.com teaches that a citrate buffer contains citric acid monohydrate and trisodium citrate dihydrate and water.
Rowe et al. teaches that citric acid monohydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.1-2% (Table 1).
Rowe et al. teaches that sodium citrate dihydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.3-2% (Table 1).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a citrate buffer that is taught to be included in the composition in their known useful range and to optimize within the range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH and arrive at the claimed values with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amounts.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 24, 29, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12491179 (previously presented 18/665824).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are more specific than the instant claims and fall within the breath of the instant claims with the same recited impurity profile and therein obvious over the instant claims.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant requests reconsideration. This is fully considered but not persuasive as the patented claims fall within the breath instantly claimed.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 25 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12491179 (previously presented 18/665824) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 24, 29, 31 above, in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837).
The teaching of the patented claims are addressed above.
The patented claims do not recite a wetting agent
Namburi et al. teaches that oral suspension are known to include vehicles/cosolvents in association with water like propylene glycol, glycerin, and polyethylene glycol to bring some pharmaceutical actives into the solution (wetting agents) [4].
Wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cosolvents/wetting agents like propylene glycol, glycerin, and polyethylene glycol in the aqueous suspension as suggested by Namburi et al. and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to incorporate known cosolvents/wetting agents to improve the solubility of actives for their known purpose with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant’s arguments are directed to the patented claims which are addressed above.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 30 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12491179 as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 24, 29, 31 above, in view of Rowe et al. (Citric Acid Monohydrate) and Rowe et al. (Sodium Citrate Dihydrate).
The teachings of the patented claims are addressed above.
The patented claims do not expressly teach the amount of citric acid monohydrate (about 3.7mg/ml= about 0.37%) or trisodium citrate dihydrate (sodium citrate dihydrate, about 3.6mg/ml= about 0.36%) together but does teach their inclusion and the amounts are separately claimed.
Rowe et al. teaches that citric acid monohydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.1-2% (Table 1).
Rowe et al. teaches that sodium citrate dihydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.3-2% (Table 1).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the components in their known useful range and to optimize within the range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH and arrive at the claimed values with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amounts.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 11-12, 27-29 of copending Application No. 18/114410 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837).
The copending claims recite a liquid suspension comprising about 20mg/ml zonisamide, xanthan gum, water, excipients such as a sodium benzoate preservative and sucralose sweetener, a pH of 3.5-5 with the same stability and impurity recitations instantly claimed. The patented claims embrace the pH recited in the instant dependent claim where it is prima facie obvious to optimize within the patented pH range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH absent evidence of criticality for the recited pH.
The copending claims do not recite the amount of xanthan gum, a buffer, wetting agents, or flavorings.
Namburi et al. teaches that suspensions are known to be aqueous and include known viscosity/suspending/thickening agents from about 0.05-about 5% like xanthan gum, microcrystalline cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, and mixtures thereof; preservatives like sodium benzoate from 0.05-about 2%; buffer/acidifier components like citric acid monohydrate and phosphates; and vehicles/cosolvents with water like propylene glycol; glycerin and polyethylene glycol to bring some pharmaceutical actives into the solution (wetting agents); and also flavorings (abstract, claims 1, 13, 15-17, 19, [4, 20, 23]).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate xanthan gum at the recited amount, and other excipients such as specific known buffers, cosolvents/wetting agents, and flavorings as suggested by Namburi et al. and produce the claimed invention as it is prima facie obvious to include components known to be included in a suspension for their known purpose with a reasonable expectation of success. It is also prima facie obvious to optimize within the known range for viscosity agents like xanthan gum and arrive at the claimed values as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant requests reconsideration. This is fully considered but not persuasive as the inclusion of known excipients for suspensions in their known range is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 11-12, 27-29 of copending Application No. 18/114410 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.ou.edu (Buffers - Phosphate Buffer).
The teachings of copending claims in view of Namburi et al. are addressed above.
The copending claims in view of Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the specific phosphates recited but does teach the inclusion of a acidifying agents/buffer including phosphates.
www.ou.edu teaches that a known phosphate buffer contains dibasic sodium phosphate (also known as disodium hydrogen phosphate) and monobasic sodium phosphate (also known as sodium phosphate) and water.
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a phosphate buffer/acidifier that is taught to be useful in the composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant argument is to the copending claims which are addressed above.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 24 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 11-12, 27-29 of copending Application No. 18/114410 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 above, further in view of Medisca (Suggested Flavoring Reference Chart).
The teachings of the copending claims in view of Namburi et al. are addressed above.
The copending claims in view of Namburi et al. do not expressly teach the recited flavorings but does teach the incorporation of flavorings.
Medisca teaches that flavorings are known for taste masking and masking drug classes which include raspberry, tutti frutti, peppermint oil, and strawberry.
Wherein it would be obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a flavoring (i.e. raspberry, peppermint) in the composition as suggested by Medisca and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to incorporate a known flavoring for its known purpose with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed flavor.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant argument is to the copending claims which are addressed above.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claim 30 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 11-12, 27-29 of copending Application No. 18/114410 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13-14, 25, 29, 31 above, further in view of www.mystrica.com (0.1M Citric acid-Sodium citrate buffer buffer – pH range 3.0-6.2) and Rowe et al. (Citric Acid Monohydrate) and Rowe et al. (Sodium Citrate Dihydrate).
The teachings of the copending claims in view of Namburi et al. are addressed above.
The copending claims in view of Namburi et al et al. do not expressly teach the amount of citric acid monohydrate (about 3.7mg/ml= about 0.37%) or trisodium citrate dihydrate (sodium citrate dihydrate, about 3.6mg/ml= about 0.36%) but does teach the inclusion of acidifiers/buffers including components like citric acid monohydrate.
www.mystrica.com teaches that a citrate buffer contains citric acid monohydrate and trisodium citrate dihydrate and water.
Rowe et al. teaches that citric acid monohydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.1-2% (Table 1).
Rowe et al. teaches that sodium citrate dihydrate is known to be used as a buffer from 0.3-2% (Table 1).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known components of a citrate buffer that is taught to be included in the composition in their known useful range and to optimize within the range to attain the desired therapeutic profile/pH and arrive at the claimed values with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-9, 12-13, 27, 30-33 of copending Application No. 18/114469 in view of Namburi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2008/0260837).
The copending claims recite a liquid suspension comprising about 20mg/ml zonisamide, about 2-about 3.5mg/ml xanthan gum ot about 20mg/ml microcrystalline cellulose/carboxymethylcellulose sodium, water, buffers like citric acid monohydrate and trisodium citrate dihydrate and sodium phosphate, sweetener, preservatives, and a pH of 3.5-5 with the same stability and impurity recitations instantly claimed. Dependent claims recite sweeteners including sucralose and glycerol (wetting agent) and combinations thereof.
The copending claims do not recite the specific preservative or specific sweetener.
Namburi et al. teaches that suspensions are known to be aqueous and include sweeteners like sucralose, preservatives like sodium benzoate from 0.05-about 2% (abstract, claims 1, 13, 15, [23]).
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sweeteners like sucralose and preservatives like sodium benzoate as suggested by Namburi et al. and produce the claimed invention as it is prima facie obvious to include known sweeteners and preservatives with a reasonable expectation of success. It is also prima facie obvious to optimize within the known range (i.e. sodium benzoate preservative) and arrive at the claimed values as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant requests reconsideration. This is fully considered but not persuasive as the copending claims recite the same components absent the specific preservative and sweetener which as addressed by Namburi et al are known wherein the inclusion of known preservatives and sweeteners for suspensions for their known purpose is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 24-25, 29-31 are rejected.
/GIGI G HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613