DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mildh et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0084688, previously cited), and further in view of in view of Fujishiro et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0160735, previously cited). Hereinafter Mildh and Fujishiro.
Regarding claim 13, Mildh discloses a data transmission method, comprising:
configuring, by a first network device, for a first data packet (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, where the mapping function includes relationship between one or more addresses associated with the target node and one or more radio bearers between the first and second intermediate nodes, paragraphs [0124] – [0127]; the first intermediate node configures the data packet for transmission to target node);
sending, by the first network device, the first data packet to a second network device (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, where the mapping function includes relationship between one or more addresses associated with the target node and one or more radio bearers between the first and second intermediate nodes, paragraphs [0124] – [0127]; the first intermediate node configures the data packet and transmits to target node), wherein the first data packet carries the first information (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, where the mapping function includes relationship between one or more addresses associated with the target node and one or more radio bearers between the first and second intermediate nodes, paragraphs [0124] – [0127]; the data packet includes the information), and the first information triggers the second network device to perform at least one of the following operations: sending the first data packet to N third network devices (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node and the third intermediate node, paragraphs [0124] – [0127], [0130]; the first intermediate node determines if the mapping function is matched for transmission to target node (i.e. second intermediate node and/or third intermediate node)), or discarding the first data packet (the first intermediate node receives indication that the path to the second intermediate node (i.e. next-hop) is unavailable, forms a packet header for the data packet, and sends the data packet to a third intermediate node, paragraph [0130]; the first intermediate node forms a second data packet from the received first data packet by forming the packet header (i.e. the header does not match and is modified), and sends the data packet to third intermediate node (i.e. discards transmission of data packet to second intermediate node)).
However, Mildh does not explicitly disclose “first information for a first data packet of a first multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS);” “configuring, by the first network device, second information for the second network device, wherein the second information corresponds to a second MBMS wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of the second MBMS;” and “wherein the first data packet carries the first information, and the first information triggers the second network device to perform: sending the first data packet to a terminal device that accesses the second network device.”
Fujishiro discloses “first information for a first data packet of a first multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS);” “configuring, by the first network device, second information for the second network device, wherein the second information corresponds to a second MBMS wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of the second MBMS;” and “wherein the first data packet carries the first information, and the first information triggers the second network device to perform: sending the first data packet to a terminal device that accesses the second network device” as each IAB node relays necessity information of the MBMS service in the IAB node by transmitting MBMS-related information, where the IAB node has UE function and gNB function, and the donor gNB manages the connection relationship and the data transfer path based on the MBMS-related information, where the donor gNB determines the MBMS Service Area is the same MBMS service provided (paragraphs [0036], [0175] – [0178]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node functioning as donor gNB to receive MBMS service information from multiple IAB nodes as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS service information to the IAB node functioning as UE as taught by Fujishiro. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocate resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 15, Mildh and Fujishiro disclose the method according to claim 13, but Mildh does not explicitly disclose wherein the second information further comprises a routing address configured for the second network device.
Fujishiro discloses each IAB node relays necessity information of the MBMS service in the IAB node by transmitting MBMS-related information, where the IAB node has UE function and gNB function, and the donor gNB manages the connection relationship and the data transfer path based on the MBMS-related information, where the donor gNB determines the MBMS Service Area is the same MBMS service provided (paragraphs [0036], [0175] – [0178]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS information with IAB node. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocating resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 19, Mildh and Teyeb disclose a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory; and the processor is configured to read and execute instructions in the memory, to implement the data transmission method according to claim 13 (Mildh: network node includes processing circuitry and device readable medium, where processing circuitry executes instruction stored in device readable medium to perform the operations, paragraph [0137] – [0143]).
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 9 – 12, 16 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mildh et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0084688, previously cited) in view of Fujishiro et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0160735, previously cited), and further in view of Teyeb et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0279552). Hereinafter Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb.
Regarding claim 1, Mildh discloses a data transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a first network device (first intermediate node), a first data packet that carries first information (the first intermediate node receives a data packet that includes mapping function associated with target node, paragraph [0123]);
sending, by the first network device, the first data packet to a device that accesses the first network device (the first intermediate node determines address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the target node that is serving a UE, where the data packet is downlink data packet destined for the UE, paragraphs [0127] – [0128]).
However, Mildh does not explicitly disclose “receiving a first data packet of a first multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS);” “receiving, by the first network device, second information from an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor;” and “sending, by the first network device, based on the second information matching the first information, the first data packet to a terminal device that accesses the first network device, wherein the second information comprises a configuration for the first network device, wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of a second MBMS.”
Fujishiro discloses “receiving a first data packet of a first multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS);” “receiving, by the first network device, second information from a donor” “sending, by the first network device, the first data packet to a terminal device that accesses the first network device, wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of a second MBMS” as each IAB node relays necessity information of the MBMS service in the IAB node by transmitting MBMS-related information, where the IAB node has UE function and gNB function, and the donor gNB manages the connection relationship and the data transfer path based on the MBMS-related information, where the donor gNB determines the MBMS Service Area is the same MBMS service provided (paragraphs [0036], [0175] – [0178]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node functioning as donor gNB to receive MBMS service information from multiple IAB nodes as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS service information to the IAB node functioning as UE as taught by Fujishiro. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocate resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
However, Mildh and Fujishiro do not explicitly disclose “receiving, by the first network device, second information from an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor;” and “sending, by the first network device, based on the second information matching the first information, wherein the second information comprises a configuration for the first network device.”
Teyeb discloses the IAB node obtaining first mapping information to map uplink control plane data and second mapping information to map one or more backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channels, where the IAB node inserts first field value into uplink control plane packet that is associated with the first mapping information and selects the BH RLC channel to forward the uplink packet based on the first field value and the second mapping information (paragraphs [0162] – [0164]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node receiving two mapping information to determine the uplink packet as taught by Teyeb, to improve the modified intermediate node of Mildh-Fujishiro for matching the first field value and the second mapping information to select the BH RLC for sending the data packet. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the configuration of proper mapping to the proper IAB backhaul RLC channels (paragraph [0132] of Teyeb).
Regarding claim 2, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 1, Mildh discloses wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the first network device, the first data packet to N second network devices, wherein N is a positive integer (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node and the third intermediate node, where the mapping function includes relationship between one or more addresses associated with the target node and one or more radio bearers between the first and second intermediate nodes, paragraphs [0124] – [0127], [0130]; the first intermediate node determines if the mapping function is matched for transmission to target node (i.e. second intermediate node and/or third intermediate node)).
Regarding claim 3, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 2, Mildh discloses wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the first network device, N+1 first data packets based on the first data packet (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and forms a packet header for the data packet, where the forming of the packet header incorporates existing header of the data packet without modification, paragraphs [0124] – [0126]; the second data packet is obtained from the first data packet received, and the second data packet is to be transmitted to the second intermediate node); and
sending, by the first network device, the N+1 first data packets to the N second network devices (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, forms a packet header for the data packet, where the forming of the packet header incorporates existing header of the data packet without modification, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, paragraphs [0124] – [0127]; the second data packet is obtained from the first data packet received, and the second data packet is to be transmitted to the second intermediate node).
However, Mildh does not explicitly disclose “sending, by the first network device, the N+1 first data packets to the terminal device.”
Fujishiro discloses “sending, by the first network device, the N+1 first data packets to the terminal device” as the IAB node transmits MBMS-related information that indicates the number of apparatuses interested in the MBMS service including UE and other IAB nodes, where the IAB node has a UE function and gNB function (paragraphs [0036], [0176]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS information with IAB node. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocating resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 7, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 2, Mildh discloses wherein each of the N second network devices are all next-hop network devices of the first network device (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, forms a packet header for the data packet, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, paragraphs [0124] – [0127]; the second intermediate node (i.e. IAB nodes) are next hop network devices).
Regarding claim 9, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 1, but Mildh does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information further comprises a path identifier; and
the method further comprises determining, by the first network device, the N second network devices based on the path identifier.
Fujishiro discloses the IAB node transmits MBMS-related information that indicates the number of apparatuses interested in the MBMS service including UE and other IAB nodes, where the MBMS-related information includes identifier of the MBMS service (paragraphs [0175] – [0178]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS information with IAB node. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocating resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 10, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 9, Mildh discloses wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the first network device, third information indicating a mapping relationship between the path identifier and a second network device of the N second network devices (the first intermediate node receives indication that the path to the second intermediate node is unavailable, determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, forms a packet header for the data packet, and sends the data packet to a third intermediate node, where the mapping function includes relationship between one or more addresses associated with the target node, paragraphs [0124], [0130]; the data packet is obtained from the first data packet received, and is to be transmitted to the third intermediate node based on the address); and
determining the N second network devices comprises:
determining, by the first network device, the N second network devices based on the path identifier and the third information (the first intermediate node receives indication that the path to the second intermediate node is unavailable, determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, forms a packet header for the data packet, and sends the data packet to a third intermediate node, where the mapping function includes relationship between one or more addresses associated with the target node, paragraphs [0124], [0130]; the data packet is obtained from the first data packet received, and is to be transmitted to the third intermediate node based on the address).
Regarding claim 11, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 1, Mildh discloses wherein before sending the first data packet to the terminal device, the method further comprises:
indicating, by the first network device, an internet protocol (IP) layer not to perform first processing on the first data packet, wherein the first processing comprises screening the first data packet based on an IP address carried in the first data packet or discarding the first data packet; or
modifying, by the first network device, an IP address of the first data packet to a first IP address for the first network device (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and forms a packet header for the data packet, where the forming of the packet header includes headers for IP, UDP and GTP, paragraphs [0124] – [0126]).
Regarding claim 12, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 1, but Mildh does not explicitly disclose wherein sending the first data packet to the terminal device comprises:
obtaining, by the first network device, third information comprising a multicast internet protocol (IP) address configured for the first network device; and
sending, by the first network device, the first data packet to the terminal device based on the multicast IP address.
Fujishiro discloses the IAB node transmits MBMS-related information that indicates the number of apparatuses interested in the MBMS service including UE and other IAB nodes, where the MBMS-related information includes identifier of the MBMS service (paragraphs [0175] – [0178]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS information with IAB node. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocating resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 16, Mildh discloses a data transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a first network device, a first data packet sent by a second network device (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, paragraphs [0124] – [0127]; the target node (i.e. first network device) receives the data packet from first intermediate node (i.e. second network device));
sending, by the first network device, the first data packet to at least one of a third network device or a terminal device that accesses the first network device (the first intermediate node determines address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, and sends the data packet to the target node that is serving a UE, where the data packet is downlink data packet destined for the UE, paragraphs [0127] – [0128]), wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of a second MBMS.
However, Mildh does not explicitly disclose “receiving, by a first network device in a unicast or a multicast mode, wherein the first data packet is a data packet of a first multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS);” “receiving, by the first network device, second information from an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor;” and “sending, by the first network device in the unicast or the multicast mode, based on the second information matching the first information, the first data packet to at least one of a third network device or a terminal device that accesses the first network device, wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of a second MBMS.”
Fujishiro discloses “receiving, by a first network device in a unicast or a multicast mode, wherein the first data packet is a data packet of a first multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS);” “receiving, by the first network device, second information from a donor;” and “sending, by the first network device in the unicast or the multicast mode, the first data packet to at least one of a third network device or a terminal device that accesses the first network device, wherein the first information comprises a service identifier of the first MBMS, and the second information comprises a service identifier of a second MBMS” as each IAB node relays necessity information of the MBMS service in the IAB node by transmitting MBMS-related information, where the IAB node has UE function and gNB function, and the donor gNB manages the connection relationship and the data transfer path based on the MBMS-related information, where the donor gNB determines the MBMS Service Area is the same MBMS service provided (paragraphs [0036], [0175] – [0178]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh and Fujishiro before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node functioning as donor gNB to receive MBMS service information from multiple IAB nodes as taught by Fujishiro, to improve the intermediate node of Mildh for transmitting MBMS service information to the IAB node functioning as UE as taught by Fujishiro. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically allocate resources to the backhaul link to dynamically switch the data transfer path (paragraph [0004] of Fujishiro).
However, Mildh and Fujishiro do not explicitly disclose “receiving, by the first network device, second information from an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor;” and “sending, by the first network device in the unicast or the multicast mode, based on the second information matching the first information, the first data packet to at least one of a third network device or a terminal device that accesses the first network device.”
Teyeb discloses the IAB node obtaining first mapping information to map uplink control plane data and second mapping information to map one or more backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channels, where the IAB node inserts first field value into uplink control plane packet that is associated with the first mapping information and selects the BH RLC channel to forward the uplink packet based on the first field value and the second mapping information (paragraphs [0162] – [0164]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb before him or her, to incorporate the IAB node receiving two mapping information to determine the uplink packet as taught by Teyeb, to improve the modified intermediate node of Mildh-Fujishiro for matching the first field value and the second mapping information to select the BH RLC for sending the data packet. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the configuration of proper mapping to the proper IAB backhaul RLC channels (paragraph [0132] of Teyeb).
Regarding claim 17, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose the method according to claim 16, Mildh discloses wherein receiving the first data packet sent by the second network device comprises:
obtaining, by the first network device, configuration information corresponding to the first data packet (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, forms a packet header for the data packet, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, where the data packet includes control-plane information and mapping functions that identify the target node, and user-plane information and mapping functions that associate the target node, paragraphs [0123] – [0126]); and
receiving, by the first network device, the first data packet based on the configuration information (the first intermediate node determines an address for the data packet based on mapping function associated with the target node, forms a packet header for the data packet, and sends the data packet to the second intermediate node, where the data packet includes control-plane information and mapping functions that identify the target node, and user-plane information and mapping functions that associate the target node, paragraphs [0123] – [0126]).
Regarding claim 18, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory; and the processor is configured to read and execute instructions in the memory, to implement the data transmission method according to claim 1 (Mildh: network node includes processing circuitry and device readable medium, where processing circuitry executes instruction stored in device readable medium to perform the operations, paragraph [0137] – [0143]).
Regarding claim 20, Mildh, Fujishiro, and Teyeb disclose a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory; and the processor is configured to read and execute instructions in the memory, to implement the data transmission method according to claim 16 (Mildh: network node includes processing circuitry and device readable medium, where processing circuitry executes instruction stored in device readable medium to perform the operations, paragraph [0137] – [0143]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 – 8, filed April 8, 2026, with respect to claims1 – 3, 7, 9 – 13, and 15 – 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
HUANG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0127319) – the IAB donor DU obtains first information that includes a source node identifier, a target node identifier, a UE identifier to which the data packet belongs, and a bearer identifier to which the data packet belongs, a channel identifier to which the data packet belongs, routing path information, Quality of Service (QoS) related information, general packet radio service tunneling protocol (GTP) tunnel information, control plane indication information, user plane indication information or protocol type indication information, where the IAB donor DU transmits the data packet to an IAB donor CU according to the first information
LIU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0377930) – the IAB donor distributed unit determines a first BH RLC channel identity corresponding to the service attribute information of the downlink data based on a correspondence between the service attribute information and the BH RLC channel identity, maps the downlink data to a BH RLC channel corresponding to the first BH RLC channel identity, and sends the downlink data to the next-hop IAB node; or the IAB donor distributed unit determines a first BH RLC channel identity corresponding to the service attribute information of the downlink data and the access IAB node address information of the downlink data based on a correspondence between the BH RLC channel identity and the service attribute information and the access IAB node address information, maps the downlink data to a BH RLC channel corresponding to the first BH RLC channel identity, and sends the downlink data to the next-hop IAB node
PARK et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0159565) – the base station node provides system information including quality of service information describing a quality of service offered by the base station node, and transmits the system information over a radio interface to a wireless terminal to enable the wireless terminal in an idle or disconnected mode, e.g., to use the quality of service information to determine whether to attach to the base station node when not in connected mode
ZHU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0225209) – the IAB donor determines second configuration information, where the second configuration information is used to indicate a second backhaul link BH radio link control RLC channel, the second BH RLC channel is used to transmit a first-type data payload, and the first-type data payload is a data payload other than an F1 user plane F1-U data payload and an F1 control plane F1-C data payload, and sends the second configuration information to an IAB node
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468