Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response, filed 9/23/2025, to the last office action has been entered. Please see below for updated interpretations and rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of Wende does not disclose the newly amended claims of detecting a stop line in a current frame of an input image in a first environment and a second environment different from the first one. As noted in the applicant’s originally filed specification, there are two items to be noted with this new limitation: 1) a first environment and a second environment cannot be in the same frame. Paragraph [0141] notes that “the object detection device 210 includes at least two modules for respectively recognizing the stop line depending on a general environment and a harsh environment. The general environment refers to an illuminance environment in which the camera can normally acquire an image of the stop line, and the harsh environment refers to an illuminance environment in which the camera cannot normally acquire an image of the stop line.” Based on this, a normal environment is not the same, and thus cannot happen at the same time, as a harsh environment. 2) It appears the applicant was meaning to say detecting one of a first environment or a second environment different from the first environment. This would appear to be more in line with the specification.
Given how the claim is presently worded, the examiner will interpret it to be one or the other, but would recommend adding a limitation to recognize a first environment, recognize a second environment, and then detect one or the other. This would force the examiner to find a reference for each of the environments to be recognized even if only one if detected.
Additionally, applicant is continuing to argue that Wende does not disclose all features as claimed. The examiner respectfully disagrees since the claim (as seen from drawings such as Fig. 9) requires only one scenario the ability to take place in a given instance; both cannot be performed simultaneously. This is further supported above where a normal environment cannot happen at the same time as a harsh environment. Based on this, the prior art of Wende is maintained and does meet the limitations of the prior art.
It is noted that because the amended claims are identical to the invention claimed in the earlier application and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the claim discloses “detecting valid stop line data in a current frame of an input image in a first environment and a second environment different from the first environment”. The closest support in the originally filed specification is found in Par. [00141], “In the present disclosure, the object detection device 210 includes at least two modules for respectively recognizing the stop line depending on a general environment and a harsh environment.” Thus, the specification makes it clear that the environments are separately recognized, especially since they cannot happen simultaneously. For purposes of examination in their current format, the examiner will interpret the claims to be detecting in a first or second environment.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over CN. 105291982 A Zhang, Wende (hereinafter, Wende)
Regarding claim 1, Wende discloses a method of recognizing a stop line in an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
detecting valid stop line data in a current frame of an input image in a first environment and a second environment different from the first environment (Based on the explanation above, this is being interpreted to be only in the first environment - Wende P5 L24-26 discloses an algorithm that tracks the movement of the present frame in a stop line position);
in response to the valid stop line data being detected in the current frame in the first environment, calculating a stop line area in the current frame using a tracking algorithm and tracking the stop line in a next frame (Wende P5 L24-26 discloses an algorithm that tracks the movement of the present frame in a stop line position and subsequent picture)
and in response to the valid stop line data not being detected in the first environment, inputting the current frame as being in the second environment to a trained neural network model and performing a redetection of the stop line data (This scenario cannot take place simultaneously as the alternate scenario. The stop line data cannot be detected in two distinct environments simultaneously; thus, Wende previously disclosed the stop line data being detected in the first environment, See P5, L24-26, which voids the stop line data not being detected).
Regarding claim 2, in response to the neural network model detecting the stop line data in the current frame, transmitting the detected stop line data to the tracking algorithm, and tracking, by the tracking algorithm, the stop line in the next frame based on the transmitted stop line data (This limitation is based on a scenario not taking place. This limitation happens when the stop line is not detected in the next frame, and is input to the neural network, See Figure 9, step S6; thus, Wende previously disclosed the stop line data being detected, See P5, L24-26, which voids the stop line data not being detected).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the neural network model is a Resnet-RRC model (This limitation is based on a scenario not taking place. This limitation happens when the stop line is not detected in the next frame, and is input to the neural network, See Figure 9, step S6; thus, Wende previously disclosed the stop line data being detected, See P5, L24-26, which voids the stop line data not being detected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN. 105291982 A Zhang, Wende (hereinafter, Wende) in view "Z. Kalal et al., "Forward-backward error: Automatic detection of tracking failures."2010 20th International Conference on Pattern Recognition, pages 2756-2759. IEEE, 2010"
Regarding claim 3, Wende discloses a tracking algorithm (Wende P5 L24-26 discloses an algorithm that tracks the movement of the present frame in a stop line position);
However, Wende does not disclose where Kalal teaches wherein the tracking algorithm is a median flow tracker (Kalal Section 5 discloses tracking algorithms, specifically the median flow tracker, which the tracker accepts pairs of images It, It+1 and bounding boxes, the number of points within the bounding boxes are tracked and their error is estimated and the outliers are filtered out, the remaining points is the estimated bounding box motion.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of one of the ordinary skill in the art to combine the tracking of stop line data in multiple frames using a tracking algorithm of Wende and the median flow tracker which tracks between frames of Kalal in order to efficiently filter out outliers to improve accuracy.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VINCENT RUDOLPH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2671