DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Group II (claims 11-20) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/18/2025.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/19/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 2 has/have been cancelled. Claim 21 is new. Claim(s) 1 and 3-21 is/are pending with claim(s) 11-20 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1, 3-10 and 21 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 11/19/2025, with respect to 112(b) rejection has been fully considered and is persuasive. The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's argument filed on 11/19/2025, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the prior art of Kieffer does not disclose an anionic surfactant used with the claimed nonionic long chain surfactant, as recited in amended claim 1.
In response, Kieffer teaches alkyl benzene sulfonate [0153], which reads on the claimed anionic surfactant.
Applicant argued that the prior art of Kieffer is non-analogous art and is directed toward an entirely different field of endeavor. Kieffer generally pertains to the field of endeavor of surfactant systems and compositions for use as rinse aids on plastics and other wares. The instant application pertains to surfactants used in enhancing oil recovery, particularly from tight oil formations.
In response, the recited field of endeavor is intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Since the prior art teaches the same product, the product can be used for the same purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kieffer et al (US 20200248099 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Kieffer teaches a surfactant composition comprising a nonionic surfactant D:
R7-O-(PO)y5(EO)x5(PO)y6
wherein R7 is a branched C8-C16 Guerbet alcohol, x5 is from 5 to 30, y5 is from 1 to 4, and y6 is from 10 to 20 [Table 1, 0053].
The examiner submits that the above R7 overlaps the claimed Cn+1H2n+3CH(Cn+3H2n+7)CH2 with n=1-5, x5 overlapping the claimed y, and (y5 + y6) overlapping the claimed x. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Kieffer teaches that the composition further comprises an alkyl benzene sulfonate [0153] which reads on the claimed anionic surfactant, as specified in the current claim 3.
The recited “for enhancing oil recovery” is an intended use limitation that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III).
Regarding claim 4, Kieffer teaches that surfactant D is in the range of 0-80% [Table 1]; and alkyl benzene sulfonate is in the range of 0-80% [0154]. Therefore, the ratio of Surfactant D to alkyl benzene sulfonate is 1:1, falling within the claimed range of 2:5 to 6:1.
Regarding claims 5-8, the recited “the surfactant is dissolved in formation water” is an intended use limitation that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed nonionic long chain surfactant in claim 1 and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Nevertheless, Kieffer teaches a surfactant system with the surfactant dissolved in water [0071], comprising the nonionic surfactant in claim 1 and sodium chloride [0176] which reads on the claimed salt. The sodium chloride is in the range of 0-20% [0176], meeting the claimed range.
Regarding claims 9-10, the recited “the surfactant is further dissolved with 0-5% polymer” is an intended use limitation that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed nonionic long chain surfactant in claim 1 and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Nevertheless, Kieffer teaches a surfactant system with the surfactant dissolved in water [0071], comprising the nonionic surfactant in claim 1 and polyacrylamide [0156] which reads on the claimed polymer. The polymer is 0-5% [0156], meeting the claimed range.
Regarding claim 21, the recited “interfacial tension of the nonionic long chain surfactant is less than 10-3 mN/m” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same nonionic surfactant as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762