DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2022, 07/21/2023, 12/05/2023, and 03/04/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification recites “As shown in FIG. 1, the pickup unit (110) picks up the probe pin (P)” [0017]. However, probe pin (P) is either not shown or not labeled in Fig. 1. Given the orientation of Fig. 1, it is presumed probe pin (P) is underneath the body of pickup unit 110, so the specification rather than drawings have been objected to.
[0079] is either missing text or has been included by accident. The following paragraph number should be corrected if [0079] is removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
pickup unit in claim 1, line 3;
dipping unit in claim 1, line 6;
laser bonding unit in claim 1, line 8;
first and second laser connection units in claim 1, lines 14 and 17;
laser filter unit in claim 1, line 21.
overlapping laser emitting unit in claim 1, line 25.
pickup unit corresponding to “pin gripper (112), the force control unit (114), and the Z-axis driving unit (116)” [0027] and “upper rotation shaft (118a) of the rotation drive unit (118)” [0030] or equivalents for “pick[ing] up the provided probe pin (P) while being placed on the tray (T) and transfer it clockwise by a preset angle on the horizontal line” [0031].
dipping unit corresponding to a structural equivalent for “appl[ying] solder paste to the probe pin” [0055].
laser bonding unit corresponding to “a dual laser optic module (1300)” [0057] and “laser beams (LB1+LB2)” [0057].
laser connection units corresponding to the structures 1320, 1330 in Fig. 4 and “collimation lenses (1321, 1331)” [0063] and a “diffractive optical element (DOE) lens (1322)” [0063].
laser filter unit corresponding to a structural equivalent “that overlaps the two laser beams (LB1, LB2)” [0065].
overlapping laser emitting unit corresponding to the structure 1350 in Fig. 4 and “a single focusing lens (1351)” [0070].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus comprising” in lines 1-2. It is unclear whether the dual laser optic module or the turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus comprises the limitations that follow, given that the specification recites that the dual laser optic module comprises the first and second laser connection units [0060]-[0061] while the turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus comprises the pickup unit, dipping unit, laser bonding unit, and suction unit [0015]. The specification also recites that the dual laser optic module is included in the laser bonding unit [0056]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain which limitations of claim 1 comprise the dual laser optic module or the turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a pickup unit that rotates 360 degrees on the horizontal line” in lines 3-4. It is unclear how an object can rotate 360 degrees on a horizontal line given that objects that are not point particles will traverse space in more than one dimension. The specification gives no detail or depiction of “the horizontal line”. For the purposes of examination, “the horizontal line” will be construed as a horizontal plane.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the horizontal line” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the probe pin” and “the tray” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “it” in line 5. It is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art what “it” refers to.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the probe pins” in lines 8 and 10. It is unclear if these limitations are referring to the previously recited “the probe pin” on line 4 or other probe pins.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the body part” in lines 15, 19, 21, 23, and 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to which” in line 17. It is unclear what “which” refers to.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to receive” in line 21. It is unclear what limitation is recited “to receive a second laser beam” (e.g., the body part receives a second laser beam or a second laser connection unit is connected in a second direction so as to receive a second laser beam).
Claims 2-7 are similarly rejected for their dependence on and failure to cure all of the above deficiencies of rejected claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the first and second laser beams having different wavelength bands” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim as the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a first laser beam of a specific wavelength band” in claim 1, lines 15-16 and “a second laser beam of a specific wavelength band” in claim 1, lines 19-20 allows that each “a specific wavelength band” be the same.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “are vertically incident into the body unit”. It is unclear how both first and second laser beams can be both vertically or horizontally divided around the body unit and vertically incident into the body unit. The specification and Fig. 5 do not aid one of ordinary skill in the art in ascertaining the meaning of this limitation. For the purpose of examination, “vertically incident into the body unit” will be construed as first and second laser beams entering body unit at angles orthogonal to the walls of the body unit.
Claim 3 is similarly rejected for its dependence on and failure to cure deficiencies of rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR 20170017696 A), hereinafter Choi, further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20200110028 A), hereinafter Kim, and Back et al. (KR 20100056037 A), hereinafter Back.
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches …a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus (probe pin bonding device 1000, Fig. 1) comprising: a pickup unit (pickup transfer module 150, Fig. 4) that rotates 360 degrees on the horizontal line (“first turning motor (159a) is coupled to the support (156) and can rotate the extension (152) to one side or the other in a horizontal plane” [0068]; A full rotation to one side is construed as rotating 360 degrees. “the horizontal line” is construed as a horizontal plane.) and transfers the probe pin (probe pin 10, Fig. 4) placed on the tray (“wafer (W)” as “shown” but not labeled “in FIGS. 1 to 3” [0037]) after holding it with a pin gripper (“pickup transfer module (150) may be provided with a grip portion” [0074]) consisting of a pair of clamps (“in the shape of a forceps” [0074]); a dipping unit (dipping unit 500, Fig. 8) applies solder paste to the probe pin (“solder paste (520) is an adhesive material for bonding the probe pin (10)” [0105]) transferred by the pickup unit (“pickup and transfer module (150) provided in this manner lifts the probe pin (10) on the wafer (W)” [0072]); and a laser bonding unit (bonding unit 400, Fig. 8) bonds the probe pins to the probe card (“bonding the probe pin to the probe card” [0093], Fig. 11) by irradiating a laser beam (beam emitted from laser module 400, Fig. 8) respectively onto the solder paste (“by irradiating the laser module (440) onto the solder paste (520)” [0121])…, wherein
Choi does not teach a dual laser optic module of… of the probe pins transferred from the dipping unit by the pickup unit… a body unit of a circular or polygonal shape with an empty interior; a first laser connection unit connected in a first direction toward the inside of the body part to which a first laser beam of a specific wavelength band is incident; a second laser connection unit connected in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction toward the inside of the body part to receive a second laser beam of a specific wavelength band; a laser filter unit equipped inside the body part and overlapping the first laser beam and the second laser beam that meet inside the body part to have a co-focus by being transmitted or reflected, respectively; and an overlapping laser emitting unit emitting the overlapped laser beam in a third direction of the body part to have a co- focus by the laser filter part.
Kim teaches a dual laser optic module (“debonding device” [0088], Figs. 13a-13c) of… a body unit (integrated body 400, Figs. 13a-13c) of a circular or polygonal shape (Figs. 13a-13c show body 400 as a rounded polygon) with an empty interior (Body 400 is construed as having an empty interior as it houses laser modules 310, 320); a first laser connection unit (first laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c) connected in a first direction (Upward direction of Figs. 13a-13c) toward the inside of the body part (beam from module 310 to center of body 400) to which a first laser beam (“first laser beam from the first laser module” [0089]) of a specific wavelength band (“laser generator (310) generates a laser beam having a wavelength and output power within a predetermined range” [0060]) is incident; a second laser connection unit (second laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c) connected in a second direction (Rightward direction of Figs. 13a-13c) orthogonal to the first direction (see Figs. 13b-13c) toward the inside of the body part (beam from module 320 to center of body 400) to receive a second laser beam (“second laser beam from the second laser module” [0089]) of a specific wavelength band (“laser generator (310) generates a laser beam having a wavelength and output power within a predetermined range” [0060]; “In the following, except where necessary, the first laser module (310) among the laser modules having the same configuration will be mainly described to avoid duplicate explanation.” [0059]; Wavelength range of module 310 is construed as applying to module 320 as well); a laser filter unit (square “beam splitter” shown but not labeled in Figs. 13a-13c) equipped inside the body part (see square “beam splitter” in Figs. 13a-13c) and overlapping the first laser beam and the second laser beam that meet inside the body part (“first laser beam from the first laser module and the second laser beam from the second laser module are guided to the beam splitter through different optical paths” [0089]) to have a co-focus by being transmitted or reflected (“beam splitter selectively transmits light depending on the wavelength” and “transmitted beam is irradiated to the outside through a single optical path” [0089]; Fig. 13c shows beams from modules 310, 320 either transmitted or reflecting and traveling along same path after “beam splitter”), respectively; and an overlapping laser emitting unit (Lens in body 400 circled in annotated Fig. 13c) emitting the overlapped laser beam (“transmitted beam is irradiated to the outside through a single optical path” [0089]) in a third direction (Rightward direction of Figs. 13a-13c) of the body part to have a co-focus (“body may include at least one convex lens to focus the beam for each optical path” [0090]; Focusing beam for each optical path into focusing both beams to same distance) by the laser filter part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser bonding apparatus of Choi to include a dual laser optic module. Choi and Kim are analogous arts because they both relate to laser processing electronic components. Choi teaches a probe pin bonding device with a laser module. Kim teaches a debonding device with two laser modules. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to replace one laser with two laser modules. By doing so, one would be able to “solve the problem of damage to electronic components and substrates around a debonding location due to the concentration of energy density of a single beam in a conventional laser debonding device”, as identified by Kim.
While Choi and Kim teach the probe pins, the dipping unit, and the pickup unit, they do not teach of the probe pins transferred from the dipping unit by the pickup unit. Kim instead teaches the probe pins transferred from the dipping unit by a bonding grip module 410 ([0112], Figs. 8-10). However, Back teaches “electronic components (110) to be bonded” (pg. 4) transferred from an attachment unit (film attachment member 400) by a pickup unit (index table 310, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pickup unit of Modified Choi to further transfer probe pins from the dipping unit. Choi, Kim, and Back are analogous arts because they all relate to laser processing electronic components. Choi teaches a probe pin bonding device with a laser module, a rotatable pickup unit for transferring probe pins to a dipping unit, and a bonding grip module which transfers dipped probe pins. Kim teaches a debonding device with two laser modules. Back teaches a rotatable index wheel holding electronic components to be processed at various positions and a laser for bonding film to the components. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to use a single rotating unit to transfer probe pins. By doing so, one would be able to reduce system complexity by reducing a number of parts.
Regarding claim 2, Choi, Kim, and Back teach the dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first (first laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) and second laser connection units (second laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) are vertically or horizontally divided (Modules 310, 320 approach center of body 400 from separate horizontal and vertical positions in space; Kim) around the body unit (integrated body 400, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) so that the first (“first laser beam from the first laser module” [0089]; Kim) and second laser beams (“second laser beam from the second laser module” [0089]; Kim) having different wavelength bands (“plurality of laser modules emit laser beams having different wavelengths”, [0069]; Kim) are vertically incident into the body unit (Fig. 13c shows beams from modules 310, 320 approaching “beam splitter” at angles orthogonal to said “beam splitter” so as to “examin[e] vertically” [0092]; Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Choi, Kim, and Back teach the dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the laser filter unit (square “beam splitter” shown but not labeled in Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) is installed to be inclined toward (Annotated Fig. 13c shows inclination of splitting axis of “beam splitter” toward modules 310, 320; Kim) the first (first laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) and second laser connection units (second laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) inside the body unit (integrated body 400, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Choi, Kim, and Back teach the dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first (first laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) and second laser connection units (second laser module 320, Figs. 13a-13c; Kim) each have a collimation lens therein (Annotated Fig. 13c shows two of “at least one convex lens to focus the beam for each optical path” [0090] which are construed as belonging to each module 310, 320 respectively; Kim), and any one of the first and second laser connection units is further equipped with a diffractive optical element (DOE) lens therein (“each laser module (310, 320, ...) of the laser irradiation unit 330) is configured to include a laser generator (311, 321, 331), each equipped with a cooling device (316, 326, 336), a beam shaper (312, 322, 332)” [0058] wherein “beam shaper (312) can be implemented by including a square light pipe, a diffractive optical element (DOE)” [0061]; Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Choi, Kim, and Back teach the dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the overlapping laser emitting unit (Lens in body 400 circled in annotated Fig. 13c; Kim) is equipped with a focusing lens therein (Lens in body 400 circled in annotated Fig. 13c; Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Choi, Kim, and Back teach the dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first (“first laser beam from the first laser module” [0089]; Kim) and second laser beams (“second laser beam from the second laser module” [0089]; Kim) beams emitted from the overlapping laser emitting unit (Lens in body 400 circled in annotated Fig. 13c; Kim) have different wavelengths (“plurality of laser modules emit laser beams having different wavelengths”, [0069]; Kim) and different areas (“laser output adjustment unit (370) controls each laser module and power supply unit (317, 327, 337) so that the laser beam from each laser module (310, 320, 33) has the required beam shape, beam area size” [0065]; Kim; If different beam shapes are “required”, unit 370 independently controls each module 310, 320 to obtain them).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, Kim, and Back teach the dual laser optic module of a turntable-type probe pin laser bonding apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the wavelengths of the first (“first laser beam from the first laser module” [0089]; Kim) and second laser beams (“second laser beam from the second laser module” [0089]; Kim) are 980nm (“laser generator may be, for example, a diode laser (LD) having a wavelength of '750 nm to 1,200 nm'” [0060; Kim; 980nm is within taught range) and 808nm (“laser generator may be, for example, a diode laser (LD) having a wavelength of '750 nm to 1,200 nm'” [0060; Kim; 808nm is within taught range), respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chung et al. (US 20130162278 A1) discloses a method of manufacturing a probe pin card. Kobayashi et al. (US 20160033552 A1) discloses a method of manufacturing a probe unit.
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761