DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 11/24/2025 in which claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, and 16-20 were amended. No claims were cancelled and no new claims were added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/24/2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons provided in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 14 recite “the dynamically tracked change of the each mobile power source being comprised both of a first type related to continued movement and a second type related to a state of movement from a previous state of rest” (emphasis added) which does not appear to be supported within the specification or drawings as there is no corresponding description that discloses or distinguishes between the two types of movement. In applicant’s remarks Figs 4-5 and ¶30-36 are mentioned as disclosing the above limitations but the examiner cannot find any relevant information pertaining to the first type or the second type. The examiner believes ¶33 may be the best representation in which the following is mentioned “locational proximity to user,” “movement of users/power sources,” and “threshold distance.” These descriptors do not describe or differentiate between the two types of movement as claimed, but rather generally disclose movement and proximity conditions which differ from the limitations as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goei et al. US 20220153156.
Goei discloses with regards to claim:
1. A method comprising:
detecting, through a first application executing on a first data processing device as a first component of a computing platform [Fig. 9 EV 904/906], a level of charge remaining in a battery of a power sink associated with the first data processing device [Fig. 4 Charging Apparatus Database 402 and ¶55 "The database 402 may also store information related to the registered electric vehicle such as the last time the electric vehicle was charged, the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power" where the database is in communication with the power sink and receives the state of charge (claimed level of charge) from the first device];
dynamically tracking, through the computing platform a change in location of each of a plurality of mobile power sources [¶8 “A plurality of control nodes interconnect the central controller with a plurality of electric vehicle charger networks including a plurality of electric vehicle chargers” and figs 2 and 10 disclose plural chargers and fig 9 discloses mobile chargers] based on communication with a second application executing on a second data processing device as a second component of the computing platform, the second data processing device being associated with the each mobile power source [Fig. 9 Mobile EV Charging Station 912 and Fig. 3 Step 302 Request Charging Apparatus Location, which discloses that the system tracks the location of the charging stations/power sources and ¶55 "Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404"];
in response to the detection of the level of charge remaining in the battery of the power sink identifying, through the first application, a subset of the plurality of mobile power sources as compatible with the power sink based on the dynamically tracked change in the location of the each mobile power source via the computing platform [Fig. 9 Mobile EV Charging Station 912 and Fig. 3 Step 302 Request Charging Apparatus Location, which discloses that the system tracks the location of the charging station/power source, step 304 Locate charger responsive to position and charger type, ¶53 “The charging control server 204 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 206 at step 304 responsive to the position of the vehicle and the type of charger required to charge the vehicle” and ¶55 "Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404"],
the dynamically tracked change of the each mobile power source being comprised both of a first type related to continued movement and a second type related to a state of movement from a previous state of rest of constituent mobile power sources of the subset [Fig 9 mobile EV charging station 912 and ¶66 “wireless connections may be between the owners and operators of various EV charging stations 910 at fixed locations or mobile EV charging stations 912 that may actually come to stranded vehicles to provide charging or to dynamically schedule and coordinate rendezvous between travelling electric vehicles and mobile charging stations”];
visually depicting, through a user interface of the first application, the subset of the plurality of mobile power sources and the dynamically tracked changes in locations thereof in accordance with dynamic population of the user interface [Fig 14 step 1406 Browse Ports and step 1412 Display port options and ¶91 “The user application 1016 displays at step 1412 the various locations that include charging units. The user browses the available destination points that they intend to visit during their trip to make sure that charging units 1014 are available during their trip”];
tagging, through the computing platform, the user interface with consideration data, the consideration data being related to monetary values assigned for use of the subset [Fig 38 Pricing Set 3814 and ¶168 “the pricing 3814 set for the respective EVSE chargers deployed” which reasonably reads on the data being related to monetary values]; and
in accordance with selection of a specific mobile power source out of the visually depicted subset based on the changes in the locations thereof and the consideration data, automatically generating, through the first application via the computing platform, a transaction identifier identifying a service request [Fig. 3 steps 302-308 which reasonably reads on the claimed transaction identifier because in order to determine the power sink/source compatibility and provide an appointment between sink/source devices an identifier for the transaction would be required] from the first data processing device for one of; charging and recharging the battery of the power sink through the specific mobile power source [Fig. 3 Step 310 Connect with Designated Charger where charging/recharging is performed].
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising reading; through the second application, the automatically generated transaction identifier to confirm the service request [Fig. 3 step 308 Provide Charger Appointment, where identifiers of the vehicle to be charged are sent to the charger (claimed second application) to confirm the service request and reserve the charger for the power sink/first device].
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
3. The method of claim 2, further comprising controlling, through the second application, access to at least one of: the specific mobile power source [Fig. 3 Step 304 where a compatible charger type is determined] and a cable [Step 304 where a compatible charger is determined which would include a cable] to complete the one of: the charging and the recharging of the battery of the power sink following the confirmation of the service request [Step 310 where charging/recharging is performed after the connection].
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, through the first application, the specific mobile power source as compatible with the power sink additionally based on at least one parameter comprising at least one of: a rating of a user associated with the specific mobile power source on the computing platform and a compatibility parameter [Fig. 3 Step 304 where compatibility between vehicle (power sink) and mobile power source is determined] of the specific mobile power source [Step 304 also involves the tracking of the power source] via the computing platform.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising one of: alerting, via the first application, a user associated with the power sink of the detected level of charge remaining in the battery [(¶81 “The battery management controller 1208 determines when a last charge of the device occurred and based upon known discharge characteristics generates alerts and provides notifications to users when recharging of their personal mobility device or personal medical device is necessary in order to avoid the devices becoming completely discharged and stranding the user or placing them in a medical emergency situation”] thereof to enable the user to trigger the identification of the subset as compatible with the power sink; and
automatically identifying, through the first application the subset as compatible with the power sink in accordance with the detected level of charge remaining in the battery thereof falling outside a threshold [Fig. 3 Step 304 and ¶55 above where the vehicles/power sinks charge level/battery exhaustion time is determined and power sources are suggested based on distance and compatibility with the vehicle/power sink].
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising, selecting, through the first application, the specific mobile power source additionally based on one of: a bidding process, a consideration offer submission process and a quotation submission process implemented through the computing platform [¶82 "Users may obtain reservation status and carry out actions such as charging to a credit card and/or debiting a bank account with a predetermined booking fee in order to credit the amount to the charging system operator and reserve a predetermined portion of the transaction fee for service providers as may be contracted", where the "booking fee" reads on the claimed consideration offer because both are forms of securing a charging source via a monetary method].
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
7. The method of claim 1, comprising at least one of: the power sink being one of: mobile and non-mobile [Fig. 9 EV 904/906 claimed power sinks are known to be mobile];
the specific mobile power source being portable [Fig. 9 Mobile EV Charging Station 912]; and
performing the one of: the charging and the recharging of the battery at least one of: ·wirelessly and in a wired manner [Fig. 9 where one of wireless/wired charging/recharging is inherent when charging an EV/power sink].
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
8. A server [Fig. 1 Central Control Server 104] executing a computing platform comprising:
a memory comprising instructions associated with the computing platform stored therein [Fig. 1 Central Control Server 104 implicitly discloses the memory comprising instructions because the server 104 stores a variety of information used to control the different inputs and functions of the system which would require sets of instructions to function]; and
a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and executing the instructions associated with the computing platform [Fig. 1 Central Control Server 104 implicitly discloses the processor because a server would require a processor in order to perform the disclosed functions] to:
detect, through a first application executing on a first data processing device as a first component of the computing platform [Fig. 9 EV 904/906], a level of charge remaining in a battery of a power sink associated with the first data processing device [Fig. 4 Charging Apparatus Database and ¶55 "The database 402 may also store information related to the registered electric vehicle such as the last time the electric vehicle was charged, the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power" where database is in communication with the device and receives the state of charge (claimed level of charge)];
dynamically track a change in location of each of a plurality of mobile power sources [¶8 “A plurality of control nodes interconnect the central controller with a plurality of electric vehicle charger networks including a plurality of electric vehicle chargers” and figs 2 and 10 disclose plural chargers and fig 9 discloses mobile chargers] based on communication with a second application executing on a second data processing device as a second component of the computing platform, the second data processing device being associated with the each mobile power source [Fig. 9 Mobile EV Charging Station 912 and Fig. 3 Step 302 Request Charging Apparatus Location, which discloses that the system tracks the location of the charging stations/power sources and ¶55 "Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404"];
in response to the detection of the level of charge remaining in the battery of the power sink, identify, through the first application, a subset of the plurality of mobile power sources as compatible with the power sink based on the dynamically tracked change in the location of the each mobile power source [Fig. 9 Mobile EV Charging Station 912 and Fig. 3 Step 302 Request Charging Apparatus Location, which discloses that the system tracks the location of the charging station/power source, step 304 Locate charger responsive to position and charger type, ¶53 “The charging control server 204 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 206 at step 304 responsive to the position of the vehicle and the type of charger required to charge the vehicle” and ¶55 "Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404"],
the dynamically tracked change of the each mobile power source being comprised both of a first type related to continued movement and a second type related to a state of movement from a previous state of rest of constituent mobile power sources of the subset [Fig 9 mobile EV charging station 912 and ¶66 “wireless connections may be between the owners and operators of various EV charging stations 910 at fixed locations or mobile EV charging stations 912 that may actually come to stranded vehicles to provide charging or to dynamically schedule and coordinate rendezvous between travelling electric vehicles and mobile charging stations”];
[AltContent: ]visually depict, through a user interface of the first application, the subset of the plurality of mobile power sources and the dynamically tracked changes in locations thereof in accordance with dynamic population of the user interface [Fig 14 step 1406 Browse Ports and step 1412 Display port options and ¶91 “The user application 1016 displays at step 1412 the various locations that include charging units. The user browses the available destination points that they intend to visit during their trip to make sure that charging units 1014 are available during their trip”];
tag the user interface with consideration data, the consideration data being related to monetary values assigned for use of the subset [Fig 38 Pricing Set 3814 and ¶168 “the pricing 3814 set for the respective EVSE chargers deployed” which reasonably reads on the data being related to monetary values]; and
in accordance with selection of a specific mobile power source out of the visually depicted subset based on the changes in the locations thereof and the consideration data, automatically generate; through the first application, a transaction identifier identifying a service request [Fig. 3 steps 302-308 which reasonably reads on the claimed transaction identifier because in order to determine the power sink/source compatibility and provide an appointment between sink/source devices an identifier for the transaction would be required] from the first data processing device for one of: charging and recharging the battery of the power sink through the specific mobile power source [Fig. 3 Step 310 Connect with Designated Charger where charging/recharging is performed].
14. A system [Fig. 1 Electrical Device Charging Management System 102] comprising:
a server executing instructions associated with a computing platform thereon [Fig. 1 Central Control Server 104];
a power sink [Fig. 9 EV 904/906];
a first data processing device associated with the power sink [Fig. 9 EV 904/906], the first data processing device executing a first application thereon as a first component of the computing platform; and
a plurality of mobile power sources [¶8 “A plurality of control nodes interconnect the central controller with a plurality of electric vehicle charger networks including a plurality of electric vehicle chargers” and figs 2 and 10 disclose plural chargers and fig 9 discloses mobile chargers], each of which is associated with a second data processing device executing a second application thereon as a second component of the computing platform [Fig. 9 Mobile EV Charging Station 912 and Fig. 3 Step 302 Request Charging Apparatus Location, which discloses that the system tracks the location of the charging stations/power sources and ¶55 "Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404"],
wherein the server executing the instructions associated with the computing platform dynamically tracks a change in location of the each of the plurality of mobile power sources based on communication with the second application [Fig. 3 Step 302 Request Charging Apparatus Location which discloses that the system tracks the location of the charging station/power source],
wherein the first application, detects a level of charge remaining in a battery of the power sink [Fig. 4 Charging Apparatus Database and ¶55 "The database 402 may also store information related to the registered electric vehicle such as the last time the electric vehicle was charged, the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power" where database is in communication with the device and receives the state of charge (claimed level of charge)],
in response to the detection of the level of charge remaining in the battery of the power sink, identifies a subset of the plurality of mobile power sources as compatible with the power sink based on the dynamically tracked change in the location of the each mobile power source via the server [Fig. 3 step 304 Locate Charger Responsive to Position and Charger Type, where it is determined if the power sink/first application is compatible with the mobile power source and the locations of said power sources via the server/system (claimed computing platform)],
the dynamically tracked change of the each mobile power source being comprised both of a first type related to continued movement and a second type related to a state of movement from a previous state of rest of constituent mobile power sources of the subset [Fig 9 mobile EV charging station 912 and ¶66 “wireless connections may be between the owners and operators of various EV charging stations 910 at fixed locations or mobile EV charging stations 912 that may actually come to stranded vehicles to provide charging or to dynamically schedule and coordinate rendezvous between travelling electric vehicles and mobile charging stations”],
visually depicts, through a user interface, the subset of the plurality of mobile power sources and the dynamically tracked changes in locations thereof in accordance with dynamic population of the user interface via the server [Fig 14 step 1406 Browse Ports and step 1412 Display port options and ¶91 “The user application 1016 displays at step 1412 the various locations that include charging units. The user browses the available destination points that they intend to visit during their trip to make sure that charging units 1014 are available during their trip”], and
tags the user interface with consideration data, the consideration data being related to monetary values assigned for use of the subset [Fig 38 Pricing Set 3814 and ¶168 “the pricing 3814 set for the respective EVSE chargers deployed” which reasonably reads on the data being related to monetary values], and
wherein the server executing the instructions associated with the computing platform also, in accordance with selection of a specific mobile power source out of the visually depicted subset based on the changes in the locations thereof and the consideration data, automatically generates, through the first application, a transaction identifier identifying a service request [Fig. 3 steps 302-308 which reasonably reads on the claimed transaction identifier because in order to determine the power sink/source compatibility and provide an appointment between sink/source devices an identifier for the transaction would be required] from the first data processing device for one of charging and recharging the battery of the power sink through the specific mobile power source [Fig. 3 Step 310 Connect with Designated Charger where charging/recharging is performed].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859