DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 10-14, 17, and 19-28 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claim 10, as well as the cancellation of claims 15, 16, and 18, and the addition of new claims 19-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 10, 20, 21, and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arendash et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0257017 A1; hereinafter known as “Arendash”).
Regarding claim 10, Arendash discloses a method capable of increasing human life span (longevity) via electromagnetic treatment (Abstract; [0002]-[0003]; preventing neurodegenerative disease), the method comprising: positioning an array of electromagnetic emitters proximal to a subject (Fig. 3; [0035]-[0036]); generating, by an electromagnetic wave generator, electromagnetic waves having a predetermined set of parameters including a frequency of 1 megahertz (MHz) to 430 gigahertz (GHz), an average Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of 2 watts per kilogram (W/kg), a pulse repetition rate of 1 to 300 hertz (Hz), or a duty cycle between 1% and 100% ([0037]); applying the electromagnetic waves to the subject through the electromagnetic emitters to provide an increase of the life span of the subject ([0038]), and treating the subject for at least one age-related disease selected from: dementia, cardiovascular disease, cancer, AIDS, traumatic brain injury, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, post-operative cognitive dysfunction, cognitive impairment after anesthesia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, bacterial or viral infections, Multiple Sclerosis, arterial hypertension, autoimmune diseases, depression, anxiety, cognitive impairment in depression, allergy, asthma, celiac disease, glomerulonephritis, hepatitis, inflammatory bowel disease, osteoarthritis, atherosclerosis, diabetes, COPD, chronic kidney disease, metabolic syndrome, neurologic disorders, or Parkinson's disease ([0039]).
The examiner notes that the recited predetermined set of parameters does not have to include each of the recited frequency, SAR, pulse repetition rate, and duty cycle. Indeed, the claim recites “a predetermined set of parameters including a frequency of 1 megahertz (MHz) to 430 gigahertz (GHz), an average Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of 2 watts per kilogram (W/kg), a pulse repetition rate of 1 to 300 hertz (Hz), or a duty cycle between 1% and 100%.” Thus, while Arendash does not teach all four of these recited parameters, it does teach at least the recited frequency and therefore anticipates the claim as-written. To the extent that Luttrull could also be an anticipatory reference, it has been maintained herein as an obviousness-type reference (as seen infra) to demonstrate that the claim would still be rejected even if it recited “and a duty cycle.”
Regarding claim 20, Arendash discloses that the electromagnetic waves are generated by peripheral electromagnetic treatment (PEMT) (Fig. 3; [0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 21, Arendash discloses a method capable of increasing human life span (longevity) via electromagnetic treatment (Abstract; [0002]-[0003]; preventing neurodegenerative disease), the method comprising: positioning an array of electromagnetic emitters proximal to a subject (Fig. 3; [0035]-[0036]); generating, by an electromagnetic wave generator, electromagnetic waves having a predetermined set of parameters including a frequency of 1 megahertz (MHz) to 430 gigahertz (GHz), an average Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of 2 watts per kilogram (W/kg), a pulse repetition rate of 1 to 300 hertz (Hz), or a duty cycle between 1% and 100% ([0037]); applying the electromagnetic waves to the subject through the electromagnetic emitters to provide an increase of the life span of the subject ([0038]), and treating the subject for at least one age-related disease selected from: all forms of dementia, all forms of cardiovascular disease, all forms of cancer, AIDS, traumatic brain injury, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, post-operative cognitive dysfunction, cognitive impairment after anesthesia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, bacterial or viral infections, Multiple Sclerosis, arterial hypertension, autoimmune diseases, all forms of depression and anxiety, cognitive impairment in depression, allergy, asthma, celiac disease, glomerulonephritis, hepatitis, inflammatory bowel disease, osteoarthritis, atherosclerosis, diabetes, COPD, chronic kidney disease, or metabolic syndrome ([0039]).
The examiner again notes that the recited predetermined set of parameters does not have to include each of the recited frequency, SAR, pulse repetition rate, and duty cycle. Indeed, the claim recites “a predetermined set of parameters including a frequency of 1 megahertz (MHz) to 430 gigahertz (GHz), an average Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of 2 watts per kilogram (W/kg), a pulse repetition rate of 1 to 300 hertz (Hz), or a duty cycle between 1% and 100%.” Thus, while Arendash does not teach all four of these recited parameters, it does teach at least the recited frequency and therefore anticipates the claim as-written. To the extent that Luttrull could also be an anticipatory reference, it has been maintained herein as an obviousness-type reference (as seen infra) to demonstrate that the claim would still be rejected even if it recited “and a duty cycle.”
Regarding claim 28, Arendash discloses that the electromagnetic waves are generated by peripheral electromagnetic treatment (PEMT) (Fig. 3; [0035]-[0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 10-14, 17, 19, and 21-27 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Luttrull et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0360709 A1; hereinafter known as “Luttrull”), in view of Arendash et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0106997 A1; hereinafter known as “Arendash ‘997”).
Regarding claim 10, Luttrull discloses a method capable of increasing human life span (longevity) via electromagnetic treatment (Abstract; preventing neurodegenerative disease), the method comprising: positioning an array of electromagnetic emitters 124 proximal to a subject (Figs. 40, 41; [0200]-[0201]); generating, by an electromagnetic wave generator 132, electromagnetic waves having a predetermined set of parameters including a frequency of 1 megahertz (MHz) to 430 gigahertz (GHz), an average Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of 2 watts per kilogram (W/kg), a pulse repetition rate of 1 to 300 hertz (Hz), or a duty cycle between 1% and 100% ([0202]-[0205]); applying the electromagnetic waves to the subject through the electromagnetic emitters to provide an increase of the life span of the subject ([0205]-[0206]), and treating the subject for at least one age-related disease selected from: dementia, cardiovascular disease, cancer, AIDS, traumatic brain injury, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, post-operative cognitive dysfunction, cognitive impairment after anesthesia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, bacterial or viral infections, Multiple Sclerosis, arterial hypertension, autoimmune diseases, depression, anxiety, cognitive impairment in depression, allergy, asthma, celiac disease, glomerulonephritis, hepatitis, inflammatory bowel disease, osteoarthritis, atherosclerosis, diabetes, COPD, chronic kidney disease, metabolic syndrome, neurologic disorders, or Parkinson's disease ([0003]; [0059]; [0106]-[0107]; [0195]-[0196]; [0198]; [0290]; [0293]). Luttrull fails to expressly disclose an average SAR of 2.1 to 16 W/kg. Luttrull arguably renders this obvious, in light of its disclosure of 2.0 W/kg, as a prima facie case of obviousness can exist where the claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I). However, for sake of completeness, Arendash ‘997 discloses a similar method (Abstract) that provides electromagnetic waves with a SAR of up to about 8 W/kg in order to enhance cognition and treat the underlying neurological disorder (Abstract; [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luttrull with the SAR taught by Arendash ‘997 in order to enhance cognition and treat the underlying neurological disorder.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that the array of electromagnetic emitters is positioned adjacent a head surface of the subject (Figs. 40, 41; [0201]; [0205]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that the array of electromagnetic emitters is positioned adjacent a body surface of the subject (Figs. 40, 41; [0201]; [0205]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that the increase in life span results from the electromagnetic waves balancing pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines/immune mediators in a brain and/or body of the subject, from the electromagnetic waves inducing non-immune related actions in a brain and/or body of the subject ([0205]; the electromagnetic waves taught by Luttrull have all the parameters recited by claim 10 and are applied in the same manner as the present invention; thus, they would be able to provide such results).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that applying electromagnetic treatment to the subject through the electromagnetic emitters comprises periodic treatments at predetermined intervals ([0205]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Arendash further discloses that the electromagnetic waves have an average SAR of 8.1 to 16 W/kg (Abstract; [0043]; claims 3, 9, 15, 20, 26). Arendash ‘997 teaches an average SAR of “about” 8 W/kg and also teaches that “about” does not limit the invention to a strict numerical interpretation and includes ranges of the relevant parameter. Further, it has been found that “about 1-5%” renders obvious a claim of “more than 5%,” as “about 1-5%” allows for amounts slightly above 5%. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Thus, “about 8 W/kg” is taken both by the teachings of Arendash ‘997 and by relevant case law to include amounts above 8 W/kg. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness can exist even where the claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See again MPEP 2144.05(I). Accordingly, the proposed combination is taken to render obvious the recited range as it reasonably includes at least 8.1 W/kg. There is no showing of criticality of the claimed range.
Regarding claim 21, Luttrull discloses a method capable of increasing human life span (longevity) via electromagnetic treatment (Abstract; preventing neurodegenerative disease), the method comprising: positioning an array of electromagnetic emitters 124 proximal to a subject (Figs. 40, 41; [0200]-[0201]); generating, by an electromagnetic wave generator 132, electromagnetic waves having a predetermined set of parameters including a frequency of 1 megahertz (MHz) to 430 gigahertz (GHz), an average Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of 2 watts per kilogram (W/kg), a pulse repetition rate of 1 to 300 hertz (Hz), or a duty cycle between 1% and 100% ([0202]-[0205]); applying the electromagnetic waves to the subject through the electromagnetic emitters to provide an increase of the life span of the subject ([0205]-[0206]), and treating the subject for at least one age-related disease selected from: all forms of dementia, all forms of cardiovascular disease, all forms of cancer, AIDS, traumatic brain injury, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, post-operative cognitive dysfunction, cognitive impairment after anesthesia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, bacterial or viral infections, Multiple Sclerosis, arterial hypertension, autoimmune diseases, all forms of depression and anxiety, cognitive impairment in depression, allergy, asthma, celiac disease, glomerulonephritis, hepatitis, inflammatory bowel disease, osteoarthritis, atherosclerosis, diabetes, COPD, chronic kidney disease, or metabolic syndrome ([0003]; [0059]; [0106]-[0107]; [0195]-[0196]; [0198]; [0290]; [0293]). Luttrull fails to expressly disclose an average SAR of 2.1 to 16 W/kg. Luttrull arguably renders this obvious, in light of its disclosure of 2.0 W/kg, as a prima facie case of obviousness can exist where the claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I). However, for sake of completeness, Arendash ‘997 discloses a similar method (Abstract) that provides electromagnetic waves with a SAR of up to about 8 W/kg in order to enhance cognition and treat the underlying neurological disorder (Abstract; [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luttrull with the SAR taught by Arendash ‘997 in order to enhance cognition and treat the underlying neurological disorder.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that the array of electromagnetic emitters is positioned adjacent a head surface of the subject (Figs. 40, 41; [0201]; [0205]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that the array of electromagnetic emitters is positioned adjacent a body surface of the subject (Figs. 40, 41; [0201]; [0205]).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that the increase in life span results from the electromagnetic waves balancing pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines/immune mediators in a brain and/or body of the subject, from the electromagnetic waves inducing non-immune related actions in a brain and/or body of the subject ([0205]; the electromagnetic waves taught by Luttrull have all the parameters recited by claim 10 and are applied in the same manner as the present invention; thus, they would be able to provide such results).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Luttrull further discloses that applying electromagnetic treatment to the subject through the electromagnetic emitters comprises periodic treatments at predetermined intervals ([0205]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Luttrull and Arendash ‘997 discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Arendash further discloses that the electromagnetic waves have an average SAR of 8.1 to 16 W/kg (Abstract; [0043]; claims 3, 9, 15, 20, 26). Arendash ‘997 teaches an average SAR of “about” 8 W/kg and also teaches that “about” does not limit the invention to a strict numerical interpretation and includes ranges of the relevant parameter. Further, it has been found that “about 1-5%” renders obvious a claim of “more than 5%,” as “about 1-5%” allows for amounts slightly above 5%. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Thus, “about 8 W/kg” is taken both by the teachings of Arendash ‘997 and by relevant case law to include amounts above 8 W/kg. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness can exist even where the claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See again MPEP 2144.05(I). Accordingly, the proposed combination is taken to render obvious the recited range as it reasonably includes at least 8.1 W/kg. There is no showing of criticality of the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 15, 16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the independent claims now substantially include the allowable subject matter from now-canceled claim 15. The examiner disagrees. The independent claims now recite treating the subject for at least one of the broad and lengthy list of age-related diseases, rather than that the increase in life span results via reduced occurrence/severity of the broad and lengthy list of age-related diseases. The latter is what was not taught by the prior art of record; however, as noted previously, it was also not taught by the specification as-filed. The proposed combination (as well as Arendash) does indeed teach treating the subject for at least one of the broad and lengthy list of age-related diseases, as detailed supra.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791