DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“Regarding claim 8, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1,
the gripper shaft linear transport module comprises” should be
“Regarding claim 8, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the gripper shaft linear transport module comprises”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a pickup unit that rotates 360 degrees on the horizontal line” is unclear. The limitation “that rotates 360 degrees on the horizontal line” is neither a structural, nor a functional limitation. The limitation is a part of an apparatus claim, but is written in a way such as to understood as part of a process claim. MPEP2114.I teaches that features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “a pickup unit capable of being rotated 360 degrees on the horizontal line”
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the horizontal line". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the probe card". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the tube pin member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “the scale bar and the encoder PCB are further added to the base frame and the slide frame” is unclear. The limitation “are further added” is neither a structural, nor a functional limitation. The limitation is a part of an apparatus claim, but is written in a way such as to understood as part of a process claim. MPEP2114.I teaches that features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “the scale bar and the encoder PCB are attached to the base frame and the slide frame”.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the piezoelectric actuator” is unclear. One of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which of (one from each of the x- and y-axis transfer modules) or both of the piezoelectric actuators are being referred to.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the scale bar”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the encoder PCB”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “the scale bar and the encoder PCB are further added to the cover frame and the rotary block” is unclear. The limitation “are further added” is neither a structural, nor a functional limitation. The limitation is a part of an apparatus claim, but is written in a way such as to understood as part of a process claim. MPEP2114.I teaches that features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “the scale bar and the encoder PCB are attached to the cover frame and the rotary block”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the scale bar”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the encoder PCB”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the gripper shaft linear transport module”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that said “the gripper shaft linear transport module” draws dependance from “a gripper axis linear transfer module” introduced in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “the scale bar and the encoder PCB are further added to the base frame and the slide frame” is unclear. The limitation “are further added” is neither a structural, nor a functional limitation. The limitation is a part of an apparatus claim, but is written in a way such as to understood as part of a process claim. MPEP2114.I teaches that features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “the scale bar and the encoder PCB are attached to the base frame and the slide frame”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the scale bar”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the encoder PCB”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are rejected upon being dependent upon one or more of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertson (US 20130269173 A1) in view of IWAZAKI (US 20200030969 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Albertson (US 20130269173 A1) teaches a multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus comprising:
a pickup unit that rotates 360 degrees on the horizontal line (Paragraph 19, robot 130 consists of an arm or limb which may allow rotation or movement in four axes; see 112b rejection above) and transfers the probe pin placed on the tray after holding it with a pin gripper consisting of a pair of clamps (Paragraph 36, gripper 840 is connected to robot 830; Paragraphs 20-22, gripper 140 includes a pincer-like mechanism which is able to open and close and which is used to grasp a probe);
a dipping unit applies solder paste to the probe pin transferred by the pickup unit (Paragraph 31, surface of the space transformer is printed with solder and paste wherein the solder is contacted with the probe); and
a laser bonding unit bonds the probe pins to the probe card by irradiating a laser beam onto the solder paste of the probe pins transferred from the dipping unit by the pickup unit (Paragraph 31, the probe is soldered in placed by a heat source 170; Paragraph 24, heat source may be provided by a laser that directs light energy at the grasped probe), wherein,
an X-axis and Y-axis linear transport module equipped at the end of the pickup unit to linearly transport the pin gripper in the X-axis or Y-axis direction (Figure 8 Paragraph 36, robot 830 includes movement the x-direction, y-direction, and z-direction by means of tracks such as to be able to move the gripper attached the robot linearly);
a gripper axis linear transfer module to transport the pin gripper to narrow or widen the gap between the pin grippers so that the pin gripper can hold or release the probe pin (Paragraph 20, an actuatable sleeve is placed proximal to the jaws/claws such as to be used with a linear motor such as to control the grip of the probe)
Albertson fails to explicitly teach:
an XΘ-axis and YΘ-axis rotary transfer module equipped between the X-axis and Y-axis linear transfer module and the pin gripper to rotate the pin gripper in the XΘ-axis or YΘ-axis direction;
a gripper axis linear transfer module equipped between the XG and YG axis rotary transfer module and the pin gripper to transport the pin gripper to narrow or widen the gap between the pin grippers so that the pin gripper can hold or release the probe pin.
IWAZAKI (US 20200030969 A1) teaches a robot arm, comprising:
an XΘ-axis and YΘ-axis rotary transfer module (Paragraph 17, first drive unit 7 which pivots the gripping part 71 around the first pivot axis and second drive unit 8 which pivots the distal end unit 6 around the second pivot axis) equipped between the X-axis and Y-axis linear transfer module (Paragraphs 17-19, first arm 31 is pivoted relative to the base 2 and second arm 32 which is pivoted relative to the first arm 31; Figure 1, the first drive unit 7 and second drive unit 8 are equipped between the first and second arm and the gripper)1 and the pin gripper to rotate the pin gripper in the XΘ-axis or YΘ-axis direction (Figure 1 Paragraph 19, first arm 31 and pivoting first arm 31 relative to the base 2 and second arm drive unit 52 which pivots the second arm 32 relative to the first arm);
a gripper axis linear transfer module equipped between the XΘ and YΘ axis rotary transfer module and the pin gripper to transport the pin gripper (Figures 2-3 and 5 Paragraphs 26-27, rack gears 612 and 613 as well as the pinion gear 614 is positioned between the finger portions 616 and 617 and the first 7 and second drive units 8) to narrow or widen the gap between the pin grippers so that the pin gripper can hold or release the probe pin (Figure 5 Paragraphs 26-27, pinion gear located between rack gears 612 and 613 is used to linearly transfer the finger portions 616 and 617 of the gripping part 61 relative to one another which would be fully capable of holding or releasing a probe pin)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertson with IWAZAKI and included rotary transfer modules between the linear transfer modules and the pin gripper. This would have been done to allow the device to further grip and correct incorrectly placed pins which is desirable as evidenced by Figure 3 and Paragraph 24 of KRAUSE (US 20210299800 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
the gripper shaft linear transport module (Figures 2-3 and 5 Paragraphs 26-27, rack gears 612 and 613 as well as the pinion gear 614 is positioned between the finger portions 616 and 617 and the first 7 and second drive units 8) comprises
a gripper base frame (rack gears 612);
a piezoelectric actuator fitted to the gripper base frame in the X-axis direction (Figure 5 Paragraphs 26-27, piezoelectric actuator 6152 is used to linearly move the gripper base frame in an axis direction; Figure 5, rotor 6151 is fitted in an axis direction); and
a gripper slide frame that is linearly transferred in the X-axis direction by the motion of the piezoelectric actuator (Figure 5 Paragraphs 26-27, piezoelectric actuator 6152 is used to linearly move the rack of gears 613 in said axis direction).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 8.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
one of the left and right clamps of the pin gripper is fixed to the gripper base frame and the gripper slide frame, respectively (Figure 5, one of each of the finger portions 616 and 617 are fixed to the rack gears 612 and 613), and the gap between the left and right clamps of the pin gripper is narrowed or widened so that the pin gripper can hold or release the probe pin according to the linear movement of the gripper slide frame in the X-axis direction (Paragraph 27, pair of finger portions 616 and 617 open and close and may grip and release an object including a probe pin)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertson (US 20130269173 A1) in view of IWAZAKI (US 20200030969 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hata (US 6424077 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1.
Albertson fails to teach:
the X-axis and Y-axis linear transfer modules, respectively, comprise: a base frame; a piezoelectric actuator disposed on the base frame in the X-axis or Y-axis direction; and a slide frame that is linearly transferred in the X-axis and Y-axis directions by the motion of the piezoelectric actuator.
Hata (US 6424077 B1) teaches a manipulator, wherein:
the X-axis and Y-axis linear transfer modules (Figure 2), respectively, comprise:
a base frame (Figure 2 Column 3 Lines 50-53, first linear actuator comprises a slider 13 which has a side surface portion for connecting to another actuator);
a piezoelectric actuator (piezo-electric element 11 and spline shaft 12) disposed on the base frame in the X-axis or Y-axis direction (Figure 2 Column 3 Lines 50-65, piezo-electric element 11 is disposed on the slider 13 through spline shaft 12); and
a slide frame that is linearly transferred in the X-axis and Y-axis directions by the motion of the piezoelectric actuator (Figure 2 Column 3 Lines 50-65, piezo-electric element 11 is disposed on the slider to move the spline shaft along the x-axis direction; Column 13 Lines 45-49, second linear actuator 20 is moved the y-axis direction).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertson with Hata and had the linear transfer modules use piezoelectric actuators to transfer movement. This would have been done to control the extension/contraction controlled by controlling the voltage applied to the piezo-electric element (Hata Column 6 Lines 10-14).
The Office further notes that it is well known in the art to use piezoelectric devices to drive movement in robots as evidenced by ARAKAWA (US 20180294747 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 2.
Hata further teaches:
the piezoelectric actuator is equipped to be inserted into the tube pin member (Figure 2 Column 3 Lines 66, spline shaft 12 is fit in the slider 13), which is integrally coupled to the slide frame (Figure 2 Column 3 Lines 50-53, a side surface portion for connecting to another actuator of the sliders is integrally coupled to the sliders) so that the tube pin member and the slide frame are linearly transferred in the X-axis or Y-axis direction by the motion of the piezoelectric actuator (Figure 2 Column 3 Lines 50-65, piezo-electric element 11 is disposed on the slider to move the spline shaft along the x-axis direction; Column 13 Lines 45-49, second linear actuator 20 is moved the y-axis direction).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 2.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
the encoder and the encoder PCB are further added to the base frame and the slide frame, respectively, to control the rotational feed amount in the X-axis or Y-axis direction of the slide frame (Paragraph 20, each of the first arm drive unit to sixth arm drive unit has a motor, a controller, and an encoder).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Hata further teaches:
the scale bar is further added to the cover frame and rotary block (Column 5 Lines 53-63, magnetic patterns are added to the convex portion of the spline shaft 12 such as to detect a movement of magnetic patterns wherein operations are performed on the basis of the pulse signal)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 2.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
the XΘ-axis and YΘ-axis rotary transfer modules (Paragraph 30, second drive unit 8 has the same configuration as the above piezoelectric actuator 64 of the piezoelectric motor 70), respectively, comprise:
a cover frame (Figure 3, supporting part 62);
a rotary block rotatably equipped between the cover frames (coupling portion 64; distal end unit 6); and
a piezoelectric actuator that passes through the cover frame and rotates the rotary block in the XΘ axis or YΘ axis direction in a coupled state (Figure 3 Paragraph 42, piezoelectric motor 70 and rotary part 73 which passes through the support part 62 and which rotates the distal end unit 6 in a coupled state)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 5.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
the encoder and the encoder PCB are further added to the cover frame and the rotary block, respectively, to control the rotational feed amount in the Xe axis or Y6 axis direction of the rotary block (Paragraph 20, each of the first arm drive unit to sixth arm drive unit has a motor, a controller, and an encoder).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Hata further teaches:
the scale bar is further added to the cover frame and rotary block (Column 5 Lines 53-63, magnetic patterns are added to the convex portion of the spline shaft 12 such as to detect a movement of magnetic patterns wherein operations are performed on the basis of the pulse signal)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertson with Hata and had the encoder be a scale bar. This would be done such that magnetic patterns can be used to detect movement of the actuator (Hata Column 5 Lines 53-63).
Regarding claim 10, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 8.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
the encoder and the encoder PCB are further added to the base frame and the slide frame, respectively, to control the rotational feed amount in the X-axis or Y-axis direction of the slide frame (Paragraph 20, each of the first arm drive unit to sixth arm drive unit has a motor, a controller, and an encoder).
Albertson as modified with IWAZAKI fails to explicitly teach:
the encoder is a scale bar
Hata (US 6424077 B1) teaches a manipulator, wherein:
the scale bar is further added to the cover frame and rotary block (Column 5 Lines 53-63, magnetic patterns are added to the convex portion of the spline shaft 12 such as to detect a movement of magnetic patterns wherein operations are performed on the basis of the pulse signal)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertson with Hata and had the encoder be a scale bar. This would be done such that magnetic patterns can be used to detect movement of the actuator (Hata Column 5 Lines 53-63).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertson (US 20130269173 A1) in view of IWAZAKI (US 20200030969 A1) and Hata (US 6424077 B1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of GROSMANN (DE 10126039 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Albertson as modified teaches the multi-axis gripper unit of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 5.
IWAZAKI further teaches:
by the motion of the piezoelectric actuator, the plate spring and the rotary block are rotationally transferred in the XΘ axis or YΘ axis direction (Figure 1 Paragraph 19, first arm 31 and pivoting first arm 31 relative to the base 2 and second arm drive unit 52 which pivots the second arm 32 relative to the first arm; Paragraph 20, piezoelectric motor is used to perform the movement).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Albertson as modified fails to explicitly teach:
at least two or more plate springs are coupled to one side of the rotary axis of the rotary block, and a piezoelectric actuator is equipped in a state inserted between the plate springs
GROSMANN (DE 10126039 A1) teaches a device for fine adjustment of a rotary device, comprising:
at least two or more plate springs are coupled to one side of the rotary axis of the rotary block (Paragraph 31, slide 3 is attached to the frame 2 by means of two leaf spring assemblies), and a piezoelectric actuator is equipped in a state inserted between the plate springs (Figure 1 Paragraph 30, piezoelectric actuator is positioned between two abutments and the two leaf assemblies)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertson with GROSMANN and have two leaf spring assemblies be positioned on the two sides of the piezoelectric actuator. This would have been done to facilitate increased machining accuracy (GROSMANN Paragraph 22).
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 While the first and second arms of the robot are not linearly transferred, such linear transfer modules are present in Albertson. Furthermore, it is known in the art to position two rotary transfer modules between linear transfer modules and a device gripping device as evidenced by Figure 1 of Kim (KR 20090059902 A).