DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed March 11, 2026. Claims 1-12 are pending in this case. Claims 13-20 are canceled pursuant to a Requirement for Restriction issued March 12, 2025. Claims 1, 8 and 11 are currently amended. Accordingly, claims 1-12 are under examination in this case.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, as currently amended, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein the second digital wallet is managed by a gateway service, wherein the second digital wallet is managed by a gateway service”. (The phrase is repeated.)
“wherein transferring the second amount comprises transferring the second amount from a financial account of the gateway service to the financial account of the FI, wherein transferring the second amount comprises transferring the second amount from a financial account of the gateway service to the financial account of the FI”. (The phrase is repeated.)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solis (US 2015/0178693) in view of Forzley et al (US 2017/0116608) and further in view of Law et al (US 2007/0125840), and Schnitt et al (US 2022/0292465).
Regarding claim 1 –
Solis discloses a method, comprising:
integrating a payment by digital wallet option into a user interface of a fiat currency account management application (app); (par 19)
receiving through the user interface a selection of the payment by digital wallet option from a user operating the app; (par 60)
causing a transfer in a first amount from a first digital wallet of the user to a second digital wallet based on the receiving; (par 60-62, par 80) and
transferring a second amount of a fiat currency to a financial account of a financial institution (FI) associated with the user as the payment on a user account with the FI. (par 60-62, par 80)
Forzley discloses, as Solis does not specifically disclose, wherein the transfer occurs over a blockchain (BC). (par 44)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the payment method of SOLIS, in combination with the method of processing cryptocurrency disclosed by FORZLEY, to retain their respective properties and functions when performed in combination. See MPEP § 2143 Part II.A Ex.5 (discussing Sundance, Inc. v. DeMonte Fabricating Ltd., 89 USPQ2d 1535 (Fed. Cir. 2008)). Therefore, by the rationale outlined above, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of SOLIS with the blockchain of FORZLEY to obtain the claimed invention.
Law discloses, as Solis and Forsley do not, wherein the second digital wallet is managed by a gateway service, (par 95-96), and, wherein transferring the second amount comprises transferring the second amount from a financial account of the gateway service to the financial account of the FI. (par 114, 118, 142-143).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Solis with the gateway of Lawi, in order to achieve greater accuracy in transactions, that is, in order to better avoid sending payments to the wrong recipient.
Schnitt teaches, as Solis does not teach specifically, verifying that the transfer appears on the BC as a pending transfer to the second digital wallet before initiating transfer of a second amount.(par 491-492).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the verification in Schnitt with Solis in order to avoid a repeated unsuccessful transactions.
Regarding claim 2 –
Solis discloses wherein receiving further includes receiving an account identifier for the user account and a wallet identifier for the first digital wallet from the app based on the selection.(par 56)
Regarding claim 3 –
Solis discloses wherein receiving further includes presenting within the user interface a code and instructing through the user interface the user to scan the code, wherein the code encoded with a wallet identifier for the second digital wallet. (par 81, 72)
Regarding claim 4 –
Solis discloses causing a wallet application on a user-operated device to generate and submit the transfer on the BC using the first amount from the first digital wallet and the wallet identifier for the second digital wallet when the code is scanned. (par 81, 72)
Regarding claim 5 -
Forzley discloses, as Solis does not specifically disclose, using the wallet identifier for the second digital wallet and confirming the transfer appears on the BC. (par 29, 44)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of SOLIS with the identifiers and blockchain of FORZLEY to obtain the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6 –
Solis discloses wherein causing further includes presenting within the user interface a wallet identifier for the second digital wallet and instructing the user to initiate the payment from the first digital wallet to the second digital wallet on the blockchain using a wallet application on a user-operated device. (par 99-100)
Regarding claim 7 –
Solis discloses wherein presenting further includes identifying the transfer on the BC as a pending transfer to the second digital wallet and linking a wallet identifier for the first digital wallet appearing in the pending transfer to a user account identifier for the user account of the user. (par 48, 76)
Regarding claim 8 -
Forzley discloses, as Solis does not specifically disclose, transferring further includes converting the first amount of cryptocurrency to an equivalent amount in the fiat currency to identify the second amount of the fiat currency. (par 44)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of SOLIS with the multiple currencies of FORZLEY to obtain the claimed invention, along with greater user convenience.
Regarding claim 9 –
Solis discloses wherein transferring further includes transferring a user account identifier for the user account with the second amount. (par 99, 127, 12-16)
Regarding claim 10 –
Solis discloses wherein transferring further includes transferring the second amount from a financial account of a provider who provides the method. (par 12-16)
Regarding claim 11 –
Forzley discloses, as Solis does not specifically disclose, wherein transferring further includes exchanging the first amount of cryptocurrency within the second digital wallet to a third amount of a stable cryptocurrency over the BC. (par 44)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of SOLIS with the identifiers and blockchain of FORZLEY to obtain the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12 -
Solis discloses processing the method as a cryptocurrency payment gateway service. (par 80)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zimmerman et al (US 2020/0005283) discloses a cryptocurrency payment and refund processing on a transaction terminal.
/Cristina Owen Sherr/Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/JOHN W HAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697