Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
11/18/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradini et al. (US 2016/0323892 A1; hereinafter “Pradini”), in view of Abbey at el. (US 8233412 B1; hereinafter “Abbey”).
Regarding claim 1, Pradini teaches a network coding method (FIG. 1d), comprising:
determining, by a first terminal side apparatus (FIG. 1d first wireless device D1), first indication information ([0071] capabilities) ([0071] UE determines and reports its own capabilities, including network coding and decoding related capabilities, in a Set Up Request message, [0075] the UE includes information indicating whether or not it supports a joint network coding function);
transmitting, by the first terminal side apparatus (FIG. 1d first wireless device D1), data to a second terminal side apparatus (FIG. 1d second wireless device D2) in a same slot of a same transmission resource through an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna by performing operations comprising (FIG. 1d discloses the first wireless device D1 and the second wireless device D2 communicate via the radio access point BS on the radio link):
sending, by the first terminal side apparatus, third to-be-coded data ([0033] FIG. 1d the network coded form of the signal x1) to the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna in a first slot of a second transmission resource (FIG. 1d discloses D1 sends the coded data x1 to BS over the slot), and receiving first network coded data from the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna in the first slot ([0033] FIG. 1d discloses BS performs network coding of first data x1 and sends it to D1 on the slot), wherein the third to-be-coded data is obtained based on the first indication information and the first to-be-coded data ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x1 to D1 based on the request; [0038], [0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions); and
obtaining, by the first terminal side apparatus, second to-be-coded data ([0033] FIG. 1d the network coded form of the signal x2) from the second terminal side apparatus based on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data ([0034] the second wireless device D2 sends data x2 on the uplink to the first wireless device D1 based on the network coded form of the signals x1),
wherein each of the first terminal side apparatus and the second terminal side apparatus is a terminal device ([0034] the first wireless device D1 and the second wireless device D2).
However, Pradini does not teach wherein the first indication information indicates whether or not to preprocess a phase of first to-be-coded data to be sent by the first terminal side apparatus by shifting the phase of the first to-be-coded data by an angle; and an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches wherein the first indication information indicates whether or not to preprocess a phase of first to-be-coded data to be sent by the first terminal side apparatus by shifting the phase of the first to-be-coded data by an angle ([Page 8 lines 2-4, 16-18]; [Page 10 lines 57-59] disclose that a terminal-side pre-processor system performs intelligent process control to determine whether or not preprocessing is to be applied to signals prior to transmission, based on detected signal conditions, [Page 9 lines 36-51] discloses phase and delay weighting of modulated signals corresponding to angular phase shifts, the determination constitutes first indication information indicating whether or not to preprocess a phase of first to-be-coded data by shifting the phase by an angle),
an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the determining, by a first terminal side apparatus, first indication information comprises ([0038] FIG. 2 action 200 discloses the first device that issues the request in order to start a communication session with the other wireless device): receiving, by the first terminal side apparatus, the first indication information from a network side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses network device (the radio access point BS) sends the request signal x1 to the wireless devices D1), wherein the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein before the receiving, by the first terminal side apparatus, the first indication information from a network side apparatus, the method further comprises ([0037] Before FIG. 2 200, the radio access point is arranged or configured for handling a two-way communication between a first wireless device and a second wireless device, wherein the first and second wireless devices are both served by the radio access point and wherein a set of candidate transmission modes are available for use in the two-way communication):
sending, by the first terminal side apparatus, first information to the network side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the first wireless device D1 sends data x1 on the uplink to the radio access point BS on a first timeslot TS1), wherein the first information comprises at least one of the: first request information ([0038] the first device that issues the request),
an interference level of the first terminal side apparatus ([0050] In FIG. 3, obtaining module 300a which is configured to obtain a mode-specific quality metric related to a predicted Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio, SINR from wireless device D1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the determining, by a first terminal side apparatus, first indication information comprises ([0038] FIG. 2 action 200 discloses the first device that issues the request in order to start a communication session with the other wireless device):
receiving, by the first terminal side apparatus, third indication information ([0033] FIG. 1e the signal x1) from a network side apparatus, wherein the third indication information indicates the first terminal side apparatus to negotiate a first transmission resource of the first indication information with the second terminal side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x1 to D1 on the slot with D2, [0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions); and
determining, by the first terminal side apparatus, the first indication information based on a result of the negotiation (FIG. 1e the data x1 based on a data transmission between D1 and D2) with the second terminal side apparatus on the first transmission resource ([0038] The first device that issues the request in order to start a communication session with the other wireless device, [0071] In the Set Up Request message, UE-A may also indicate the specific UE-B with which it wants a D2D link to be set up), wherein the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches further comprising: receiving, by the first terminal side apparatus, fourth indication information (FIG. 1d the data x2) from a network side apparatus, wherein the fourth indication information indicates the second transmission resource ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x2 to D1 on the slot TS3 with D2, [0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions).
Regarding claim 6, Pradini teaches wherein before the receiving, by the first terminal side apparatus, fourth indication information from a network side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends the signal x2 to D1 on a third timeslot TS3, [0037] Before FIG. 2 200, the radio access point is arranged or configured for handling a two-way communication between a first wireless device and a second wireless device), the method further comprises:
sending, by the first terminal side apparatus to the network side apparatus, first communication quality of a downlink data channel between the network side apparatus and the first terminal side apparatus ([0065] FIG. 5 5:5 and 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D), the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna, and the first terminal side apparatus, wherein the second transmission resource is determined using the first communication quality ([0040] Each mode-specific quality metric may be determined and/or calculated for the same radio resources).
However, Pradini does not specifically teach the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 8, Pradini teaches a network coding method (FIG. 1e), comprising:
sending, by a network side apparatus (FIG. 1e radio access point BS), first indication information to a first terminal side apparatus (FIG. 1e first wireless device D1) ([0034] In FIG. 1e, the BS sends the signal x1 (capabilities; [0071]) to the first wireless devices D1), and
sending, by the network side apparatus, second indication information to a second terminal side apparatus (FIG. 1e second wireless device D2) ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x1, x2 to both the first and second wireless devices D1, D2 on a third timeslot TS3), wherein
the first indication information indicates to preprocess a phase of first-to-be-coded data to be sent by the first terminal side apparatus ([0071] In the Set up Request message, UE-A informs the BS about its own capabilities, including NW coding/decoding related capabilities, [0075] UE-A and UE-B also include information in their link quality reports to indicate whether they support a join network coding function, [0112] Such embodiments are thus possible to employ in a cellular network that supports network coding, physical layer network coding, and D2D communication), and
wherein each of the first terminal side apparatus and the second terminal side apparatus is a terminal device ([0034] the first wireless device D1 and the second wireless device D2), and the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
However, Pradini does not teach the second indication information indicates not to preprocess a phase of second to-be-coded data to be sent by the second terminal side apparatus.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches the second indication information indicates not to preprocess a phase of second to-be-coded data to be sent by the second terminal side apparatus ([Page 8 lines 16-18]; [Page 10 lines 57-59] discloses that a terminal-side pre-processor system performs intelligent process control to selectively mute or stop processing of signals based on detected conditions, thereby determining second indication information indicating not to preprocess a phase of second to-be-coded data to be sent by the second terminal side apparatus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 10, Pradini teaches sending, by the network side apparatus, fourth indication information (FIG. 1e the signal x2) to the first terminal side apparatus and the second terminal side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends the signal x2 to both the first and second wireless devices D1, D2 on a slot TS3), wherein the fourth indication information indicates a second transmission resource that carries data transmitted between the first terminal side apparatus and the second terminal side apparatus ([0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions between D1 and D2 based on FIG. 1e) through an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
However, Pradini does not specifically teach an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 11, Pradini teaches obtaining, by the network side apparatus, first communication quality of a data channel ([0065] FIG. 5 5:5 and 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D) between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna the first terminal side apparatus, and second communication quality of a data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the second terminal side apparatus (FIG. 1e discloses the link between the wireless device (D1 and D2) and the BS).
However, Pradini does not specifically teach an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 12, Pradini teaches wherein the obtaining, by the network side apparatus, first communication quality of a data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the first terminal side apparatus, and second communication quality of a data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the second terminal side apparatus comprises ([0065] FIG. 5 5:5 and 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D, and Fig. 1e discloses the link between the wireless device (D1 and D2) and the BS):
obtaining, by the network side apparatus, first communication quality of an uplink data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the first terminal side apparatus from the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the first wireless device D1 sends data x1 on the uplink to the radio access point BS, [0065] FIG. 5 5:5 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has UL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D); and
obtaining, by the network side apparatus, second communication quality of an uplink data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the second terminal side apparatus from the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna ([0034] the second wireless device D2 sends data x2 on the uplink to the radio access point BS, [0065] FIG. 5 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has UL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D).
However, Pradini does not specifically teach an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 13, Pradini teaches wherein the obtaining, by the network side apparatus, first communication quality of a data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the first terminal side apparatus, and second communication quality of a data channel between the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna and the second terminal side apparatus comprises ([0065] FIG. 5 5:5 and 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D, and FIG. 1e discloses the link between the wireless device (D1 and D2) and the BS):
obtaining, by the network side apparatus, first communication quality of a downlink data channel between the network side apparatus, the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna, and the first terminal side apparatus from the first terminal side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the first wireless device D1 sends data x1 on the uplink to the radio access point BS, [0065] FIG. 5 5:5 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D); and
obtaining, by the network side apparatus, second communication quality of a downlink data channel between the network side apparatus, the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna, and the second terminal side apparatus from the second terminal side apparatus ([0034] the second wireless device D2 sends data x2 on the uplink to the radio access point BS, [0065] FIG. 5 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D).
However, Pradini does not specifically teach an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 14, Pradini teaches a communication apparatus (FIG. 3 300), comprising at least one processor (FIG. 3 P), wherein the at least one processor is coupled to a memory (FIG. 3 M), the memory is configured to store a computer program that ([0056] the computer program is stored), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the communication apparatus to:
determine first indication information ([0071] capabilities) ([0071] UE determines and reports its own capabilities, including network coding and decoding related capabilities, in a Set Up Request message, [0075] the UE includes information indicating whether or not it supports a joint network coding function); and
transmit data to a second terminal side apparatus in a same slot of a same transmission resource through an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna by performing operations comprising (FIG. 1d discloses the first wireless device D1 and the second wireless device D2 communicate via the radio access point BS on the radio link):
sending third to-be-coded data ([0033] FIG. 1d the network coded form of the signal x1) to the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna in a first slot of a second transmission resource (FIG. 1d discloses D1 sends the coded data x1 to BS over the slot), and receiving first network coded data from the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna in the first slot ([0033] FIG. 1d discloses BS performs network coding of first data x1 and sends it to D1 on the slot), wherein the third to-be-coded data is obtained based on the first indication information and the first to-be-coded data ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x1 to D1 based on the request; [0038], [0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions); and
obtaining second to-be-coded data ([0033] Fig. 1d the network coded form of the signal x2) from the second terminal side apparatus based on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data ([0034] the second wireless device D2 sends data x2 on the uplink to the first wireless device D1 based on the network coded form of the signals x1), wherein the second terminal side apparatus is a terminal device ([0034] the second wireless device D2).
However, Pradini does not teach wherein the first indication information indicates whether or not to preprocess a phase of first to-be-coded data to be sent by the first terminal side apparatus by shifting the phase of the first to-be-coded data by an angle; and an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches wherein the first indication information indicates whether or not to preprocess a phase of first to-be-coded data to be sent by the first terminal side apparatus by shifting the phase of the first to-be-coded data by an angle ([Page 8 lines 2-4, 16-18]; [Page 10 lines 57-59] disclose that a terminal-side pre-processor system performs intelligent process control to determine whether or not preprocessing is to be applied to signals prior to transmission, based on detected signal conditions, [Page 9 lines 36-51] discloses phase and delay weighting of modulated signals corresponding to angular phase shifts, the determination constitutes first indication information indicating whether or not to preprocess a phase of first to-be-coded data by shifting the phase by an angle),
an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: receive the first indication information from a network side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses network device (the radio access point BS) sends the request signal x1 to the wireless devices D1), wherein the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to:
send first information to a network side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the first wireless device D1 sends data x1 on the uplink to the radio access point BS on a first timeslot TS1), wherein the first information comprises at least one of: first request information ([0038] the first device that issues the request), an interference level of the communication apparatus ([0050] In FIG. 3, obtaining module 300a which is configured to obtain a mode-specific quality metric related to a predicted Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio, SINR from wireless device D1), wherein the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to:
receive third indication information ([0033] FIG. 1e the signal x1) from a network side apparatus, wherein the third indication information indicates the communication apparatus to negotiate a first transmission resource of the first indication information with the second terminal side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x1 to D1 on a slot with D2, [0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions); and
determine the first indication information based on a result of the negotiation (FIG. 1e the data x1 based on a data transmission between D1 and D2) with the second terminal side apparatus on the first transmission resource ([0038] The first device that issues the request in order to start a communication session with the other wireless device, [0071] In the Set Up Request message, UE-A may also indicate the specific UE-B with which it wants a D2D link to be set up), wherein the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: receive fourth indication information from a network side apparatus, wherein the fourth indication information indicates the second transmission resource ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends a network coded form of the signals x2 to D1 on the slot TS3 with D2, [0035] combine the diversity signals received from the direct and relayed transmissions), wherein the network side apparatus is a network device ([0034] network device (the radio access point BS)).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to:
send, to the network side apparatus, first communication quality of a downlink data channel between the network side apparatus, the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna, and the communication apparatus before receiving the fourth indication information from the network side apparatus ([0034] FIG. 1e discloses the BS sends the signal x2 to D1 on a third timeslot TS3, [0037] Before FIG. 2 200, the radio access point is arranged or configured for handling a two-way communication between a first wireless device and a second wireless device, [0065] FIG. 5 5:5 and 5:6 discloses UEs send the link quality report to the BS which has DL channels; [0062], [0117] table 2 h.sub.D), wherein the second transmission resource is determined using the first communication quality ([0040] Each mode-specific quality metric may be determined and/or calculated for the same radio resources).
However, Pradini does not teach the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna.
In an analogous art, Abbey teaches the electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna (FIG. 2; [Page 4 lines 3-23], [Page 9 lines 52-63], [Page 11 lines 1-11] disclose an antenna aperture whose electromagnetic behavior is dynamically configured by DSP-based weighting and delay to support aperture waveforms with controlled spectral aperture times, thereby forming an electromagnetic hypersurface array antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify phase shifts as taught by Abbey within the parameter of Pradini. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the dynamic ranges of RF data converters and system performance (Abbey [Page 8 lines 32-49]).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradini, in view of Abbey, and further in view of Shattil (US 11075786 B1; hereinafter “Shattil”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pradini and Abbey, specifically Pradini teaches wherein the obtaining, by the first terminal side apparatus, second to-be-coded data from the second terminal side apparatus based on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data comprises ([0034] the second wireless device D2 sends data x2 on the uplink to the first wireless device D1 on another slot TS2 based on the network coded form of the signals x1, x2 to both the first and second wireless devices D1, D2 on a third timeslot TS3):
However, the combination of Pradini and Abbey does not teach performing, by the first terminal side apparatus, an exclusive OR operation on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data to obtain the second to-be-coded data.
In an analogous art, Shattil teaches performing, by the first terminal side apparatus, an exclusive OR operation on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data to obtain the second to-be-coded data ([Page 62 lines 18-25] FIG. 23B discloses a plurality k of coded data streams, [Page 93 lines 46-53] In FIG. 55, the frequency spreader 5512 may include exclusive OR logic gate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an exclusive OR logic as taught by Shattil within the parameter of Pradini and Abbey. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase processing gain and improve channel coding with multiple access to enhance system performance (Shattil [Page 90 lines 1-8]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Pradini and Abbey does not teach wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: perform an exclusive OR operation on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data to obtain the second to-be-coded data.
In an analogous art, Shattil teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: perform an exclusive OR operation on the third to-be-coded data and the first network coded data to obtain the second to-be-coded data ([Page 62 lines 18-25] FIG. 23B discloses a plurality k of coded data streams, [Page 93 lines 46-53] In FIG. 55, the frequency spreader 5512 may include exclusive OR logic gate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an exclusive OR logic as taught by Shattil within the parameter of Pradini and Abbey. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase processing gain and improve channel coding with multiple access to enhance system performance (Shattil [Page 90 lines 1-8]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2016/0365966 A1 (Bennett et al.) discloses communications via microwave transmission in a communication network.
US 2017/0079039 A1 (GERSZBERG et al.) discloses a method and apparatus for managing utilization of wireless resources.
US 2018/0054218 A1 (QIAN et al.) discloses methods and apparatuses for grid mapping in a wireless communication system.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413